DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group III, claims 17-20 in the reply filed on 1/27/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search burden. This is not found persuasive because claims 1-16 recite materials and elements not found in claims 17-20 that would warrant additional search.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,217,826 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim recites all of the limitations of the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Turcheniuk (US 2023/0299362 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Turcheniuk discloses an apparatus comprising: an anode current collector with anode active material (paragraph 119). Turcheniuk discloses that the anode active material comprises silicon, graphite, and hard carbon (paragraph 106).
Regarding claim 18, Turcheniuk discloses that the silicon can be pure silicon, silicon oxide, silicon-carbon, silicon alloy, and combinations thereof (paragraph 106).
Regarding claim 19, Turcheniuk discloses that the anode active material further comprises a binder and conductive additive (paragraph 112), wherein the active material comprises 5-98 wt% of the anode (paragraph 111), the binder is 0.5-14 wt% (paragraph 127), and the additive + binder is 0.5-15 wt% (paragraph 124); the additive is therefore 0-14.5 wt%. Turcheniuk discloses that the silicon (the first active material) is 1.5-60 wt% of the anode (paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 20, Turcheniuk discloses that the active material, additive, and binder are in the form of a slurry (paragraph 119).
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725