DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-14), Species B (Fig. 3-12) in the reply filed on 8/20/2025 without traverse is acknowledged. In a telephone call on 11/12/2025, the applicant further elected without traverse subspecies A - affixing by epoxy. Claims 4, 6-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. It is noted that claim 4 does not read on the elected species B but is directed to species A (see Fig. 2), since the elected species does not have a circular recess with an O-ring. Further, claim 6 is drawn to some other species with flanges extending axially from a bottom portion of the body, which does not describe the elected species as the elected species has radial flanges (see 215, Figs. 10-11).
Examiner Request
The applicant is requested to provide line numbers to each claim in all future claim submissions to aide in examination and communication with the applicant about claim recitations. The applicant is thanked for aiding examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because at least Fig. 6 has a reference number 225 that does not point to anything. Further the reference number for 227 does not appear to point to the top surface of 225 in Fig. 12 . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1, the recitation, “extending upwardly from an outer perimeter” is indefinite since the claim already introduces an outer perimeter previously in the claim and it is unclear if this is the same or other outer perimeter and it is unclear how an outer perimeter of the sealing ring is different from an outer perimeter of the body. The recitation is ambiguous and creates confusion as to what perimeter is required and what relationship the perimeter must have to the other claimed features.
The recitation, “axially inwardly” is indefinite since the axial direction is not inward and vice versa. For present examination, it is presumed that the recitation recites radially inwardly.
The recitation, “alone one side of the top flange” is indefinite for lacking proper antecedent basis and there is no way to determine what top flange is being referenced. Further the disclosure describes no top flange and therefore what structure is required is indeterminate.
The recitation, “the top flange extending from the top flange” is indefinite for being logically circular and grammatically errant. It appears the applicant is missing necessary commas, but the recitation creates undue speculation and it is unclear what the applicant intends. Further, there is no way to determine what flange is being referenced.
In regard to claim 2, the recitation, “biased toward the interface surface” is indefinite for attributing to the locking pin function that is not provided by the locking pin. The disclosure shows that a spring is present and provides any function of biasing and therefore it is unclear how the function of the spring affects the structure of the locking pin.
In regard to claim 3, the recitation, “the outer perimeter defines a circular shape” is indefinite since the sealing ring is already defined as being ring shaped and therefore it is unclear how the present recitation is not entirely redundant.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
All of the claims have been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, and it is considered that none of the claim recitations should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim limitation “liquid withdrawal device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The application merely uses the term and never defines what specific structure must be present to meet the device recitation. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sparling (US 5333915). See the indefiniteness rejections and note that the prior art teaches the claimed features as far as can be interpreted. Further note the interpretation of the claim language as outlined in the rejection below.
In regard to claim 1, Sparling teaches a sealing ring (10)(Fig. 10-16) for use in a liquid withdrawal device (column 1), the sealing ring (10) comprising:
a ring-shaped body (12 and structure identified below) forming an interface surface (16, 23);
a plurality of alternating flanges (117, 118, 119) positioned along an outer perimeter (see outer perimeter in Figure 10) of the sealing ring (10) and extending upwardly from the interface surface (16, 23), each of the plurality of alternating flanges (117, 118, 119) including:
an outer edge portion (vertical extending part of 117) extending upwardly from the outer perimeter (outer perimeter);
a top surface (top of 117, 118) extending inwardly toward an axis (central axis) from the outer edge portion (vertical extending part of 117)) above the interface surface (16, 23); and
an end wall (50) along one side (see closed side of 117) extending from the interface surface (16, 23), thereby forming a flange-receiving recess (120) (see Fig. 10).
In regard to claim 2, Sparling teaches an aperture (54) extending through the top surface (top of 117, 118) of at least one (see left one in Fig. 10) of the plurality of alternating flanges (117, 118, 119); and a locking pin (52) extending through the aperture (54) and biased (interpreted as can be moved toward) toward the interface surface (16, 23).
In regard to claim 3, Sparling teaches that the outer perimeter (outer perimeter) defines a circular shape (see figure 10, is circular).
In regard to claim 5, Sparling teaches a gasket (at least one of 15) positioned inward (at least toward the central axis) of the interface surface (16, 23) and having a flange (part of 15) positioned at least partially above (axially) the interface surface (16, 23).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN F PETTITT whose telephone number is (571)272-0771. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F, 9-5p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR): http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached on 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN F PETTITT, III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
JFPIII
November 13, 2025
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763