DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed May 30, 2023 & January 30, 2025 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and an initialed copied is attached herewith.
Claim Interpretation
The term “dope cement” includes sealing groove material in the frame as the resin material ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer (EVA) and acrylic polymers. See paragraph [0111].
The term “liquid gasket” includes sealing groove material in the frame as the resin material silicone resin, acrylic resin, and synthetic rubber resin. See paragraph [0114]. The liquid gasket id solid in the final product [0110]. Thus, rubber seals satisfy the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-16 & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. CN 102088114A in view of Wang et al. CN 208173711 U.
With respect to claim 1, LIU teaches a bipolar battery (a bipolar battery; [0003]), comprising: a plurality of cell members [0015], [0063] each including a positive electrode having a positive active material layer (positive electrode active material 2; [0108]; Fig. 16 below), a negative electrode having a negative active material layer (a negative electrode active material 3, [0108]; Fig. 16 below), and an electrolyte layer interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (electrolyte; [0072]); and a plurality of frame units configured to form a plurality of cells individually housing the plurality of cell members (frames; Fig. 16), wherein: cell members adjacent to each other in a stacking direction are electrically connected to each other in series (connected in series; [0091]); each of the plurality of frame units has joining surfaces facing each other in a stacking direction of the cell members (joining surfaces; Fig. 16), the joining surfaces being joined to each other by a joining material (joining material; Fig. 16) ; a groove between the joining surfaces (groove id the arc formed at each joining surface; Fig. 16) ; and a water sealing material is disposed in the groove (groove body component, ABS, PP, PVC, rubber, [0066]) .
With respect to claim 2, the bipolar battery is a bipolar lead storage battery in which the positive electrode has a positive electrode lead layer ( positive/negative lead electrode plate assemblies 6a, 6b; [0063]) and the negative electrode has a negative electrode lead layer ( positive/negative lead electrode plate assemblies 6a, 6b; [0063]). With respect to claim 3, each of the plurality of frame units includes a rim having the joining surfaces facing each other in a stacking direction of the cell members (rim is the edge of all joining surfaces; Fig. 16); the joining surfaces of rims of frame units adjacent to each other in the stacking direction are joined to each other by the joining material (rims surround the joining material; Fig. 16); the groove is formed on outer side surfaces of rims of frame units adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (rims are at the edge of the groove; Fig. 16); and the water sealing material is disposed in the groove (groove body component, ABS, PP, PVC, rubber, [0066]). With respect to claim 5,
the water sealing material is hot melt (concave structure part of frame 4, includes thermoplastic or epoxy resin, hot melt sealing material; [0014]). With respect to claim 6, the water sealing material is a liquid gasket (groove body component is rubber; [0067]; See claim Interpretation section above). With respect to claim 7, an open end of the groove has a protrusion protruding from the open end (protrusion; Fig. 16).
With respect to claim 8, the bipolar battery is a bipolar lead storage battery in which the positive electrode has a positive electrode lead layer ( positive/negative lead electrode plate assemblies 6a, 6b; [0063]) and the negative electrode has a negative electrode lead layer ( positive/negative lead electrode plate assemblies 6a, 6b; [0063]). With respect to claims 10, 16 & 20, an open end of the groove has a protrusion protruding from the open end (Fig. 16 above). With respect to claims 12 & 18, the water sealing material is hot melt (concave structure part of frame 4, includes thermoplastic or epoxy resin, hot melt sealing material; [0014]). With respect to claims 13 & 19, the water sealing material is a liquid gasket (groove body component is rubber; [0067]; See claim Interpretation section above). With respect to claim 14, the bipolar battery is a bipolar lead storage battery in which the positive electrode has a positive electrode lead layer ( positive/negative lead electrode plate assemblies 6a, 6b; [0063]) and the negative electrode has a negative electrode lead layer ( positive/negative lead electrode plate assemblies 6a, 6b; [0063]). With respect to claim 15, water sealing material is disposed in the groove (groove body component, ABS, PP, PVC, rubber, [0066]) .
With respect to claim 9, each of the plurality of frame units (4; Fig. 16) includes one or a plurality of bipolar plates (1; Fig. 16) disposed between the cell members adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (positive electrode active material 2; negative electrode active material 3 [0108]; Fig. 16); a first end plate disposed at one end in the stacking direction of a plurality of the cell members (first end plate; Fig. 16, below) and a second end plate disposed at an other end in the stacking direction (second end plate; Fig. 16, below) , and a plurality of spacers disposed between the bipolar plates adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (spacer; Fig. 16 below), between the first end plate and the bipolar plate (spacer between bipolar plate and first end plate; Fig. 16 below) , and between the second end plate and the bipolar plate (spacer between bipolar plate and second end plate Fig. 16 below) ; a plurality of cells individually housing the plurality of cell members is formed by the one or plurality of bipolar plates (bipolar plate framed and sandwiched between the cathode and anode, 2, 3l Fig. 16 below), the first end plate and the second end plate, and the plurality of spacers (spacers and bipolar plates between end plates; Fig. 16); water sealing material is disposed in the groove (groove body component, ABS, PP, PVC, rubber, [0066])
LIU does not teach or suggest: a groove being formed on outer side surfaces of frame units adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, the groove opening to the outer side surfaces (claim 1); the joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the first end plate and the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; the joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the second end plate and the joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; and the groove is formed on an outer side surface of the first end plate and an outer side surface of the spacer adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, an outer side surface of the spacer and an outer side surface of the bipolar plate adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, and an outer side surface of the second end plate and an outer side surface of the spacer adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (claim 9); the groove communicating between the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on the other surface in the stacking direction of the spacer, and the groove communicating between the joining surface formed on the other surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are an identical common groove communicating with each other (claim 15).
Wang teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: a groove being formed on outer side surfaces of frame units adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, the groove opening to the outer side surfaces (Fig, 1; claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a groove being formed on outer side surfaces of frame units adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, the groove opening to the outer side surfaces of Wang, in the bipolar battery of LIU, in order to increase the sealing surface area, and thus structural integrity of the seal. The skilled artisan recognizes that a larger sealing area improves strength of the seal.
With respect to joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the first end plate and the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the spacer being adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; the joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the second end plate and the joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; and the groove is formed on an outer side surface of the first end plate and an outer side surface of the spacer adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, an outer side surface of the spacer and an outer side surface of the bipolar plate adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, and an outer side surface of the second end plate and an outer side surface of the spacer adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (claim 9); it would have been obvious to form sealing grooves in sealing communication on the joining surfaces, other surfaces, one surface, and outer side surfaces in the stacking direction as taught by LIU in view of Wang above, in the bipolar plates, spacers and first and second endplates; in order to increase the sealing surface area, and thus improve structural integrity of the seal. The skilled artisan recognizes that a larger sealing area improves strength of the seal. The sealing groove arrangement necessitated by claim 9 is placed in each layer of the spacers, bipolar plates and end plates that are sealingly adjacent, and thus duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Lastly, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to the groove communicating between the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on the other surface in the stacking direction of the spacer, and the groove communicating between the joining surface formed on the other surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are an identical common groove communicating with each other (claim 15); it would have been obvious to form sealing grooves on the joining surfaces, one surfaces, and other surfaces as taught by LIU in view of Wang above, in the bipolar plates and spacers; in order to increase the sealing surface area, and thus structural integrity of the seal. The skilled artisan recognizes that a larger sealing area improves strength of the seal. The sealing groove arrangement necessitated by claim 15 is placed in each layer of the spacer and bipolar that are sealingly adjacent, and thus duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Lastly, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-16 & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. CN 102088114A in view of He et al. CN 10491625 A.
With respect to claim 1, LIU teaches a bipolar battery (a bipolar battery; [0003]), comprising: a plurality of cell members [0015], [0063] each including a positive electrode having a positive active material layer (positive electrode active material 2; [0108]; Fig. 16 below), a negative electrode having a negative active material layer (a negative electrode active material 3, [0108]; Fig. 16 below), and an electrolyte layer interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (electrolyte; [0072]); and a plurality of frame units configured to form a plurality of cells individually housing the plurality of cell members (frames; Fig. 16), wherein: cell members adjacent to each other in a stacking direction are electrically connected to each other in series (connected in series; [0091]); each of the plurality of frame units has joining surfaces facing each other in a stacking direction of the cell members (joining surfaces; Fig. 16), the joining surfaces being joined to each other by a joining material (joining material; Fig. 16) ; a groove between the joining surfaces (groove id the arc formed at each joining surface; Fig. 16) ; and a water sealing material is disposed in the groove (groove body component, ABS, PP, PVC, rubber, [0066]) .
With respect to claim 2, the bipolar battery is a bipolar lead storage battery in which the positive electrode has a positive electrode lead layer ( positive/negative lead electrode plate assemblies 6a, 6b; [0063]) and the negative electrode has a negative electrode lead layer ( positive/negative lead electrode plate assemblies 6a, 6b; [0063]). With respect to claim 3, each of the plurality of frame units includes a rim having the joining surfaces facing each other in a stacking direction of the cell members (rim is the edge of all joining surfaces; Fig. 16); the joining surfaces of rims of frame units adjacent to each other in the stacking direction are joined to each other by the joining material (rims surround the joining material; Fig. 16); the groove is formed on outer side surfaces of rims of frame units adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (rims are at the edge of the groove; Fig. 16); and the water sealing material is disposed in the groove (groove body component, ABS, PP, PVC, rubber, [0066]). With respect to claim 5,
the water sealing material is hot melt (concave structure part of frame 4, includes thermoplastic or epoxy resin, hot melt sealing material; [0014]). With respect to claim 6, the water sealing material is a liquid gasket (groove body component is rubber; [0067]; See claim Interpretation section above). With respect to claim 7, an open end of the groove has a protrusion protruding from the open end (protrusion; Fig. 16).
With respect to claim 8, the bipolar battery is a bipolar lead storage battery in which the positive electrode has a positive electrode lead layer ( positive/negative lead electrode plate assemblies 6a, 6b; [0063]) and the negative electrode has a negative electrode lead layer ( positive/negative lead electrode plate assemblies 6a, 6b; [0063]). With respect to claims 10, 16 & 20, an open end of the groove has a protrusion protruding from the open end (Fig. 16 above). With respect to claims 12 & 18, the water sealing material is hot melt (concave structure part of frame 4, includes thermoplastic or epoxy resin, hot melt sealing material; [0014]). With respect to claims 13 & 19, the water sealing material is a liquid gasket (groove body component is rubber; [0067]; See claim Interpretation section above). With respect to claim 14, the bipolar battery is a bipolar lead storage battery in which the positive electrode has a positive electrode lead layer ( positive/negative lead electrode plate assemblies 6a, 6b; [0063]) and the negative electrode has a negative electrode lead layer ( positive/negative lead electrode plate assemblies 6a, 6b; [0063]). With respect to claim 15, water sealing material is disposed in the groove (groove body component, ABS, PP, PVC, rubber, [0066]) .
With respect to claim 9, each of the plurality of frame units (4; Fig. 16) includes one or a plurality of bipolar plates (1; Fig. 16) disposed between the cell members adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (positive electrode active material 2; negative electrode active material 3 [0108]; Fig. 16); a first end plate disposed at one end in the stacking direction of a plurality of the cell members (first end plate; Fig. 16, below) and a second end plate disposed at an other end in the stacking direction (second end plate; Fig. 16, below) , and a plurality of spacers disposed between the bipolar plates adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (spacer; Fig. 16 below), between the first end plate and the bipolar plate (spacer between bipolar plate and first end plate; Fig. 16 below) , and between the second end plate and the bipolar plate (spacer between bipolar plate and second end plate Fig. 16 below) ; a plurality of cells individually housing the plurality of cell members is formed by the one or plurality of bipolar plates (bipolar plate framed and sandwiched between the cathode and anode, 2, 3l Fig. 16 below), the first end plate and the second end plate, and the plurality of spacers (spacers and bipolar plates between end plates; Fig. 16); water sealing material is disposed in the groove (groove body component, ABS, PP, PVC, rubber, [0066])
LIU does not teach or suggest: a groove being formed on outer side surfaces of frame units adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, the groove opening to the outer side surfaces (claim 1); the joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the first end plate and the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; the joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the second end plate and the joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; and the groove is formed on an outer side surface of the first end plate and an outer side surface of the spacer adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, an outer side surface of the spacer and an outer side surface of the bipolar plate adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, and an outer side surface of the second end plate and an outer side surface of the spacer adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (claim 9); the groove communicating between the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on the other surface in the stacking direction of the spacer, and the groove communicating between the joining surface formed on the other surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are an identical common groove communicating with each other (claim 15).
He teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: a groove being formed on outer side surfaces of frame units adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, the groove opening to the outer side surfaces (Fig, 1; claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a groove being formed on outer side surfaces of frame units adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, the groove opening to the outer side surfaces of He, in the bipolar battery of LIU, in order to increase the sealing surface area, and thus structural integrity of the seal. The skilled artisan recognizes that a larger sealing area improves strength of the seal.
With respect to joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the first end plate and the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the spacer being adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; the joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the second end plate and the joining surface formed on an other surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are adjacent to each other in the stacking direction and joined to each other by the joining material; and the groove is formed on an outer side surface of the first end plate and an outer side surface of the spacer adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, an outer side surface of the spacer and an outer side surface of the bipolar plate adjacent to each other in the stacking direction, and an outer side surface of the second end plate and an outer side surface of the spacer adjacent to each other in the stacking direction (claim 9); it would have been obvious to form sealing grooves in sealing communication on the joining surfaces, other surfaces, one surface, and outer side surfaces in the stacking direction as taught by LIU in view of He above, in the bipolar plates, spacers and first and second endplates; in order to increase the sealing surface area, and thus improve structural integrity of the seal. The skilled artisan recognizes that a larger sealing area improves strength of the seal. The sealing groove arrangement necessitated by claim 9 is placed in each layer of the spacers, bipolar plates and end plates that are sealingly adjacent, and thus duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Lastly, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to the groove communicating between the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on the other surface in the stacking direction of the spacer, and the groove communicating between the joining surface formed on the other surface in the stacking direction of the bipolar plate and the joining surface formed on one surface in the stacking direction of the spacer are an identical common groove communicating with each other (claim 15); it would have been obvious to form sealing grooves on the joining surfaces, one surfaces, and other surfaces as taught by LIU in view of He above, in the bipolar plates and spacers; in order to increase the sealing surface area, and thus structural integrity of the seal. The skilled artisan recognizes that a larger sealing area improves strength of the seal. The sealing groove arrangement necessitated by claim 15 is placed in each layer of the spacer and bipolar that are sealingly adjacent, and thus duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Lastly, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. CN 102088114A in view of Wang et al. CN 208173711 U, and further in view of Shaffer et al. CN 109980137A.
LIU in view of Wang teach a bipolar battery (a bipolar battery; [0003]), as described in the rejection recited hereinabove. LIU teaches:
LIU does not teach or suggest: the water sealing material is dope cement (claims 4, 11, 17).
Shaffer teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: the water sealing material is dope cement (sealing element can be injected into the thermoset polymer between the bolt and the transverse channel, such as epoxy resin, polyurethane or acrylic polymer; See Description; claims 4, 11, 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the dope cement of Shaffer, in the grooves of LIU in view of Wang, as selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v.Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. CN 102088114A in view of He et al. CN 10491625 A, and further in view of Shaffer et al. CN 109980137A.
LIU in view of He teach a bipolar battery (a bipolar battery; [0003]), as described in the rejection recited hereinabove. LIU teaches:
LIU does not teach or suggest: the water sealing material is dope cement (claims 4, 11, 17).
Shaffer teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: the water sealing material is dope cement (sealing element can be injected into the thermoset polymer between the bolt and the transverse channel, such as epoxy resin, polyurethane or acrylic polymer; See Description; claims 4, 11, 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the dope cement of Shaffer, in the grooves of LIU in view of He, as selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v.Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nel et al. US PST 4,361,633 teaches EVA sealing materials. Han et sl. KR 201500094896 teaches a liquid gasket.
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723