DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of salvigenin, cirsimaritin, rosmarinic acid and carvacrol in the reply filed on October 09, 2025 is acknowledged. In addition, applicant’s election of psoriasis in the reply filed July 23, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim(s) 3-9 and 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-11 and 14 are examined on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on September 25, 2023, October 09, 2025 and January 26 2026 are being considered by the examiner. The signed IDS forms are attached with the instant office action.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not a single paragraph preferably within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract of the disclosure is roughly 33 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure within the preferred ranges disclosed is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Double Patenting
grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the
unjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent
and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double
patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at
least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference
claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have
been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46
USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed.
Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van
Ormum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164
USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double
patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly
owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of
activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02
for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject
to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A terminal
disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal
disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP)
rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a
reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP
rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1.
For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office
action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37
CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and
714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be
used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the
application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25,
PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA /25, or PTO/AIA /26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal
Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal
Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto- processed and approved immediately
upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to
www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimor.
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-3 and 20 of U.S. Co-Pending App 18/342,313 in view of Wu (U.S. Patent No. 7,531,194 B2). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are drawn to a method of using a pharmaceutical composition claimed in the conflicting references ‘313 for example, each recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising:
A method for alleviating a radiation-induced skin disorder, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of a composition comprising salvigenin and a carrier (claim 1 of ‘313);
The method of claim 1, wherein the composition further comprises cirsimaritin, rosmarinic acid, carvacrol, or a combination thereof (claim 2 of ‘313);
The method of claim 1, wherein the composition comprises a Plectranthus Amboinicus (PA) extract, which comprises the salvigenin (claim 3 of ‘313);
The method of claim 1, wherein the composition is a pharmaceutical composition which further comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (claim 20 of ‘313);
The claim(s) of ‘313 does not discuss the same method of using the composition (i.e. for inhibiting immune responses) as stated within the claims of the present invention. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Wu’s composition that contains the P. amboinicus extract (which further contains salvigenin, cirsimaritin, rosmarinic acid, carvacrol) combined with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or excipient in order to treat a subject that has a radiation-induced skin disorder outside of only inhibiting immune responses. The claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "‘extraneous’ limitations from the specification." Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation"). The claims of the co-pending application and the instant application are drawn to the active step of administering the composition. In addition, although the method of treating is different, the composition is still the same; "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. (Applicant argued that the claimed composition was a pressure sensitive adhesive containing a tacky polymer while the product of the reference was hard and abrasion resistant. "The Board correctly found that the virtual identity of monomers and procedures sufficed to support a prima facie case of unpatentability of Spada’s polymer latexes for lack of novelty."); see MPEP 2112.01 (II).
One would have reasonably expected to use the combinations, as described above, within the pharmaceutical composition described within U.S. Co-Pending App 18/342,313 that would also encompass treating a subject that is in need of inhibiting immune responses.
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-2 and 19 of U.S. Co-Pending App 19/152,317 in view of Wu (U.S. Patent No. 7,531,194 B2) and Babish (U.S. Pub. No. 20020110604 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are drawn to a method of using a pharmaceutical composition claimed in the conflicting references ‘317 for example, each recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising:
A method for promoting maturation of a scar or reducing the risk of scar formation in a subject, the method comprising: administering to a subject at a skin site in need thereof an effective amount of a topical formulation, which comprises a Plectranthus Amboinicus (PA) extract, and one or more excipients (claim 1 of ‘317);
The method of claim 1, wherein the PA extract comprises salvigenin, cirsimaritin, rosmarinic acid, carvacrol, or a combination thereof (claim 2 of ‘317);
The method of any one of claims 1-18, wherein the subject is a human patient (claim 19 of ‘317);
The claim(s) of ‘317 does not discuss the same method of using the composition (i.e. for inhibiting immune responses) as stated within the claims of the present invention. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Wu’s composition that contains salvigenin, cirsimaritin, rosmarinic acid, carvacrol and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or excipient in the form of a lotion as taught by Babish to treat a subject’s skin site (i.e. a human patient) that needs to reduce the risk of scar formation. Given that the claims of ‘317 discuss a patient in need (i.e. a patient in need for promoting maturation of a scar or for reducing the risk of scar formation); the claims of the present invention discuss the administration of the composition to a human patient in need thus, the need of a patient population implies that a pharmaceutical composition is the appropriate product to be administered to a human patient, making the claims of ‘317 obvious over the claims of the present invention. The claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "‘extraneous’ limitations from the specification." Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation"). The claims of the co-pending application and the instant application are drawn to the active step of administering the composition. In addition, although the method of treating is different, the composition is still the same; "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. (Applicant argued that the claimed composition was a pressure sensitive adhesive containing a tacky polymer while the product of the reference was hard and abrasion resistant. "The Board correctly found that the virtual identity of monomers and procedures sufficed to support a prima facie case of unpatentability of Spada’s polymer latexes for lack of novelty."); see MPEP 2112.01 (II).
One would have reasonably expected to use the combinations, as described above, within the pharmaceutical composition described within U.S. Co-Pending App 19/152,317 that would also encompass treating a human subject that is in need of inhibiting immune responses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 is indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “which optionally” means; it is unclear if the subject is required or is not required to have intrinsic atopic dermatitis or extrinsic dermatitis as a result of having psoriasis. In addition, it is unclear what “intrinsic atopic dermatitis” and “extrinsic dermatitis” entails; the specification does not list the exact meaning of the phrases. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (U.S. Patent No. 7,531,194 B2) with Arumugam et al (Molecules; (Year: 2016), vol. 21, issue. 04, pp. 1-26) providing inherent characteristics of Wu.
Wu teaches a pharmaceutical composition that comprises the crude extract or extract of Plectranthus Amboinicus (abstract). Wu teaches that the composition could be mixed with any pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or excipient (paragraph 30). Wu teaches [that] it is demonstrated in the invention by RA rat model that when orally administrated, the PA crude extract or extract can effectively inhibit animal disorders of autoimmune diseases and therefore, the PA crude extract or extract has a potential anti-swelling or anti-inflammatory efficiency (paragraph 256). Wu teaches [that] in a preferred embodiment, the patient is human (paragraph 21).
The Wu reference does not explicitly state that the composition contains salvigenin, cirsimaritin, rosmarinic acid and carvacrol as claimed by the applicant in claim(s) 1 and 2. However, the Arumugam et al reference demonstrates that the extract of Plectranthus Amboinicus contains cirsimaritin, salvigenin, carvacrol and rosmarinic acid (page 10) ([ethyl acetate, water and chloroform were used as extraction solvents within the Arumugam et al reference]). Thus, the claimed components are naturally found within a P. amboinicus extract and would inherently be present in the reference extract. In addition, the specification of the present invention teaches that ethyl acetate, water and chloroform are useful as a solvent when conducting an extraction of P. amboinicus (par. 0008, par. 0039 and par. 0042).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (U.S. Patent No. 7,531,194 B2) in view of Babish (U.S. Pub. No. 20020110604 A1).
The teachings of Wu are above.
Wu does not teach that the human patient has an autoimmune disease which is psoriasis (as stated within claim 11 of the present invention). Wu does not teach that the subject is a human patient having psoriasis (as stated within claim 14 of the present invention).
Babish teaches a composition that comprises a triterpene species ([i.e. Plectranthus amboinicus]) (abstract and paragraph 0053). Babish teaches [that] table 1 below provides a list of physiological insults are believed to play a significant role and are therefore appropriate targets for normalization, prevention or treatment by antioxidants, [one of the physiological insults being] psoriasis (paragraph 0006 and table 1). Babish teaches [that] numerous epidemiological investigations have suggested that consumption of antioxidants in the form of fresh fruits and vegetables provides protection from autoimmune disease (paragraph 0007).
Wu’s composition can be modified to include the teaching that autoimmune diseases that can be treated by the composition that comprises P. amboinicus (that would intrinsically contain the compounds salvigenin, cirsimaritin, rosmarinic acid and carvacrol) could be used in treating psoriasis as taught by Babish. Although the Wu reference teaches testing on a rat model, the Wu reference also establishes that the composition is preferred to be administered to a human, thus making the combination of references obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to achieve a method for inhibiting immune responses that contains the four components (i.e. salvigenin, cirsimaritin, rosmarinic acid and carvacrol) that can optionally come from the P. amboinicus extract that has the ability of treating subjects that possess psoriasis, an autoimmune disease.
Conclusion
NASHARA L MOREAUExaminer, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655