DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Please also see the interview summary.
Please also note that examiner has dropped Thomas, Novitski and Garmon from the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabii or Chieng in view Noro, Masao (US Pat. 5,103,190), Sun (US 2020/0244241), Sakaidani (US 2006/0013413) or Tsai et al (US 2008/0137882).
Claims 1, 26, 29 and 30, Rabii or Chieng teaches a device, a method, a medium and an apparatus comprising: one or more processors (Rabii: via Figs. 1-3, [0016, 0024, 0041] showing controllers 106, 220 and 308), configured to:
obtain a media stream that includes at least one audio stream; (Rabii: The audio component processing pipeline 104 may be configured to process audio data 128 received at the mobile communication device 100 to generate processed audio output 150 for transmission to the speaker 112, [0017, 0027 and 0041]; Chieng: The audio data delivered over the HDA bus is received, processed and output by the various components of the codecs (referred to in the HDA specification as "widgets"), col. 2, 49-52);
disable, at one or more audio coders, audio coding of the at least one audio stream based on a no volume condition associated with the at least one audio stream; (Rabii: Interrupting a component of the audio component processing pipeline 104 during a mute condition may reduce power consumption by components of the mobile communication device 100, [0016, 0023). During operation, the controller 308 may selectively shut off audio processing and delivery of audio content to the audio output 350 in response to the mute command 326 while video processing of video data 340 continues generating video content 324 for display at the display 304, [0046]; Chieng: In the present systems, on the other hand, the DSP can recognize that the audio volume level is 0 and adjust its operation (and that of the PWM output computation engine) to suspend non-required functions and otherwise reduce power consumption. When the channel is no longer muted, the DSP can adjust its operation to return to normal operating parameters”, col. 6, lines 27-34); and
While Rabii and Chieng do not explicitly detail the use of the claim language “depower the one or more audio coders based on detection that a duration of the no volume condition exceeds a threshold duration; and provide power to the one or more audio coders, after the one or more audio coders are depowered, based on detection of a change from the no volume condition to a use volume condition.
Chieng teaches “controlling the audio volume of an audio signal in an HDA codec having a programmable processor such as a DSP, wherein the codec receives digital audio signals and audio volume control verbs over an HDA bus, and the audio volume levels associated with the audio volume control verbs are used by the processor in the generation pulse width modulated (PWM) output signals, thereby controlling the audio volume levels of the output signals, see Abstract” wherein the programmable processor of the HDA codec is configured to suspend one or more functions when an audio volume level is zero, to thereby reduce power consumption when the audio volume level is zero. The DSP can recognize that the audio volume level is 0 and adjust its operation (and that of the PWM output computation engine) to suspend non-required functions and otherwise reduce power consumption. When the channel is no longer muted, the DSP can adjust its operation to return to normal operating parameters, col. 6, lines 28-33. This shows a great improvement over the traditional HAD codec. So it implies, or at least by obviousness, the required feature of the claims.
Similarly, Rabii teaches a method and a system for controlling the power consumption during a mute condition and resume processing without impacting perceived audio playback performance to a user, [0046, 0048, 0054-0060]. For example, the headphone interface 230 would result in audio data being processed that is not delivered to the user, audio processing components may be shut off while the device is in the mute state. Thus, power to components that process the audio data may be reduced without impacting muted playback of audio content, [0040] until The controller 308 may be configured to send a resume signal to processing circuitry 306 in response to receiving a deactivation of the mute command 326, [0045]. Also [0022, 0024, 0038-0039]. Clearly, it implies, or at least by obviousness, the required feature of the claims.
To support this obviousness, examiner wishes provide:
Noro, via Fig. 11, teaches a muting function upon power-on, and a DC protection function for preventing a DC voltage from appearing at the speaker terminal P.sub.0. In general, the two functions are operated not independently but in association with each other, and can be consequently realized by turning on/off the relay 115 connected in series with an output circuit. FIG. 11 shows this circuit arrangement, col. 15, lines 7-64.
Sun devotes an entire document detailing issues relating to audio device technologies, and more particularly to a mute control circuit used upon power-on or power-off, a control method and an audio device, [0002] wherein the mute control circuit used upon power-on or power-off, a control method and an audio device, in which a low-cost and easily controlled circuit is adopted to be able to output high voltage level to a mute circuit upon power-on and power-off to control the mute circuit to be activated, thereby eliminating the pop sound generated upon power-on or power-off, and improving user experience on the audio devices, [0006].
Similarly Sakaidani also devotes an entire document detailing “the output volume level of an digital input audio signal (of 16-bits for example) is controlled during a power-on and a power-off period such that the amplification rate for the AC component of the input audio signal is varied from a predetermined value or from zero to the predetermined value in response to a mute/release mute signal, [0062]”).
Likewise, Tsai also dedicates his teaching on an apparatus and a muting circuit wherein FIG. 12 shows an embodiment of the power detection circuit 42 shown in FIG. 4. The power detection circuit 42 comprises a power-on detection unit 1201, a power-off detection unit 1202 and a signal selection unit 1203. When a power-on operation occurs, the power-on detection unit 1201 detects it and generates a first signal S1. On the other hand, when a power-down operation occurs, the power-off detection unit 1202 detects it and generates a second signal S2. The signal selection unit 1203 combines the first signal S1 and the second signal S2 to generate the mute signal S.sub.m or the pull-down signal S.sub.PD. In one embodiment, the mute signal S.sub.m goes to a high logic state for a time period when the power-on or the power-down operation occurs. On the other hand, the pull-down signal S.sub.PD goes to a high logic state for a time period only when a power-down operation occurs. In other embodiments, based on different design requirements, different combinations of power-on/off processes to generate different mute signals S.sub.m or pull-down signals S.sub.PD are possible, [0046].
It would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Noro, Sun, Sakaidani or Tsai into the teaching of Rabii or Chieng for the purpose of explicitly detailing the controlling process of powering on and/or powering off when certain duration level/threshold when muting feature is activated or deactivated without losing the reliability of the communication and at the same time controlling the power consumption.
Claim 12. (Currently Amended) The device of claim 1,wherein the one or more audio coders comprise at least one audio decoder, wherein the one or more processors obtain the media stream from an audio application, and wherein the one or more processors are configured prevent transmission of the at least one audio stream to the at least one audio decoder to disable the audio coding. (Rabii: the controller 308 may suspend provisioning of the audio content 356 to the audio output 350 while displaying the video content 324 in response to the monitored operating condition 354 exceeding the threshold, [0046], more on [0033, 0037, 0044, 0056-0061]. Chieng teaches the disabling of audio coding).
Claim 13. (Currently Amended) The device of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are configured to provide the at least one audio stream to the at least one audio decoder based on a change from the no volume condition to a volume condition. (Rabii: components for playing the audio content may be turned off during a mute mode when the battery power level of the mobile phone is low, [0004]; the threshold for the monitored operating condition 354 may be a low battery level, [0046]. Also see, [0032-0033] ad fig. 6, 606. Chieng teaches a system/method for controlling volume of an audio codec, i.e., HAD codec, to update, when necessary, col. 6, lines 19- 34. Also see the independent claims ).
Claim 14. (Currently Amended) The device of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are configured to turn on the at least one audio decoder based on a determination that the at least one audio decoder is depowered. (Rabii: the controller 220 may determine whether to interrupt a particular component based on a first threshold 205 corresponding to a battery power level and a second threshold 207 corresponding to network bandwidth available to the mobile communication device 202, [0033]. Also see [0062] for below the threshold and [0063] for above the threshold. Also see Chieng’s col. 6, lines 19-34).
Claim 15. The device of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: obtain input that indicates a change from the no volume condition to a volume condition; and based on the input; provide the at least one audio stream to the at least one audio decoder; and provide decoded audio frames to one or more output devices. (Rabii: During operation, the controller 308 may selectively shut off audio processing and delivery of audio content to the audio output 350 in response to the mute command 326…. By interrupting components of the mobile communication device 300 based on the monitored operating condition 354 in response to the mute command 326 and reengaging processing based on the expected processing state 360, the mobile communication device 300 may reduce power consumption during a mute condition and resume processing without impacting perceived audio playback performance to a user, [0045-0046]; The controller 220 may send a resume signal to a component of the mobile communication device 220 via one of the control signals 283-287 to resume processing of audio data. For example, when the rendition device 218 has been interrupted, the controller 220 may send the resume signal via the control signal 286, [0039]).
Claims 16-18, the no volume condition is determined based on a volume level setting; wherein the volume level setting is a default volume or a volume set by user activation of one or more volume controls; and wherein the volume level setting is set by user selection of a particular volume via a graphic user interface. (Rabii: see entire document. At least, “During operation, the controller 308 may selectively shut off audio processing and delivery of audio content to the audio output 350 in response to the mute command 326 while video processing of video data 340 continues generating video content 324 for display at the display 304, [0046]”).
Claims 19-20. (Previously Presented) The device of claim 1, wherein the threshold duration is greater than zero seconds; (Rabii: The controller may determine that power consumption of the mobile communication device 202 may be reduced by interrupting a particular component when a monitored operating condition exceeds a threshold or is outside of a predetermined range, [0033, 0046]); wherein the threshold duration is one of 0.5 seconds, 1 second, and 5 seconds, (Here Examiner take position that this limitation is personal choice by the developer and/or users).
Claim 21. The device of claim 1, wherein the no volume condition is determined based on an analysis of audio stream content. (Rabii: Interrupting a component of the audio component processing pipeline 104 during a mute condition may reduce power consumption by components of the mobile communication device 100 during a state that playing of audio content is not desired, [0016, 0025]).
Claim 22. The device of claim 1, further comprising a modem coupled to the one or more processors, the modem configured to transmit content produced from the media stream to a second device. (Rabii: the transmitter 264 may communicate with wireless headphones or a wireless speaker, [0031]).
Claim 23. The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are integrated in a headset device powered by a rechargeable battery, and wherein disablement of the audio coding based on the no volume condition during use of the headset device extends a use time of the headset device between charges of the rechargeable battery when one or more no volume conditions occur during use of the headset device. (Rabii: See Fig. 2. the rendition device 218 may transmit the processed audio data 280 via a digital analog converter (DAC) 266 to a headphone interface 230 or a speaker 232. The rendition device 218 may also include a transmitter 264 for wireless transmission of the processed audio data 280. For example, the transmitter 264 may communicate with wireless headphones, [0031]).
Claim 24. The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are integrated in at least one of a mobile phone (Rabii: Fig. 2, mobile communication device 202), a tablet computer device, a wearable electronic device, a camera device, a virtual reality headset, a mixed reality headset, or an augmented reality headset.
Claim 25. The device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are integrated in a vehicle. (While none of the references teaches this feature. Examiner take official position based on the wide spread of applicable environment for use in vehicles, and, more particularly, to improving signal reception quality in radios for use in vehicles).
Claims 27 and 28, (Please see the claim objection above). wherein the disabling the audio coding includes, based on association of the at least one audio stream with the no volume condition, preventing, via the one or more processors, transmission of the at least one audio stream to one or more audio decoders. (Please see the independent claims).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6/16/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant agues “the cited portions of the above-cited references fail to disclose "one or more processors configured to: ... provide power to the one or more audio coders, after the one or more audio coders are depowered, based on detection of a change from the no volume condition to a use volume condition," as in claim 1.
The Office acknowledges that Rabii, Garmon, and Chieng do not disclose depowering the one or more audio coders based on detection that a duration of the no volume condition exceeds a threshold duration. See Office Action, page 4. Therefore, Rabii, Garmon, and Chieng fail to disclose "one or more processors configured to: ... provide power to the one or more audio coders, after the one or more audio coders are depowered, based on detection of a change from the no volume condition to a use volume condition," as in claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as examiner has produced the additional references to address the applicant’s arguments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUNG-HOANG J NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691