Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the last line of the claim, the term “posited” should be correctly spelled, “positioned.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iellici (U.S. Patent No. 10,305,182).
Iellici, in figures 24 and 25, discloses:
1. A switchable antenna assembly (240), the switchable antenna assembly comprising: a substrate (PCB, col. 9, lns. 17-30); a ground plane disposed on the substrate; a feed (26); a first planar antenna element (A) extending from the ground plane in a first direction, wherein the first planar antenna element is coupled to the feed by a first transmission line, wherein the first planar antenna element is configured to produce a first radiation pattern (330A, fig. 33); a second planar antenna (B) element extending from the ground plane in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction of first planar antenna element, wherein the second planar antenna element is configured to produce a second radiation pattern (330B, fig. 33); and a single pole—two-throw switching element (RF switch, col. 9, lns. 17-30) configured to selectively couple one of the first transmission line or the second transmission line to the feed; wherein the two-throw switching element is posited atop the first and second transmission lines (figs. 24 and 25).
2. The switchable antenna assembly of claim 1, wherein the first planar antenna element and the second planar antenna element are configured to produce a signal between about 5 GHz and about 7.2 GHz (col. 7, lns. 48-51).
3. The switchable antenna assembly of claim 1, wherein the two-throw switching element is controlled via a control circuit (col. 9, lns. 33-62).
4. The switchable antenna assembly of claim 3, wherein the switchable antenna assembly further comprises a data over coaxial circuit, and wherein the two-throw switching element is controlled via the control circuit based at least in part on a control signal carried via a data over coaxial circuit (col. 9, lns. 33-62).
5. The switchable antenna assembly of claim 4, wherein the control signal is modulated onto a radio frequency signal carried concurrently with the control signal via the data over coaxial circuit (col. 9, lns. 33-62).
6. The switchable antenna assembly of claim 5, wherein the switchable antenna assembly further comprises a radio frequency circuit, and wherein the control signal is demodulated from the radio frequency signal using the radio frequency circuit (col. 9, lns. 33-62).
7. The switchable antenna assembly of claim 5, wherein the radio frequency signal is defined within a first frequency band, and the control signal is defined within a second frequency band that is distinct from the first frequency band (col. 9, lns. 33-62).
9. The switchable antenna assembly of claim 1, wherein the first radiation pattern is associated with a first polarization, the second radiation pattern is associated with a second polarization, the first polarization being different from the second polarization (fig. 33).
10. The switchable antenna assembly of claim 1, wherein the first planar antenna element defines a first shape, and wherein the second planar antenna element defines a second shape identical to the first shape (col. 9, lns. 33-62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iellici (U.S. Patent No. 10,305,182) in view of ZARIC (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0044231).
Claims 11 and 12: Iellici fails to disclose wherein the first shape of the first planar antenna element comprises: a straight first edge; a straight second edge parallel to the first edge; a straight third edge, wherein a first endpoint of the third edge contacts a first endpoint of the first edge and a second endpoint of the third edge contacts a first endpoint of the second edge; and a curved fourth edge, wherein a first endpoint of the fourth edge contacts a second endpoint of the first edge and a second endpoint of the fourth edge contacts a second endpoint of the second edge; and wherein the switchable antenna assembly is configured for 6e Wifi signaling. ZARIC discloses an UWB antenna capable of operating at 6E Wifi signaling (para. [0003]); and comprising a planar antenna element shape that comprises: a straight first edge; a straight second edge parallel to the first edge; a straight third edge, wherein a first endpoint of the third edge contacts a first endpoint of the first edge and a second endpoint of the third edge contacts a first endpoint of the second edge; and a curved fourth edge, wherein a first endpoint of the fourth edge contacts a second endpoint of the first edge and a second endpoint of the fourth edge contacts a second endpoint of the second edge (fig. 3E). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Iellici, and replaced the antennas of Iellici with the UWB antennas disclosed by ZARIC. Doing so would have enabled the device with ultrawideband wireless communication.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 21, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8, lines 3 and 4 of the Remarks, Applicant contends “The RF switch, which allegedly is the two-throw switching element, at best, discusses it's location of being in the area that is between the two antenna. Nowhere in FIGs. 24 and 25 and the corresponding discussions disclose that the RF switch is positioned atop of the transmission lines. As such, Iellici does not disclose the amended claim 1.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant.
In response, in the context of the disclosure of Iellici, the combination of the subject matter shown in figures 24 and 25 are a clear teaching of the claim limitation, especially the structure shown in figure 25, which shows the physical switch 65 positioned atop the transmission lines of each respective antenna. As such, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Robert Karacsony/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845