DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to papers filed 04/27/2026.
Claims 1 and 8 have been amended. Claims 2, 4, 7, and 9-12 have been newly canceled and no claims have been newly added.
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8 have been examined on their merits.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn due to amendment. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8 are drawn to a method of preparing a tissue gel for transplantation. The phrase “for transplantation” is with regard to the final product produced by the method and is interpreted as requiring that the final product be in form suitable for such intended use. Baring evidence to the contrary, any method that includes the claimed method steps and structural elements is deemed to be meet this intended use provided that there is nothing in the final product produced that would render it unsuitable for transplantation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 2016/0152946-newly cited) in view of Boso et al (Materials published May 2020-newly cited).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 6, and 8, Choi disclose a method of producing a cell culture by a step of stretching an elastic substrate and a step of loading a composition containing microfibrils onto the stretched elastic substrate and a step of restoring the elastic substrate (page 1 para 14). Choi disclose wherein the microfibril is one or more of a natural polymer fiber such as collagen, as long as the directionality of the fiber can be used in culturing cells (page para 62). The composition containing microfibrils may further contain one or more types of cells, such as muscle cells (page 3 para 63-64). The microfibrils may be aligned to be perpendicular to the stretching direction of the elastic substrate (page 4 para 75, page 6 para 107). The composition containing microfibrils may be cured partially as the stretched state of the elastic substrate is maintained and then restored (removing the tensile force)(page 4 para 83, page 6 para 112, 115-116) and the method may further include a step of gelling the composition containing the microfibrils at a temperature of 30-40˚C for10 minutes to an hour (allowing the composition to crosslink) (page 4 para 85) and then incubating in culture medium (culturing) for 1 to 5 days at an incubation temperature of 30-40˚C (page 4 para 86). The elastic substrate is PDMS (page 4 para 91).
While Choi does not specifically state that the final 3D scaffold product is intended for transplantation, they do teach and suggest that transplanting engineered tissue comprising cells embedded in a hydrogel is a suitable and beneficial application of such constructs (page 1 para 7), and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adapt the process and product to provide for the therapeutic use of transplantation with a reasonable expectation of success.
While Choi disclose wherein the composition contain a natural polymer containing collagen and muscle cells, Choi do not specifically include wherein the composition contains decellularized skeletal muscle extracellular matrix loaded with skeletal muscle progenitor cells.
Boso disclose extracellular matrix-derived hydrogels for different skeletal muscle tissue replacements (Title, abstract, page 16 section 8). Boso teach and suggest that there is a need for engineered skeletal muscle-like tissue made from SKM ECM (pages 1-2 Introduction, page 16 section 8). Boso disclose that cell-laden hydrogels possess the ability to recapitulate the cellular environment of SKM and include the use of decellularized ECM (dECM)-based hydrogels, specifically dECM of SKM (pages 5-6, section 3, pages 7-9 section 3.4). Collagen is a major ECM component (page 6 section 3.1 Natural hydrogels). Myogenic progenitors are a suggested cell type (page 11 section 5.1) and mechanical stimulation (such as stretching) is indicated as a fundamental element of myogenic cells and plays a critical role in the regulation of SKM mass, tissue ECM remodeling and homeostasis (page 14 section 6.1).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize decellularized skeletal muscle extracellular matrix (dECM SKM) loaded with skeletal muscle progenitor cells in the method of Choi because Boso teach and suggest that there is a need for engineered skeletal muscle-like tissue made from SKM ECM (pages 1-2 Introduction, page 16 section 8). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Choi indicate that natural polymer materials such as collagen and cells such as muscle cells are suitable for use in their method and Boso also suggests that mechanical stimulation, such as stretching, is beneficial for myogenic cells.
Regarding claim 3, while Boso are silent with regard to the concentration of the proteins in their decellularized extracellular matrix they are using decellularized extracellular matrix from the same tissue as claimed (skeletal muscle) and are directed to obtaining a product that more closely replicates the in vivo environment and thus the claimed concentrations would be easily obtainable through routine optimization and experimentation.
With regard to the concentrations of the proteins in the decellularized extracellular matrix from skeletal muscle tissue in the composition, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
The selection of specific concentrations clearly would have been a routine matter of optimization and experimentation on the part of the artisan of ordinary skill, said artisan recognizing that the amount and viability of the cells cultured on the matrix substrate would have been affected by these concentrations.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Choi et al and Boso et al render obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheng et al., “Decellularized Tissue and Cell-Derived Extracellular Matrices as Scaffolds for Orthopaedic Tissue Engineering”, Biotechnol Adv., 2014 ; 32(2): pp. 462–484.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAURA J. SCHUBERG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1631
/LAURA SCHUBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631