Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kullberg (U.S. Publication 2021/0037704).
In regards to claim 1, Kullberg discloses a trimmer comprising: a motor (4); a trimmer head (trimmer head 1) disposed on a connecting member (pole 6) and including a trimmer line spool (spool 5); a user interface (one or more buttons 12) disposed on the connecting member (6), wherein the user interface is configured to operate the trimmer head; a sensor (sensor) configured to determine a length of a trimmer line (3) extending from the trimmer head
“As an alternative, or in addition, the trimmer 13 may comprise a sensor configured to detect a length of the trimmer line 3, wherein the trimmer 13 is configured to initiate feed of trimmer line 3 when the length is below a threshold value” paragraph [0063])
wherein the trimmer line (3) is disposed on the trimmer line spool (5); and, an auto advance mechanism (“wherein the trimmer 13 is configured to initiate feed of trimmer line 3” paragraph [0063]) configured to extend the trimmer line extending from the trimmer head based on feedback from the sensor (inherent from paragraph [0063]);
wherein the auto advance mechanism comprises a centrifugal clutch (39) operably connected to the trimmer line spool (5); wherein the centrifugal clutch is in an operable connection with the motor (4) of the trimmer to selectively engage the trimmer line spool to advance the trimmer line based on a rotational speed of the centrifugal clutch;
and wherein the motor (4) causes the centrifugal clutch to rotate past a threshold speed (“by accelerating, or decelerating, the trimmer head 1 at a higher rate than during normal operation”; paragraph [0063]) when the length of the trimmer line falls below a predetermined threshold value to advance the trimmer line to a desired length (“to initiate feed of trimmer line” paragraph [0063]), and wherein the motor reduces the rotational speed of the centrifugal clutch below the threshold speed when the trimmer line advances to the desired length.
(“If the trimmer head 1 is rotating at a rotational speed below the threshold rotational speed, and trimmer head 1 is subjected to a change in rotational speed via the interface 2 at a higher rate than the threshold rate, no trimmer line will be fed because the inner body 1c is free to rotate relative the spring holding member 38. Thus, due to the centrifugal clutch 39, the automatic feed mechanism 7 will release the trimmer line when the trimmer head 1 rotates at rotational speed above the threshold rotational speed and when the trimmer head 1 is subjected to a change in rotational speed, via the interface 2, at a higher rate than the threshold rate. Thereby, an unintended release of trimmer line can be avoided at lower rotational speeds.”; paragraph [0072]
In regards to claim 10, the modified device of Kullberg discloses wherein the auto advance mechanism automatically extends the trimmer line (45) when the length falls below a predetermined threshold value.
“As an alternative, or in addition, the trimmer 13 may comprise a sensor configured to detect a length of the trimmer line 3, wherein the trimmer 13 is configured to initiate feed of trimmer line 3 when the length is below a threshold value” paragraph [0063])
In regards to claim 11, Kullberg discloses a method for auto advancing a trimmer line of a trimmer, the method comprising: determining a length of the trimmer line (3) extending from a trimmer head (1) and disposed on a trimmer line spool (“the trimmer 13 may comprise a sensor configured to detect a length of the trimmer line 3” paragraph [0063]);
comparing the length to a predetermined threshold value (“wherein the trimmer 13 is configured to initiate feed of trimmer line 3 when the length is below a threshold value” paragraph [0063]);
and, automatically advancing the trimmer line if the length falls below the predetermined threshold value (“configured to initiate feed of trimmer line 3 when the length is below a threshold value” paragraph [0063]);
wherein automatically advancing the trimmer line (3) comprises selectively engaging the trimmer line spool with a centrifugal clutch (39) operably coupled to a motor (4) of the trimmer to advance the trimmer line based on a rotational speed of the centrifugal clutch (see paragraphs 0063; 0072-0073);
and wherein the motor (4) causes the centrifugal clutch (39) to rotate past a threshold speed (“by accelerating, or decelerating, the trimmer head 1 at a higher rate than during normal operation”; paragraph [0063]) when the length of the trimmer line falls below a predetermined threshold value to advance the trimmer line to a desired length (“to initiate feed of trimmer line” paragraph [0063]), and wherein the motor reduces the rotational speed of the centrifugal clutch below the threshold speed when the trimmer line advances to the desired length.
(“If the trimmer head 1 is rotating at a rotational speed below the threshold rotational speed, and trimmer head 1 is subjected to a change in rotational speed via the interface 2 at a higher rate than the threshold rate, no trimmer line will be fed because the inner body 1c is free to rotate relative the spring holding member 38. Thus, due to the centrifugal clutch 39, the automatic feed mechanism 7 will release the trimmer line when the trimmer head 1 rotates at rotational speed above the threshold rotational speed and when the trimmer head 1 is subjected to a change in rotational speed, via the interface 2, at a higher rate than the threshold rate. Thereby, an unintended release of trimmer line can be avoided at lower rotational speeds.”; paragraph [0072]
In regards to claim 20, Kullberg discloses wherein: when the motor (4) causes the centrifugal clutch (39) to rotate past a threshold speed, the centrifugal clutch (39) engages the trimmer line spool (via locking device 46) such that it rotates and advances the trimmer line (see paragraphs 0063 and 0072-0073 reproduced below); and when the motor (4) reduces the rotational speed of the centrifugal clutch (39) below the threshold speed, the centrifugal clutch disengages the trimmer line spool such that the trimmer line spool no longer rotates to advance the trimmer line (see paragraphs [0072-73 reproduced below)
(“the automatic feed mechanism 7 will perform a release of trimmer line when the trimmer head 1 is subjected to a rate of change in rotational speed, via the interface 2, at a higher rate than what is obtained during normal operation of a trimmer. The trimmer 13 illustrated in FIG. 1, may be configured to initiate a feed of trimmer line 3 by accelerating, or decelerating, the trimmer head 1 at a higher rate than during normal operation.” Paragraph [0063]
(“If the trimmer head 1 is subjected to a change in rotational speed, via the interface 2, at a higher rate than the threshold rate, for example an abrupt deceleration, the inner body 1c and the spring holding member 38 will rotate relative the housing 1a, 1b. As a result, the locking lever 23 moves from the first radial position to the second radial position, and the trimmer line spool 5′ is free to rotate. If the trimmer head 1 is rotating at a rotational speed below the threshold rotational speed, and trimmer head 1 is subjected to a change in rotational speed via the interface 2 at a higher rate than the threshold rate, no trimmer line will be fed because the inner body 1c is free to rotate relative the spring holding member 38.” paragraphs [see paragraphs 0072-0073])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 12-13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kullberg (U.S. Publication 2021/0037704) in view of Zha et al. (U.S. Publication 2019/0269070), herein referred to as Zha.
In regards to claim 2 and 12, the modified device of Kullberg discloses a trimmer including a sensor configured to detect when the trimmer line falls below a threshold value so that the length of the trimmer line can be automatically increased. However, Kullberg does not disclose the specific type of sensor such that it is a draw sensor or a Hall sensor or the location of the sensor to perform this detection. Zha teaches a string trimmer with a release mechanism capable of releasing the trimmer line to increase the trimmer line extending out of the spool and further discloses a calculation unit configured to determine to calculate usage and the remaining amount of trimmer line. Zha further teaches that the smart release mechanism includes a detection module and a controller, wherein the detection module may include a Hall sensor, a color recognition sensor or vibration sensor. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to employ one of the sensors taught by Zha, such as a Hall sensor, color recognition sensors, or vibration sensor, in the trimmer of Kullberg in order to detect when the trimmer line falls below the threshold value.
In regards to claims 3 and 13, the modified device of Kullberg discloses wherein the sensor comprises a Hall sensor (Zha paragraph [0063,0068])
In regards to claims 4 and 15, the modified device of Kullberg discloses wherein the Hall sensor is disposed on a guard at least partially enclosing the trimmer head ( as modified by Zha “a Hall sensor is disposed on the line container” Zha paragraph [0063]).
In regards to claim 5 and 16, the modified device of Kullberg discloses wherein the Hall sensor is disposed on a cutter (as modified by Zha; “a Hall sensor is disposed on the line container and detects the magnetism of the trimmer line” Zha paragraph [0063,0068]).
Claim 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kullberg (U.S. Publication 2021/0037704) in view of Zha et al. (U.S. Publication 2019/0269070), herein referred to as Zha and in further view of Legrand (U.S. Patent 6,630,226).
In regards to claim 6 and 14, the modified device of Kullberg does not disclose wherein the trimmer line comprises ferrous particles embedded in a plastic line. Attention is further directed to the Legrand, which discloses a trimmer cutting line including a monofilament core coated with a granular layer comprising inorganic particles. Legrand further teaches that the coating may include metallic particles such as zinc, iron or aluminum. The compotes cutting line is disclosed as providing improved cutting performance, reduced operating nose, and breakage at the eyelet of the rotary head (see abstract). As Legrand teaches incorporating metallic particles including iron particles on the cutting line to improve cutting performance and operating characteristics, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate ferrous particles in the plastic trimmer line of Kullberg in order to achieve the known benefits of improved cutting performance, reduced noise, and improved durability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LAURA M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724