DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application, of which claims 1 & 18 are amended.
In view of the amendments to the claims, all previous rejections are withdrawn and a new grounds of rejection is supplied below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new references cited to meet the new limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 11-15, & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Onofrio (US20220144219A1) in view of Rachow (US20220009453A1), Guillaumin (FR2749553A1), and Wakamiya (US20200231125A1).
As to claim 1, D’Onofrio discloses a sensor assembly (abstract), comprising: a sensor (Fig.1C ref 110) mounted to a movable panel (Fig.1C ref 148) of a vehicle (Fig.1C ref 100C); a nozzle (Figs.3A-3B, 4A, 7, & 11E ref 340 also Figs.5 & 10A-10B; see also [0035] indicating the lens cleaning nozzle may be utilized with the embodiment of Fig.1C) mounted to a license plate area, which is clearly seen to not be part of the tailgate, but rather part of the bumper area and understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to read on a fixed panel (i.e. either of the nozzle bracket or the license plate reading on a fixed panel); the movable panel being movable relative to the fixed panel between an open position and a closed position (this is how a tailgate operates); and a controller (D’Onofrio Fig.3B refs combination of 325 & 321). D’Onofrio also showcases that the nozzle is utilize to direct fluid upwardly towards the sensor at an angle (Figs.7 & 11E). It is understood that such an angle is indicative of the tailgate being in the closed position when being sprayed, as such would not target the sensor when the tailgate is open. D’Onofrio does not disclose the nozzle being a telescopic nozzle, however such a nozzle is a known alternative type of nozzle for the cleaning of sensors, as seen by Rachow and Guillaumin. D’Onofrio also does not disclose extension of the telescopic nozzle in response to the vehicle entering a driver assist mode, however the cleaning of sensors upon entering an autonomous state is known in the art, as seen by Wakamiya.
Rachow discloses a modular assembly for spraying a sensor (abstract), wherein various different alternative forms of nozzles are shown to usable in place of one another (Figs.7, 11, & 13-28). Rachow further showcases that one such nozzle is a telescopic nozzle (Figs.23-25) which in the extended position allows for the nozzle to spray liquid to the target (Fig.24 see ref 316) and in a closed position prevents such spraying (Fig.23)
Guillaumin discloses an art related vehicle component washing device (abstract), wherein it is shown that a telescopic nozzle can spray liquid vertically upwards and at an angle to a surface to be cleaned (see Figs.2-3). It can be seen that the nozzle is provided in such a manner that it is behind a panel in the retracted position (Fig.2) and extends from the panel in the extended position (Fig.3).
Wakamiya discloses an art related vehicle cleaning system (abstract), wherein upon switching to autonomous driving (i.e., a driver assist mode) cleaning of sensors is performed (see Fig.2 ref 103 & [0027-0028]) in order to clean the sensors utilized for autonomous driving.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify D’Onofrio to utilize a telescopic nozzle, as such a nozzle is a known alternative in the art (Rachow Figs.23-25). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a known nozzle structure in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success, especially when such telescopic nozzles are known to be able to spray vertically upwards at an angle (Guillaumin Fig.3). Such a modification would provide a telescopic nozzle which would retract behind the nozzle bracket or license plate in the retracted position and extend beyond the same in the extended position, such that the nozzle can spray the sensor in the extended position. A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to modify the controller in order to perform a cleaning operation of the sensor when the vehicle is switched into an autonomous mode in order to clean sensors (Wakamiya Fig.2 ref 103 & [0027-0028]). Since the nozzle is in the extended position when performing a cleaning operation, the telescopic nozzle would be in the extended position in response to the vehicle entering a driver assist mode.
As to claim 2, Modified D’Onofrio teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the moveable panel is an exterior panel of a door of the vehicle (D’Onofrio Fig.1C ref 148, a tailgate is a type of door of the vehicle).
As to claim 8, Modified D’Onofrio teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the sensor is camera (D’Onofrio Fig.1C ref 110).
As to claims 11-12, Modified D’Onofrio teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the telescopic nozzle is fluid coupled to a pump (D’Onofrio Fig.3B ref 305, Guillaumin Figs.2-3 ref 18, see also incorporated reference within Rachow, US20200290572A1 ref 142) and wherein the telescoping nozzle is arranged to move to the extended position responsive to an increase in the fluid pressure generated by the pump (Guillaumin Figs.2-3, see also incorporated reference within Rachow US20200290572A1 [0054 & 0059]) and retract in response to a decrease in fluid pressure (see incorporated reference within Rachow US20200290572A1 [0055].
As to claim 13, Modified D’Onofrio teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the telescopic nozzle is fluid coupled via a fluid conduit to a pump (D’Onofrio Fig.3B ref 345/305, Guillaumin Figs.2-3 refs 18 and corresponding line from ref 18 to ref 15, see also incorporated reference within Rachow US20200290572A1 Fig.5 refs 142/140) such that the fluid conduit is not routed through the movable panel (see D’Onofrio Figs.3B-4A).
As to claim 14, Modified D’Onofrio teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the telescopic nozzle is fluid coupled via a fluid conduit to a pump coupled to windshield washer fluid reservoir (D’Onofrio Fig.3B ref 345/305/330, Guillaumin Figs.2-3 refs 18/19 and corresponding line from ref 18 to ref 15, see also incorporated reference within Rachow US20200290572A1 Fig.5 refs 136/142/140).
As to claim 15, Modified D’Onofrio teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the telescopic nozzle includes a trim panel cover at a distal end of the telescopic nozzle (Guillaumin Figs.2-3 ref 12 & Rachow Figs.23-24 ref 330).
As to claims 18-20, Modified D’Onofrio teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the controller (D’Onofrio Fig.3B refs combination of 325 & 321) is programmed to detect an obscurant on the surface of the sensor and automatically activate the pump for cleaning of the sensor via the nozzle (D’Onofrio [0092]). Wakamiya also indicates that when dirt is detected (Fig.3 ref S201 & [0029]) and the vehicle is in an autonomous state (Fig.3 ref s202), then cleaning is performed in order to clean a sensor, wherein the cleaning is performed via ejection of a liquid [0017]. Thus, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to allow for the controller to operate the pump for ejecting liquid to clean the sensor when the sensor is detected to be dirty during an autonomous state.
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, & 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20190054275A) in view of Rachow (US20220009453A1), Guillaumin (FR2749553A1), Kikuta (US20130319486A1), Hernandez (US20020162580A1), Suzuki (US20220348168A1), and Sakai (US20200180567A1).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a sensor assembly comprising a sensor (Figs.2-4 ref 10) mounted to a moveable panel (i.e., door) of a vehicle (e.g., see Figs.2-4); the moveable panel being movable between an open position and a closed position (e.g., function of a door); and a nozzle (Figs.2-4 ref 65) mounted to a different panel of the vehicle and configured to spray the sensor when the moveable panel is in a closed position; and a control unit (Kim ref 40). Kim does not disclose the nozzle being a telescopic nozzle, or the nozzle being provided on a fixed panel. However, the feature of telescopic nozzles is known in the art, as seen by Rachow and Guillaumin. Further, the placement of nozzles on fixed panels of vehicles is known in the art, as seen by Kikuta and Hernandez. Kim also does not disclose extension of the telescopic nozzle in response to the vehicle entering a driver assist mode, however the cleaning of sensors upon entering an autonomous state is known in the art, as seen by Suzuki.
Rachow discloses a modular assembly for spraying a sensor (abstract), wherein various different alternative forms of nozzles are shown to usable in place of one another (Figs.7, 11, & 13-28). Rachow further showcases that one such nozzle is a telescopic nozzle (Figs.23-25) which in the extended position allows for the nozzle to spray liquid to the target (Fig.24 see ref 316) and in a closed position prevents such spraying (Fig.23)
Guillaumin discloses an art related vehicle component washing device (abstract), wherein it is shown that a telescopic nozzle can spray liquid vertically upwards and at an angle to a surface to be cleaned (see Figs.2-3). It can be seen that the nozzle is provided in such a manner that it is behind a panel in the retracted position (Fig.2) and extends from the panel in the extended position (Fig.3).
Kikuta discloses an art related washer system for a vehicle (abstract), and further showcases that a nozzle for cleaning of a camera can be provided on a fender (Fig.4, i.e., a fixed panel).
Hernandez discloses an art related vehicle component cleaning system (abstract) and further showcases that a telescopic nozzle can be provided in a vehicle fender/wheel well (Figs.8A-8B). Hernandez also indicates that a telescopic nozzle is known alternative to a stationary nozzle (Figs.2-3 & 7) for the purposes of cleaning a vehicle mounted component.
Suzuki discloses an art related vehicle sensor cleaning system (abstract), wherein a washer signal is input when self-driving mode is started [0136 & 0138-0139], thereby cleaning a sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Kim to utilize telescopic nozzles as such a nozzle is a known alternative in the art (Rachow Figs.23-25). It is in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a known nozzle structure in place of another with a reasonable expectation of success, especially when such telescopic nozzles are known to be able provide angular spray to a target surface (Guillaumin Fig.3). A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to supply the telescopic nozzle on the fender as a known location for such telescopic nozzles (Hernandez Figs.8A-8B) with a reasonable expectation of being able to clean the sensor, as nozzles located on fenders are known to be capable of doing so (Kikuta Fig.4). A skilled artisan recognizes that such a modification merely amounts to a rearrangement of parts that would not affect the cleaning operation of the sensor and would not produce any unexpected results (MPEP 2144.04). Accordingly, such a modification would provide a telescopic nozzle provided within the fender which would retract behind the fender in the retracted position and extend beyond the same in the extended position, such that the nozzle can spray the sensor in the extended position (e.g., see Hernandez Figs.8A-8B & Guillaumin Figs.2-3). A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to modify the controller in order to perform a cleaning operation of the sensor when the vehicle is switched into an autonomous mode in order to clean sensors (Suzuki [0136 & 0138-0139]). Since the nozzle is in the extended position when performing a cleaning operation, the telescopic nozzle would be in the extended position in response to the vehicle entering a driver assist mode. Assuming arguendo that the nozzle of Kim also acts as a nozzle for the cleaning of the windshield and one of ordinary skill in the art would not move such a nozzle to a fender, the following rationale is provided. The usage of a separate nozzles for the cleaning of different surfaces is a known alternative to the usage of a shared nozzle for multiple surfaces, as seen by Sakai.
Sakai discloses an art related vehicle cleaning system for a sensor (abstract & [0001]), wherein it is showcased that a single adjustable nozzle for multiple surfaces (Figs.16-17) or individual nozzles for each surface to be cleaned (Figs.18-19) are known alternatives to one another. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would find the usage of a separate nozzle for the cleaning of the sensor and for the cleaning of the windshield to be an obvious alternative to the use of a single nozzle for the cleaning of both. Accordingly, the placement of the telescopic nozzle on the fender would not be contrary to the understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 2, Modified Kim teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the moveable panel is an exterior panel of the door (see Kim Figs.2-4).
As to claim 3, Modified Kim teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the fixed panel is a fender of the vehicle (see Hernandez Figs.8a-8b & Kikuta Fig.4).
As to claims 4-5, Modified Kim teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the sensor is fixed to a side of a mirror structure that is mounted to the moveable panel and extends outwardly from the moveable panel (Kim Figs.2-4).
As to claim 6, Modified Kim teaches the assembly of claim 4, wherein the telescoping nozzle is fluidly coupled via a fluid conduit to a pump (Guillaumin Figs.2-3 refs 18 and corresponding line from ref 18 to ref 15, Hernandez Fig.4, see also incorporated reference within Rachow US20200290572A1 Fig.5 refs 142/140). Further, since the fluid reservoir is located at the front of the vehicle (e.g., best seen by Rachow Fig.1 ref 16) and the nozzle is located on the fender prior to the moveable panel, a skilled artisan would find no reason to route the conduit through the side mirror structure since the nozzle is located prior to. Thus, a skilled artisan would not route the fluid conduit through the side mirror structure.
As to claim 8, Modified Kim teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the sensor is a camera (Kim ref 10).
As to claims 11-12, Modified Kim teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the telescopic nozzle is fluid coupled to a pump (Guillaumin Figs.2-3 ref 18, Hernandez Fig.4, see also incorporated reference within Rachow, US20200290572A1 ref 142) and wherein the telescoping nozzle is arranged to move to the extended position responsive to an increase in the fluid pressure generated by the pump (Guillaumin Figs.2-3, see also incorporated reference within Rachow US20200290572A1 [0054 & 0059]) and retract in response to a decrease in fluid pressure (see incorporated reference within Rachow US20200290572A1 [0055].
As to claim 13, Modified Kim teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the telescoping nozzle is fluidly coupled via a fluid conduit to a pump (Guillaumin Figs.2-3 refs 18 and corresponding line from ref 18 to ref 15, Hernandez Fig.4, see also incorporated reference within Rachow US20200290572A1 Fig.5 refs 142/140). Further, since the fluid reservoir is located at the front of the vehicle (e.g., best seen by Rachow Fig.1 ref 16) and the nozzle is located on the fender prior to the moveable panel, a skilled artisan would find no reason to route the conduit through the moveable panel since the nozzle is located prior to. Thus, a skilled artisan would not route the fluid conduit through the movable panel.
As to claim 14, Modified Kim teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the telescopic nozzle is fluid coupled via a fluid conduit to a pump coupled to windshield washer fluid reservoir (Guillaumin Figs.2-3 refs 18/19 and corresponding line from ref 18 to ref 15, Hernandez Fig.4, see also incorporated reference within Rachow US20200290572A1 Fig.5 refs 136/142/140).
As to claims 15-17, Modified Kim teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the telescopic nozzle includes a trim panel cover at a distal end of the telescopic nozzle (Guillaumin Figs.2-3 ref 12 & Rachow Figs.23-24 ref 330), and said cover matches an opening shape of the panel (best seen by Guillaumin Figs.2-3 ref 11) such that the cover is flush with the panel when in the retracted position.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20190054275A) in view of Rachow (US20220009453A1), Guillaumin (FR2749553A1), Kikuta (US20130319486A1), Hernandez (US20020162580A1), Suzuki (US20220348168A1), and Sakai (US20200180567A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Yamauchi (US20200391702A1).
As to claim 7, Modified Kim teaches the assembly of claim 4, but does not disclose the sensor being located on a downward facing portion of the side mirror structure. However, such a feature is known in the art, as seen by Yamauchi.
Yamauchi discloses an art related sensor cleaning system for a vehicle (abstract), wherein it is known that side view mirror structures may have both rear facing and downward facing cameras [0051]. Yamauchi further indicates that both rear and downward facing cameras can have cleaning devices for cleaning said cameras [0051]. By utilizing a downward facing camera under the side mirror structure (i.e., a downward facing portion of the mirror structure), detection of vehicle, pedestrians, and the like can be performed [0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify Kim to provide a downward facing camera under the side mirror structure in order to allow for detection of vehicle, pedestrians, and the like (Yamauchi [0051]). Such a modification would also provide a similar telescopic nozzle for the cleaning of the downward facing camera. A skilled artisan would find the duplication of the telescopic nozzle on the fender for the cleaning of the downward facing camera to be a simple modification to enable cleaning of said camera.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20190054275A) in view of Rachow (US20220009453A1), Guillaumin (FR2749553A1), Kikuta (US20130319486A1), Hernandez (US20020162580A1), Suzuki (US20220348168A1), and Sakai (US20200180567A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Yamauchi (US20200391702A1), Asai (US20040201673A1), and Galdys (US20230311765A1).
As to claims 9-10, Modified Kim teaches the assembly of claim 8, wherein the camera is disclosed by either front facing or rear facing (Kim [0041]). Thus, Modified Kim does not disclose the camera having a field of view in the forward direction, rearward direction, and side of the vehicle. However, the use of a downward facing camera on a side mirror structure is known in the art, as seen by Yamauchi. Further, downward facing cameras are known to provide such fields of view as seen by Asai & Lee. Thus, the use of cameras which provide front, rear, and side fields of view is known in the art.
Yamauchi discloses an art related sensor cleaning system for a vehicle (abstract), wherein it is known that side view mirror structures may have both rear facing and downward facing cameras [0051]. Yamauchi further indicates that both rear and downward facing cameras can have cleaning devices for cleaning said cameras [0051]. By utilizing a downward facing camera under the side mirror structure (i.e., a downward facing portion of the mirror structure), detection of vehicle, pedestrians, and the like can be performed [0051].
Asai discloses an art related side mirror structure for a vehicle having a camera (abstract), wherein the imaging range of the downward facing camera allows for both a rearward and forward view of the view as well as a side view (Fig.3 & [0039]). The field of view allows for imaging of a blind zone a driver [0039]
Galdys discloses an art related side mirror structure (abstract & Fig.2) with a rearward facing camera (Fig.2 ref 20) and a side facing camera (Fig.2 ref 20b). The side facing camera allows for obtaining a 360 degree surrounding view (see [0029] & Fig.4), thereby capturing a field of view of the side, front, and back.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify Kim to provide a downward facing camera under the side mirror structure in order to allow for detection of vehicle, pedestrians, and the like (Yamauchi [0051]). A skilled artisan would ensure that the downward facing camera allows for capturing of a front, back, and side view of the vehicle in order to obtain imaging of the surroundings including a blind zone (Asai [0039] & Galdys [0029]). Such a modification would also provide a similar telescopic nozzle for the cleaning of the downward facing camera. A skilled artisan would find the duplication of the telescopic nozzle on the fender for the cleaning of the downward facing camera to be a simple modification to enable cleaning of said camera.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20190054275A) in view of Rachow (US20220009453A1), Guillaumin (FR2749553A1), Kikuta (US20130319486A1), Hernandez (US20020162580A1), Suzuki (US20220348168A1), and Sakai (US20200180567A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krishnan (US20180354468A1).
As to claims 18-19 Modified Kim teaches the assembly of claim 1, further comprising a control unit (Kim ref 40), but does not disclose the claimed controller programming. However, such programming is known in the art for the cleaning of sensors, as seen by Krishnan.
Krishnan discloses an art related vehicle sensor cleaning system (abstract), wherein it is known to utilize a controller to detect fouling of the sensor and activate a pump to supply fluid to the nozzle in order to clean the sensor [0067].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Kim to provide the controller with programming to detect contamination and activate the pump in order to clean the sensor when contamination is detected (Krishnan [0067]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20190054275A) in view of Rachow (US20220009453A1), Guillaumin (FR2749553A1), Kikuta (US20130319486A1), Hernandez (US20020162580A1), Suzuki (US20220348168A1), Sakai (US20200180567A1) and Krishnan (US20180354468A1) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Zhang (US20210394774A1).
As to claim 20 Modified Kim teaches the assembly of claim 18, wherein the controller is programmed to actuate a pump in response to the sensor being dirty (Krishnan [0067]) in order to supply fluid to the nozzle. Modified Kim does not disclose the vehicle being operated in an assisted driving mode, however such a feature is known in the art, as seen by Zhang.
Zhang discloses an art related vehicle maintenance system (abstract), wherein upon determining the sensor is dirty the vehicle will perform a maneuver to pull off the road and park in a safe place to perform cleaning [0058], thereby reading on an assisted driving mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Kim to provide the controller with programming to perform the cleaning when the sensor is determined to be dirty and the assisted driving mode allows for safely pulling the vehicle over for cleaning (Zhang [0058]) thereby improving safety.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Miura (US20200110407A1) discloses not needing to stop automated driving if another sensor can complement a dirty sensor [0178].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711