DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0126253 to Oura in view of JP 2022014285 A to Yamauchi (relying on English language translation provided in IDS).
Claims 1-2, 9, 11, 13:
Oura teaches a method form forming a slurry for an all solid state battery (abstract). The process includes forming a slurry that is applied as a coated layer to a substrate [0106-0109]. A slurry for forming the solid electrolyte layer includes a solid electrolyte, binder, and solvent [0096-0097, 0072]. The binder can be selected from rubber based and fluorine based binder [0092].
Although Oura teaches mixing/kneading to form the slurry [0074], filtering is not disclosed.
However, Yamauchi teaches a method for slurry preparation (abstract) wherein a binder and organic solvent were mixed to form a solution, the solution was filtered through a 3 µm cartridge filter to remove undissolved resin and contaminants to form a filtrate (i.e., the material that passes through the filter), and the filtrate is combined with inorganic fine particles [0057-0058].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Oura and filter the binder and solvent solution in order to remove undissolved resin and contaminants. This predictably results in a more consistent process by the removal of undissolved resin and contaminants.
Claims 3, 12:
Yamauchi only teaches a 3 µm cartridge filter. However, the size of filter aperture is selected based on purity requirements and the size of the impurity particles. In this respect, the aperture size is a result effective variable and would have been obvious through routine optimization. The same analysis applies to the concentration of binder in the binder solution.
Claim 4:
As noted above, the filter removes undissolved resin and contaminates, which is analogous to gel particles.
Claim 5:
Oura teaches the addition of active material to form the other layers of the all solid state battery [0088-0095]. Yamauchi also teaches lithium oxide composition as part of the inorganic fine particles [0038].
Claim 6:
Yamauchi teaches the method for forming an all-solid-state battery comprising a positive electrode, a solid electrolyte, and a negative electrode [0049]. This structure is taken to be the power generation element. The electrolyte layer is formed from the slurry composition that has been coated on a temporary support (i.e., base material) [0047]. The electrolyte layer is later removed from the temporary support and laminated with the other layers to form the battery [0050]. Oura teaches a similar process for manufacturing an all solid state battery [0102-0125].
Claims 7-8, 10, 14-15:
Oura teaches SBR [0092] and tetralin [0059].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/17/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The “consisting essentially of” language incorporated into claim 1 is being treated as “comprising” because the specification does not set forth the basic and novel characteristics of the solvent. The definition provided in Applicant’s specification in page 5 does not overcome this requirement.
Allowable Subject Matter
The examiner has identified the combination of claims 12 and 13 as likely allowable subject matter if both are incorprated into claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759