DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed on 30 May 2023. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the present application. This office action is made Non-Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on
30 May 2023
are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being by Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee) (US 12,004,122 B2).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 16, Lee discloses a system for scheduling communications using a plurality of wireless interfaces subchannels { (see col. 14, lines 46-51; col. 20, lines 9-14,26-38; col. 27, lines 56-63; Figs. 3, 5a-6b, 13-14, & 16-19) }, comprising:
an antenna (e.g., 108) configured to send and/or receive data over a message protocol having a plurality of subchannels, the plurality of subchannels including a set of primary subchannels (e.g., actually used subset) and a set of secondary subchannels (e.g., subset), wherein the set of primary subchannels are less susceptible to out-of-band interference than the set of secondary subchannels { (see col. 14, lines 46-51; col. 18, lines 65-67; col. 20, lines 9-14,26-38; col. 27, lines 56-63; Figs. 3, 5a-6b, 13-14, & 16-19), where the system provides a UE that can select subchannel resources of a pool }; and
a controller (e.g., 102) configured to employ a scheduler operable in a selective excluded resource mode, the controller being configured to { (see col. 14, lines 46-51; col. 18, lines 65-67; col. 20, lines 9-14,26-38; col. 27, lines 56-63; Figs. 3, 5a-6b, 13-14, & 16-19), where the system provides a UE that can select subchannel resources of a pool }:
detect a size of a data packet to be transmitted { (see col. 18, lines 34-40; col. 24, lines 7-14; Figs. 3, 5a-6b, 13-14, & 16-19) };
detect transmission availability among the set of primary subchannels;
with the scheduler in the selective excluded resource mode { (see col. 19, lines 13-23; col. 14, lines 46-51; col. 18, lines 65-67; col. 20, lines 9-14,26-38; col. 27, lines 56-63; Figs. 3, 5a-6b, 13-14, & 16-19) }:
identify one or more candidate subframe resources (CSR) for transmitting the data packet based on the set of primary subchannels in response to at least one of the size of the data packet being less than a packet size threshold and at least a portion of the set of primary subchannels being available to transmit the data packet { (see col. 14, lines 46-51; col. 18, lines 65-67; col. 20, lines 9-14,26-38; col. 27, lines 56-63; Figs. 3, 5a-6b, 13-14, & 16-19), where the system provides a UE that can select subchannel resources of a pool }; and
identify the one or more CSR for transmitting the data packet based on the plurality of subchannels including the set of primary subchannels and the set of secondary subchannels in response to at least one of the size of the data packet being greater than or equal to the packet size threshold and the set of primary subchannels not being available to transmit the data packet { (see col. 14, lines 46-51; col. 18, lines 65-67; col. 20, lines 9-14,26-38; col. 27, lines 56-63; Figs. 3, 5a-6b, 13-14, & 16-19), where the system provides a UE that can select subchannel resources of a pool }; and
transmit the data packet based on the one or more CSR { (see col. 19, lines 13-23; col. 14, lines 46-51; col. 18, lines 65-67; col. 20, lines 9-14,26-38; col. 27, lines 56-63; Figs. 3, 5a-6b, 13-14, & 16-19), where the system provides a UE that can transmit data }.
Regarding claims 2, Lee discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the scheduler is further operable in an unrestricted mode, and with the scheduler in the unrestricted mode, the controller is further configured to select the CSR for transmitting the data packet from among the plurality of subchannels including the set of primary subchannels and the set of secondary subchannels { (see col. 14, lines 46-51; col. 18, lines 65-67; col. 20, lines 9-14,26-38; col. 27, lines 56-63; Figs. 3, 5a-6b, 13-14, & 16-19) }.
Regarding claims 3, Lee discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to: monitor signals received from the antenna to detect an environment of the antenna as being indoors or outdoors, transition the scheduler to the selective excluded resource mode in response to the antenna being indoors; and transition the scheduler to the unrestricted mode in response to the antenna being outdoors { (see col. 14, lines 46-51; col. 18, lines 65-67; col. 20, lines 9-14,26-38; col. 27, lines 56-63; Figs. 3, 5a-6b, 13-14, & 16-19) }.
Regarding claims 4, Lee discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the controller is further configured to detect the signals as being at least one a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) repeater signal or a sidelink synchronization signal to detect the environment of the antenna as being indoors { (see col. 10, lines 8-13; col. 14, lines 46-51; col. 18, lines 65-67; col. 20, lines 9-14,26-38; col. 27, lines 56-63; Figs. 3, 5a-6b, 13-14, & 16-19) }.
Regarding claims 5, Lee discloses the system of claim 1, wherein a number of subchannels in the set of primary subchannels and a number of subchannels in the set of secondary subchannels are adjustable { (see col. 14, lines 46-51; col. 18, lines 65-67; col. 20, lines 9-14,26-38; col. 27, lines 56-63; Figs. 3, 5a-6b, 13-14, & 16-19) }.
Regarding claims 6, Lee discloses the system of claim 1, wherein a number of subchannels in the set of primary subchannels and a number of subchannels in the set of secondary subchannels are adjustable based on at least one of a location of the antenna, the size of the data packet, or a ProSe Per-Packet Priority (PPPP) value { (see col. 20, lines 9-14,26-38; col. 17, lines 64-65; Figs. 3, 5a-6b, 13-14, & 16-19) }.
Regarding claims 7, Lee discloses the system of claim 1, wherein a number of subchannels in the set of primary subchannels and a number of subchannels in the set of secondary subchannels are adjustable based on the out-of-band interference about the antenna (e.g., 108) { (see col. 20, lines 9-14,26-38; col. 17, lines 64-65; Figs. 3, 5a-6b, 13-14, & 16-19) }.
Regarding claims 8, Lee discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the message protocol is a cellular vehicle- to-everything (C-V2X) messaging protocol, and the out-of-band interference results from use of Wi-Fi { (see col. 10, lines 8-12,29-31; Figs. 3, 5a-6b, 13-14, & 16-19) }) }.
Conclusion
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
03 April 2026