DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 10-15 have been added.
Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species EOx1POy1EOx2, sulphonated acrylic polymer, and glycosyl hydrolases from GH family 11, in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-7, 12-13 and 15 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claims 1-5, 8-11 and 14 are being examined in this application, insofar as they read on the elected species of EOx1POy1EOx2, sulphonated acrylic polymer, and glycosyl hydrolases from GH family 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 (line 2) and 2 (line 5-6), the recitation of “about” is indefinite. The instant specification does not provide a definition of the term “about”, and it is unclear as to what range of specific cloud point (in claim 1) and ethylene / propylene oxide unit (in claim 2) is covered by the term “about”. (MPEP 2173.05(b) III)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Denome et al (US 2018/0216050 A1; 8/2/2018.) as evidenced by BASF (BASF TI/ES 1026 e. 2005;1-16.) and Bodratti et al (J. Funct. Biomater. 2018;9(11):1-24.).
The instant claims recite a dishwashing detergent composition comprising a xylanase and an ethylene oxide - propylene oxide block copolymer having a cloud point of about 20°C or greater than about 20°C.
Denome teaches a composition comprising xylanases (para 0114) and an ethylene oxide-propylene oxide-ethylene oxide (EOx1POyEOx2) triblock copolymer (para 0051), wherein each ethylene oxide block or chain independently has an average chain length of between 3 and 50 ethylene oxide units (para 0053), an average propylene oxide chain length of between 20 and 70 propylene oxide units (para 0051), and suitable ethylene oxide-propylene oxide-ethylene oxide triblock copolymers include Pluronic PE 9200 (para 0057), which has a cloud point of about 20°C or greater than about 20°C as evidenced by BASF (p.5 Table) and a structure of EO8PO47EO8 as evidenced by Bodratti (p.8 Figure 4). The composition further comprises a sulfonated acrylic acid copolymer (para 0118). The recommended dosage for a unit dose product is placed in a pouch (para 0237). The composition further comprises a bleach catalyst (para 0110, 0138). The composition further comprises a chelant (para 0068).
The limitation of “dishwashing detergent” is regarded as an intended use limitation. The claiming of a new use, function or unknown property does not necessarily make the composition patentable. The intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103. (MPEP 2112)
Therefore the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denome et al (US 2018/0216050 A1; 8/2/2018.) as evidenced by BASF (BASF TI/ES 1026 e. 2005;1-16.) and Bodratti et al (J. Funct. Biomater. 2018;9(11):1-24.) as applied to claims 1-5, 8-9 and 14 above, further in view of Lant et al (US 8,349,789 B2; 1/8/2013.).
Denome does not teach the bleach catalyst comprises a manganese or cobalt-containing bleach catalyst (claim 10).
However, Denome does teach the composition comprises a bleach catalyst, and the composition is placed into a washing machine along with the laundry to be washed, and carrying out a washing or cleaning operation (para 0008). Lant teaches a laundry composition (Title) comprising bleach catalysts (col.4 line 11), wherein if desired, the composition can be catalyzed by means of a manganese compound, such compounds and levels of use are well known in the art (col.13 line 1-3), useful cobalt bleach catalysts are known in the art, and readily prepared by known procedures (col.13 line 6-9).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a manganese or cobalt-containing bleach catalyst, since Denome and Lant both disclose a household care composition comprises bleach catalysts, and Lant discloses that a manganese or cobalt-containing bleach catalyst are well known and routinely used within a household care composition. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference and routine practice to incorporate a manganese or cobalt-containing bleach catalyst, with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining a composition.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denome et al (US 2018/0216050 A1; 8/2/2018.) as evidenced by BASF (BASF TI/ES 1026 e. 2005;1-16.) and Bodratti et al (J. Funct. Biomater. 2018;9(11):1-24.) as applied to claims 1-5, 8-9 and 14 above, further in view of Collins et al (FEMS Microbiology Reviews. 2005;29:3-23.).
Denome does not teach the xylanase is from GH family 11 (claim 11).
However, Denome does teach the composition comprises xylanases.
Collins teaches GH family 11 is monospecific and consists solely of xylanases, these xylanases are “true xylanases” (p.10 col right – para 3), and family 11 has more members with a demonstrated activity on xylan (p.6 Table 1).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate xylanase from GH family 11, since Denome discloses a composition comprises xylanases, and Collins discloses that xylanases from GH family 11 are the most typical and true xylanases known to have higher specific activity for xylans. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference and routine practice to incorporate xylanase from GH family 11, with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining a composition.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-5, 8-11 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-9 of co-pending Application No. 18/325,455 (referred to as the ‘455 application) in view of Denome et al (US 2018/0216050 A1; 8/2/2018.) and Lant et al (US 8,349,789 B2; 1/8/2013.).
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 of the ‘455 application recites a dishwashing detergent composition comprising a xylanase and a sulphonated carboxylate polymer, wherein the xylanase is from GH family 11. The composition further comprises an ethylene oxide - propylene oxide block copolymer having a cloud point of about 20°C or greater than about 20°C, wherein the block copolymer has structure of EOx1POy1EOx2. The composition is in the form of a unit dose pouch. The composition further comprises a bleach catalyst and a chelant.
‘455 application does not teach the sulphonated carboxylate polymer comprises a sulphonated acrylic polymer (claim 4).
However, ‘455 application does teach the dishwashing detergent composition comprises a xylanase and a sulphonated carboxylate polymer.
Denome teaches a composition comprising xylanases (para 0114) and sulfonated acrylic acid copolymer (para 0118).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a sulphonated acrylic polymer, since ‘455 application and Denome both disclose a household care composition comprises sulphonated carboxylate polymer, and Denome discloses that a sulphonated acrylic polymer is used as a dispersing agent. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference and routine practice to incorporate a sulphonated acrylic polymer, with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining a dishwashing detergent composition.
References cited above do not teach the bleach catalyst comprises a manganese or cobalt-containing bleach catalyst (claim 10).
However, ‘455 application does teach the dishwashing detergent composition comprises bleach catalysts. Lant teaches a laundry composition (Title) comprising bleach catalysts (col.4 line 11), wherein if desired, the composition can be catalyzed by means of a manganese compound, such compounds and levels of use are well known in the art (col.13 line 1-3), useful cobalt bleach catalysts are known in the art, and readily prepared by known procedures (col.13 line 6-9).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a manganese or cobalt-containing bleach catalyst, since ‘455 application and Lant both disclose a household care composition comprises bleach catalysts, and Lant discloses that a manganese or cobalt-containing bleach catalyst are well known and routinely used within a household care composition. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference and routine practice to incorporate a manganese or cobalt-containing bleach catalyst, with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining a dishwashing detergent composition.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759