DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. The amendment filed on 06/16/2026 has been made of record and entered.
Claims 1-3, 10, & 12-13 have been amended.
Claims 4 & 11 have been canceled.
Claim 22 has been added.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, & 12-22 are currently pending in this application.
Status of Withdrawn Claim(s)
2. Claims 19-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/29/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-18, & 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,349,430 B2 (which is US Application 17/810,548). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
US Pat. '430 teaches the same amorphous mixed metal oxide as claimed. The metal contents of Mg, Zn, other elements, Al and/or Ga, and non-metallic and metalloid impurities disclosed appear to be falling within and/or overlapping with the instant claimed ranges. Any additional limitations disclosed in the claims of the reference would have been an inherent feature of the claimed mixed metal oxide in view of the same mixed metal oxide disclosed and claimed.
The rejection is maintained because a Terminal Disclaimer (T.D.) has not yet been filed. Applicants requested that the rejection be held until the claims are found allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, & 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3133186, hereinafter “EP ‘186”.
The claimed invention relates to an amorphous mixed metal oxide comprising: metal or metalloid elements comprising:
0.40 to 0.70 parts by mole Mg, 0.30 to 0.60 parts by mole Zn, and 0.00 to 0.30 parts by mole of other elements selected from metals or metalloids,
wherein less than 0.01 parts by mole of the other elements is Al,
wherein less than 0.04 parts by mole of the other elements is Ga; and
wherein a sum of all parts by mole of Mg, Zn, and the other elements is about 1.00;
oxygen; and
less than 0.01 parts by mole of non-metallic and non-metalloid impurities relative to a total of all parts by mole of all elements of the mixed metal oxide;
wherein the mixed metal oxide comprises an amorphous phase (see the instant claim 1).
EP ‘186 discloses a composition MgxZn(1-x)O, wherein x is between about 0.5 and about 0.8 (col. 4- col. 5, [0018]). The composition has a polycrystalline structure comprising a cubic phase and amorphous phase (col. 8, [0030]).
Regarding claims 1-3, 7-8, & 10, EP ‘186 appears to teach the claimed amorphous mixed metal oxide (col. 4- p. 5, [0018]). Based on the chemical formula of the disclosed composition, when x is 0.5, Mg is 0.5 and Zn is 0.5, these values are falling within the instant claimed Mg and Zn ranges. However, when x is 0.8, Mg is 0.8 and Zn is 0.2, these values are falling outside of the claimed ranges. The disclosed Mg and Zn ranges are taken to meet the claimed ranges because they are overlapping with each other.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to the claim limitation on “0.00 to 0.30 parts by mole of other elements, selected from metals or metalloids, wherein less than 0.01 parts by mole of the other elements is Al, and wherein less than 0.04 parts by mole of the other elements is Ga” in the instant claims 1, 3, 5-6, & 10, since the disclosed composition does not contain any other elements besides Mg and Zn, the amounts of Al and Ga are “0” thus meeting the claimed limitation.
With respect to the claim limitation on “less than 0.01 parts by mole of non-metallic and non-metalloid impurities” in the instant claims 1, 5, & 6, since the disclosed composition does not contain any other elements besides Mg and Zn, there is no impurities contained in the disclosed composition thus meeting the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 9, the claim further defines that “the oxygen is present in an amount that is within 10 mole% of a stoichiometric amount of the oxide”. The reference while does not indicate the amount of oxygen contained in the disclosed composition, however the oxygen amount contained in the reference composition would inherently be the same in view of the same Mg and Zn amounts disclosed and claimed.
Regarding product-by-process claims 10 & 12-18, the instant claims are directed to an amorphous mixed metal oxide of claim 1 prepared by a process comprising depositing a magnesium oxide and a zinc oxide on a substrate. Since the instant claims are drawn to a product, any difference imparted by product-by-process limitations would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made because where the examiner has found a substantially similar product as in the applied prior art the burden of proof is shifted to the applicant to establish that their product is patentably distinct not the examiner to show the same process of making, see In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685, In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324, In re Spada, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 and MPEP 2113. While the disclosed composition might not be made by the same process, the product disclosed is the same as claimed.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, & 12-18 are unpatentable as being obvious over EP ‘186.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
EP ‘186 discloses the claimed amorphous mixed metal oxide as recited in the instant claim 1, however the reference does not teach the claim limitation on “the other elements are present at greater than 0 parts by mole”.
There is no motivation to combine the teachings of the references together to arrive to the claimed invention.
Response to Applicants’ Arguments
6. Applicants’ remarks submitted with the amendment on 06/16/2026 have been fully reviewed, the arguments regarding the applied reference to EP ‘186 are NOT deemed persuasive because of the following reasons.
EP ‘186 teaches a composition comprising a polycrystalline structure includes both amorphous and cubic crystalline structures (col. 2, [0007]; col. 8, [0030]). It is considered the cubic crystalline structure/phase disclosed in the composition of EP ‘186 is not being excluded from the claimed mixed oxide composition in view of the open-ended transitional phrase “comprising” and “comprises” in the instant claim 1. The claimed limitation on “wherein the mixed metal oxide comprises an amorphous phase” in instant claim 1 is met by the teaching disclosed by EP ‘186.
The amendments to the claims appeared overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 (second paragraph) and objections under Claim Objection made in the last office action (dated 03/16/2026).
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
8. Claims 1-3, 5-10, & 12-22 are pending. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-18, & 22 are rejected. Claims 19-21 are withdrawn. No claims are allowed.
Contacts
/Cam N. Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/CNN/
August 19, 2026