DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-30 have been examined and are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. In response to the amendments received in the Office on 3/03/2026, the Office acknowledges the current status of the claims: claims 1, 16, 28, and 30 have been amended, and no new matter appears to be included.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
5. In response to the Remarks received in the Office on 3/03/2026, Examiner agrees support for the claim amendments is described in at least [0092] of the originally-filed disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 3-9, 13, 14, 16-23, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application 2020/0252944 A1 to Rajendran (hereinafter “Rajendran”), in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2016/0014791 A1 to Liu et al. (hereinafter “Liu”), and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2017/0223694 A1 to Han et al. (hereinafter “Han”).
Regarding Claim 1, Rajendran discloses a method for wireless communication performable at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
obtaining a first uplink power control parameter associated with a first uplink resource allocation (Rajendran: [0055-0056] – corresponds to an initial power value operated by the network when a terminal device first enters a cell area, the “first uplink power control parameter” being one of either P0_PUSCH or P0_PUCCH, these values being interchangeable in terms of “first” and “second” with respect to the claim language. See also [0033], [0039] describing the P0_PUSCH or P0_PUCCH comprising one or more parameters that determine these initial power values.);
obtaining a second uplink power control parameter associated with a second uplink resource allocation (Rajendran: [0054-0056] – corresponds to an initial power value operated by the network when a terminal device first enters a cell area, the “first uplink power control parameter” being one of either P0_PUSCH or P0_PUCCH, these values being interchangeable in terms of “first” and “second” with respect to the claim language. See also [0033], [0039] describing the P0_PUSCH or P0_PUCCH comprising one or more parameters that determine these initial power values.), the second uplink resource allocation overlapping in time and frequency with a portion of the first uplink resource allocation (Rajendran: [0144] – corresponds to an overlap of physical resource blocks (PRB, time and frequency resources) of PUCCH over PUSCH.);
sending a first uplink transmission including the PUSCH data or the PUCCH data in the first uplink resource allocation using a first transmission power associated with the first uplink power control parameter (Rajendran: [0055-0056] – corresponds to an initial power value operated by the network when a terminal device first enters a cell area, the “first uplink power control parameter” being one of either P0_PUSCH or P0_PUCCH, these values being interchangeable in terms of “first” and “second” with respect to the claim language. See also [0033], [0039] describing the P0_PUSCH or P0_PUCCH comprising one or more parameters that determine these initial power values. An interpretation of the first uplink transmission includes a terminal device transmits on the uplink using the initial value before an adjustment is made to the power values based on certain threshold measurements (parameters), either to the P0_PUSCH or P0_PUCCH, as described in [0057-0064].); and
sending a second uplink transmission including the PUSCH data or the PUCCH data in the second uplink resource allocation using a second transmission power associated with the second uplink power control parameter (Rajendran: [0056-0064] – corresponds to a power adjustment to the initial values of either P0_PUSCH or P0_PUCCH, or both, based on a plurality of network performance metrics.), the second transmission power being less than the first transmission power in response to the second uplink power control parameter having a different value than the first uplink power control parameter (Rajendran: [0055-0064] – corresponds to an increase or decrease in the power adjustment values, either P0_PUSCH or P0_PUCCH, or both, such that there is differential power value for one or more of P0_PUSCH or P0_PUCCH.).
Although Rajendran discloses overlapping resources and reducing interfering signals between wireless devices (Rajendran: Figure 1A with [0018] and above citations), Rajendran does not explicitly disclose the second uplink resource allocation further overlapping in time with a downlink resource allocation for a second UE.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Liu. Liu is similarly concerned with mitigating interference between user devices in a wireless communication system (Liu: [0001]). In a scenario, Liu discloses the use of a flexible subframe (understood to be a radio resource, or a resource allocation) for scheduling resources in the uplink and the downlink (Liu: [0103]). Liu further discloses identifying an uplink resource allocation, of a first UE, that overlaps in time with a downlink resource allocation of a second UE (Liu: [0040], [0063] – a network node is operable to determine interference between two UEs, wherein the flexible subframe for uplink transmissions of the first UE (here, an aggressor UE) overlaps in time with a second UE transmitting the flexible subframe in the downlink direction (the victim UE). There is interchangeability between the victim and aggressor UEs, as there is interchangeability between the direction of resources in the flexible subframe.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the method for wireless communication as disclosed by Rajendran in view of the wireless communication method of Liu to identify resources between user devices within the wireless network for the reasons of mitigating potential interference between aggressor and victim UEs (Liu: [0007], [0009]).
Although Rajendran discloses transmitting PUSCH and/or PUCCH (Rajendran: [0055-0056] – corresponds to an initial power value operated by the network when a terminal device first enters a cell area, the “first uplink power control parameter” being one of either P0_PUSCH or P0_PUCCH, these values being interchangeable in terms of “first” and “second” with respect to the claim language. See also [0033], [0039] describing the P0_PUSCH or P0_PUCCH comprising one or more parameters that determine these initial power values.), Rajendran does not expressly disclose the first uplink resource allocation and the second uplink resource allocation both being for PUSCH or both being for PUCCH.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Han. Han is similarly concerned with PUCCH and PUSCH transmission in dual connectivity mode (Han: [0017-0020]). Han discloses the first uplink resource allocation and the second uplink resource allocation both being for PUSCH or both being for PUCCH (Han: [0032-0035] – in an example embodiment, Han discloses simultaneous transmission of two PUCCHs in which power scaling may be used for subframes (allocation of resources) for overlapping symbols. See also [0029-0030], [0062] – describing the first and second channels may be both PUCCH or both PUSCH.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the method for wireless communication as disclosed by Rajendran in view of the wireless communication method of Han to identify resources for PUCCH and/or PUSCH within the wireless network for the reasons of avoiding a total transmission power when a device is power limited.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Rajendran, Liu, and Han discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Rajendran further discloses the first uplink power control parameter is a first function of a first nominal power component and a first initial power component (Rajendran: [0017], [0028-0029] – corresponds to either P0_NOMINAL_PUSCH or P0_NOMINAL_PUCCH (nominal power components), and includes a maximum allowable transmission power, pathloss compensation, and bandwidth in resource blocks (all power components).), and the second uplink power control parameter is a second function of a second nominal power component and a second initial power component (Rajendran: [0017], [0028-0029] – corresponds to either P0_NOMINAL_PUSCH or P0_NOMINAL_PUCCH (nominal power components), and includes a maximum allowable transmission power, pathloss compensation, and bandwidth in resource blocks (all power components).), the second nominal power component being different than the first nominal power component or the second initial power component being different than the first initial power component (Rajendran: [0017], [0028-0029] – “A higher transmit power may occur, for example, with total transmit power per subframe increasing proportionally to a resource block increase (effectively a power component difference). “ΔMCS,” or change in modulation and coding scheme, reflects the fact that different signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) may be required for different modulation schemes and coding rates used for the PUSCH transmission.” (also a difference in power components).).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Rajendran, Liu, and Han discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Rajendran further discloses the first uplink power control parameter is a first quantity of resource blocks in the first uplink resource allocation (Rajendran: [0017], [0028-0029] – corresponds to either P0_NOMINAL_PUSCH or P0_NOMINAL_PUCCH (nominal power components), and includes a maximum allowable transmission power, pathloss compensation, and bandwidth in resource blocks (all power components). “A larger resource assignment may occur, for example, with a higher number of resource blocks for the scheduled subframe. A correspondingly higher received power may occur, for example, with a higher resource block assigned to the participating wireless device 102, such that the total power received by the network device 103 from the intended wireless device 102 may be high in comparison to the smaller resource block assignments, as power per resource block may be kept the same.” The preceding suggests a number of resource blocks for either PUSCH or PUCCH. See also [0067-0068].), and the second uplink power control parameter is a second quantity of resource blocks in the second uplink resource allocation which is different than the first quantity of resource blocks (Rajendran: [0017], [0028-0029] – corresponds to either P0_NOMINAL_PUSCH or P0_NOMINAL_PUCCH (nominal power components), and includes a maximum allowable transmission power, pathloss compensation, and bandwidth in resource blocks (all power components). “A larger resource assignment may occur, for example, with a higher number of resource blocks for the scheduled subframe. A correspondingly higher received power may occur, for example, with a higher resource block assigned to the participating wireless device 102, such that the total power received by the network device 103 from the intended wireless device 102 may be high in comparison to the smaller resource block assignments, as power per resource block may be kept the same.” The preceding suggests a number of resource blocks for either PUSCH or PUCCH and a difference between the two, dependent upon a number of resource blocks. See also [0067-0068].).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Rajendran, Liu, and Han discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Rajendran further discloses the first uplink power control parameter and the second uplink power control parameter are different valued parameters respectively associated with random access (Rajendran: [0022-0023], [0041], [0077] – corresponds to success and/or failure of RACH procedures for PUSCH and PUCCH.) or a sounding reference signal (alternative or dispositive limitation).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Rajendran, Liu, and Han discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Rajendran further discloses the first uplink power control parameter and the second uplink power control parameter are different valued parameters respectively associated with a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) (Rajendran: [0028-0029] a change in the MCS value corresponds to a different parameter value for either PUCCH and PUSCH, or both. See also [0100-0102].) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) format (alternative or dispositive limitation).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Rajendran, Liu, and Han discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Rajendran further discloses the first uplink power control parameter is a first power control adjustment state, and the second uplink power control parameter is a second power control adjustment state different than the first power control adjustment state (Rajendran: [0017] – corresponds to dynamic power adjustments of uplink parameters for uplink channels, including the PUSCH and the PUCCH. See also [0040-0042], [0046-0047] – different parameters may be adjusted with respect to power in the PUSCH and PUCCH.).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Rajendran, Liu, and Han discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Rajendran further discloses the first uplink power control parameter is a first configured maximum output power, and the second uplink power control parameter is a second configured maximum output power different than the first configured maximum output power (Rajendran: [0028-0029], [0144] – each of a PUSCH and PUCCH are variable in terms of, at least, a maximum allowable transmission (an output) power PCMAX.).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Rajendran, Liu, and Han discloses the method of claim 8, wherein Rajendran further discloses the first configured maximum output power and the second configured maximum output power are obtained from respective downlink control information (DCIs) (alternative or dispositive limitation), medium access control (MAC) control elements (MAC- CEs) (alternative or dispositive limitation), or radio resource control (RRC) configurations (Rajendran: [0028-0029], [0144] – each of a PUSCH and PUCCH are variable in terms of, at least, a maximum allowable transmission (an output) power PCMAX, wherein Rajendran further discloses in at least [0037] and [0041-0042], an RRC success rate, per a PUCCH and/or a PUSCH, is/are evaluated for one or more parameters, which necessarily includes the PCMAX. One or more values of the parameters may be adjusted, for example, manually by an engineer dependent upon the type of control channel capability the network utilizes, as further described in [0021] – a channel used for wireless devices having an RRC connection.).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Rajendran, Liu, and Han discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Rajendran further discloses the first uplink power control parameter and the second uplink power control parameter include at least one of:
different nominal power components (Rajendran: [0017], [0028-0029] – corresponds to either P0_NOMINAL_PUSCH or P0_NOMINAL_PUCCH (nominal power components),
different initial power components (Rajendran: [0056-0064] – corresponds to a power adjustment to the initial values of either P0_PUSCH or P0_PUCCH, or both, based on a plurality of network performance metrics.),
different quantities of resource blocks (Rajendran: [0017], [0028-0029] – corresponds to either P0_NOMINAL_PUSCH or P0_NOMINAL_PUCCH (nominal power components), and includes a maximum allowable transmission power, pathloss compensation, and bandwidth in resource blocks (all power components). “A larger resource assignment may occur, for example, with a higher number of resource blocks for the scheduled subframe. A correspondingly higher received power may occur, for example, with a higher resource block assigned to the participating wireless device 102, such that the total power received by the network device 103 from the intended wireless device 102 may be high in comparison to the smaller resource block assignments, as power per resource block may be kept the same.” The preceding suggests a number of resource blocks for either PUSCH or PUCCH. See also [0067-0068].),
different valued parameters respectively associated with random access (Rajendran: [0022-0023], [0041], [0077] – corresponds to success and/or failure of RACH procedures for PUSCH and PUCCH.) or a sounding reference signal (alternative or dispositive limitation),
different valued parameters respectively associated with a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) (Rajendran: [0017], [0028-0029] – “A higher transmit power may occur, for example, with total transmit power per subframe increasing proportionally to a resource block increase (effectively a power component difference). “ΔMCS,” or change in modulation and coding scheme, reflects the fact that different signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) may be required for different modulation schemes and coding rates used for the PUSCH transmission.” (also a difference in power components).) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) format (alternative or dispositive limitation),
different power control adjustment states (Rajendran: [0056-0064] – corresponds to a power adjustment to the initial values of either P0_PUSCH or P0_PUCCH, or both, based on a plurality of network performance metrics.),
different configured maximum output powers (Rajendran: [0028-0029], [0144] – each of a PUSCH and PUCCH are variable in terms of, at least, a maximum allowable transmission (an output) power PCMAX.),
different offsets with respect to a default configured maximum output power (alternative or dispositive limitation), or
different percentages of the first uplink resource allocation (Rajendran: [0072] – a PRB utilization rate may be determined to satisfy a threshold.).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Rajendran, Liu, and Han discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Rajendran further discloses the second uplink resource allocation is indicated in downlink control information (DCIs) (alternative or dispositive limitation), medium access control (MAC) control elements (MAC- CEs) (alternative or dispositive limitation), or radio resource control (RRC) configurations (Rajendran: [0028-0029], [0144] – each of a PUSCH and PUCCH are variable in terms of, at least, a maximum allowable transmission (an output) power PCMAX, wherein Rajendran further discloses in at least [0037] and [0041-0042], an RRC success rate, per a PUCCH and/or a PUSCH, is/are evaluated for one or more parameters, which necessarily includes the PCMAX. One or more values of the parameters may be adjusted, for example, manually by an engineer dependent upon the type of control channel capability the network utilizes, as further described in [0021] – a channel used for wireless devices having an RRC connection.).
Claims 16-23, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claims 1 and 3-9, recite similar features as claims 1 and 3-9, respectively, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 1 and 3-9. Please see above rejections of claims 1 and 3-9. Rajendran further discloses the apparatus including one or more memories (Rajendran: Figure 2 with [0010], [0024]) and one or more processors operatively coupled to the one or more memories (Rajendran: Figure 2 with [0010], [0024]).
Claim 28, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claim 1, recites similar features as claim 1 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 1. Please see above rejection of claim 1.
Claim 30, directed to an article of manufacture embodiment of claim 1, recites similar features as claim 1 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 1. Please see above rejection of claim 1. Rajendran further discloses the medium in at least [0024].
8. Claims 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Rajendran, Liu and Han, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2014/0087782 A1 to Zhang et al. (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Rajendran, Liu, and Han discloses the method of claim 8, wherein both Rajendran and Liu disclose an evaluation of a maximum power output (Rajendran: [0028-0029], [0144]; Liu: [0089-0090]), wherein transmit power is considered when monitoring for interference, but neither Rajendran or Liu discloses the first configured maximum output power is a function of a default configured maximum output power and a first offset, and the second configured maximum output power is a function of the default configured maximum output power and a second offset different than the first offset.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Zhang. Zhang is similarly concerned with the evaluation of parameters for the purpose of calculating uplink transmit power (Zhang: [0007]). Zhang discloses the first configured maximum output power is a function of a default configured maximum output power and a first offset, and the second configured maximum output power is a function of the default configured maximum output power and a second offset different than the first offset (Zhang: [0120-0124] – corresponds to both the PUCCH and PUSCH include a maximum output power as being semi-statically set by a network node (nominal/default) and to include a power offset value based on an MCS. Since both maximum powers and offset values may be set to compensate for pathloss (PL) in PUCCH and PUSCH.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the method for wireless communication as disclosed by Rajendran, Liu, and Han in view of the wireless communication method of Zhang to include nominal maximum power values and a power offset for the reasons of controlling the uplink power at a user device to accurately calculate path loss (Zhang: [0004-0006]).
Claim 24, dependent upon claim 22, recites similar features as claim 10, and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 10. Please see above rejection of claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 2, 11, 12, 15, 25-27, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 March 24, 2026