DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sonoda (US Patent: 5640263).
Regarding claim 1, Sonoda teaches: An image reading apparatus comprising: a transport unit that transports a sheet including an image [col 3: lines 20-26]; and a reading unit that includes a mirror plate of which both end portions in a longitudinal direction are held, reflects reflected light, which is obtained by illuminating the sheet transported by the transport unit with light, by a reflecting surface of the mirror plate, and reads the image [col 2: lines 40-54], wherein a vibration-resistant member, which imparts vibration resistance, is disposed on a part of some surfaces of the mirror plate other than the reflecting surface not to protrude from the reflecting surface [col 4: lines 28-48].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 2, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonoda (US Patent: 5640263) and in further view of Katsuhiko (JP Pub: 2006154108).
Regarding claim 2, Sonoda does not teach side reinforcing plates disposed on both side surfaces. In the same field of endeavor, Katsuhiko teaches: The image reading apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the vibration-resistant member is formed of side reinforcing plates that are fixed to and disposed on both side surfaces of the mirror plate extending in the longitudinal direction [abstract, figs. 3 and 4: 36 (36A and 36B for plates)]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to have a clamp style member for better vibration prevention.
Regarding claim 5, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 2 has been incorporated herein. Katsuhiko further teaches: The image reading apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the side reinforcing plates protrude from a back of the mirror plate opposite to the reflecting surface. [abstract, figs. 3 and 4: 36].
Regarding claim 6, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 5 has been incorporated herein. Katsuhiko further teaches: The image reading apparatus according to claim 5, wherein each of the side reinforcing plates includes a bent portion formed at a portion of the side reinforcing plate protruding from the back [figs. 3 and 4: 36 (Edges of 36 are bent.)].
6. Claims 3, 4, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sonoda (US Patent: 5640263) and in further view of Kana (JP Pub: 2013041171) (Applicant Disclosed Reference).
Regarding claim 3, Sonoda does not disclose reinforcing plates at multiple positions. In the same field of endeavor, Kana teaches: The image reading apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the vibration-resistant member is formed of a plurality of back reinforcing plates that are fixed to and arranged on a back of the mirror plate opposite to the reflecting surface at a plurality of positions arranged at intervals in the longitudinal direction [fig. 4: 92-1, 92-2]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to install multiple reinforcing parts for better supports.
Regarding claim 4, Sonoda does not teach a plurality of back pressing members. In the same field of endeavor, Kana teaches: The image reading apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the vibration-resistant member is formed of a plurality of back pressing members that are arranged to continue to elastically press a back of the mirror plate opposite to the reflecting surface at a plurality of positions arranged at intervals in the longitudinal direction [fig. 4: 92-1, 92-2; page 14: p01, p02]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to install multiple reinforcing elastic plates on mirror back for better absorbing vibration.
Regarding claim 7, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 3 has been incorporated herein. Kana further teaches: The image reading apparatus according to claim 3, further comprising: a plurality of first pressing members that continue to elastically press backs of the plurality of back reinforcing plates opposite to the mirror plate, respectively [figs. 4 and 5: 92-1, 92-2: page 7: p01, p02].
Regarding claim 8, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 3 has been incorporated herein. Kana further teaches: The image reading apparatus according to claim 3, further comprising: a plate that is in continuous contact with backs of the plurality of back reinforcing plates opposite to the mirror plate; and a single second pressing member or a plurality of second pressing members that continue to elastically press a back of the plate opposite to a side of the plate, which is in contact with the back reinforcing plates [fig. 10: 191, 194; page 13: p02].
Regarding claim 9, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 8 has been incorporated herein. Kana further teaches: The image reading apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the second pressing members are arranged to continue to press portions of the back of the plate corresponding to intermediate positions between the plurality of back reinforcing plates [fig. 10: 191, 193, 194; page 13: p02].
Regarding claim 10, the rationale applied to claim 4 has been incorporated herein. Kana further teaches: The image reading apparatus according to claim 4, wherein at least a part of pressing loads of the plurality of back pressing members are set to be different from the other pressing loads [fig. 10: 191, 192, 193, 194].
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682