DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed July 6, 2026. The application has been updated accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thompson et al. (11,472,685) hereinafter Thompson.
Thompson discloses:
Claim 1: A method, comprising:
receiving sensed data via one or more sensors operably coupled with a passenger basket of a lift system, the sensed data associated with one or more occupants or loads within the passenger basket (Fig. 4; 408, Col. 10, Lines 13-23);
differentiating the sensed data corresponding to the occupants from the sensed data corresponding to the loads (Fig. 4; 408, Col. 10, Lines 13-23);
determining a number of operators positioned within a passenger basket of a lift system (Fig. 4; 404, Col. 9, Lines 63-67) based on the sensed data corresponding to the occupants (Fig. 4; 408, Col. 10, Lines 13-23), the passenger basket comprising plural safety anchors (Fig. 2A; 206), wherein each of the plural safety anchors is configured to receive a safety key (Fig. 2A; 208);
determining a number of safety keys that are operably coupled with the plural safety anchors (Fig. 4; 406, Col. 10, Lines 24-32);
comparing the number of operators that are positioned within the passenger basket with the number of safety keys that are operably coupled with the plural safety anchors (Fig. 4; 408, Col. 10, Lines 24-32); and
prohibiting one or more operations of the passenger basket responsive to determining that the number of operators positioned within the passenger basket is different than the number of safety keys that are operably coupled with the plural safety anchors (Fig. 4; 412, Col. 10, Lines 33-43).
Claim 3: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying a location of each of the plural safety anchors that are operably coupled with at least one of the safety keys (Fig. 3; via triangulation, Col. 6, Lines 39-42, Col. 10, Lines 13-21); and
controlling the one or more operations of the passenger basket responsive to determining the location of each of the plural safety anchors that are operably coupled with the at least one of the safety keys (Fig. 4; 410, Col. 10, Lines 13-33).
Claim 4: The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more operations of the passenger basket includes one or more of moving the passenger basket in a vertical direction between plural different elevations, moving the passenger basket in a lateral direction, or changing a state of a locking system of a gate of the passenger basket to an unlocked state (Col. 4, Lines 26-34).
Claim 5: The method of claim 1, further comprising communicating an alert responsive to determining that the number of operators positioned within the passenger basket is different than the number of safety keys that are operably coupled with the plural safety anchors (Fig. 3; 310, Col. 9, Lines 3-13).
Claim 6: The method of claim 1, further comprising allowing the one or more operations of the passenger basket responsive to determining that the number of operators positioned within the passenger basket is the same as the number of safety keys that are operably coupled with the plural safety anchors of the passenger basket (Fig. 4; Col. 10, Lines 13-43).
Claim 7: The method of claim 6, further comprising:
identifying that the number of safety keys operably coupled with the safety anchors has changed (Fig. 4; Col. 10, Lines 13-43);
determining that the number of operators positioned within the passenger basket is different than the number of safety keys operably coupled with the plural safety anchors of the passenger basket (Fig. 4; Col. 10, Lines 13-43); and
prohibiting the one or more operations of the passenger basket responsive to determining that the number of operators positioned within the passenger basket is different than the number of safety keys that are operably coupled with the plural safety anchors (Fig. 4; Col. 10, Lines 13-43).
Claim 8: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying the loads positioned within the passenger basket by differentiating the sensed data corresponding to the loads from the sensed data corresponding to the occupants (Fig. 4; 408, Col. 10, Lines 13-23).
Claim 9: A fall protection system, comprising:
safety anchors (Fig. 2A; 206) operably coupled with a passenger basket (Fig. 2A; 202) of a lift system, each of the safety anchors configured to receive a safety key (Fig. 2A; 208), one or more operators (Fig. 2A; 204) configured to be positioned within the passenger basket;
one or more sensors configured to obtain sensed data associated with one or more occupants or loads within the passenger basket (Fig. 4; 408, Col. 10, Lines 13-23); and
a controller (Fig. 3; 302, Col. 7, Lines 36-51) including one or more processors (Fig. 3; 304, Col. 7, Lines 36-51) configured to receive the sensed data from one or more sensors (Fig. 3; 212/214, Col. 7, Lines 36-51 and Col. 10, Lines 13-23), the controller configured to differentiate the sensed data corresponding to the occupants from the sensed data corresponding to the loads in order to determine a number of operators positioned within the passenger basket based on the sensed data corresponding to the occupants (Fig. 4; 408, Col. 10, Lines 13-23),
wherein the controller is configured to compare the number of operators that are positioned within the passenger basket with a number of safety keys that are operably coupled with the safety anchors (Fig. 4; 408, Col. 10, Lines 24-32), and
wherein the controller is configured to prohibit one or more operations of the passenger basket responsive to determining that the number of operators positioned within the passenger basket is different than the number of safety keys that are operably coupled with the safety anchors (Fig. 4; 412, Col. 10, Lines 33-43).
Claim 10: The fall protection system of claim 9, wherein the passenger basket is configured to be controlled to move between plural different elevations to move the one or more operators between the plural different elevations (Col. 4, Lines 26-34).
Claim 11: The fall protection system of claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to control a communication device to communicate an alert (Fig. 3; 310, Col. 9, Lines 3-13) responsive to determining that the number of operators positioned within the passenger basket is different than the number of safety keys that are operably coupled with the safety anchors (Fig. 4; 412, Col. 10, Lines 33-43).
Claim 12: The fall protection system of claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to allow the one or more operations of the passenger basket responsive to determining that the number of operators positioned within the passenger basket is the same as the number of safety keys that are operably coupled with the safety anchors (Fig. 4; 410, Col. 10, Lines 13-33).
Claim 13: The fall protection system of claim 9, wherein the one or more operations of the passenger basket includes one or more of moving the passenger basket in a vertical direction between plural different elevations, moving the passenger basket in a lateral direction, or changing a state of a locking system of a gate of the passenger basket to an unlocked state (Col. 4, Lines 26-34).
Claim 14: The fall protection system of claim 9, wherein the one or more sensors includes one or more of a position sensor (Fig. 3; via triangulation, Col. 6, Lines 39-42), a camera, a pressure sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, a collision sensor, or an infrared sensor.
Claim 15: The fall protection system of claim 9, wherein the one or more sensors are operably coupled with the passenger basket (Fig. 2A; 214).
Claim 16: The fall protection system of claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to identify the loads positioned within the passenger basket by differentiating the sensed data corresponding to the loads from the sensed data corresponding to the occupants (Fig. 4; 408, Col. 10, Lines 13-23).
Claim 17: A method, comprising:
differentiating sensed data between sensed occupant data and sensed load data;
determining a number of occupants positioned within a passenger basket of a lift system based on the sensed occupant data and not the sensed load data (Fig. 4; 408, Col. 10, Lines 13-23);
comparing, with one or more processors, the number of occupants positioned within the passenger basket with a number of safety keys that are operably coupled with corresponding safety anchors of the passenger basket (Fig. 4; 408, Col. 10, Lines 13-32); and
prohibiting one or more operations of the passenger basket responsive to determining that the number of occupants is different than the number of safety keys that are operably coupled with at least one of the safety anchors (Fig. 4; 412, Col. 10, Lines 33-43).
Claim 18: The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more operations of the passenger basket includes one or more of moving the passenger basket in a vertical direction between plural different elevations, moving the passenger basket in a lateral direction, or changing a state of a locking system of a gate of the passenger basket to an unlocked state (Col. 4, Lines 26-34).
Claim 19: The method of claim 17, further comprising communicating an alert responsive to determining that the number of occupants positioned within the passenger basket is different than the number of safety keys that are operably coupled with the corresponding safety anchors (Fig. 3; 310, Col. 9, Lines 3-13).
Claim 20: The method of claim 17, further comprising:
identifying a location of each of the safety anchors that are operably coupled with at least one of the safety keys (Fig. 3; via triangulation, Col. 6, Lines 39-42); and
controlling the one or more operations of the passenger basket responsive to determining the location of each of the safety anchors (Fig. 4; 410, Col. 10, Lines 13-33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al. (11,472,685) hereinafter Thompson, in view of Shankar et al. (2024/0034607) hereinafter Shankar.
Claim 2: Thompson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plural safety anchors includes one or more interior safety anchors that are disposed on an interior portion of the passenger basket (Fig. 2A; 206) but fails to disclose one or more exterior safety anchors that are disposed on an exterior portion of the passenger basket.
However, Shankar discloses an exterior safety anchor (Fig. 2; 150).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the passenger basket of Thompson to include the exterior safety anchor, as taught by Shankar, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow a variety of anchoring points for operators based on what area they area of the basket they working in.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the prior art rejections, applicant argues that the primary reference of Thompson fails to disclose receiving sensed data from one or more sensors coupled with a passenger basket of a lift system, where the sensed data is associated with occupants and/or loads within the passenger basket and the sensed data corresponding to the occupants is differentiated from the sensed data corresponding to the loads, and a number of operators positioned within the basket is determined based on the sensed data because Thompson relies on one or more receivers for detecting the presence of an operator based on receiving a signal from a transmitter worn by the operator. This argument is not persuasive because in addition to disclosing the use of receivers and transmitters, Thompson also discloses that the number of workers in a basket can be detected via determining the number of interlock connections detected (sensed data) in Col. 10, Lines 13-23. The applicant goes on to state that Thompsons system may detect that there are more interlock connections than the number of occupants identified from transmitter signals which could lead to placing workers at risk. However, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language the examiner asserts that the system of Thompson meets the claim limitations because the number of workers present is compared to the number of (sensed) interlock connections, where if that number is not equal then preventive measures are taken.
If the applicant is concerned with addressing such potential determination issues, then the applicant should consider including the particulars in the claim language.
For at least these reasons the applicant’s remarks are not found persuasive and the claims remain rejected as advanced above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kathleen M. McFarland/Examiner, Art Unit 3635
Kathleen M. McFarland
Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/BRIAN D MATTEI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3635