DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on May 4, 2026. Without acquiescing with the arguments that the groups should be examined together and are in condition for allowance, rejoinder of withdrawn claims will be considered where possible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 contains the term “WPBG300” however, it is unclear what that means and, further, a trademark cannot be used in a claim as a limitation or a means of identifying or describing a particular material or product. See MPEP 2173.05(u).
Claim 9 contains the term “IPTX”, however, it is unclear what that means and, further, a trademark cannot be used in a claim as a limitation or a means of identifying or describing a particular material or product. See MPEP 2173.05(u).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujii et al (EP 0 802 208).
With regards to claim 1, Fujii teaches an optical resin composition that contains a thiourethane prepolymer compound prepared by reacting a polythiol compound with an isocyanate compound, a (meth)acrylate compound (abstract) and a photo-initiator (page 6).
With regards to claim 3, Fujii teaches the isocyanate compound to include hexamethylene diisocyanate (page 5).
With regards to claim 4, Fujii teaches the (meth)acrylate compound to include ethylene glycol di(meth)acrylate, triethyleneglycol di(meth)acrylate), 1,3 butanediol di(meth)acrylate, 1,4-butane-diol di(meth)acrylate, or 1,6-hexanediol di(meth)acrylate (page 5).
With regards to claim 5, Fujii teaches the thiourethane compound to be formed using a catalyst (page 5).
With regards to claim 6, Fujii teaches the catalyst compound to include triethylamine (page 5).
With regards to claim 7, Fujii teaches the photoinitiator to include benzophenone (page 6).
With regards to claim 8, Fujii teaches the addition of a radical polymerization generator as well as the photo-initiator (page 6) reading on a photosensitizer.
With regards to claim 9, Fujii teaches the radical generato to include isopropylthioxanthone (page 6).
With regards to claim 10, Fujii teaches the composition to include solvent (page 5).
Claims 1-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bowman et al (US 2011/0144227).
With regards to claim 1, Bowman teaches a resin for biomedical devices (abstract) that contains an oligomer (0039) that is formed using pentaerythritol tetra(3-mercaptopropionate) (table 1) and either hexamethylene diisocyanate or isophorone diisocyanate (table 2). Bowman further teaches the composition to contain a monomer such as hexanediol diacrylate and trimethylolpropane triacrylate (table 3) and a photoinitiator (0094).
With regards to claim 2, Bowman teaches the oligomer (0039) that is formed using pentaerythritol tetra(3-mercaptopropionate) (table 1).
With regards to claim 3, Bowman teaches the oligomer to be formed using hexamethylene diisocyanate or isophorone diisocyanate (table 2).
With regards to claim 4, Bowman further teaches the composition to contain a monomer such as hexanediol diacrylate and trimethylolpropane triacrylate (table 3).
With regards to claim 5, Bowman teaches the use of a catalyst to form the oligomer (0094).
With regards to claim 6, Bowman teaches the catalyst to include dibutyl tin dilaurate (0094).
With regards to claim 10, Bowman teaches the addition of a solvent (0014 and 0080).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al (EP 0802208) in view of Pfeifer et al (US 2017/0087062).
With regards to claim 2, the disclosure of Fujii is adequately set forth in paragraph 6 above and is herein incorporated by reference.
Fujii does not teach the thiol compound to be one of the claimed thiols.
Pfeifer teaches a composition containing a methacrylate compound and a thiourethane oligomer (abstract) wherein the thiourethane oligomer is formed from a reaction of PETMP (pentaerythritol tetra (3-mercaptopropionate) (0073)) and HDDI (hexanediol diisocyanate (0138)). Pfeifer teaches the motivation for using this compound to be because it improves toughness, provides a high refractive index, and provides optical clarity (0059). Fujii and Pfeifer are analogous in the art of curable bioresins. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the thiol of Pfeifer in the composition of Fujii, thereby obtaining the present invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following reference teaches the composition of claim 1: Pfeifer et al (US 2017/0087062).
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763