DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is a responsive to the application filed on 5/26/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/26/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 500. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, 16-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAVIS (US 20220093244 A1) and further in view of ANDERSEN et al. (US 20160306074 A1).
As to claim 1, DAVIS teaches A system, comprising: a laboratory computing device configured to collect laboratory data when performing a core flooding test using the core flood apparatus (See ¶¶ [0095], [0049], [0053], Teaches that Remote diagnostic application 156, for example, may function by instruments 114 selecting and sending pre-selected data to RC device 112. RC device 112 in turn may transmit instrument data to database 102 via a secured, encrypted connection 110. Once the data is received at database 102, it may be saved and further processed by at least one processor. For remote diagnostic application 156, instrument operational data may be sent to RC device 112, and RC device 112, in turn, may send the data to database 102 wherein the data may be viewable by a user at interface 150 through remote diagnostic application 156. One or more input devices may be connected to database server 102, RC device 112 and instruments 114 for entering data and commands into a respective device. In an example embodiment, an input device may be a keyboard, mouse, touch screen, track pad, track ball, isopoint, image sensor, character recognition, barcode scanner, microphone, and/or a speech or voice recognition system, or the like. RC device 112 may serve as a firewall to prevent local network traffic from compromising the encrypted link to database 102. In some other embodiments, as instruments are connected directly to RC device 112, RC device 112 may prevent local network users from accessing the instruments);
a data control and data monitor server communicatively interfacing with the laboratory computing device and configured to: receive the laboratory data, send instructions to the laboratory computing device (See ¶¶ [0095], [0049], [0053], Teaches that Remote diagnostic application 156, for example, may function by instruments 114 selecting and sending pre-selected data to RC device 112. RC device 112 in turn may transmit instrument data to database 102 via a secured, encrypted connection 110. Once the data is received at database 102, it may be saved and further processed by at least one processor. For remote diagnostic application 156, instrument operational data may be sent to RC device 112, and RC device 112, in turn, may send the data to database 102 wherein the data may be viewable by a user at interface 150 through remote diagnostic application 156. One or more input devices may be connected to database server 102, RC device 112 and instruments 114 for entering data and commands into a respective device. In an example embodiment, an input device may be a keyboard, mouse, touch screen, track pad, track ball, isopoint, image sensor, character recognition, barcode scanner, microphone, and/or a speech or voice recognition system, or the like. RC device 112 may serve as a firewall to prevent local network traffic from compromising the encrypted link to database 102. In some other embodiments, as instruments are connected directly to RC device 112, RC device 112 may prevent local network users from accessing the instruments.);
and a data management and analysis facility that is physically separate from the laboratory computing device and the core flood apparatus (See ¶¶ [0071], Teaches that data analytics 162 may supply transformed data or data that has been analyzed for trends through the use of the at least one processor 108. This analyzed/transformed data may be fed into a suite of applications developed to be fed from the data analytics program or the module. In some embodiments, the module may be hardware and/or software and/or a combination of thereof. In various embodiments, the applications may be hosted from the database directly or may be hosted on remote devices that can access the data remotely and securely and display it in a local interface or dashboard.),
and configured to: receive the laboratory data from the data control and data monitor server and store the laboratory data (See ¶¶ [0028], [0078], [0079], [0066]-[0067] Teaches that Some embodiments may include database systems that may transmit data from one or more instruments to one or more servers that may be configured to compile a database including rich data from instruments. In some other embodiment, servers may be configured to analyze rich data using an analytics program or a module that may be configured to perform analytics on data (hereinafter referred to as a module) and to display real-time or near real-time result of the analysis. Rich data may be collected via remote data collection pipeline 225 which can be similar to secured, encrypted connection 110. Pipeline 225 may provide a secure IP network connection linking a remotely located instrument(s), e.g., instruments 210, within a clinical laboratory to data store 240 for the purposes of gathering rich data—that is, instrument data, test data (test results of a hematology test analysis for example), reagent usage data, quality control data, and troubleshooting information with tags, to provide remote management of instruments and data analysis. In some embodiments, pipeline 225 may include hardware and software having program modules, operating environments, software code and the like for acquiring data from the cloud 220 and storing the acquired data on a storage media in data store 240.).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of a core flood apparatus; when performing a core flooding test using the core flood apparatus.
ANDERSEN et al., from analogous art, teaches a core flood apparatus; when performing a core flooding test using the core flood apparatus (See ¶¶ [0043], [0048], Teaches that The fourth stage is to validate one of the laboratory core floods using a simulator. This core flood involves a water flood followed by a gas flood. Use HRA evaluation to select samples for core flood tests and for digital rock analysis to represent each rock type).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of ANDERSEN et al. into DAVIS in order to generate the DCA simulation result which models applying the laboratory test procedure to the core sample (See ANDERSEN et al. ¶ [0009]).
As to claim 2, the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. teaches the system according to claim 1 above. DAVIS further teaches further comprising: a remote access device, configured to receive the laboratory data via the data control and data monitor server (See ¶¶ [0095], [0049], [0053], Teaches that Remote diagnostic application 156, for example, may function by instruments 114 selecting and sending pre-selected data to RC device 112. RC device 112 in turn may transmit instrument data to database 102 via a secured, encrypted connection 110. Once the data is received at database 102, it may be saved and further processed by at least one processor. For remote diagnostic application 156, instrument operational data may be sent to RC device 112, and RC device 112, in turn, may send the data to database 102 wherein the data may be viewable by a user at interface 150 through remote diagnostic application 156. One or more input devices may be connected to database server 102, RC device 112 and instruments 114 for entering data and commands into a respective device. In an example embodiment, an input device may be a keyboard, mouse, touch screen, track pad, track ball, isopoint, image sensor, character recognition, barcode scanner, microphone, and/or a speech or voice recognition system, or the like. RC device 112 may serve as a firewall to prevent local network traffic from compromising the encrypted link to database 102. In some other embodiments, as instruments are connected directly to RC device 112, RC device 112 may prevent local network users from accessing the instruments).
As to claim 4, the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. teaches the system according to claim 1 above. DAVIS further teaches wherein the data control and data monitor server is further configured to block incoming traffic with an exception allowing incoming traffic from remote access devices (See ¶¶ [0095], [0049], [0053], Teaches that Remote diagnostic application 156, for example, may function by instruments 114 selecting and sending pre-selected data to RC device 112. RC device 112 in turn may transmit instrument data to database 102 via a secured, encrypted connection 110. Once the data is received at database 102, it may be saved and further processed by at least one processor. For remote diagnostic application 156, instrument operational data may be sent to RC device 112, and RC device 112, in turn, may send the data to database 102 wherein the data may be viewable by a user at interface 150 through remote diagnostic application 156. One or more input devices may be connected to database server 102, RC device 112 and instruments 114 for entering data and commands into a respective device. In an example embodiment, an input device may be a keyboard, mouse, touch screen, track pad, track ball, isopoint, image sensor, character recognition, barcode scanner, microphone, and/or a speech or voice recognition system, or the like. RC device 112 may serve as a firewall to prevent local network traffic from compromising the encrypted link to database 102. In some other embodiments, as instruments are connected directly to RC device 112, RC device 112 may prevent local network users from accessing the instruments).
As to claim 7, the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. teaches the system according to claim 1 above. DAVIS further teaches wherein the data management and analysis facility is cloud-based (See ¶¶ [0051], Teaches that a database as described herein may not actually be in the physical possession of the service provider. In some other embodiments, a database may be cloud based meaning that it may reside on cloud based servers at unspecified locations. In some other embodiments, even with a cloud based database, encryption described herein may still be used).
As to claim 8, the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. teaches the system according to claim 1 above. DAVIS further teaches organized in an edge-fog-cloud architecture, wherein: an edge component of the edge-fog-cloud architecture comprises the laboratory computing device, a fog component of the edge-fog-cloud architecture comprises the data control and data monitor server, and a cloud component of the edge-fog-cloud architecture comprises the data management and analysis facility (See ¶¶ [0043], Fig. 1, Teaches that The database 102 can be connected through the internet and one or more encrypted connections 110 such as a remote data collection pipeline to a RC device 112 at each laboratory location. Each laboratory can have an analytical instrument 114 that is connected to RC device 112 through a local link 116. Each laboratory can have up to N instruments. N can be virtually any number of instruments, for example, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 1,000 or more. These instruments can form a local network with RC device 112 connected to the database 102.).
As to claim 16, DAVIS teaches A method comprising: receiving, by a data control and monitor server, laboratory data from a laboratory computing device (See ¶¶ [0095], [0049], [0053], Teaches that Remote diagnostic application 156, for example, may function by instruments 114 selecting and sending pre-selected data to RC device 112. RC device 112 in turn may transmit instrument data to database 102 via a secured, encrypted connection 110. Once the data is received at database 102, it may be saved and further processed by at least one processor. For remote diagnostic application 156, instrument operational data may be sent to RC device 112, and RC device 112, in turn, may send the data to database 102 wherein the data may be viewable by a user at interface 150 through remote diagnostic application 156. One or more input devices may be connected to database server 102, RC device 112 and instruments 114 for entering data and commands into a respective device. In an example embodiment, an input device may be a keyboard, mouse, touch screen, track pad, track ball, isopoint, image sensor, character recognition, barcode scanner, microphone, and/or a speech or voice recognition system, or the like. RC device 112 may serve as a firewall to prevent local network traffic from compromising the encrypted link to database 102. In some other embodiments, as instruments are connected directly to RC device 112, RC device 112 may prevent local network users from accessing the instruments);
providing, by the data control and monitor server, the laboratory data to a data management and analysis facility (See ¶¶ [0028], [0078], [0079], [0066]-[0067], [0071], Teaches that Some embodiments may include database systems that may transmit data from one or more instruments to one or more servers that may be configured to compile a database including rich data from instruments. In some other embodiment, servers may be configured to analyze rich data using an analytics program or a module that may be configured to perform analytics on data (hereinafter referred to as a module) and to display real-time or near real-time result of the analysis. Rich data may be collected via remote data collection pipeline 225 which can be similar to secured, encrypted connection 110. Pipeline 225 may provide a secure IP network connection linking a remotely located instrument(s), e.g., instruments 210, within a clinical laboratory to data store 240 for the purposes of gathering rich data—that is, instrument data, test data (test results of a hematology test analysis for example), reagent usage data, quality control data, and troubleshooting information with tags, to provide remote management of instruments and data analysis. In some embodiments, pipeline 225 may include hardware and software having program modules, operating environments, software code and the like for acquiring data from the cloud 220 and storing the acquired data on a storage media in data store 240. Data analytics 162 may supply transformed data or data that has been analyzed for trends through the use of the at least one processor 108. This analyzed/transformed data may be fed into a suite of applications developed to be fed from the data analytics program or the module. In some embodiments, the module may be hardware and/or software and/or a combination of thereof. In various embodiments, the applications may be hosted from the database directly or may be hosted on remote devices that can access the data remotely and securely and display it in a local interface or dashboard).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the laboratory data originate from a core flooding test performed using a core flood apparatus.
ANDERSEN et al., from analogous art, teaches wherein the laboratory data originate from a core flooding test performed using a core flood apparatus (See ¶¶ [0043], [0048], Teaches that The fourth stage is to validate one of the laboratory core floods using a simulator. This core flood involves a water flood followed by a gas flood. Use HRA evaluation to select samples for core flood tests and for digital rock analysis to represent each rock type).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of ANDERSEN et al. into DAVIS in order to generate the DCA simulation result which models applying the laboratory test procedure to the core sample (See ANDERSEN et al. ¶ [0009]).
As to claim 17, the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. teaches the method according to claim 16 above. DAVIS further teaches further comprising: blocking incoming traffic from the data management and analysis facility (See ¶¶ [0095], [0049], [0053], Teaches that Remote diagnostic application 156, for example, may function by instruments 114 selecting and sending pre-selected data to RC device 112. RC device 112 in turn may transmit instrument data to database 102 via a secured, encrypted connection 110. Once the data is received at database 102, it may be saved and further processed by at least one processor. For remote diagnostic application 156, instrument operational data may be sent to RC device 112, and RC device 112, in turn, may send the data to database 102 wherein the data may be viewable by a user at interface 150 through remote diagnostic application 156. One or more input devices may be connected to database server 102, RC device 112 and instruments 114 for entering data and commands into a respective device. In an example embodiment, an input device may be a keyboard, mouse, touch screen, track pad, track ball, isopoint, image sensor, character recognition, barcode scanner, microphone, and/or a speech or voice recognition system, or the like. RC device 112 may serve as a firewall to prevent local network traffic from compromising the encrypted link to database 102. In some other embodiments, as instruments are connected directly to RC device 112, RC device 112 may prevent local network users from accessing the instruments).
As to claim 19, the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. teaches the system according to claim 16 above. DAVIS further teaches further comprising: allowing incoming traffic from remote access devices (See ¶¶ [0095], [0049], [0053], Teaches that Remote diagnostic application 156, for example, may function by instruments 114 selecting and sending pre-selected data to RC device 112. RC device 112 in turn may transmit instrument data to database 102 via a secured, encrypted connection 110. Once the data is received at database 102, it may be saved and further processed by at least one processor. For remote diagnostic application 156, instrument operational data may be sent to RC device 112, and RC device 112, in turn, may send the data to database 102 wherein the data may be viewable by a user at interface 150 through remote diagnostic application 156. One or more input devices may be connected to database server 102, RC device 112 and instruments 114 for entering data and commands into a respective device. In an example embodiment, an input device may be a keyboard, mouse, touch screen, track pad, track ball, isopoint, image sensor, character recognition, barcode scanner, microphone, and/or a speech or voice recognition system, or the like. RC device 112 may serve as a firewall to prevent local network traffic from compromising the encrypted link to database 102. In some other embodiments, as instruments are connected directly to RC device 112, RC device 112 may prevent local network users from accessing the instruments).
Claims 3, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAVIS (US 20220093244 A1) and ANDERSEN et al. (US 20160306074 A1) and further in view of Jain (US 20240230696 A1).
As to claim 3, the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. teaches the system according to claim 2 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the remote access device is further configured to send control signals to the laboratory computing device via the data control and data monitor server.
Jain, from analogous art, teaches wherein the remote access device is further configured to send control signals to the laboratory computing device via the data control and data monitor server (See ¶¶ [0101], [0104], Teaches that the remote server 106 transmits the control instruction to laboratory instrument 102 identified in the control instruction. The control instructions serve as a medium to configure the laboratory instrument 102 according to the user 110 requirement without being located at the same place. This helps in reducing the need for manual operators, as a single user can program a plurality of laboratory instrument(s) 102 using the control instructions. In an embodiment, the user 110 may be either present at the same location, or located outside the area where the laboratory instrument 102 is placed. This can be beneficial if the experiment to be performed by the laboratory instrument 102 relates to harmful gases or communicable diseases or viruses. In such cases, the scientist in charge of the experiment is at a great risk of getting infected. Therefore, such arrangements increase the safety of the scientist without compromising on the quality of the experiment. the remote server 106 may store the control instructions along with the identifier of the laboratory instrument 102 in the database 108. The remote server 106 stores the control instructions to keep a record of the communications associated with the laboratory instrument 102. This approach also helps sending the control instruction to other computing devices (not shown) on the user's request. The user 110 may wish to share the control instruction associated with the laboratory instrument 102 with other people working on the same experiment performed by the laboratory instrument 102.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jain into the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. in order to control the experimental device from a remote location (See Jain ¶ [0009]).
As to claim 20, the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. teaches the method according to claim 19 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the incoming traffic comprises control signals for controlling the core flood apparatus, and wherein the laboratory computing device forwards the control signals to the laboratory computing device.
Jain, from analogous art, teaches wherein the incoming traffic comprises control signals for controlling the core flood apparatus, and wherein the laboratory computing device forwards the control signals to the laboratory computing device (See ¶¶ [0101], [0104], Teaches that the remote server 106 transmits the control instruction to laboratory instrument 102 identified in the control instruction. The control instructions serve as a medium to configure the laboratory instrument 102 according to the user 110 requirement without being located at the same place. This helps in reducing the need for manual operators, as a single user can program a plurality of laboratory instrument(s) 102 using the control instructions. In an embodiment, the user 110 may be either present at the same location, or located outside the area where the laboratory instrument 102 is placed. This can be beneficial if the experiment to be performed by the laboratory instrument 102 relates to harmful gases or communicable diseases or viruses. In such cases, the scientist in charge of the experiment is at a great risk of getting infected. Therefore, such arrangements increase the safety of the scientist without compromising on the quality of the experiment. the remote server 106 may store the control instructions along with the identifier of the laboratory instrument 102 in the database 108. The remote server 106 stores the control instructions to keep a record of the communications associated with the laboratory instrument 102. This approach also helps sending the control instruction to other computing devices (not shown) on the user's request. The user 110 may wish to share the control instruction associated with the laboratory instrument 102 with other people working on the same experiment performed by the laboratory instrument 102.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jain into the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. in order to control the experimental device from a remote location (See Jain ¶ [0009]).
Claims 5-6, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAVIS (US 20220093244 A1) and ANDERSEN et al. (US 20160306074 A1) and further in view of Rahmat et al. (US 20210385196 A1).
As to claim 5, the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. teaches the system according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of further comprising an enforcement zone using a Pattern 3+ Absolute Enforcement approach.
Rahmat et al., from analogous art, teaches further comprising an enforcement zone using a Pattern 3+ Absolute Enforcement approach (See ¶¶ [0016], [0018], Teaches that The DCU 106 can further include a unidirectional network interface 206 coupled to the sender machine 202 and the private OT network 104, such that the sender machine 202 can receive data from the private OT network 104 via the unidirectional network interface 206. In an example, the unidirectional network interface 206 includes the Ethernet ports 120. In some cases, the sender machine 202 can include the unidirectional network interface 206 that can be coupled to one or more devices of a private network, for instance the OT network 104. Thus, in some examples, the sender machine 202 can be configured to collect real or raw data from the one or more devices of the private OT network 104, and the raw data can define a data distribution, for instance a first data distribution. By way of example, and without limitation, the raw data can indicate various process variables related to the OT network 104, such as temperature, pressure, motor speed, heater variables, pump variables, valve variables, or the like. By way of further example, the raw data can include network traffic metadata, endpoint/host data (e.g., performance counters), control system specific data (e.g., PLC memory content of critical memory areas monitored for malicious manipulation), personal health data (e.g., lab test data), building data (e.g., temperature, pressure, air flow, speed, humidity), or energy parameters (e.g., frequency, voltage, power consumption, load, current). The unidirectional network interface 206 only allows data to be received from, and not sent to, the OT network 104, such that only unidirectional communications are allowed from the OT network 104 to the public IT network 102.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Rahmat et al. into the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. in order to protect the privacy of information related to data that is collected from the OT network (See Rahmat et al. ¶ [0025]).
As to claim 6, the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. and Rahmat et al. teaches the system according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the enforcement zone comprises a physically one-way data link between the data control and data monitor server and the data management and analysis facility.
Rahmat et al., from analogous art, teaches wherein the enforcement zone comprises a physically one-way data link between the data control and data monitor server and the data management and analysis facility (See ¶¶ [0016], [0018], Teaches that The DCU 106 can further include a unidirectional network interface 206 coupled to the sender machine 202 and the private OT network 104, such that the sender machine 202 can receive data from the private OT network 104 via the unidirectional network interface 206. In an example, the unidirectional network interface 206 includes the Ethernet ports 120. In some cases, the sender machine 202 can include the unidirectional network interface 206 that can be coupled to one or more devices of a private network, for instance the OT network 104. Thus, in some examples, the sender machine 202 can be configured to collect real or raw data from the one or more devices of the private OT network 104, and the raw data can define a data distribution, for instance a first data distribution. By way of example, and without limitation, the raw data can indicate various process variables related to the OT network 104, such as temperature, pressure, motor speed, heater variables, pump variables, valve variables, or the like. By way of further example, the raw data can include network traffic metadata, endpoint/host data (e.g., performance counters), control system specific data (e.g., PLC memory content of critical memory areas monitored for malicious manipulation), personal health data (e.g., lab test data), building data (e.g., temperature, pressure, air flow, speed, humidity), or energy parameters (e.g., frequency, voltage, power consumption, load, current). The unidirectional network interface 206 only allows data to be received from, and not sent to, the OT network 104, such that only unidirectional communications are allowed from the OT network 104 to the public IT network 102).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Rahmat et al. into the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. and Rahmat et al. in order to protect the privacy of information related to data that is collected from the OT network (See Rahmat et al. ¶ [0025]).
As to claim 18, the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. teaches the method according to claim 17 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the blocking of incoming traffic is implemented using a Pattern 3+ Absolute Enforcement approach.
Rahmat et al., from analogous art, teaches wherein the blocking of incoming traffic is implemented using a Pattern 3+ Absolute Enforcement approach (See ¶¶ [0016], [0018], Teaches that The DCU 106 can further include a unidirectional network interface 206 coupled to the sender machine 202 and the private OT network 104, such that the sender machine 202 can receive data from the private OT network 104 via the unidirectional network interface 206. In an example, the unidirectional network interface 206 includes the Ethernet ports 120. In some cases, the sender machine 202 can include the unidirectional network interface 206 that can be coupled to one or more devices of a private network, for instance the OT network 104. Thus, in some examples, the sender machine 202 can be configured to collect real or raw data from the one or more devices of the private OT network 104, and the raw data can define a data distribution, for instance a first data distribution. By way of example, and without limitation, the raw data can indicate various process variables related to the OT network 104, such as temperature, pressure, motor speed, heater variables, pump variables, valve variables, or the like. By way of further example, the raw data can include network traffic metadata, endpoint/host data (e.g., performance counters), control system specific data (e.g., PLC memory content of critical memory areas monitored for malicious manipulation), personal health data (e.g., lab test data), building data (e.g., temperature, pressure, air flow, speed, humidity), or energy parameters (e.g., frequency, voltage, power consumption, load, current). The unidirectional network interface 206 only allows data to be received from, and not sent to, the OT network 104, such that only unidirectional communications are allowed from the OT network 104 to the public IT network 102.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Rahmat et al. into the combination of DAVIS and ANDERSEN et al. in order to protect the privacy of information related to data that is collected from the OT network (See Rahmat et al. ¶ [0025]).
Claims 9-10, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAVIS (US 20220093244 A1) and further in view of Rahmat et al. (US 20210385196 A1).
As to claim 9, DAVIS teaches A system, comprising: a laboratory instrument (See ¶ [0049], Teaches that one or more input devices may be connected to database server 102, RC device 112 and instruments 114 for entering data and commands into a respective device. In an example embodiment, an input device may be a keyboard, mouse, touch screen, track pad, track ball, isopoint, image sensor, character recognition, barcode scanner, microphone, and/or a speech or voice recognition system, or the like.);
a laboratory computing device configured to collect laboratory data from the laboratory instrument (See ¶¶ [0095], [0049], [0053], Teaches that Remote diagnostic application 156, for example, may function by instruments 114 selecting and sending pre-selected data to RC device 112. RC device 112 in turn may transmit instrument data to database 102 via a secured, encrypted connection 110. Once the data is received at database 102, it may be saved and further processed by at least one processor. For remote diagnostic application 156, instrument operational data may be sent to RC device 112, and RC device 112, in turn, may send the data to database 102 wherein the data may be viewable by a user at interface 150 through remote diagnostic application 156. One or more input devices may be connected to database server 102, RC device 112 and instruments 114 for entering data and commands into a respective device. In an example embodiment, an input device may be a keyboard, mouse, touch screen, track pad, track ball, isopoint, image sensor, character recognition, barcode scanner, microphone, and/or a speech or voice recognition system, or the like. RC device 112 may serve as a firewall to prevent local network traffic from compromising the encrypted link to database 102. In some other embodiments, as instruments are connected directly to RC device 112, RC device 112 may prevent local network users from accessing the instruments);
a data management and analysis facility that is physically separate from the laboratory computing device and the laboratory instrument, and configured to: receive the laboratory data from the data control and data monitor server and store the laboratory data (See ¶¶ [0028], [0078], [0079], [0066]-[0067], [0071], Teaches that Some embodiments may include database systems that may transmit data from one or more instruments to one or more servers that may be configured to compile a database including rich data from instruments. In some other embodiment, servers may be configured to analyze rich data using an analytics program or a module that may be configured to perform analytics on data (hereinafter referred to as a module) and to display real-time or near real-time result of the analysis. Rich data may be collected via remote data collection pipeline 225 which can be similar to secured, encrypted connection 110. Pipeline 225 may provide a secure IP network connection linking a remotely located instrument(s), e.g., instruments 210, within a clinical laboratory to data store 240 for the purposes of gathering rich data—that is, instrument data, test data (test results of a hematology test analysis for example), reagent usage data, quality control data, and troubleshooting information with tags, to provide remote management of instruments and data analysis. In some embodiments, pipeline 225 may include hardware and software having program modules, operating environments, software code and the like for acquiring data from the cloud 220 and storing the acquired data on a storage media in data store 240. Data analytics 162 may supply transformed data or data that has been analyzed for trends through the use of the at least one processor 108. This analyzed/transformed data may be fed into a suite of applications developed to be fed from the data analytics program or the module. In some embodiments, the module may be hardware and/or software and/or a combination of thereof. In various embodiments, the applications may be hosted from the database directly or may be hosted on remote devices that can access the data remotely and securely and display it in a local interface or dashboard.).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of an enforcement zone using a Pattern 3+ Absolute Enforcement approach.
Rahmat et al., from analogous art, teaches an enforcement zone using a Pattern 3+ Absolute Enforcement approach (See ¶¶ [0016], [0018], Teaches that The DCU 106 can further include a unidirectional network interface 206 coupled to the sender machine 202 and the private OT network 104, such that the sender machine 202 can receive data from the private OT network 104 via the unidirectional network interface 206. In an example, the unidirectional network interface 206 includes the Ethernet ports 120. In some cases, the sender machine 202 can include the unidirectional network interface 206 that can be coupled to one or more devices of a private network, for instance the OT network 104. Thus, in some examples, the sender machine 202 can be configured to collect real or raw data from the one or more devices of the private OT network 104, and the raw data can define a data distribution, for instance a first data distribution. By way of example, and without limitation, the raw data can indicate various process variables related to the OT network 104, such as temperature, pressure, motor speed, heater variables, pump variables, valve variables, or the like. By way of further example, the raw data can include network traffic metadata, endpoint/host data (e.g., performance counters), control system specific data (e.g., PLC memory content of critical memory areas monitored for malicious manipulation), personal health data (e.g., lab test data), building data (e.g., temperature, pressure, air flow, speed, humidity), or energy parameters (e.g., frequency, voltage, power consumption, load, current). The unidirectional network interface 206 only allows data to be received from, and not sent to, the OT network 104, such that only unidirectional communications are allowed from the OT network 104 to the public IT network 102.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Rahmat et al. into DAVIS in order to protect the privacy of information related to data that is collected from the OT network (See Rahmat et al. ¶ [0025]).
As to claim 10, the combination of DAVIS and Rahmat et al. teaches the system according to claim 9 above. DAVIS further teaches further comprising: a remote access device, configured to receive the laboratory data via the data control and data monitor server (See ¶¶ [0095], [0049], [0053], Teaches that Remote diagnostic application 156, for example, may function by instruments 114 selecting and sending pre-selected data to RC device 112. RC device 112 in turn may transmit instrument data to database 102 via a secured, encrypted connection 110. Once the data is received at database 102, it may be saved and further processed by at least one processor. For remote diagnostic application 156, instrument operational data may be sent to RC device 112, and RC device 112, in turn, may send the data to database 102 wherein the data may be viewable by a user at interface 150 through remote diagnostic application 156. One or more input devices may be connected to database server 102, RC device 112 and instruments 114 for entering data and commands into a respective device. In an example embodiment, an input device may be a keyboard, mouse, touch screen, track pad, track ball, isopoint, image sensor, character recognition, barcode scanner, microphone, and/or a speech or voice recognition system, or the like. RC device 112 may serve as a firewall to prevent local network traffic from compromising the encrypted link to database 102. In some other embodiments, as instruments are connected directly to RC device 112, RC device 112 may prevent local network users from accessing the instruments).
As to claim 12, the combination of DAVIS and Rahmat et al. teaches the system according to claim 9 above. DAVIS further teaches wherein the data control and data monitor server is further configured to block incoming traffic with an exception allowing incoming traffic from remote access devices (See ¶¶ [0095], [0049], [0053], Teaches that Remote diagnostic application 156, for example, may function by instruments 114 selecting and sending pre-selected data to RC device 112. RC device 112 in turn may transmit instrument data to database 102 via a secured, encrypted connection 110. Once the data is received at database 102, it may be saved and further processed by at least one processor. For remote diagnostic application 156, instrument operational data may be sent to RC device 112, and RC device 112, in turn, may send the data to database 102 wherein the data may be viewable by a user at interface 150 through remote diagnostic application 156. One or more input devices may be connected to database server 102, RC device 112 and instruments 114 for entering data and commands into a respective device. In an example embodiment, an input device may be a keyboard, mouse, touch screen, track pad, track ball, isopoint, image sensor, character recognition, barcode scanner, microphone, and/or a speech or voice recognition system, or the like. RC device 112 may serve as a firewall to prevent local network traffic from compromising the encrypted link to database 102. In some other embodiments, as instruments are connected directly to RC device 112, RC device 112 may prevent local network users from accessing the instruments).
As to claim 13, the combination of DAVIS and Rahmat et al. teaches the system according to claim 9 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the enforcement zone comprises a physically one-way data link between the data control and data monitor server and the data management and analysis facility.
Rahmat et al., from analogous art, teaches wherein the enforcement zone comprises a physically one-way data link between the data control and data monitor server and the data management and analysis facility (See ¶¶ [0016], [0018], Teaches that The DCU 106 can further include a unidirectional network interface 206 coupled to the sender machine 202 and the private OT network 104, such that the sender machine 202 can receive data from the private OT network 104 via the unidirectional network interface 206. In an example, the unidirectional network interface 206 includes the Ethernet ports 120. In some cases, the sender machine 202 can include the unidirectional network interface 206 that can be coupled to one or more devices of a private network, for instance the OT network 104. Thus, in some examples, the sender machine 202 can be configured to collect real or raw data from the one or more devices of the private OT network 104, and the raw data can define a data distribution, for instance a first data distribution. By way of example, and without limitation, the raw data can indicate various process variables related to the OT network 104, such as temperature, pressure, motor speed, heater variables, pump variables, valve variables, or the like. By way of further example, the raw data can include network traffic metadata, endpoint/host data (e.g., performance counters), control system specific data (e.g., PLC memory content of critical memory areas monitored for malicious manipulation), personal health data (e.g., lab test data), building data (e.g., temperature, pressure, air flow, speed, humidity), or energy parameters (e.g., frequency, voltage, power consumption, load, current). The unidirectional network interface 206 only allows data to be received from, and not sent to, the OT network 104, such that only unidirectional communications are allowed from the OT network 104 to the public IT network 102).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Rahmat et al. into the combination of DAVIS and Rahmat et al. in order to protect the privacy of information related to data that is collected from the OT network (See Rahmat et al. ¶ [0025]).
As to claim 14, the combination of DAVIS and Rahmat et al. teaches the system according to claim 9 above. DAVIS further teaches wherein the data management and analysis facility is cloud-based (See ¶¶ [0051], Teaches that a database as described herein may not actually be in the physical possession of the service provider. In some other embodiments, a database may be cloud based meaning that it may reside on cloud based servers at unspecified locations. In some other embodiments, even with a cloud based database, encryption described herein may still be used).
As to claim 15, the combination of DAVIS and Rahmat et al. teaches the system according to claim 9 above. DAVIS further teaches organized in an edge-fog-cloud architecture, wherein: an edge component of the edge-fog-cloud architecture comprises the laboratory computing device, a fog component of the edge-fog-cloud architecture comprises the data control and data monitor server, and a cloud component of the edge-fog-cloud architecture comprises the data management and analysis facility (See ¶¶ [0043], Fig. 1, Teaches that The database 102 can be connected through the internet and one or more encrypted connections 110 such as a remote data collection pipeline to a RC device 112 at each laboratory location. Each laboratory can have an analytical instrument 114 that is connected to RC device 112 through a local link 116. Each laboratory can have up to N instruments. N can be virtually any number of instruments, for example, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 1,000 or more. These instruments can form a local network with RC device 112 connected to the database 102.).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAVIS (US 20220093244 A1) and Rahmat et al. (US 20210385196 A1) and further in view of Jain (US 20240230696 A1).
As to claim 11, the combination of DAVIS and Rahmat et al. teaches the system according to claim 10 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the remote access device is further configured to send control signals to the laboratory computing device via the data control and data monitor server.
Jain, from analogous art, teaches wherein the remote access device is further configured to send control signals to the laboratory computing device via the data control and data monitor server (See ¶¶ [0101], [0104], Teaches that the remote server 106 transmits the control instruction to laboratory instrument 102 identified in the control instruction. The control instructions serve as a medium to configure the laboratory instrument 102 according to the user 110 requirement without being located at the same place. This helps in reducing the need for manual operators, as a single user can program a plurality of laboratory instrument(s) 102 using the control instructions. In an embodiment, the user 110 may be either present at the same location, or located outside the area where the laboratory instrument 102 is placed. This can be beneficial if the experiment to be performed by the laboratory instrument 102 relates to harmful gases or communicable diseases or viruses. In such cases, the scientist in charge of the experiment is at a great risk of getting infected. Therefore, such arrangements increase the safety of the scientist without compromising on the quality of the experiment. the remote server 106 may store the control instructions along with the identifier of the laboratory instrument 102 in the database 108. The remote server 106 stores the control instructions to keep a record of the communications associated with the laboratory instrument 102. This approach also helps sending the control instruction to other computing devices (not shown) on the user's request. The user 110 may wish to share the control instruction associated with the laboratory instrument 102 with other people working on the same experiment performed by the laboratory instrument 102.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jain into the combination of DAVIS and Rahmat et al. in order to control the experimental device from a remote location (See Jain ¶ [0009]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rivers et al. (US 20160070862 A1) teaches A system, method, and apparatus for an integrated console environment for diagnostic instruments are disclosed. An example apparatus includes a laboratory analyzer configured to generate patient sample result data by performing an analysis on a biological sample from a patient and quality control data by performing an analysis on a control biological sample with known properties. The example apparatus also includes a first laboratory instrument memory configured to locally store the patient sample result data among a plurality of other patient sample result data and a first data access component at a first address configured to provide access to the first laboratory instrument memory. The example apparatus further includes a second laboratory instrument memory configured to locally store the quality control data among a plurality of other quality control data and a second data access component at a second address configured to provide access to the second laboratory instrument memory.
James Hollister
/J.R.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2499 9/26/26
/PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499