DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshiro et al. (JP 2017120237).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshiro et al. (hereinafter Yoshiro) teaches footwear comprising a capacitive sensor, wherein: conductive threads are woven into a fabric of the footwear (Yoshiro teaches that the braided piezoelectric element may be used in shoes [0092]); and the conductive threads serve as the capacitive sensor configured to detect a change in capacitance between the conductive threads adjacent to each other where the change in capacitance is caused by the conductive threads adjacent to each other approaching each other due to deformation caused by pressure to the footwear (expansion and contraction of the fabric [0073]), thereby detecting a change in pressure applied to an area into which the conductive threads are woven [0073].
Regarding claim 2, Yoshiro teaches the footwear according to claim 1, wherein the conductive threads are woven into a position corresponding to a portion to which a pressure is to be applied in a foot of a user and which is in an area in contact with at least one selected from the group consisting of: a toe of the user; a sole of the user; a heel of the user; and a dorsal surface of the foot of the user (Yoshiro teaches that device is used in shoe soles, which would clearly be in an area in contact with at least a sole of the user or a heal of the user).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshiro teaches the footwear according to claim 1, further comprising a transmitting section 14 configured to transmit, to an external device, data indicating a change in pressure detected by the capacitive sensor, the transmitting section being detachably attached to the footwear [0087].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (US 2018/0369637) in view of Yoshiro (JP 2017120237).
Regarding claim 4, Hoang et al. (hereinafter Hoang) teaches an action determination system comprising: the footwear (Hoang teaches sensor modules may be attached to feet [0185]); an acceleration sensor worn around an upper limb of a user and configured to detect a movement of the upper limb of the user [0180]; and a controller configured to execute a determination process of determining an action of a whole body of the user on a basis of a combination of the sensor of the footwear and a change in acceleration of the upper limb of the user detected by the acceleration sensor [0039].
Hoang also teaches the importance of measuring the force of impact, such as from running and jumping, in order to relate the force of impact to the likelihood of injuries [0114]. Hoang remains silent as to wherein the footwear is the footwear according to claim 1.
Yoshiro teaches the footwear according to claim 1, above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the action determination system of Hoang to include the footwear sensor of Yoshiro in order to accurately measure the force of impact on the user, reducing the likelihood of injuries.
Regarding claim 5, Hoang as modified by Yoshiro above, teaches an action determination system comprising: the footwear according to claim 2; an acceleration sensor worn around an upper limb of the user and configured to detect a movement of the upper limb of the user (Hoang [0180]); and a controller configured to execute a determination process of totally determining an action of a whole body of the user on a basis of a combination of a change in pressure to a lower limb (Hoang [0039]) detected by the capacitive sensor of the footwear (Yoshiro [0073]) and a change in acceleration of the upper limb of the user detected by the acceleration sensor (Hoang [0125]).
Regarding claim 6, Hoang as modified by Yoshiro above, teaches an action determination system comprising: the footwear according to claim 3; an acceleration sensor worn around an upper limb of a user and configured to detect a movement of the upper limb of the user (Hoang [0180]); and a controller configured to execute a determination process of totally determining an action of a whole body of the user on a basis of a combination of a change in pressure to a lower limb detected by the capacitive sensor of the footwear (Yoshiro [0073]) and a change in acceleration of the upper limb of the user detected by the acceleration sensor (Hoang [0125]).
Regarding claim 7, Hoang as modified by Yoshiro above teaches an action determination system according to claim 4, wherein in the determination process, said totally determining an action includes determination of a kind of the action, determination of accuracy of the action, and determination of a strength of the action (Hoang [0125]).
Regarding claim 8, Hoang as modified by Yoshiro above teaches the action determination system according to claim 5, wherein in the determination process, said totally determining an action includes determination of a kind of the action, determination of accuracy of the action, and determination of a strength of the action (Hoang [0125]).
Regarding claim 9, Hoang as modified by Yoshiro above teaches the action determination system according to claim 6, wherein in the determination process, said totally determining an action includes determination of a kind of the action, determination of accuracy of the action, and determination of a strength of the action (Hoang [0125]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/A.V.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2852