DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 states “the force plate has a rectangular shape includes a six-axis force sensor”. This is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “discrete conductive threads… disposed separately from each other” in claims 1-17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Additionally, the force plate “disposed at each of four corners of the force plate” in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Fig. 5 shows force place 40 but there is nothing showing force sensors 43 on force plate, or in the four corners of the force plate. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20210152241 A (herein Choi).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches A glove (glove 100, Fig. 2) comprising:
a fabric (glove 100 is a knitted fabric made of conductive fibers and non-conductive fibers, p. 3); and
a capacitive sensor which comprises discrete conductive threads woven each being into the fabric of the glove and disposed separately from each other (first and second conductive regions 121, 123, Fig. 2), and which is configured to detect a change in pressure applied to an area of the glove where the conductive threads are woven into the fabric based on a change in capacitance caused by a change in distance between two of the conductive threads adjacent to each other where the change in distance is a change caused by deformation of the two of the conductive threads due to the pressure (signal analyzer 200 analyzes the degree of bending of the palm region by analyzing the magnitude of the capacitance in each of the crossing regions of the second sensing region 120. The signal analyzer 200 calculates the capacitance in each of the crossing regions 124, p. 4; Formula 2 and p. 4 teaches second sensing region 120 detects a bending motion of the palm region).
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches wherein the conductive threads are woven into a position corresponding to a portion to which a pressure is to be applied in a hand of a user and which is in an area in contact with at least one selected from the group consisting of: a finger of the user, a palm of the user, and a dorsal surface of the hand of the user (sensing region 120 on palm, Fig. 4, p. 3, are woven with conductive fibers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi.
Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches a transmitting section configured to transmit, to an external device, data indicating a change in pressure detected by the capacitive sensor, the transmitting section being
Choi does not explicitly teach the transmitting section being detachable. However, this limitation of simply making an element separable and based on MPEP 2144.04 V C, separable is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over prior art unless there are new or unexpected results. See In re Lindberg, 194 F.2d 732, 93 USPQ 23 (CCPA 1952) and In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Note that according to § MPEP 2144, “Office personnel may invoke legal precedent as a source of supporting rationale when warranted and appropriately supported.”
Claim(s) 4-5, 8-9, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180369637 (herein Hoang) in view of Choi.
Regarding claim 4, Hoang teaches An action determination system (training system for characterizing athletic movements, [0039]) comprising:
the glove (system may include gloves, [0060])
an acceleration sensor worn around an upper limb of a user and configured to detect a movement of the upper limb of the user (sensor module in shirt, [0011]; motion sensors include a 3-axis accelerometer, [0013]; Fig. 32 teaches exemplary placement of sensor on bicep or wrist); and
a controller configured to execute a determination process of determining an action of the upper limb of the user on a basis of a change in pressure detected by the capacitive sensor of the glove and a change in acceleration of the upper limb of the user detected by the acceleration sensor (the body kinematics component defines the orientation and the position of human body segments and joints. The body kinematics component identifies the user's actual movement through bio-information collected from one or more personal sensing device(s), [0125]).
Additionally regarding claim 4, Hoang not teach, “the glove according to claim 1.” However, Choi teaches it is known in the art as explained in rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Hoang teaches an external force measurement section configured to measure an external force applied from a lower limb of the user (sensor module in pants, [0011]; motion sensors include a 3-axis accelerometer, [0013], and [0039] teaches this can be used to measure force of impact; Fig. 32 teaches exemplary placement of sensor on ankle or thigh), the controller being configured to further determine, in the determination process, an action of a whole body of the user on a basis of the action of the upper limb of the user determined and an external force measured by the external force measurement section (the body kinematics component defines the orientation and the position of human body segments and joints. The body kinematics component identifies the user's actual movement through bio-information collected from one or more personal sensing device(s), [0125]).
Regarding claim 8, Hoang teaches An action determination system (training system for characterizing athletic movements, [0039]) comprising:
the glove (system may include gloves, [0060]) ;
an acceleration sensor worn around an upper limb of a user and configured to detect a movement of the upper limb of the user (sensor module in shirt, [0011]; motion sensors include a 3-axis accelerometer, [0013]; Fig. 32 teaches exemplary placement of sensor on bicep or wrist); and
a controller configured to execute a determination process of determining an action of the upper limb of the user on a basis of a change in pressure detected by the capacitive sensor of the glove and a change in acceleration of the upper limb of the user detected by the acceleration sensor (the body kinematics component defines the orientation and the position of human body segments and joints. The body kinematics component identifies the user's actual movement through bio-information collected from one or more personal sensing device(s), [0125]).
Additionally regarding claim 8, Hoang not teach, “the glove according to claim 2.” However, Choi teaches it is known in the art as explained in rejection of claim 2 above.
Claim 9 recites equivalent limitations as claim 5 and is rejected in the same way. See rejection of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 12, Hoang teaches An action determination system (training system for characterizing athletic movements, [0039]) comprising:
the glove (system may include gloves, [0060])
an acceleration sensor worn around an upper limb of a user and configured to detect a movement of the upper limb of the user (sensor module in shirt, [0011]; motion sensors include a 3-axis accelerometer, [0013]; Fig. 32 teaches exemplary placement of sensor on bicep or wrist); and
a controller configured to execute a determination process of determining an action of the upper limb of the user on a basis of a change in pressure detected by the capacitive sensor of the glove and a change in acceleration of the upper limb of the user detected by the acceleration sensor (the body kinematics component defines the orientation and the position of human body segments and joints. The body kinematics component identifies the user's actual movement through bio-information collected from one or more personal sensing device(s), [0125]).
Additionally regarding claim 12, Hoang not teach, “the glove according to claim 3.” However, Choi teaches it is known in the art as explained in rejection of claim 3 above.
Claim 13 recites equivalent limitations as claim 5 and is rejected in the same way. See rejection of claim 5 above.
For the above claims 4-5, 8-9, and 12-13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to incorporate the glove of Choi into the training system of Hoang. One would have been motivated to do so for at least the purpose of improving motion recognition of hand, palm, and finger movements.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang and Choi as applied to claim 5 above, in further view of Non-Patent Literature titled, “Triaxial Force Sensor Configuration of an In-Ground Force Platform” (herein Reynolds).
Regarding claim 6, Hoang teaches wherein the external force measurement section is a force plate configured to measure a load applied from the user (Fig. 19 shows platelike structure of sensor band, with electronic circuitry from [0159] which houses motion sensors including accelerometers and magnetometers).
Additionally regarding claim 6, Hoang and Choi do not teach, “the force plate has a rectangular shape includes a six-axis force sensor disposed at each of four corners of the force plate; and the controller determines a kind of an action of the lower limb of the user and a strength of the action on a basis of the center of a pressure of a foot of the user and a moment acting on the foot of the user, the center of the pressure and the moment being measured by the six-axis force sensor, the moment being about a direction orthogonal to a surface of the force plate on which the user stands, so as to detect a direction of a movement of the foot.” However, Reynolds teaches it is known in the art to use four triaxial force sensors that measure three axes, then computing the moments to result in six-parameter dynamics computation equivalent to the present invention (p. 2). Fig. 6 teaches a rectangular configuration. Though Reynolds does not teach a 6-axis in each corner, it is able to compute all six parameters at each corner via computation of the 3-axis results. In addition, Reynolds refers to several 6-axis sensors that are known in the art (Kebede and Lin, p. 13) Reynolds further teaches using force plates to track and examine athletic characteristics including jumping and sprinting (p. 1), using the center of pressure (p. 2) and the moments about each axis Mx, My, and Mz. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the 3-axis accelerometer of Hoang with the movement sensing units and calculations of Reynolds because both serve the purpose of acquiring body movement data. The above findings satisfies the Graham factual inquiries stated in MPEP 2143 B regarding simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim(s) 7, 10-11, 14-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang and Choi as applied to claims 5, 9, and 13 above, in further view of US 20210236020 (herein Matijevich).
Regarding claim 7, Hoang teaches wherein the external force measurement section is footwear including a pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure applied from a foot of the user (one or more motion sensors configured to be secured to a foot of a user, p. 20, Claim 18; A sensor node is placed on left and right feet, [0145]). Hoang does not teach, “the pressure sensor is disposed at a position corresponding to a portion to which the pressure is to be applied in a toe and a sole of the foot of the user.” However, Matijevich teaches pressure-measurement sensor may be an insole ([0220]; see pressure in soles in Figs. 2a, 4).
Claims 10 and 14 recite equivalent limitations as claim 6 and are rejected in the same way. See rejection of claim 6 above.
Claim 11 and 15 recite equivalent limitations as claim 7 and are rejected in the same way. See rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 17, Hoang and Choi do not teach, “wherein the footwear is any one of a room boot, a sock, and as shoe.” However, Matijevich teaches sensors integrate easily into socks/shoes ([0198]; see Fig. 2A).
For the above claims 7, 10-11, 14-15, and 17, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the 3-axis accelerometer of Hoang with the movement sensing units of Matijevich because both serve the purpose of acquiring body movement data. The above findings satisfies the Graham factual inquiries stated in MPEP 2143 B regarding simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang, Choi, and Reynolds as applied to claim 6 above, in further view of US 20190150796 (herein Fukushi).
Regarding claim 16, Hoang and Choi do not teach, “wherein: the force plate detects a position of a gravity center of the user from the center of the pressure applied to the foot of the user, on a basis of a load measured by the six-axis force sensor; and the force plate detects a direction of movement of the foot of the user on a basis of the moment measured by the six-axis force sensor.” However, Fukushi teaches it is known in the art to use measurement data from force plate IMU foot sensors 20 to determine a user’s gravity center ([0044]). Fukushi, along with the force sensors and moment calculations found in Reynolds (see Fig. 1), would thus teach the present invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to incorporate the acquisition of gravity center and movement data of Fukushi into the full body analysis of Hoang. One would be motivated to do so for at least the purpose of determining a walking state for rehabilitation treatment ([0002]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Objection to the drawings, the Office disagrees that Fig. 1 shows threads that are discrete. Fig. 1 teaches a plurality of pressure sensors each corresponding to an area R1, but does not show discrete threads from a single pressure sensor disposed separately from each other. The drawing may show shaded hashmarks but those are not labeled as threads, nor are they shown discrete or separate.
Applicant states Choi does not disclose a capacitive sensor. The Office disagrees—Choi teaches signal analyzer 200 calculates the capacitance in each of the crossing regions 124 (p. 4). The Office does not use contact points 112 and sensing region in the rejections of claims 1 and 2. Instead, the Office refers to second sensing region 120 and conductive regions 121, 123. Additionally, the Office corrected the record to state that Formula 2 (for capacitance C) it used to determine capacitance and not Formula 1 as cited in the previous Office Action.
Applicant further states Choi does not disclose detecting a change in pressure based on a change in capacitance. However, it is known in the art that bending results in pressure in the form of stress, and Choi states “signal analysis unit 200 analyzes the degree of bending of the palm area by analyzing the magnitude of the capacitance.”
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Reynolds is presently introduced to teach the limitations as amended, while Hoang and Choi remain relevant as presented in the previous Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/PHILIP T FADUL/Examiner, Art Unit 2852