Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 18-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (US 20190370658 A1), in view of Fan (US 20240232686 A1) and Fusi (US 20220108168 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Xie teaches a computing system comprising: a processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform acts comprising (Xie [6] device processor executes code stored in memory to perform operations):
obtaining ... computer-implemented model that is to be ... compressed, wherein the ... computer-implemented model includes an operator that comprises a structure (Xie [12, 14, 18] input components may include deep neural network, deep neural network may have batch normalization layers for functions such as scaling and adding bias to features (operator with structure));
obtaining training data that is to be employed to train the ... computer-implemented model (Xie [14] input can include training and validation dataset); and
based upon ... request ... compressing the ... computer-implemented model to generate a trained and compressed computer-implemented model, wherein the trained and compressed computer-implemented model fails to include the structure (Xie [14, 18, 21] end-user customized performance metric (request) may be received as input, batch normalization layer(s) may be removed (not included) from model to generate compressed model that is trained).
Xie does not specifically teach an untrained computer-implemented model that is to be trained; receiving a request from a user to train and compress the untrained computer-implemented model;
However Fan teaches receiving a request from a user to train and compress the ... computer-implemented model; based upon the request and the training data, and without further input from the user, training and compressing the ... computer-implemented model to generate a trained and compressed computer-implemented model (Fan [6, 41, 73, 75, 77] user may provide data descriptive of a selection of one or more candidate compression schemes (request) for compressing model, model may be compressed based on request and trained based on training data).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated the concept taught by Fan of receiving a request from a user to train and compress the ... computer-implemented model; based upon the request and the training data, and without further input from the user, training and compressing the ... computer-implemented model to generate a trained and compressed computer-implemented model, into the invention suggested by Xie; since both inventions are directed towards generating compressed computer-implemented models, and incorporating the teaching of Fan into the invention suggested by Xie would provide the added advantage of allowing data descriptive of a selection of one or more candidate compression schemes to be used in compressing a model- to be provided by a user, and the combination would perform with a reasonable expectation of success (Fan [6, 41, 73, 75, 77]).
Xie and Fan does not specifically teach an untrained computer-implemented model that is to be trained.
However Fusi teaches an untrained computer-implemented model that is to be trained [Fusi [28, 29] model to be compressed may be untrained, Fusi [16, 17, 37] compressing a model before training is useful when model may be in a form that renders it difficult or impossible to train, as the computational requirements associated with the model may be greater than the computational resources that are available);
obtaining training data that is to be employed to train the untrained computer-implemented model (Fusi [32] training data may be received);
based upon ...a... request and the training data, ... training and compressing the untrained computer-implemented model to generate a trained and compressed computer-implemented model [Fusi [41, 44] based on compression indication (request) and training data, untrained model is compressed and compressed model is trained).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated the concept taught by Fusi of an untrained computer-implemented model that is to be trained; obtaining training data that is to be employed to train the untrained computer-implemented model; based upon ...a... request and the training data, ... training and compressing the untrained computer-implemented model to generate a trained and compressed computer-implemented model, into the invention suggested by Xie and Fan; since both inventions are directed towards generating compressed computer-implemented models, and incorporating the teaching of Fusi into the invention suggested by Xie and Fan would provide the added advantage of being useful when model may be in a form that renders it difficult or impossible to train, as the computational requirements associated with the model may be greater than the computational resources that are available, and the combination would perform with a reasonable expectation of success (Fusi [28, 29, 32, 41, 44]).
Regarding claim 2, Xie, Fan and Fusi teach the invention as claimed in claim 1 above.
Xie further teaches wherein the operator is ... a batch normalization function ... (Xie[17] operator whose structure is removed for compression, may be a batch normalization function).
Regarding claim 3, Xie, Fan and Fusi teach the invention as claimed in claim 1 above.
Xie further teaches wherein training and compressing the computer-implemented model comprises: identifying the structure as a removable structure, the removable structure being removable from the computer-implemented model such that the computer-implemented model generates valid output when the removable structure is removed from the computer-implemented model (Xie[21, 24] resulting trained and compressed is validated after structure is excluded).
Claim 18 is directed towards a medium storing instructions similar in scope to the instructions executed by the system of claim 1, and is rejected under the same rationale. Xie further teaches a computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform acts (Xie [6] device processor executes code stored in memory to perform operations for a model).
Claim(s) 19, 20, is/are dependent on claim 18 above, is/are directed towards a medium storing instructions similar in scope to the instructions executed by the system of claim(s) 2, 3respectively, and is/are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 4-17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (US 20190370658 A1), in view of Fan (US 20240232686 A1) and Fusi (US 20220108168 A1), and further in view of Miret (US 20220092425 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Xie, Fan and Fusi teach the invention as claimed in claim 1 above.
Xie does not specifically teach wherein identifying the structure as the removable structure comprises: constructing a trace graph of the computer-implemented model, where the trace graph comprises: vertices that represent operators in the computer-implemented model, where the vertices comprise a first vertex that represents the operator and a second vertex that represents a second operator; and edges that represent connections between the operators, where the edges comprise an edge between the operator and the second operator; assigning a category from amongst several potential categories to the first vertex, where the category is assigned to the first vertex based upon a parameter of the operator, and further wherein the structure is identified as the removable structure based upon the category assigned to the first vertex.
However Miret teaches wherein identifying the structure as the removable structure comprises: constructing a trace graph of the computer-implemented model, where the trace graph comprises: vertices that represent operators in the computer-implemented model, where the vertices comprise a first vertex that represents the operator and a second vertex that represents a second operator; and edges that represent connections between the operators, where the edges comprise an edge between the operator and the second operator (Miret [17, 54, 65] filters to be pruned (structures to be removed) from a neural network for compression are determined from graph generated from model (construction), graph is generated may have nodes (vertices) for activations or layers (operator) and edges between nodes may be connections or dependencies);
assigning a category from amongst several potential categories to the first vertex, where the category is assigned to the first vertex based upon a parameter of the operator, and further wherein the structure is identified as the removable structure based upon the category assigned to the first vertex (Miret [63, 65, 66, 76] nodes may be assigned to groups and or features (category), based on group characteristics- nodes may be identified for pruning (removal) for compressing models, Miret [17, 18] using a graph and group-wise pruning improves efficiency of pruning).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have incorporated the concept taught by Miret of wherein identifying the structure as the removable structure comprises: constructing a trace graph of the computer-implemented model, where the trace graph comprises: vertices that represent operators in the computer-implemented model, where the vertices comprise a first vertex that represents the operator and a second vertex that represents a second operator; and edges that represent connections between the operators, where the edges comprise an edge between the operator and the second operator; assigning a category from amongst several potential categories to the first vertex, where the category is assigned to the first vertex based upon a parameter of the operator, and further wherein the structure is identified as the removable structure based upon the category assigned to the first vertex, into the invention suggested by Xie, Fan and Fusi; since both inventions are directed towards generating compressed computer-implemented models, and incorporating the teaching of Miret into the invention suggested by Xie, Fan and Fusi would provide the added advantage of improving efficiency of pruning for compressing models, and the combination would perform with a reasonable expectation of success (Miret [17, 54, 65, 63, 65, 66, 76, 17, 18]).
Regarding claim 5, Xie, Fan, Fusi and Miret teach the invention as claimed in claim 4 above. Xie does not specifically teach wherein identifying the structure as the removable structure comprises identifying the structure as being the removable structure based upon the category assigned to the first vertex, where the removable structure belongs to a class of minimal structures that are able to be removed from the computer-implemented model without impacting output of the computer-implemented model when parameters of the minimal structures are zero
However Miret teaches wherein identifying the structure as the removable structure comprises identifying the structure as being the removable structure based upon the category assigned to the first vertex, where the removable structure belongs to a class of minimal structures that are able to be removed from the computer-implemented model without impacting output of the computer-implemented model when parameters of the minimal structures are zero (Miret [63, 65, 66, 76] nodes may be assigned to groups and or features (category), based on group characteristics- nodes may be identified for pruning (removal) for compressing models, Miret [17, 18] using a graph and group-wise pruning improves efficiency of pruning, Miret [55, 57, 58] nodes to be pruned are selected so that they do not impact model output (negligible or acceptable change in accuracy, precision and/or recall).
Regarding claim 6, Xie, Fan, Fusi and Miret teach the invention as claimed in claim 4 above. Xie does not specifically teach where training and compressing the computer-implemented model to generate the trained and compressed computer-implemented model further comprises: identifying the removable structure as being redundant with another removable structure in the computer-implemented model.
However Miret teaches where training and compressing the computer-implemented model to generate the trained and compressed computer-implemented model further comprises: identifying the removable structure as being redundant with another removable structure in the computer-implemented model (Miret [66] based on determining a node is dependent on second node (and therefore redundant if the second node is removed)- they may be grouped together so that removing the second node will also remove the first node too).
Regarding claim 7, Xie, Fan, Fusi and Miret teach the invention as claimed in claim 4 above. Xie does not specifically teach removing the removable structure from the computer-implemented model based upon the removable structure being identified as being redundant with the another removable structure
However Miret teaches removing the removable structure from the computer-implemented model based upon the removable structure being identified as being redundant with the another removable structure (Miret [66] based on determining a node is dependent on second node (and therefore redundant if the second node is removed)- they may be grouped together so that removing the second node will also remove the first node too).
Claim 8 is directed towards a method performing instructions similar in scope to the instructions executed by the system of claim 4, and is rejected under the same rationale.
Xie further teaches a method performed by a computing system, ... wherein the computer-implemented model is a ... computer-implemented deep neural network (DNN) (Xie [6, 3, 12] device processor executes code stored in memory to perform operations for a model which can be a deep neural network).
Regarding claim 9, Xie, Fan, Fusi and Miret teach the invention as claimed in claim 8 above. Xie does not specifically teach using the DNN to generate output without fine-tuning the DNN.
However Miret teaches using the DNN to generate output without fine-tuning the DNN (Miret [56, 57] DNN fine-tuning does not necessarily need to be performed, compressed DNN output may be generated).
Regarding claim 10, Xie, Fan, Fusi and Miret teach the invention as claimed in claim 8 above.
Xie further teaches wherein the structure corresponds to at least one of an activation operator, a convolution operator, a batch normalization operator (Xie[17] operator whose structure is removed for compression, may be a batch normalization function).
Regarding claim 11, Xie, Fan, Fusi and Miret teach the invention as claimed in claim 8 above. Xie does not specifically teach wherein the graph comprises: vertices that represent operators in the computer-implemented model, where the vertices comprise a first vertex that represents a first operator and a second vertex that represents a second operator, and further where the first operator comprises the structure; and edges that represent connections between the operators, where the edges comprise an edge between the first operator and the second operator; wherein training and compressing the untrained computer-implemented DNN to generate a trained and compressed DNN comprises assigning a category from amongst several potential categories to the first vertex, where the category is assigned to the first vertex based upon a parameter of the first operator, and further where the structure is identified as being removable from the computer-implemented DNN based upon the category assigned to the first vertex
However Miret teaches wherein the graph comprises: vertices that represent operators in the computer-implemented model, where the vertices comprise a first vertex that represents a first operator and a second vertex that represents a second operator, and further where the first operator comprises the structure; and edges that represent connections between the operators, where the edges comprise an edge between the first operator and the second operator(Miret [17, 54, 65] filters to be pruned (structures to be removed) from a neural network for compression are determined from graph generated from model (construction), graph is generated may have nodes (vertices) for activations or layers (operator) and edges between nodes may be connections or dependencies);
wherein training and compressing the untrained computer-implemented DNN to generate a trained and compressed DNN comprises assigning a category from amongst several potential categories to the first vertex, where the category is assigned to the first vertex based upon a parameter of the first operator, and further where the structure is identified as being removable from the computer-implemented DNN based upon the category assigned to the first vertex (Miret [56, 63, 65, 66, 76] nodes may be assigned to groups and or features (category), based on group characteristics- nodes may be identified for pruning (removal) for compressing models which may be trained, Miret [17, 18] using a graph and group-wise pruning improves efficiency of pruning).
Regarding claim 12, Xie, Fan, Fusi and Miret teach the invention as claimed in claim 11 above. Xie does not specifically teach identifying the structure as removable from the computer-implemented DNN based upon the category assigned to the first vertex, where the structure belongs to a class of minimal structures that are removable from the computer-implemented DNN without impacting output of the computer-implemented DNN when parameters of the minimal structures are zero
However Miret teaches identifying the structure as removable from the computer-implemented DNN based upon the category assigned to the first vertex, where the structure belongs to a class of minimal structures that are removable from the computer-implemented DNN without impacting output of the computer-implemented DNN when parameters of the minimal structures are zero (Miret [63, 65, 66, 76] nodes may be assigned to groups and or features (category), based on group characteristics- nodes may be identified for pruning (removal) for compressing models, Miret [17, 18] using a graph and group-wise pruning improves efficiency of pruning, Miret [55, 57, 58] nodes to be pruned are selected so that they do not impact model output (negligible or acceptable change in accuracy, precision and/or recall).
Regarding claim 13, Xie, Fan, Fusi and Miret teach the invention as claimed in claim 12 above. Xie does not specifically teach subsequent to identifying the structure as being removable from the computer-implemented DNN, identifying the structure as being redundant with another structure in the computer-implemented DNN
However Miret teaches subsequent to identifying the structure as being removable from the computer-implemented DNN, identifying the structure as being redundant with another structure in the computer-implemented DNN (Miret [66] based on determining a node is dependent on second node (and therefore redundant if the second node is removed)- they may be grouped together so that removing the second node will also remove the first node too).
Regarding claim 14, Xie, Fan, Fusi and Miret teach the invention as claimed in claim 13 above. Xie does not specifically teach removing the structure from the computer-implemented DNN based upon the structure being identified as being redundant with the another structure in the computer-implemented DNN
However Miret teaches removing the structure from the computer-implemented DNN based upon the structure being identified as being redundant with the another structure in the computer-implemented DNN (Miret [66] based on determining a node is dependent on second node (and therefore redundant if the second node is removed)- they may be grouped together so that removing the second node will also remove the first node too).
Regarding claim 15, Xie, Fan, Fusi and Miret teach the invention as claimed in claim 8 above. Xie does not specifically teach where the DNN is a convolutional neural network
However Miret teaches where the DNN is a convolutional neural network (Miret [28] DNN can be a convolutional neural network).
Regarding claim 16, Xie, Fan, Fusi and Miret teach the invention as claimed in claim 8 above. Xie does not specifically teach wherein the untrained computer-implemented DNN, when trained, consumes a first amount of computer-readable memory, the trained and compressed computer-implemented DNN consumes a second amount of computer-readable memory, and further where the second amount of computer-readable memory is less than the first amount of computer-readable memory
However Miret teaches wherein the untrained computer-implemented DNN, when trained, consumes a first amount of computer-readable memory, the trained and compressed computer-implemented DNN consumes a second amount of computer-readable memory, and further where the second amount of computer-readable memory is less than the first amount of computer-readable memory (Merit [40] compression reduces resources (including memory) needed for training and storing trained model, reduction may be based on pruning ratio, so trained model after compression uses less memory than trained model before compression).
Regarding claim 17, Xie, Fan, Fusi and Miret teach the invention as claimed in claim 16 above. Xie does not specifically teach where the second amount of computer-readable memory is between 20% and 50% less than the first amount of computer-readable memory
However Miret teaches where the second amount of computer-readable memory is between 20% and 50% less than the first amount of computer-readable memory (Merit [40] compression reduces resources (including memory) needed for training and storing trained model, reduction may be based on pruning ratio, pruning ratio can be 20%).
Conclusion
SANCHITA ROY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2146
/SANCHITA ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2146