DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murphy (EP 3 661 077; art cited by applicant).
Regarding independent claim 1, Murphy teaches a high frequency signal processing device (fig.2: modem 120 of communication hardware 208) comprising: a radio frequency (RF) signal path with a RF coupling ([0025], modem connection with waveguide antenna); a digital data storage configured to store device data referring to the high frequency signal processing device ([0031]-[0035], unique device identifier of the modem); and a digital interface coupled to the digital data storage and configured to couple the high frequency signal processing device (interface between modem 120 of communication hardware 208 and processor 212 running, inter alia, the software manager module 222, used to identify the modem as per [0031]-[0035], so that the software manager can upload appropriate software) with an external communication partner (software manager module 222).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Murphy further teaches wherein the RF signal path comprises an RF function block coupled to the RF coupling. See figs. 5 and 6 and [0075], the modem performs an RF function of transmission/reception.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Murphy further teaches wherein at least one of: the RF signal path comprises a waveguide signal path or the RF coupling comprises at least one waveguide connector (waveguide antenna).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Murphy further teaches wherein the device data stored in the digital data storage comprises a unique identifier for the high frequency signal processing device. See [0031] - [0035].
Regarding dependent claim 7, Murphy further teaches wherein the device data stored in the digital data storage comprises data characterizing at least one of the RF signal path or the RF coupling. See [0031] - [0035].
Regarding dependent claim 8, Murphy further teaches wherein the digital data storage is configured to receive updated device data via the digital inter- face and to store the updated device data. See [0031] - [0035].
Regarding dependent claim 9, Murphy further teaches wherein at least one of: the digital interface is configured to receive control data for controlling at least one configurable element of the RF signal path, or the digital interface is configured to output measurement data measured by at least one measurement element of the RF signal path. See [0036].
Claims 10-14, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nikhil et al (2022/0158676; art cited by applicant).
Regarding independent claim 10, Murphy teaches a measurement equipment ([0069], [0082], spectrum analyzer to which the RF downconverter turner is attached, and which it controls, see also [0003] for motivation, [0075]-[0082]) comprising: a first RF coupling configured to couple to a second RF coupling of a high frequency signal processing device ([0075]-[0082]), wherein the high frequency signal processing device comprises: a RF signal path with the second RF coupling (figs. 5 and 6 and [0075]), a digital data storage configured to store device data referring to the high frequency signal processing device ([0031]-[0035]), and a digital interface coupled to the digital data storage (Figs. 5 and 6, [0080], [0082], [0074], ethernet, USB); and a digital device interface configured to couple to the digital interface of the high frequency signal processing device and to exchange device data with the high frequency signal processing device (data for controlling the RF downconverter tuner and feedback.).
Regarding independent claim 13, the claim recites similar subject matter as in claim 10. Therefore, similar rationale is applied as for claim 10.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Murphy further teaches a communication interface configured to retrieve data that characterizes at least one of the RF signal path or the second RF coupling of the high frequency signal processing device from an external source based on the device data. See fig. 5, 510 and [0080] - [0082].
Regarding dependent claim 12, Murphy further teaches an electrical power supply coupled to the digital device interface and configured to supply electrical power to the high frequency signal processing device via the digital device interface. See [0032], interface USB ports is inherently used to supply power to a connected device.
Regarding dependent claim 14, Murphy further teaches wherein the high frequency signal processing device comprises an RF filter in the RF signal path, and wherein the measurement equipment comprises a millimeter wave converter. See fig. 5, several filters in the RF path.
Regarding dependent claim 16, Murphy further teaches wherein the RF signal path comprises an RF function block coupled to the first RF coupling. See figs. 5 and 6 and [0075], the modem performs an RF function of transmission/reception.
Regarding dependent claim 17, Murphy further teaches wherein at least one of: the RF signal path comprises a waveguide signal path or the first RF coupling comprises at least one waveguide connector (waveguide antenna).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Murphy further teaches wherein the device data stored in the digital data storage comprises a unique identifier for the high frequency signal processing device. See [0031] - [0035].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 15, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References Kuo et al (US 2009/0254717), Konig et al (US 2019/0334638), Thraenhardt et al (US 2020/0059803) and Blodt (US 2023/0003667) are cited because they are pertinent to the measurement system. However, none of the cited references teaches or suggests the further arrangements as recited in the dependent claims 4, 5, 15, 18 and 19.
/DON N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634