DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (TWM583387U) in view of Kawauchi et al. (US 4,561,481; previously cited and newly applied; hereinafter “Kawauchi”).
Regarding claim 1, Zeng discloses a firm-grip rim comprising: two walls (unlabeled walls of inner frame 2 as shown in Fig. 1) extending in an annular manner (Fig. 1); an internal ring (unlabeled inner ring of inner frame 2 as shown in Fig. 1) formed between the walls (Fig. 1); an external ring 12 extending around the internal ring and comprising two lateral portions 14 connected to the walls respectively (Fig. 3); and two flanges 11 each of which extends outward from a corresponding one of the walls in a radial direction so that there is a corner 13 between it and a corresponding one of the lateral portions of the external ring (Fig. 3), wherein each of the flanges comprises an internal side formed with a grip device 20 (Figs. 1-5).
Zeng fails to disclose the grip device being positioned distal to the corner.
Kawauchi, however, teaches a firm-grip rim 3 in which the grip device 4 is positioned distal to the corner (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the firm-grip rim of Zeng by positioning its grip device distal to the corner, such as taught by Kawauchi, as a well-known alternative grip device location that would have a reasonable expectation of success in preventing slippage of a tire relative to the rim during use of the wheel.
Regarding claim 2, Zeng further discloses the grip device 20 comprises grooves (unlabeled, but clearly shown in Fig. 3) and ridges (unlabeled, but clearly shown in Fig. 3) separated from one another by the grooves (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Zeng further discloses each of the flanges is tilted from a vertical line VL toward the external ring for an angle Ɵ1 of about 2 to 6 degrees (Fig. 3; the second-to-last paragraph on page 3 of the English-language machine translation).
Regarding claim 4, Zeng further discloses each of the lateral portions of the external ring is biased from a horizontal line HL toward the corresponding one of the flanges for an angle Ɵ2 of about 2 to 6 degrees (Fig. 3; the second-to-last paragraph on page 3 of the English-language machine translation).
Regarding claim 5, Zeng further discloses there is an angle Ɵ3 of about 84 to 88 degrees between each of the lateral portions of the external ring and the corresponding one of the flanges (Fig. 3; the second-to-last paragraph on page 3 of the English-language machine translation).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615