DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Tavor (PGPub 2015/0191926).
Re Claim 1, Tavor discloses a robot swimming pool cleaner with a filter screen anti-blocking function, comprising a housing 1/2, wherein the interior of the housing is provided with a filtering mechanism 20 to separate a water inlet chamber (adjacent to opening 11) and a water pump 3 chamber in the housing, the water inlet chamber and the water pump chamber are located on both sides of the filtering mechanism (fig. 1a-2), the housing is provided with a first opening 11 and a second opening 12, the first opening is communicated with the water inlet chamber, the second opening is communicated with the water pump chamber, and the housing, located on one side of the water pump chamber, is fixedly provided with a water pump 3, wherein a deposition chamber 22 is formed inside the housing on one side of the water inlet chamber, the deposition chamber is communicated with the water inlet chamber, the housing is provided with a third opening 14 communicated with the deposition chamber, and the third opening is provided with a garbage filtering and collecting mechanism 22A; and the robot swimming pool cleaner further comprises a control mechanism, the control mechanism is electrically connected with the water pump, the first opening is provided with a first one-way valve 13 that is opened towards an inner side of the housing, the third opening is provided with a second one-way valve 24 that is opened towards an outer side of the housing, and the rotation direction of the water pump is controlled by the control mechanism, to form a water flow from the first opening to the second opening inside the housing, or form a water flow from the second opening to the third opening inside the housing (fig. 1a-2; abstract; claim 1), the third opening is arranged on an upper side of the deposition chamber (i.e. third opening 14 is arranged on an upper side of the deposition chamber when device is flipped over; Note that this is an apparatus claim and there is no limitations relating to which direction or orientation that components are oriented; fig. 1a-4b).
Re Claim 6, Tavor discloses the garbage filtering and collecting mechanism comprises a garbage basket and a first fixed block, the first fixed block is fixedly arranged on the housing, the garbage basket covers the periphery of the third opening, and is detachably connected with the first fixed block, and a second filter screen is arranged at a grid gap of the garbage basket (fig. 1a-3a).
Re Claim 8, Tavor discloses the filtering mechanism comprises a filtering basket, the filtering basket is fixedly arranged inside the housing, and a first filter screen is arranged at a grid gap of the filtering basket (fig. 1a-3a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tavor.
Re Claim 3-4, Tavor discloses the filtering mechanism comprises a first filter screen, the garbage filtering and collecting mechanism comprises a second filter screen, but not specifically that the mesh aperture of the first filter screen is smaller than the mesh aperture of the second filter screen and alternately the mesh aperture of the first filter screen is larger than the mesh aperture of the second filter screen. However, it would be obvious to alter the aperture size since this is well known in the art for capturing desired size of debris and ensuring desired flow through the filters and also since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tavor in view of Hayes (PGPub 2016/0215516).
Re Claim 5, Tavor does not disclose the housing comprises an upper housing and a lower housing, and the upper housing and the lower housing are detachably connected by a connecting mechanism. However, Hayes teaches a housing comprises an upper housing 121 and a lower housing 124, and the upper housing and the lower housing are detachably connected by a connecting mechanism 154 (fig. 1-2; para. 86). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an upper housing and a lower housing, as taught by Hayes, for the purpose of protecting the internal components and since covers are commonly used in the art.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tavor in view of Turjeman (PGPub 2019/0264459).
Re Claim 7, Tavor does not disclose the second one-way valve comprises a movable door, a second fixed block, and a torsion spring, the movable door is connected with the second fixed block by a rotating shaft, so that the movable door is rotated towards the outer side of the housing, to open the third opening, and the torsion spring is arranged between the movable door and the second fixed block, so that the movable door is rotated towards the inner side of the housing without an external force, to shield the third opening. However, Turjeman teaches a one-way valve comprises a movable door, a second fixed block, and a torsion spring, the movable door is connected with the second fixed block by a rotating shaft, so that the movable door is rotated towards the outer side of the housing, to open the third opening, and the torsion spring is arranged between the movable door and the second fixed block, so that the movable door is rotated towards the inner side of the housing without an external force, to shield the third opening (para. 50). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize this configuration, as taught by Turjeman, for the purpose of allowing inflow of liquid into inlet filter chamber but that prevents outflow of the liquid from inlet filter chamber and to close one-way inlet valve when there is no inflow of liquid through inlet opening such that gravity does not close one-way inlet valve.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tavor in view of Wulc (US 3,676,884).
Re Claim 9, Tavor discloses the water pump 3 comprises a motor and an impeller. Tavor does not disclose an outer case of the motor is provided with a threading gasket, the outer case and the threading gasket of the motor are provided with a through hole for wiring, and the through hole is internally provided with a waterproof sealing member. However, Wulc teaches an outer case of a motor is provided with a threading gasket, the outer case and the threading gasket of the motor are provided with a through hole for wiring, and the through hole is internally provided with a waterproof sealing member (fig. 2-3; col. 4, line 64-col 5, line 11). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize this configuration, as taught by Wulc, for the purpose of ensuring the components are protected from the water such that the device can operate safely underwater.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tavor in view of Wulc, in further view of Erlich (US 10,294,686).
Re Claim 10, Tavor does not disclose the second opening is provided with a water pump flow channel, the water pump flow channel is fixedly connected with the housing, the impeller of the water pump is arranged in the water pump flow channel, and an outer port of the water pump flow channel is provided with a guide vane. However, Erlich teaches an opening is provided with a water pump flow channel, the water pump flow channel is fixedly connected with the housing, the impeller of the water pump is arranged in the water pump flow channel, and an outer port 58 of the water pump flow channel is provided with a guide vane (Fig. 12-14c; col. 8-9). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize this configuration, as taught by Erlich, for the purpose of allowing water and/or air to escape effificiently.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 5-7, Applicant argues that D1 [Tavor] has not disclosed or suggested the feature "wherein the third opening is arranged on an upper side of the deposition chamber", and D2-D5 also have not disclosed or suggested the feature.
-In response, third opening 14 is arranged on an upper side of the deposition chamber when device is flipped over. It is noted that the claim does not provide any other requirements of orientation of the components (other than directions of inlets) and since this is a product claim it does not preclude this interpretation. The claim limitations must clearly recite the metes and bounds of the invention. To overcome this interpretation the claim must clearly recite orientation of the components. The arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is upheld.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ryan J. Walters/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799