DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 1 has been amended. No claims have been newly added or newly canceled.
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8 have been examined on their merits.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn due to amendment. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8 are drawn to a method of preparing a tissue gel for transplantation. The phrase “for transplantation” is with regard to the final product produced by the method and is interpreted as requiring that the final product be in form suitable for such intended use. Baring evidence to the contrary, any method that includes the claimed method steps and structural elements is deemed to be meet this intended use provided that there is nothing in the final product produced that would render it unsuitable for transplantation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 2016/0152946-previously cited) in view of Boso et al (Materials published May 2020-previously cited) and Takeda et al (JP 2018011546-machine translation-newly cited).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 6, and 8, Choi disclose a method of producing a cell culture by a step of stretching an elastic substrate and a step of loading a composition containing microfibrils onto the stretched elastic substrate and a step of restoring the elastic substrate (page 1 para 14). Choi disclose wherein the microfibril is one or more of a natural polymer fiber such as collagen, as long as the directionality of the fiber can be used in culturing cells (page para 62). The composition containing microfibrils may further contain one or more types of cells, such as muscle cells (page 3 para 63-64). The microfibrils may be aligned to be perpendicular to the stretching direction of the elastic substrate (page 4 para 75, page 6 para 107). The composition containing microfibrils may be cured partially as the stretched state of the elastic substrate is maintained and then restored (removing the tensile force)(page 4 para 83, page 6 para 112, 115-116) and the method may further include a step of gelling the composition containing the microfibrils at a temperature of 30-40˚C for10 minutes to an hour (allowing the composition to crosslink) (page 4 para 85) and then incubating in culture medium (culturing) for 1 to 5 days at an incubation temperature of 30-40˚C (page 4 para 86). The elastic substrate is PDMS (page 4 para 91).
While Choi does not specifically state that the final 3D scaffold product is intended for transplantation, they do teach and suggest that transplanting engineered tissue comprising cells embedded in a hydrogel is a suitable and beneficial application of such constructs (page 1 para 7), and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adapt the process and product to provide for the therapeutic use of transplantation with a reasonable expectation of success.
While Choi disclose wherein the composition contain a natural polymer containing collagen and muscle cells, Choi do not specifically include wherein the composition contains decellularized skeletal muscle extracellular matrix loaded with induced skeletal muscle progenitor cells prepared by a specific method.
Boso disclose extracellular matrix-derived hydrogels for different skeletal muscle tissue replacements (Title, abstract, page 16 section 8). Boso teach and suggest that there is a need for engineered skeletal muscle-like tissue made from SKM ECM (pages 1-2 Introduction, page 16 section 8). Boso disclose that cell-laden hydrogels possess the ability to recapitulate the cellular environment of SKM and include the use of decellularized ECM (dECM)-based hydrogels, specifically dECM of SKM (pages 5-6, section 3, pages 7-9 section 3.4). Collagen is a major ECM component (page 6 section 3.1 Natural hydrogels). Myogenic progenitors are a suggested cell type (page 11 section 5.1) and mechanical stimulation (such as stretching) is indicated as a fundamental element of myogenic cells and plays a critical role in the regulation of SKM mass, tissue ECM remodeling and homeostasis (page 14 section 6.1).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize decellularized skeletal muscle extracellular matrix (dECM SKM) loaded with skeletal muscle progenitor cells in the method of Choi because Boso teach and suggest that there is a need for engineered skeletal muscle-like tissue made from SKM ECM (pages 1-2 Introduction, page 16 section 8). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Choi indicate that natural polymer materials such as collagen and cells such as muscle cells are suitable for use in their method and Boso also suggests that mechanical stimulation, such as stretching, is beneficial for myogenic cells.
Choi and Boso do not specifically describe a method of preparing induced skeletal myogenic progenitor cells by transferring MyoD, Pax7, Mef2b and Pitx1 genes into fibroblasts in a myogenic induction medium.
Takeda disclose methods for producing skeletal muscle (myogenic) progenitor cells from fibroblasts by direct reprogramming by transferring MyoD, Pax7, Mef2b and Pitx1 genes into fibroblasts in a myogenic induction medium (Title, abstract, pages 3-5, pages 9-10). These induced skeletal muscle progenitor cells can be used as a active ingredient of a therapeutic agent for muscular diseases (page 8). Takeda teach and suggest that induced skeletal muscle progenitor cells are beneficially used for therapeutic treatment of myogenic diseases (page 12).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the induced skeletal myogenic progenitor cells of Takeda in the method of Choi because Takeda teach and suggest that induced skeletal muscle progenitor cells are beneficially used for therapeutic treatment of myogenic diseases (page 12) and Boso teach and suggest that there is a need for engineered skeletal muscle-like tissue made from SKM ECM (pages 1-2 Introduction, page 16 section 8). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Takeda disclose methods for producing skeletal muscle (myogenic) progenitor cells from fibroblasts by direct reprogramming by transferring MyoD, Pax7, Mef2b and Pitx1 genes into fibroblasts in a myogenic induction medium (Title, abstract, pages 3-5, pages 9-10).
Regarding claim 3, while Boso are silent with regard to the concentration of the proteins in their decellularized extracellular matrix they are using decellularized extracellular matrix from the same tissue as claimed (skeletal muscle) and are directed to obtaining a product that more closely replicates the in vivo environment and thus the claimed concentrations would be easily obtainable through routine optimization and experimentation.
With regard to the concentrations of the proteins in the decellularized extracellular matrix from skeletal muscle tissue in the composition, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
The selection of specific concentrations clearly would have been a routine matter of optimization and experimentation on the part of the artisan of ordinary skill, said artisan recognizing that the amount and viability of the cells cultured on the matrix substrate would have been affected by these concentrations.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Choi et al and Boso et al render obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that neither of the previously cited references of Choi or Boso disclose the new claim limitations wherein the induced skeletal myogenic progenitor cells are prepared by a method comprising: transferring MyoD, Pax7, Mef2b, and Pitx genes into fibroblasts; and culturing the fibroblasts in a myogenic induction medium.
This is not found persuasive because the new obvious rejection now includes the teaching of Takeda (JP 2018011546) that teaches the new claim limitations as described above.
Applicant argues that the amended claimed method provides surprisingly and unexpectedly superior effects. Applicant points to paragraphs 152, 168-172, 173-190 and 213-221 and Figures 2H, 6B, 7, 8, and 13 as evidence of the superior surprising and unexpected effects of the invention of claim 1. Applicant asserts that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have expected based on the teachings of Choi and Boso.
This is not found persuasive. The new obvious rejection now includes the teaching of Takeda (JP 2018011546) that teaches the new claim limitations as described above and also suggests that cells prepared according to Applicant’s claimed method of expected to be beneficial for transplant purposes.
In submitting evidence asserted to establish unobvious results, there is a burden on an applicant to indicate how the examples asserted to represent the claimed invention are considered to relate to the examples intended to represent the prior art and, particularly, to indicate how those latter examples do represent the closest prior art. See In re Borkowski, 595 F.2d 713, 184 USPQ 29 (CCPA 1974); In re Goodman, 339 F.2d 228, 144 USPQ 30 (CCPA 1964).
The evidence relied upon should also be reasonably commensurate in scope with the subject matter claimed and illustrate the claimed subject matter "as a class" relative to the prior art subject matter "as a class." In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971 ); In re Hostettler, 429 F.2d 464, 166 USPQ 558 (CCPA 1970). See, also, In re Lindner, 457 F.2d 506, 173 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1972).
It should also be established that the differences in the results are in factunexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance. In reMerck, 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986); In re Longi, 759 F. 2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Klosak, 455 F2d 1077, 173 UAPQ 14 (CCPA 1972); In re D'Ancicco, 429 F.2d 1244, 169 USPQ 303 (CCPA 1971 ). Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318 (BPAI 1992).
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ito et al., “Direct reprogramming of fibroblasts into skeletal muscle progenitor cells by transcription factors enriched in undifferentiated subpopulation of satellite cells”, Scientific Reports, 2017, 7(1), pp. 1-12.
Ito disclose direct reprogramming of fibroblasts into skeletal muscle progenitor cells by transcription factors such as MyoD, Pax7, Mef2b and Pitx1 (abstract).
LAURA J. SCHUBERG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1631
/LAURA SCHUBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631