DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,246,374 (“Kopchik”).
As to claims 1 and 5, Kopchik teaches a resin, and therefore resin composition as required by claim 5, containing imide units of
which meets recited formula (1) when R3 is hydrogen, and formula (2) when R3 is methyl (2:24-52). Kopchik teaches example 20 of such resin (Table 1), reacting a raw material resin D with ammonia (8:15-9:40), where resin D is polymethyl methacrylate. While Kopchik does not discuss that the repeating units meet formula (1) (glutarimide group) and formula (2) (N-methyl glutarimide group), the process for preparation, imidization with ammonia, is the same as taught by applicant to provide resins having both units, and therefore it may be presumed that both M1 and M2 are greater than 0. Example 20 teaches that the ammonia imidization of the PMMA results in a resin having 2.18 % nitrogen. Based on the structure of glutarimide units, and remaining non-imidized methyl methacrylate units, it is calculated that this resin has M1+M2 of approximately 17.4-17.6 mol percent, which is within the recited range, and therefore also contain units of formula (3) where R6 is methyl, R5 is hydrogen, and R7 is methyl.
As to claim 2, Kopchik does not state the glass transition temperature; however, since the resin is the same as stated, it is presumed to have the glass transition temperature in the recited range.
As to claim 3, Kopchik does not state the 5% weight loss temperature; however, since the resin is the same as stated, it is presumed to have the 5% weight loss transition temperature in the recited range.
As to claim 4, Kopchik does not discuss orientation birefringence. However, given that Kopchik teaches the same methods to provide the same resins as recited and as disclosed, it is presumed to have orientation birefringence in the recited range.
As to claim 10, Kopchik teaches a resin containing imide units of
, thus a glutarimide resin (2:25-49). Kopchik teaches example 20 of such resin (Table 1), reacting a raw material resin D with ammonia (8:15-9:40), where resin D is polymethyl methacrylate, which has no acrylic ester monomer units and comprises repeating units of formula (3) where R5 is hydrogen, R6 is methyl, R7 is methyl.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,246,374 (“Kopchik”) in view of JP 2002-293956 A (“Kawabata”).
A partial machine translation of JP 2002-293956 A is enclosed.
As to claim 6, the discussion of Kopchik with respect to claim 5 is incorporated by reference. Kopchik does not teach forming an optical film of the resin compostion. However, Kawabata teaches that optical films, specifically polarizer protective films as required by claim 8 (para. 0004). Kawabata teaches that glutarimide resins of the same type can be used (para. 0052-0056), including resins having the same degree of glutarimide content. Kawabata teaches the use of such polymers in forming films, having in plane retardation at 589 nm of less than 10 nm (para. 0136), which is reasonable to expect the same in plane retardation at the recited wavelength. Further, Kawabata teaches thickness (out of plane) retardation in the recited range (para. 0135).
As such, the use of glutarimide resins of Kopchik, in polarizer protective films, including in the recited retardation range, is an obvious end use of the glutarimide polymers of Kopchik as taught by Kawabata.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,246,374 (“Kopchik”).
As to claim 9, the discussion of Kopchik with respect to claim 5 is incorporated by reference. While not exemplified with the polymer of example 20, Kopchik teaches the polymer can be obtained in forms such as sheet (6:51-55), which is a substrate, and therefore use as a substrate is an obvious modification suggested by Kopchik.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of copending Application No. 18/202,707 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 4 recites a glutarimide resin having repeating units 1-3, where M1 and M2 are both greater than 0, and a range for M1 + M2 overlapping the recited range. As such, glutarimide resins having the recited value of M1 + M2 are an obvious modification within the range of copending claim 4.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764