DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action on the merits for 18/325,134, filed 5/30/2023, which is a continuation of PCT/CN2021/106359, filed 7/14/2021.
Claims 1-20 are pending; Claims 1-18 are considered herein.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group I, Claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 12/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Additional Prior Art
The Examiner wishes to apprise the Applicant of the following references, which are not currently applied in a rejection.
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2004/0096735 A1: This reference teaches a wound battery with terminal tabs disposed in the bent regions (Fig. 25).
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0222934 A1: This reference teaches a wound battery with insulator layers disposed in the bent regions (Figs. 3-4).
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0358828 A1: This reference teaches a wound battery with alumina protective layers disposed on the anode and cathode (paragraph [0015]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the electrically conductive layer 14" in line 2, “the cathode plate 11” in line 3 and “the bent region B” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations, because there is no prior recitation of "an electrically conductive layer 14," “a cathode plate 11,” or “a bent region B.” It is unclear whether these features refer to the prior recitations of "an electrically conductive layer," “a cathode plate,” or “a bent region,” or other features.
Claims 6-14 are indefinite, because they depend on Claim 5.
Claim 9 recites “the two end portions 1402a” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation, because there is no prior recitation of “end portions 1402a.” It is unclear whether this recitation corresponds to the previously-recited “end portions,” or other structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0058375 A1).
In reference to Claim 1, Tanaka teaches an electrode assembly (Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [0027]-[0052]).
The electrode assembly of Tanaka comprises a cathode plate 10, an anode plate 20, and a separator 30 configured to separate the cathode plate 10 and the anode plate 20 (Fig. 2, paragraph [0028]).
Tanaka teaches that the cathode plate 10, the separator 30 and the anode plate 20 are wound to form a bent region (Fig. 2, paragraph [0028]).
Tanaka teaches that the electrode assembly comprises an electrically conductive layer 40 (Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [0031]-[0037]) configured such that at least a part of the electrically conductive layer 40 is provided on a surface of the cathode plate in the bent region.
Specifically, Tanaka teaches that the electrically conductive layer 40 is provided on the entire length of the cathode plate (paragraphs [0059]-[0064]).
Fig. 1 teaches that the cathode plate 10 comprises a covered region that is covered by the electrically conductive layer 40, as shown in the inset below.
Fig. 1 teaches that the electrically conductive layer 40 is in parallel connection with the covered region (i.e. connected to and disposed parallel to).
In reference to Claim 2, Fig. 3 teaches that both surfaces of the cathode plate 10 are provided with the electrically conductive layer 40.
In reference to Claim 3, Tanaka teaches that the electrically conductive layer 40 is provided on the entire length of the cathode plate (paragraphs [0059]-[0064]).
This disclosure teaches the limitations of Claim 3, wherein at least a part of the electrically conductive layer 40 is provided at a first-bend part and/or a second-bend part of the cathode plate in the bent region.
In reference to Claim 4, because Fig. 2 shows that the electrically conductive layer is stacked on/structurally connected to the entire length of the anode plate 20, it is the Examiner’s position that Tanaka teaches that “the electrically conductive layer is further provided at a first-bend part and/or a second-bend part of the anode plate in the bent region, and is in parallel connection with (i.e. is connected to and disposed parallel to) the anode plate.”
In reference to Claim 5, Figs. 2-3 teach that the electrically conductive layer 40 comprises an electrically conductive base layer (corresponding to the portion of layer 11 onto which the conductive layer 40 is applied, paragraph [0028]) that is in parallel connection with the cathode plate 10 in the bent region B (i.e. that is connected to and disposed parallel to the cathode active material layer).
In reference to Claim 6, Figs. 2-3 teach that the entire surface of the side of the electrically conductive base layer (corresponding to the portion of layer 11 onto which the conductive layer 40 is applied, paragraph [0028]) adjacent to the cathode plate 10 is electrically connected to the covered region in the bent region B (i.e. because it is merely a portion of layer 11, which is connected to the entire cathode plate).
Fig. 2 teaches that a center line of the bent region passes through the electrically conductive base layer (corresponding to the portion of layer 11 onto which the conductive layer 40 is applied, paragraph [0028]) in a winding direction A of the electrode assembly. Specifically, Fig. 2 shows that the regions 40 and 11 are present in the bent region and extend in the winding direction of the electrode assembly. Therefore, the electrode of Tanaka meets the limitations of Claim 6.
In reference to Claim 7, Tanka teaches that the electrically conductive layer 40 further comprises an ion barrier layer provided on the side of the electrically conductive base layer away from the cathode plate and covers the electrically conductive base layer. The outermost portion of layer 40, away from the electrically conductive base layer region of item 11, meets the limitations of this “ion barrier layer,” because it provides a structural barrier between the cathode plate active material region 12 (Fig. 1).
Therefore, this “ion barrier layer” is “configured to block at least some of ions from escaping from the cathode plate located on one side of the ion barrier layer” (i.e. structurally capable of doing so).
In reference to Claim 8, Tanaka teaches that the electrically conductive base layer (which corresponds to the portion of layer 11 onto which the conductive layer 40 is applied, paragraph [0028]) comprises, in the bent region B and in the winding direction A of the electrode assembly, two end portions located on two sides of the center line M1 of the bent region B (the positions of which are indicated in the inset below).
Because Fig. 2 shows that the electrically conductive layer 40 is stacked on/structurally connected to the entire length of the cathode plate, Tanaka teaches that the two end portions are respectively electrically connected to the covered region (which is indicated in the inset above).
In reference to Claim 12, the instant specification identifies the “current passing area of the current collector” as the transverse cross-sectional area of the current collector in the direction of the winding axis of the electrode assembly (paragraph [0140]).
Therefore, because Tanaka teaches that the electrically conductive base layer has the same transverse cross sectional area as the cathode plate in the direction of the winding axis of the electrode assembly, Tanaka teaches the limitations of Claim 12, wherein the total current passing area of the electrically conductive base layer is greater than or equal to 1/3 of the current passing area of a current collector of the cathode plate connected to the electrically conductive base layer.
In reference to Claim 13, Tanaka teaches that the ion barrier layer/outermost region of layer 40 comprises aluminum oxide and PVDF (paragraphs [0031]-[0037]).
Therefore, Tanaka teaches the limitations of Claim 13, wherein the material of the ion barrier layer includes aluminum oxide and polyvinylidene fluoride.
In reference to Claim 14, Tanaka teaches that the material of the electrically conductive base layer (corresponding to the portion of layer 11 onto which the conductive layer 40 is applied, paragraph [0028]) includes at least one of silver, nickel, or aluminum (paragraph [0039]).
Claims 1-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Azakawa, et al. (U.S. Patent 6,284,408 B1).
In reference to Claim 1, Azakawa teaches an electrode assembly 74 (column 4, line 54, through column 7, line 25).
The electrode assembly of Azakawa comprises a cathode plate 71 (Figs. 7-9, column 5, lines 19-38), an anode plate 72 (Figs. 7 and 9, column 5, lines 19-38), and a separator 73 (Figs. 7 and 9, column 5, lines 19-38) configured to separate the cathode plate and the anode plate.
Fig. 7 teaches that the cathode plate 71, the separator 73, and the anode plate 72 are wound to form a bent region.
Azakawa teaches that the electrode assembly 74 comprises an electrically conductive layer 710 configured such that at least a part of the electrically conductive layer 710 is provided on a surface of the cathode plate 71 in the bent region (Fig. 7, column 5, lines 52-64).
Azakawa teaches that the cathode plate 71 comprises a covered region 77 that is covered by the electrically conductive layer 710 (Fig. 9, column 5, lines 52-64).
Figs. 7 and 9 teach that the electrically conductive layer 710 is in parallel connection with the covered region (i.e. is parallel to and electrically connected to).
In reference to Claim 2, Azakawa teaches that one surface of the cathode plate 72 is provided with the electrically conductive layer 710.
In reference to Claim 3, Azakawa teaches that the electrode assembly is wound into a spiral shape (column 5, lines 25-30).
Therefore, Fig. 7 shows that at least a part of the electrically conductive layer 710 is provided at a first-bend part and/or a second-bend part of the cathode plate in the bent region, because the entirety of the cathode is bent/curved into a spiral shape.
In reference to Claim 4, Azakawa teaches that the electrode assembly is wound into a spiral shape (column 5, lines 25-30).
Therefore, Figs. 7 and 9 show that the electrically conductive layer 710 is further provided at (i.e. near) a first-bend part and/or a second-bend part of the anode plate 72 in the bent region, and is in parallel connection with the anode plate (i.e. is structurally connected to and structurally parallel to).
In reference to Claim 5, Azakawa teaches that the electrode assembly is wound into a spiral shape (column 5, lines 25-30).
Azakawa further teaches that the electrically conductive layer 710 comprises a nickel layer attached to the cathode plate with a conductive adhesive (column 5, lines 60-64).
This disclosure teaches the limitations of Claim 5, wherein the electrically conductive layer 710 comprises an electrically conductive base layer, corresponding to the nickel layer, that is in parallel connection with the cathode plate 71 in the bent region (i.e. is parallel to and structurally connected to the cathode plate 71 in the bent region).
In reference to Claim 6, Azakawa teaches that the entire surface of the side of the electrically conductive base layer 710 adjacent to the cathode plate 71 is electrically connected to the covered region 77 in the bent region (Figs. 7 and 9).
Fig. 7 teaches that a center line of the bent region (i.e. a line along the horizontal axis of cathode plate 71 that passes through the base layer 710) passes through the electrically conductive base layer 710 in a winding direction A of the electrode assembly (i.e. along the winding direction of the battery).
In reference to Claim 7, Azakawa teaches that the electrically conductive layer 710 further comprises an ion barrier layer 713 provided on the side of the electrically conductive base layer 710 away from the cathode plate 71 and covers the electrically conductive base layer 710 (Fig. 9, column 6, line 57, through column 7, line 12).
It is the Examiner’s position that, because layer 713 is taught to be a polypropylene tape (column 9, line 25-30), this tape is structurally capable of being an ion barrier “configured to block at least some of ions from escaping from the cathode plate located on one side of the ion barrier layer.”
In reference to Claim 8, Azakawa teaches that the electrode assembly is wound into a spiral shape (column 5, lines 25-30).
Azakawa further teaches that the electrically conductive base layer 710 is 0.1 mm thick and has a width of 3 mm (column 8, lines 15-20).
This disclosure teaches the limitations of Claim 8, wherein, in the bent region B and in the winding direction A of the electrode assembly (i.e. along any portion of the winding direction of the device), the electrically conductive base layer 710 comprises two end portions located on two sides of the center line M1 of the bent region B (i.e. a center line that passes through the middle of the conductive base layer 710). These end portions correspond to the end edges of the base layer 710.
These two end portions being respectively electrically connected to the covered region (because they are all electrically connected as part of the same cathode structure).
In reference to Claim 9, as described in the rejection of Claim 8 above, Azakawa teaches that the electrically conductive base layer 710 is 0.1 mm thick and has a width of 3 mm (column 8, lines 15-20).
Therefore, this disclosure teaches the limitations of Claim 9, wherein the electrically conductive base layer 710 further comprises a main body portion (i.e. the portion of layer 710 that is not the end portions) that is connected to the two end portions.
Azakawa teaches that the electrically conductive layer 710 further comprises an ion barrier layer 713 provided between the main body portion of the electrically conductive base layer 710 and the cathode plate (i.e. between at least a portion of layer 710 and a portion of layer 71, as shown in Fig. 9, column 6, line 57, through column 7, line 12).
It is the Examiner’s position that, because layer 713 is taught to be a polypropylene tape (column 9, line 25-30), this tape is structurally capable of being an ion barrier “configured to block at least some of ions from escaping from the cathode plate located on one side of the ion barrier layer.”
In reference to Claim 10, Azakawa teaches that the electrically conductive layer 710 further comprises an insulation layer 713 provided on the side of the electrically conductive base layer 710 away from the cathode plate 71 and covers the electrically conductive base layer 710 (i.e. covers a surface of layer 710, Fig. 9, column 6, line 57, through column 7, line 13).
This tape is taught to be polypropylene (column 9, line 25-30), which is an insulator.
In reference to Claim 11, Azakawa teaches that a plurality of electrically conductive base layers 710 are provided (Fig. 7).
Fig. 7 further teaches that the plurality of electrically conductive base layers are arranged at intervals in a direction parallel to a winding axis Z of the electrode assembly.
In reference to Claim 12, the instant specification identifies the “current passing area of the current collector” as the transverse cross-sectional area of the current collector in the direction of the winding axis of the electrode assembly (paragraph [0140]).
Therefore, because Azakawa teaches that the electrically conductive base layer 710 has the same transverse cross sectional area as the cathode plate in the direction of the winding axis of the electrode assembly, Azakawa teaches the limitations of Claim 12, wherein the total current passing area of the electrically conductive base layer is greater than or equal to 1/3 of the current passing area of a current collector of the cathode plate connected to the electrically conductive base layer.
In reference to Claim 14, Azakawa teaches that the material of the electrically conductive base layer 710 includes nickel (column 5, lines 60-64).
In reference to Claim 15, Azakawa teaches that a plurality of electrically conductive base layers 710 are provided (Fig. 7).
Fig. 7 further teaches that the plurality of electrically conductive base layers are arranged at intervals in a direction parallel to a winding axis Z of the electrode assembly.
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moriyama, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0185689 A1).
In reference to Claim 1, Moriyama teaches an electrode assembly (Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [0020]-[0025]).
The electrode assembly of Moriyama comprises a cathode plate 11 (Figs. 2-3, paragraph [0021]), an anode plate 12 (Fig. 2, paragraph [0022]), and a separator 13 configured to separate the cathode plate and the anode plate (Fig. 2, paragraph [0020]).
Moriyama teaches that the cathode plate 11, the separator 13, and the anode plate 12 are wound to form a bent region (i.e. any region in the jellyroll cylindrical structure, Fig. 2, paragraph [0025]).
The electrode assembly of Moriyama comprises an electrically conductive layer 19 configured such that at least a part of the electrically conductive layer 19 is provided on a surface of the cathode plate in the bent region (Figs. 2-3).
Fig. 3 teaches that the cathode plate 11 comprises a covered region that is covered by the electrically conductive layer 19.
Figs. 2-3 teach that the electrically conductive layer 19 is in parallel connection with the covered region (i.e. connected to and parallel to).
In reference to Claim 2, Moriyama teaches that one surface of the cathode plate 11 is provided with the electrically conductive layer 19.
In reference to Claim 3, Moriyama teaches that the electrode assembly is wound into a spiral shape (Fig. 2).
Therefore, Fig. 2 shows that at least a part of the electrically conductive layer 19 is provided at a first-bend part and/or a second-bend part of the cathode plate in the bent region, because the entirety of the cathode is bent/curved into a spiral shape.
In reference to Claim 4, Moriyama teaches that the electrode assembly is wound into a spiral shape (Fig. 2).
Therefore, Fig. 2 shows that the electrically conductive layer 19 is further provided at (i.e. near) a first-bend part and/or a second-bend part of the anode plate 12 in the bent region, and is in parallel connection with the anode plate (i.e. is structurally connected to and structurally parallel to).
In reference to Claim 5, Moriyama teaches that the electrically conductive layer 19 comprises an electrically conductive base layer, corresponding to layer 19, that is in parallel connection with the cathode plate 11 in the bent region B (Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 6, Figs. 2-3 teach that the entire surface of the side of the electrically conductive base layer 19 adjacent to the cathode plate 11 is electrically connected to the covered region in the bent region B (i.e. directly contacts this region).
Fig. 2 teaches that a center line of the bent region (i.e. a vertical axis passing through item 19) passes through the electrically conductive base layer 19 in a winding direction A of the electrode assembly.
In reference to Claim 7, Fig. 3 teaches that the electrically conductive layer 19 further comprises an ion barrier layer (i.e. insulating tape 38A, paragraph [0045]) provided on the side of the electrically conductive base layer 19 away from the cathode plate.
Fig. 3 teaches that this ion barrier layer 38A covers the electrically conductive base layer 19.
Because this layer 38A is an insulating tape (paragraph [0045]), it is the Examiner’s position that the ion barrier layer 38A is “configured to block at least some of ions from escaping from the cathode plate located on one side of the ion barrier layer.”
In reference to Claim 8, Moriyama teaches that the electrically conductive base layer 19 comprises, in the bent region B (Fig. 2) and in the winding direction A of the electrode assembly, two end portions located on two sides of the center line M1 of the bent region B (i.e. along the diameter of the electrode assembly), as shown in the inset below.
Because these end portions are of a single piece with the conductive base layer 19, which is directly connected to the “covered region” (as shown in Fig. 3), these two end portions are respectively electrically connected to the covered region.
In reference to Claim 10, Moriyama teaches that the electrically conductive layer 19 further comprises an insulation layer 38A provided on the side of the electrically conductive base layer 19 away from the cathode plate and covers the electrically conductive base layer (Fig. 3, paragraph [0045]).
In reference to Claim 11, Moriyama teaches that a plurality of electrically conductive base layers 19 and 20 are provided, and the plurality of electrically conductive base layers are arranged at intervals in a direction parallel to a winding axis Z of the electrode assembly (Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 14, Moriyama teaches that the material of the electrically conductive base layer 19 includes aluminum (paragraph [0023]).
In reference to Claim 16, Moriyama teaches a battery cell (Fig. 1, paragraphs [0020]-[0024]).
The battery cell of Moriyama comprises a shell 15 (Fig. 1, paragraph [0024]), an electrolyte (paragraph [0020]), a cover plate 16 (Fig. 1, paragraph [0024]), and at least one electrode assembly of claim 1 (described in the rejection of Claim 1).
Fig. 1 teaches that the shell 15 has a receiving cavity and an opening.
Fig. 1 teaches that the electrode assembly and the electrolyte are received in the receiving cavity.
Fig. 1 teaches that the cover plate 16 is configured to close the opening of the shell.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0058375 A1).
In reference to Claim 4, if it is found that Tanaka does not anticipate the limitations of Claim 4, the following rejection is presented as an alternative.
Tanaka teaches a separate embodiment (Fig. 4, paragraph [0085]) in which a plurality of electrically conductive layers 40 are provided on the separator. In the wound state, these electrically conductive layers 40 would be disposed on both the cathode and the anode.
Therefore, absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to have configured the electrode assembly of Tanaka to have the configuration shown in Fig. 4, because he teaches that this is a suitable configuration for the electrode assembly of his invention.
This modification teaches the limitations of Claim 4, wherein the electrically conductive layer is further provided at a first-bend part and/or a second-bend part of the anode plate in the bent region, and is in parallel connection with the anode plate.
In reference to Claim 11, Tanaka does not teach that a plurality of electrically conductive base layers are provided, and the plurality of electrically conductive base layers are arranged at intervals in a direction parallel to the winding axis Z of the electrode assembly, in the embodiment of Fig. 2.
However, he teaches a separate embodiment (Fig. 8, paragraph [0090]) in which a plurality of electrically conductive layers 40 are provided on the cathode plate.
Therefore, absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to have configured the electrode assembly of Tanaka to have the configuration shown in Fig. 8, because he teaches that this is a suitable configuration for the electrode assembly of his invention.
This modification teaches the limitations of Claim 11, wherein a plurality of electrically conductive layers base layers (corresponding to the region of layer 11 on which layers 40 are provided), and the plurality of electrically conductive layers are arranged at intervals in a direction parallel to the winding axis Z of the electrode assembly (i.e. along the Z axis of the electrode assembly, Figs. 2 and 8).
In reference to Claim 15, Tanaka does not teach that a plurality of electrically conductive layers are provided, and the plurality of electrically conductive layers are arranged at intervals in a direction parallel to the winding axis Z of the electrode assembly, in the embodiment of Fig. 2.
However, he teaches a separate embodiment (Fig. 8, paragraph [0090]) in which a plurality of electrically conductive layers 40 are provided on the cathode plate.
Therefore, absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to have configured the electrode assembly of Tanaka to have the configuration shown in Fig. 8, because he teaches that this is a suitable configuration for the electrode assembly of his invention.
This modification teaches the limitations of Claim 15, wherein a plurality of electrically conductive layers 40 are provided, and the plurality of electrically conductive layers are arranged at intervals in a direction parallel to the winding axis Z of the electrode assembly (i.e. along the Z axis of the electrode assembly, Figs. 2 and 8).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moriyama, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0185689 A1), in view of Takenouchi, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0377640 A1).
In reference to Claim 17, Moriyama does not teach the battery structure recited in Claim 17.
To solve the same problem of providing a secondary battery with a wound structure, Takenouchi teaches a battery module comprising a plurality of wound batteries connected in series (Fig. 11, paragraphs [0040]-[0043]).
Takenouchi teaches that this module is used to power electric vehicles or digital cameras (paragraph [0044]).
Therefore, absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to have connected a plurality of cells of Moriyama into the battery pack of Takenouchi, in order to use the cells of Moriyama to power an electric vehicle or digital camera.
Connecting a plurality of cells of Moriyama into the battery pack of Takenouchi, in order to use the cells of Moriyama to power an electric vehicle or digital camera, teaches the limitations of Claim 17, of a battery comprising a case (i.e. the case shown in Fig. 11 of Takenouchi) and at least one battery cell of claim 16 received in the case.
Connecting a plurality of cells of Moriyama into the battery pack of Takenouchi, in order to use the cells of Moriyama to power an electric vehicle or digital camera, teaches the limitations of Claim 18, of a power consuming device configured to receive power provided by a battery of claim 17.
Conclusion
/SADIE WHITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721