Detailed Action
Claims 1, 2, and 12 are amended
Claims 3, 4, 6, 13, 15, and 17-22 are cancelled
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-12, 14, and 16 are pending
Priority
This application claims the priority under 35 USC 119(a) of EP patent application 22176333.7 filed on May 31, 2022. All foreign priority documents have been received. Therefore, the effective filing date of this application is May 31, 2022.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/10/2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to the objection to claims 1 and 4. The objection has been overcome due to Applicant’s filed amendments.
USC 112(b) rejection for claim 2 has been overcome due to Applicant’s filed amendments.
With respect to the USC 112(f) interpretation for claim 12 reciting the limitation “a sandbox unit to analyze …”. The interpretation has not been overcome. The amendments do not recite of any structural support for the sandbox unit. Simply changing system to unit does not overcome the interpretation. Furthermore, the written description still fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the USC 112(b) rejection for claim 12 is being maintained.
With respect to the USC 101 abstract rejection for claims 1, 2, 4, 7-12, 14, and 16. The rejection has been overcome due to Applicant amending the independent claims to recite “and in a case in which the application is determined to be malware when the application is running, stopping the application, removing the malware, and reverting changes made to the computer based on the snapshot ….”.
With respect to the USC 103 rejection for claim 1. Applicant has argued that KRAEMER-LANGTON- fail to teach the limitation of “ creating a snapshot of the computer, the snapshot comprising one or more of current system settings, application settings, security settings, Domain Name System (DNS) settings, scheduled tasks, and a setting related to backups or a shadow copy of the computer … and in a case in which the application is determined to be malware when the application is running, stopping the application, removing the malware, and reverting changes made to the computer based on the snapshot of the computer by setting one or more of said current system settings, the application settings, the security settings, the Domain Name System (DNS) settings, the scheduled tasks, and said setting related to backups or a shadow copy of the computer back to values stored in the snapshot.”. Examiner is now relying on a third reference FAN to teach part of this amended limitations. FAN teaches “based on the identified risk rating of the [application], in a case in which the risk rating of the [application] is above a risk rating threshold value or in a case in which the risk rating of the [application] is unknown: creating a snapshot of the computer, the snapshot comprising one or more of current system settings, application settings, security settings, Domain Name System (DNS) settings, scheduled tasks, and a setting related to backups or a shadow copy of the computer ([FAN, col. 9 lines 54-59] “if the running score is greater than the threshold (step 430), then in step 438 a snapshot commit is executed. A running score greater than the threshold indicates that during the current snapshot there has been enough suspicious activity that the current snapshot should be stored as a restore point by application 230.”) ([FAN, col. 9 lines 29-34] “On the other hand, if a snapshot has been turned on, then in step 430 the current running score is compared to the threshold number (for example, 10). If the score is not greater than the threshold then the current snapshot is canceled”) ([FAN, col. 5 lines 15-20] “As will be discussed in greater detail below, a threshold may be adjusted such that snapshots are taken when malware begins to infect the computer and also when benign software takes actions that appear to be malware.”) ([FAN, col. 7 lines 44-46] “Suitable snapshot/restore applications are known in the art and will typically restore such information as the registry, profiles, caches, files with certain extensions, etc.”) ([FAN, col. 5 lines 15-20] “ability to take a snapshot of the state of the computer system, to create restore points from which the system may be restored, and to restore the computer system from a particular restore point. In some situations, application 230 may also include the capability to back up user and system files.”) As can be seen from these citations FAN teaches of comparing a risk score to a threshold and based on the score being above a threshold a current snapshot is created. Furthermore, FAN teaches that the snapshot consists of registry, profiles, and state of the computer system. The registry and state of the computer system incorporates system settings.
As for the limitation “and in a case in which the application is determined to be malware when the application is running, stopping the application, removing the malware, and reverting changes made to the computer” KRAEMER teaches this limitation ([KRAEMER, para. 0168] “a process 250 for evaluating the threat score of a computational entity and applying a security policy to the entity may include steps 391-398. At step 391, the behavioral security engine 100 determines whether the CE's threat score exceeds a corresponding threshold”) ([KRAEMER, para. 0169] “If the CE's threat score exceeds the threshold, the process 250 proceeds to step 392. At step 392, if a prevention policy is enabled, the behavioral security engine 100 terminates the CE (step 395) and restores the files modified by the CE (step 398).”) ([KRAEMER, para. 0143] “The backup area may be protected by file-filter driver, as such, applications that are not part of the security engine are not allowed to modify it. When the prevention system reaches threshold and applies policy at higher certainty point, the files are available for restoration. The restore functionality can be triggered automatically by the prevention system”) ([KRAEMER, para. 0135] “policy module to restore the files modified by the entity … the module 160 may then restore the backed-up files.”) ([KRAEMER, para. 0031] “the behavioral security engine defends against (e.g., blocks, prevents, or mitigates) an attack by the potential threatware (e.g., malware or ransomware)”) ([KRAEMER, para. 0004] “the cybersecurity engine detects the presence of a threat and intervenes to prevent the threatware from executing (e.g., by quarantining or deleting the file).”)
As for the limitation “… and reverting changes made to the computer based on the snapshot of the computer by setting one or more of said current system settings, the application settings, the security settings, the Domain Name System (DNS) settings, the scheduled tasks, and said setting related to backups or a shadow copy of the computer back to values stored in the snapshot.”. FAN also teaches this limitation ([FAN, col. 7 lines 44-46] “Suitable snapshot/restore applications are known in the art and will typically restore such information as the registry, profiles, caches, files with certain extensions, etc.”) ([FAN, col. 5 lines 15-20] “ability to take a snapshot of the state of the computer system, to create restore points from which the system may be restored, and to restore the computer system from a particular restore point.”) ([FAN, col. 13 lines 10-16] “should the events recorded in a restore point log indicate that malware is present, restoring the computer system using that restore point will restore the state of the computer to a point in time just prior to when the malware infection began. The restore adviser module will thus recommend that this restore point be used; the computer will be restored to a malware-free state that is as late in time as possible.”) As can be seen from these citations FAN teaches creating a snapshot of the state of the computer and registries which teaches of system settings, and once malware is present the computer system is restored using the snapshot. Therefore, FAN teaches this limitation.
Additional arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by the claim amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is:
“a sandbox unit to analyze” in claim 12
Because this claim limitation(s) is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
See specification para. [0054, 0058] for functional support
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “in the case that the analysis result indicates that the application is malware”. However, claim 1 recites “in a case in which the application is determined to be malware”. Claim 1 does not recite of a case in which the analysis result is used to make a determination that the application is malware. Claim 1 only recites of reporting the analysis result to the real-time monitor. For the purpose of examination, Examiner is interpreting this limitation as “in the case in which the application is determined to be malware”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the identifying one or more of: (i) the risk rating of the application and (ii) whether the application is malware or not”. However, claim 1 recites “identifying a risk rating of the application … evaluating the monitored or collected behavior of the application to obtain an analysis result as to whether or not the application is malware”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the identifying one or more of”. For the purpose of Examination, Examiner is interpreting this limitation as “wherein the identifying the risk rating of the application or the evaluation of whether the application is malware or not …”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein the risk rating of the application is at least in part based on a user decision history for one or more of the application and past applications one or more of: (i) received from users of the computer network and (ii) collected by a backend of a threat detection network”. It is unclear whether what is received and/or collected is the decision history or the applications. Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “wherein the risk rating of the application is at least in part based on a user decision history for one or more of the application and past applications, wherein the user decision history is one or more of: (i) received from users of the computer network and (ii) collected by a backend of a threat detection network.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites multiple limitations of " the computer ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Examiner is interpreting this limitation as “the at least one computer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim limitation “a sandbox unit to analyze” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification states in para. 0054 “A sandbox unit can in one embodiment of the invention be a group of components”. However, there is no description of the sandbox unit being implemented using any hardware components. The specification broadly describes of figure 5 consisting of a processor and memory. However, there is no description to show that the processor of figure 5 implements the sandbox unit. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 11, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRAEMER (US-20210232685-A1), in view of LANGTON (US-20160292419-A1), and further in view of FAN (US-7784098-B1), hereinafter KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN.
Regarding claim 1, KRAEMER teaches “A method for threat detection in a computer or computer network, the method comprising: determining that an application is starting at the computer; ([KRAEMER, para. 0006] “behavior-based threat detection involves monitoring the execution of a computational unit (e.g., a thread, a process, an application, etc.) and identifying suspicious features”) ([KRAEMER, para. 0025] “the computational entity includes … an application”) ([KRAEMER, para. 0026] “based on first events initiated by a computational entity in a computer system, detecting one or more instances of the computational entity engaging in one or more first behaviors”) intercepting the application start; ([KRAEMER, para. 0030] “the potential ransom ware category assigned to the computational entity is the first category, the modification operations include one or more file modification operations targeting one or more files, and the protection actions include intercepting the file modification operations and creating backup copies of the files before permitting the file Modification operations to modify the files.”) identifying a risk rating of the application; ([KRAEMER, para. 0010] “the security engine may assign a potential ransomware category to the computational entity based on the detected behaviors. … The security engine may then monitor the computational entity for specific behavior corresponding to the assigned ransomware category.”) ([KRAEMER, para. 0062] “A computational entity may be assigned to ransom ware Category A if the entity exhibits behaviors associated with encrypting files, including, without limitation, (1) enumerating a storage device or a directory of a file system, and/or (2) modifying private files”) … allowing the application to run after the identification of the risk rating of the application; … ([KRAEMER, para. 0010] “If such behavior is detected, the security engine may assign a potential ransomware category to the computational entity based on the detected behaviors … initiate protection actions to protect storage resources of the computer system from potentially malicious behaviors of the computational entity, which may continue to execute. The security engine may then monitor the computational entity”) … and in a case in which the application is determined to be malware when the application is running, stopping the application, removing the malware, and reverting changes made to the computer … ([KRAEMER, para. 0168] “a process 250 for evaluating the threat score of a computational entity and applying a security policy to the entity may include steps 391-398. At step 391, the behavioral security engine 100 determines whether the CE's threat score exceeds a corresponding threshold”) ([KRAEMER, para. 0169] “If the CE's threat score exceeds the threshold, the process 250 proceeds to step 392. At step 392, if a prevention policy is enabled, the behavioral security engine 100 terminates the CE (step 395) and restores the files modified by the CE (step 398).”) ([KRAEMER, para. 0143] “The backup area may be protected by file-filter driver, as such, applications that are not part of the security engine are not allowed to modify it. When the prevention system reaches threshold and applies policy at higher certainty point, the files are available for restoration. The restore functionality can be triggered automatically by the prevention system”) ([KRAEMER, para. 0135] “policy module to restore the files modified by the entity … the module 160 may then restore the backed-up files.”) ([KRAEMER, para. 0031] “the behavioral security engine defends against (e.g., blocks, prevents, or mitigates) an attack by the potential threatware (e.g., malware or ransomware)”) ([KRAEMER, para. 0004] “the cybersecurity engine detects the presence of a threat and intervenes to prevent the threatware from executing (e.g., by quarantining or deleting the file).”)
However, KRAEMER does not teach “… based on the identified risk rating of the application, in a case in which the risk rating of the application is above a risk rating threshold value or in a case in which the risk rating of the application is unknown: creating a snapshot of the computer, the snapshot comprising one or more of current system settings, application settings, security settings, Domain Name System (DNS) settings, scheduled tasks, and a setting related to backups or a shadow copy of the computer and requesting, by a real-time monitor, a sandbox unit to analyze the application; … monitoring or collecting, by the sandbox unit, a behavior of the application in the case in which the risk rating of the application is above the risk rating threshold value or in the case in which the risk rating of the application is unknown, and evaluating the monitored or collected behavior of the application to obtain an analysis result as to whether or not the application is malware; reporting the analysis result to the real-time monitor; and in a case in which the application is determined to be malware when the application is running, stopping the application, removing the malware, and reverting changes made to the computer based on the snapshot of the computer by setting one or more of said current system settings, the application settings, the security settings, the Domain Name System (DNS) settings, the scheduled tasks, and said setting related to backups or a shadow copy of the computer back to values stored in the snapshot.”.
In analogous teaching LANGTON teaches “… based on the identified risk rating of the application … requesting, by a real-time monitor, a sandbox unit to analyze the application; … monitoring or collecting, by the sandbox unit, a behavior of the application in the case in which the risk rating of the application is above the risk rating threshold value or in the case in which the risk rating of the application is unknown, and evaluating the monitored or collected behavior of the application to obtain an analysis result as to whether or not the application is malware; ([LANGTON para. 0038] “A file may include, for example, an executable file, an application, a program, a document, a driver, a script, or the like.”) ([LANGTON para. 0084] “security device 220 may modify a group of malware scores corresponding to the group of files. For example, security device 220 may associate each file, included in the group of files, with a malware score.”) ([LANGTON para. 0087] “process 800 may include determining whether one or more malware scores, for one or more files, satisfy a threshold (block 820). For example, security device 220 may analyze one or more malware scores, corresponding to one or more files, to determine whether the one or more malware scores satisfy a threshold. For example, security device 220 may compare malware scores, for analyzed files, to a threshold value.”) ([LANGTON para. 0088] “if one or more malware scores, for one or more files, satisfy a threshold (block 820—YES), process 800 may include analyzing the file(s) for malware (block 830). For example, if security device 220 determines that a malware score, for a file, satisfies the threshold, then security device 220 may analyze the file (e.g., individually) for malware. In this way, security device 220 may individually analyze a file for malware when the file has a higher probability of being malware (e.g., as indicated by the malware score)”) ([LANGTON para. 0118] “As used herein, satisfying a threshold may refer to a value being greater than the threshold, more than the threshold”) ([LANGTON para. 0097] “implementations, security device 220 may analyze the additional group of files in a testing environment, such as a sandbox environment. Security device 220 may analyze the additional group of files for malware by executing the additional group of files in the testing environment, and by monitoring the testing environment for behavior indicative of malware. For example, security device 220 may execute each file, in the additional group of files, sequentially or in parallel.”) reporting the analysis result to the real-time monitor ([LANGTON para. 0112] “As shown by reference number 960, assume that security device 220 analyzes FileH in a sandbox environment, and determines that FileH is malware. Based on this determination, and as shown by reference number 965, security device 220 may perform an action to counteract FileH, determined to be malware. For example, security device 220 may indicate that FileH is malware, may prevent client device(s) 210 from accessing FileH, may notify a device associated with an administrator that FileH is malware, or the like.”) ([LANGTON para. 0073] “For example, security device 220 may provide an indication (e.g., to client device 210, to a device associated with a network administrator, etc.) that the file includes malware. Additionally, or alternatively, security device 220 may prevent one or more client devices 220 from accessing the file”)
Thus, given the teaching of LANGTON, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of sandboxing applications by LANGTON into the teaching of a method of threat detection in a computer by KRAEMER. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because LANGTON recognizes the benefits of the need for efficiently detecting malware ([LANGTON, para. 0066] “security device 220 may determine whether the segments include malware in a shorter amount of time as compared to using a single testing environment during different time periods, thereby improving a user experience by making non-malware files available to a user earlier in time.”)
In analogous teaching FAN teaches “based on the identified risk rating of the [application], in a case in which the risk rating of the [application] is above a risk rating threshold value or in a case in which the risk rating of the [application] is unknown: creating a snapshot of the computer, the snapshot comprising one or more of current system settings, application settings, security settings, Domain Name System (DNS) settings, scheduled tasks, and a setting related to backups or a shadow copy of the computer ([FAN, col. 9 lines 54-59] “if the running score is greater than the threshold (step 430), then in step 438 a snapshot commit is executed. A running score greater than the threshold indicates that during the current snapshot there has been enough suspicious activity that the current snapshot should be stored as a restore point by application 230.”) ([FAN, col. 9 lines 29-34] “On the other hand, if a snapshot has been turned on, then in step 430 the current running score is compared to the threshold number (for example, 10). If the score is not greater than the threshold then the current snapshot is canceled”) ([FAN, col. 5 lines 15-20] “As will be discussed in greater detail below, a threshold may be adjusted such that snapshots are taken when malware begins to infect the computer and also when benign software takes actions that appear to be malware.”) ([FAN, col. 7 lines 44-46] “Suitable snapshot/restore applications are known in the art and will typically restore such information as the registry, profiles, caches, files with certain extensions, etc.”) ([FAN, col. 5 lines 15-20] “ability to take a snapshot of the state of the computer system, to create restore points from which the system may be restored, and to restore the computer system from a particular restore point. In some situations, application 230 may also include the capability to back up user and system files.”) … and reverting changes made to the computer based on the snapshot of the computer by setting one or more of said current system settings, the application settings, the security settings, the Domain Name System (DNS) settings, the scheduled tasks, and said setting related to backups or a shadow copy of the computer back to values stored in the snapshot.”. ([FAN, col. 7 lines 44-46] “Suitable snapshot/restore applications are known in the art and will typically restore such information as the registry, profiles, caches, files with certain extensions, etc.”) ([FAN, col. 5 lines 15-20] “ability to take a snapshot of the state of the computer system, to create restore points from which the system may be restored, and to restore the computer system from a particular restore point.”) ([FAN, col. 13 lines 10-16] “ should the events recorded in a restore point log indicate that malware is present, restoring the computer system using that restore point will restore the state of the computer to a point in time just prior to when the malware infection began. The restore adviser module will thus recommend that this restore point be used; the computer will be restored to a malware-free state that is as late in time as possible.”)
KRAEMER teaches of risk rating of the application as can be seen in the rejection above, the same rejection applies to teach of an application’s risk rating.
Thus, given the teaching of FAN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of creating a snapshot by FAN into the teaching of a method of threat detection in a computer by KRAEMER-LANGTON. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because FAN recognizes the need to efficiently recover a computer system ([FAN, col. 2 lines 21-24] “it is desirable to have a system and technique that would address the above deficiencies in the prior art and would allow a computer system to recover properly and with minimal effort after being infected by malicious software.”) ([FAN, col. 2 lines 31-34] “a technique is disclosed that provides a prediction of the point in time when malicious software begins to infect a computer system and recommends the best point from which to restore the computer system.”)
Regarding claim 2, KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN teaches all limitations of claim 1. LANGTON further teaches “further comprising identifying that the application is malware in an analysis report by one or more of: monitoring the behavior of the application when the application is running and based on signatures of the application.” ([LANGTON para. 0112] “As shown by reference number 960, assume that security device 220 analyzes FileH in a sandbox environment, and determines that FileH is malware. Based on this determination, and as shown by reference number 965, security device 220 may perform an action to counteract FileH, determined to be malware. For example, security device 220 may indicate that FileH is malware, may prevent client device(s) 210 from accessing FileH, may notify a device associated with an administrator that FileH is malware, or the like.”) ([LANGTON para. 0073] “For example, security device 220 may provide an indication (e.g., to client device 210, to a device associated with a network administrator, etc.) that the file includes malware. Additionally, or alternatively, security device 220 may prevent one or more client devices 220 from accessing the file”)
The same motivation to modify KRAEMER with LANGTON as in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claim 5, KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN teaches all limitations of claim 1. KRAEMER further teaches “…. terminating malware processes” ([KRAEMER, para. 0169] “If the CE's threat score exceeds the threshold, the process 250 proceeds to step 392. At step 392, if a prevention policy is enabled, the behavioral security engine 100 terminates the CE (step 395) and restores the files modified by the CE (step 398).”).
LANGTON further teaches “further comprising, in the case that the analysis result indicated that the application is malware, removing the malware …” ([LANGTON para. 0112] “As shown by reference number 960, assume that security device 220 analyzes FileH in a sandbox environment, and determines that FileH is malware. Based on this determination, and as shown by reference number 965, security device 220 may perform an action to counteract FileH, determined to be malware. For example, security device 220 may indicate that FileH is malware, may prevent client device(s) 210 from accessing FileH, may notify a device associated with an administrator that FileH is malware, or the like.”) ([LANGTON para. 0073] “For example, security device 220 may provide an indication (e.g., to client device 210, to a device associated with a network administrator, etc.) that the file includes malware. Additionally, or alternatively, security device 220 may prevent one or more client devices 220 from accessing the file”)
The same motivation to modify KRAEMER with LANGTON as in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
However, KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN does not teach “… and deleting registry values pointing to malware components and files.”
In analogous teaching FAN teaches “… and deleting registry values pointing to malware components and files.” ([FAN, col. 12 lines 19-25] “Further, new or modified registry entries from the restore point log are compared to the malware report to see if that particular malware also creates or modifies registry entries in the same fashion. In one embodiment, all of the restore point logs are compared to a single malware report first and then the logs are compared to the next malware report”) ([FAN, col. 7 lines 44-46] “Suitable snapshot/restore applications are known in the art and will typically restore such information as the registry, profiles, caches, files with certain extensions, etc.”).
The same motivation to modify KRAEMER-LANGTON with FAN as in the rejection of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claim 7, KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN teaches all limitations of claim 1. KRAEMER further teaches “wherein the identifying the risk rating of the application comprises making a query to one or more of: a risk rating database, and reputation database at one or more of: the computer and a backend of a threat detection network.” ([KRAEMER, para. 0004] “signature-based malware detection involves obtaining a copy of a file that is known to contain threatware, analyzing the static features of the file (e.g., the sequence of bytes contained in the file) to extract a static signature that is characteristic of the threatware, and adding the threatware's static signature to a database (often referred to as a “blacklist”) of known cybersecurity threats. When a user attempts to access (e.g., download, open, or execute) a file, the cybersecurity engine scans the file and extracts the file's static signature. If the file's static signature matches a signature on the blacklist, the cybersecurity engine detects the presence of a threat”)
Regarding claim 11, KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN teaches all limitations of claim 1. KRAEMER further teaches “wherein a sensor at the computer is used to intercept one or more of a file, a system configuration value and network operations called by the application.” ([KRAEMER, para. 0030] “the modification operations include one or more file modification operations targeting one or more backup files, and the protection actions include intercepting the file modification operations and creating backup copies of the backup files before permitting the file modification operations to modify the backup files.”) ([KRAEMER, para. 0052] “The tracking module 110 may monitor events occurring in the computer system and track the behavior of computational entities in the computer system based on the monitored events. A computational entity mar be, for example, a thread, a process, an application, or a related set of two or more threads, processes, and/or applications”).
Regarding claim 12, this claim recites of an arrangement comprising a computer configured to perform the steps of method claim 1. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected in a similar manner as in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, this claim recites of a computer readable medium storing instruction which once executed performs the steps of method claim 1. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected in a similar manner as in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN teaches all limitations of claim 1. KRAEMER further teaches “wherein the computer is a network node or an endpoint.” ([KRAEMER, para. 0050] “The behavioral security engine 100 may be a component of a cybersecurity engine, and its modules may cooperate detect potential threats from threatware, including file-based threats and/or fileless (e.g., streaming) threatware threats, by monitoring and analyzing events (e.g., stream of events) on a computer system (e.g., an endpoint computer system).”) ([KRAEMER, para. 0136] “The techniques described in this Section may be used to enhance a behavioral security engine 100 for endpoint devices (e.g., desktops, laptops, terminals, servers, embedded systems)”)
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN in view of SIFFORD (US-20180255073-A1).
Regarding claim 8, KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN teaches all limitations of claim 1. However, KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN does not teach “wherein the identifying one or more of the risk rating of the application and whether the application is malware or not is based on input from the users of the computers of a threat detection network.”.
In analogous teaching SIFFORD teaches “wherein the identifying one or more of the risk rating of the application and whether the application is malware or not is based on input from the users of the computers of a threat detection network.” ([SIFFORD, para. 0051] “the system may be configured to receive an indication from the user computing device indicating that the electronic file is malware. In response, the system may initiate an intrusion detection protocol configured to deny the electronic file access to the third network device based on at least receiving the indication that the electronic file is malware. In addition, the system may initiate a control signal configured to cause the third hash value to be added to the database”) ([SIFFORD, para. 0030] “The user device 104 may refer to any computerized apparatus that can be configured to perform any one or more of the functions of the user device 104 described and/or contemplated herein. For example, the user may use the user device 104 to transmit and/or receive information or commands to and from the detection system 108”).
Thus, given the teaching of SIFFORD, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of user input for threat detection by SIFFORD into the teaching of a method of threat detection in a computer by KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because SIFFORD recognizes the need to improve detection of threats ([SIFFORD, para. 0001] “There is a need for enhanced detection of such polymorphic malicious content as it propagates through the network of an entity.”).
Regarding claim 9, KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN teaches all limitations of claim 1. However, KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN does not teach “wherein the risk rating of the application is at least in part based on a user decision history, for one or more of the application and past applications one or more of received from users of the computer network and collected by a backend of a threat detection network.”.
In analogous teaching SIFFORD teaches “wherein the risk rating of the application is at least in part based on a user decision history, for one or more of the application and past applications one or more of received from users of the computer network and collected by a backend of a threat detection network.” ([SIFFORD, para. 0051] “the system may be configured to receive an indication from the user computing device indicating that the electronic file is malware. In response, the system may initiate an intrusion detection protocol configured to deny the electronic file access to the third network device based on at least receiving the indication that the electronic file is malware. In addition, the system may initiate a control signal configured to cause the third hash value to be added to the database”) ([SIFFORD, para. 0050] “the system may be configured to determine that the electronic file is malware based on at least determining a match between the third hash value and at least one of the one or more hash value states in the database”) ([SIFFORD, para. 0030] “The user device 104 may refer to any computerized apparatus that can be configured to perform any one or more of the functions of the user device 104 described and/or contemplated herein. For example, the user may use the user device 104 to transmit and/or receive information or commands to and from the detection system 108”).
The same motivation to modify KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN with SIFFORD as in the rejection of claim 8 applies.
Regarding claim 10, KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN teaches all limitations of claim 1. However, KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN does not teach “wherein a user decision history received from a user at the computer for the application is reported to a threat detection network.”.
In analogous teaching SIFFORD teaches “wherein a user decision history received from a user at the computer for the application is reported to a threat detection network.” ([SIFFORD, para. 0050] “the process flow includes initiating a control signal configured to store the one or more hash value states in a database associated with the third network device.”) ([SIFFORD, para. 0051] “the system may be configured to receive an indication from the user computing device indicating that the electronic file is malware. In response, the system may initiate an intrusion detection protocol configured to deny the electronic file access to the third network device based on at least receiving the indication that the electronic file is malware. In addition, the system may initiate a control signal configured to cause the third hash value to be added to the database”) ([SIFFORD, para. 0028] “the detection system 108 is operatively coupled, via a network 101 to the user device 104 … the detection system 108 can send information to and receive information from the user device 104”) ([SIFFORD, para. 0038] “the detection system 108 comprises … includes data storage 138 for storing data related to the system environment 100, but not limited to data created and/or used by the application 142”).
The same motivation to modify KRAEMER-LANGTON-FAN with SIFFORD as in the rejection of claim 8 applies.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
NIEMELÄ (US-20190188377-A1): This prior art teaches of a method of detecting a threat against a computer system. The method includes creating a modular representation of behavior of known applications on the basis of sub-components of a set of known applications; entering the modular representation to an evolutionary analysis system for generating previously unknown combinations of the procedures; storing the generated previously unknown combinations as candidate descendants of known applications to a future threat candidate database; monitoring the behavior of the computer system to detect one or more procedures matching the behavior of a stored candidate descendant in the future threat candidate database; and upon detection of one or more procedures matching the behavior of the stored candidate descendant and if the stored candidate descendant is determined to be malicious or suspicious, identifying the running application as malicious or suspicious.
STAHLBERG (US-20190138724-A1): This prior art teaches of a method of detecting a threat against a computer system. The method includes creating a modular representation of behavior of known applications on the basis of sub-components of a set of known applications; entering the modular representation to an evolutionary analysis system for generating previously unknown combinations of the procedures; storing the generated previously unknown combinations as candidate descendants of known applications to a future threat candidate database; monitoring the behavior of the computer system to detect one or more procedures matching the behavior of a stored candidate descendant in the future threat candidate database; and upon detection of one or more procedures matching the behavior of the stored candidate descendant and if the stored candidate descendant is determined to be malicious or suspicious, identifying the running application as malicious or suspicious.
Conclusion
/A.A./
07/21/2026
/AFAQ ALI/Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434