DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to the communication filed on 10/14/2025. Claims 1-5, 7-36 are pending.
Examiner Note
The examiner is here to serve, to assist, and to help applicant to the very best of his ability. The Primary Patent Examiner position is a position of serving and it is an honor to externally serve the applicant and attorney and to internally serve junior examiners and supervisors. The goal of the examiner is to work with and assist applicant to move cases along as efficiently as possible.
Applicant is encouraged to call examiner to schedule an interview if applicant has any questions about this action, wants to discuss any possible paths forward, has proposed amendments to the claims to run by the examiner, or for any other issues that applicant would like to discuss.
Examiner can normally be reached at (571) 270-3863 or michael.keller@uspto.gov, Monday-Friday, from about 6 AM - 10 PM EST and if your call is missed examiner will try to return call quickly, thank you.
Priority
This application is effectively filed 5/30/2023. The assignee of record is QUALCOMM Incorporated. The listed inventor(s) is/are: ELSHAFIE, Ahmed; ABDELGHAFFAR, Muhammad Sayed Khairy; XU, Huilin.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-10, 19-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yerramalli et al. (US 2022/0030593), hereinafter “Yerramalli”, in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0050892), hereinafter “Park”, and further in view of Lei (EP 3704823 B1, published 8/10/2022; hereinafter EO823), and further in view of Liu et al. (US 20170188359 A1, published 6/29/2017; hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 1, Yerramalli teaches:
A first network entity comprising:
at least one memory (Fig. 9, item 930 memory);
at least one transceiver (920 transceiver); and
at least one processor ( 940, processor) coupled to the at least one memory and the at least one transceiver, wherein the first network entity is configured to ([0121]: The processor 940 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 930) to cause the device 905 to perform various functions (e.g., functions or tasks supporting communicating across a wideband using sub-bands)):
receive, from a second network entity, a first instance of information on a first sub-band of a bandwidth part and a second instance of the information on a second sub-band of the bandwidth part ([0086-0091]: See Fig. 5. First network entity UE device 115-b receives from second network entity base station 105-b, a configuration 515 for communicating with the base station in the carrier bandwidth using a set of sub-bands [0090]. [0091]: At 520, base station and UE communicate in the carrier bandwidths using one or more of the set of sub-bands in accordance with configuration just received (equates to at least two sub-bands). The UE may receive one or more reference signals 305 [0072-0075] such as CSI-RS signal, SRS, TRS, phase tracking reference signal (PTR) or DMRS signal (See Figure 3A). The UE may also receive one or more data transmissions 405 [0078-0083] such as PDCCH, PDSCH to the UE in the carrier bandwidth using the set of subbands 415, where the transmissions may include transport block TBs associated with the frequency resources within the subband 415-a (See Figure 4A).), wherein the first instance of the information and the second instance of the information fully overlap in time (Fig. 3A: Illustrates the transmission of three separate reference signals (305-a, 305-b, 305-c), in three separate sub bands (Sub-bands 315-a, 315-b, and 315-c, that are each aligned using the same set of symbols in the time domain, equating to “fully overlap” in a typical Frequency Division Multiplex – Full Duplex (FDM-FD) or FDM-HD (Half-duplex) mode.); and operate in a mode, wherein:
Yerramilli does not teach the different modes, first through fourth.
However, Park teaches in a similar endeavor discloses a method for beamforming with multiple beams (from multiple separate antennas in an array) by combining and adjusting the transmission and receiving of signals using beamforming weights based on amplitude and phase offsets, teaches :
the mode is a first mode in which the first network entity is configured to: filter the first instance of the information to generate first sub-band information and filter the second instance of the information to generate second sub-band information; generate, based on combining information including an amplitude parameter and a phase parameter, an analog combination of the first sub-band information and the second sub-band information, wherein the analog combination is a weighted sum of the first sub-band information and the second sub-band information; and process the analog combination ([0091-0092]: Park teaches creating and applying beamforming weight sets as adjustments to multiple transmissions, i.e. different antenna beams (equates to different sub-bands), as a signal processing technique used by the receiving device (and/or the transmitting device) to shape or steer an antenna beam along a spatial path. Beamforming is achieved by combining/adjusting the signals (each instance of information) received (i.e. signals communicated via antenna elements), or to be transmitted. Park teaches that the adjustment of signals communicated via the antenna elements may include the transmitting device (e.g. base station) or the receiving device( e.g. UE) applying amplitude offset(s) and phase offset(s), or both, to signals carried via the antenna elements. These adjustments may be defined by a beamforming weight set (meaning the amplitude and phase are adjusted by assigned weights), that define a particular orientation, for better directivity, and improved performance [0091-0092].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Park into the method of Yerramilli in order to adapt the adjustment of the signals in the RF domain as one method for efficiently completing the positioning process using downlink reference signals. The motivation is that applying a well know standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
(Examiner’s Note: The above crossed out limitations, regarding “second mode”, “third mode”, and “fourth mode”, are optional and are not selected in this office action. The non-selected limitations in the corresponding dependent claims will be moot.)
Yerramalli-Park does not explicitly teach wherein a baseband capability of a modem associated with the at least one transceiver is equal to a single sub-band bandwidth of the bandwidth part; an analog combination of the first sub-band information and the second sub-band information within the baseband capability of the modem, wherein the analog combination is a weighted sum of the first sub- band information and the second sub-band information, and wherein a bandwidth of the weighted sum is equal to the single sub-band bandwidth.
However, EP823 teaches wherein a baseband capability of a modem associated with the at least one transceiver is equal to a single sub-band bandwidth of the bandwidth part (EP823 Claim 7 determining (502) activation of multiple BWPs for downlink and multiple BWPs for uplink from a plurality of configured BWPs at a given time based on the BWP activation information of the received DCI and UE (115, 1400) capabilities, further including processing the DCI which is configured to be fully contained in a single sub-band or in a cluster of sub-bands, wherein a BWP is on one or more sub-bands, wherein the DCI includes a puncturing pattern to indicate locations of the clustered sub-bands.).
EP823 and Yerramallui-Park are analogous art because they are both related to bandwidth.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the BWP activation techniques of EP823 with the system of Yerramallui-Park to indicate locations of the clustered sub-bands (EP923).
Yerramallui-Park-EP823 does not explicitly teach an analog combination of the first sub-band information and the second sub-band information within the baseband capability of the modem, wherein the analog combination is a weighted sum of the first sub- band information and the second sub-band information, and wherein a bandwidth of the weighted sum is equal to the single sub-band bandwidth.
However, Liu teaches an analog combination of the first sub-band information and the second sub-band information within the baseband capability of the modem, wherein the analog combination is a weighted sum of the first sub- band information and the second sub-band information, and wherein a bandwidth of the weighted sum is equal to the single sub-band bandwidth (Liu ¶ 0044 In the training phase, the at least one second wireless transceiver with identical passband with bandwidth W2 may be moved to different locations in the space to capture, for each location, at least one CSI and at least one corresponding location-specific signature. In the operating phase, each of the one or more third wireless transceiver is moved along a path in the space.).
Liu and Yerramallui-Park-EP823 are analogous art because they are both related to bandwidth.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the passband techniques of Liu with the system of Yerramallui-Park-EP823 because of achieving better energy efficiency and reduce the complexity of user devices (Liu ¶ 0034).
Regarding claim 2, Yerramalli teaches:
wherein the mode is the first mode, and wherein the first network entity is configured to receive the combining information from the second network entity ([0072-0075]: For the case where the information is to be combined, the base station (second entity) may transmit to the UE (first entity) a reference signal 305 by each of the sub-bands 315 [0075] (See Fig. 3A.) in this carrier scheme 300.)
Regarding claim 4, Yerramalli does not teach:
wherein the mode is the first mode, wherein, to process the analog combination, the first network entity is configured to perform a decoding operation on the analog combination.
However, Park teaches:
wherein the mode is the first mode, wherein, to process the analog combination, the first network entity is configured to perform a decoding operation on the analog combination ([0091-0092]: The UE receives from the base station a signal according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission [0092], where the transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify by the receiving device a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Park into the method of Yerramilli in order to validate the weighted beamforming sets adjusted for improved transmission, for continued efficient operation of the UE to base station communication.
Regarding claim 7, Yerramalli teaches:
wherein the first network entity is configured to indicate its capability to operate in the first mode to the second network entity Fig. 3A and 4A. Illustrated multiple sub-bands each separated by guard band (GB), but aligned in the time domain to occupy the same one or more symbols. See Fig. 1, 2: Wireless system that supports simultaneous communications via carrier associated with multiple carrier bandwidths. [0039].).
Regarding claim 31, Yerramalli teaches:
wherein the first instance of the information is located in one or more symbols and the second instance of the information is located in the one or more symbols (Fig. 3A and 4A. Illustrated multiple sub-bands each separated by guard band (GB), but aligned in the time domain to occupy the same one or more symbols. See Fig. 1, 2: Wireless system that supports simultaneous communications via carrier associated with multiple carrier bandwidths. [0039].)
Regarding claim 32, Yerramalli teaches:
wherein the information includes at least one of: a reference signal ([0072]: reference signals 305), a transport block (TB) ([0082]: transport block in 405-a) of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) signal ([0078]: transmission 405 can be PDCCH, PDSCH),
Regarding claim 35, Yerramalli teaches:
wherein the first network entity is ([0034]: UE may be an Internet of Things (IoT) device),
Regarding claim 36, Yerramalli does not teach:
wherein the analog combination is a radio frequency combination.
However, Park teaches:
wherein the analog combination is a radio frequency combination ([0091-0092]: Beam steering using at least two antenna panels, of at least two different frequency sub-bands, may be used at a transmitting device or a receiving device. The adjustments of signals made using amplitude and phase offsets would adjust each subband’s contribution (i.e. Acos(α+ ϕ.sub.1) combined with Bcos(α+ ϕ.sub.2) to the combined weighted frequency combination.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Park into the method of Yerramilli in order to clarify that the improved combination has both a frequency and phase component.
Regarding claim 8, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the mode is the second mode, wherein, to process the first sampled information according to the first timeline, the first network entity is configured to perform a decoding operation on the first sampled information, and wherein the first network entity is configured to perform a decoding operation on the second sampled information based on a failure of the decoding operation on the first sampled information.
Yerramilli in view of Park: see comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a second mode…” is not selected in the claim 1 , and therefore is moot.
Regarding claim 9, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the mode is the second mode, and wherein the mode is the second mode, and wherein to process the first sampled information according to the first timeline, the first network entity is configured to: combine a first log likelihood ratio (LLR) of the first sampled information with a second LLR of the second sampled information to generate combined sampled information; and
process the combined sampled information.
Yerramilli in view of Park: see comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a second mode…” is not selected in the claim 1 , and therefore is moot.
Regarding claim 10, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the mode is the second mode, and wherein the mode is the second mode, and wherein to process the first sampled information according to the first timeline, the first network entity is configured to perform CSI reporting for the first sub-band, and wherein to process the second sampled information according to the second timeline the first network entity is configured to perform CSI reporting for the second sub-band.
Yerramilli in view of Park: see comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a second mode…” is not selected in the claim 1 , and therefore is moot.
Regarding claim 19, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first network entity is configured to indicate its capability to operate in the second mode to the second network entity.
Yerramilli in view of Park: see comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a second mode…” is not selected in the claim 1 , and therefore is moot.
Regarding claim 24, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first network entity is configured to indicate, to the second network entity, a capability to switch between one of the first mode, the second mode, the third mode, or the fourth mode and a further mode of operation including greater bandwidth use and power use than any of the first mode, the second mode, the third mode, or the fourth mode.
Yerramilli in view of Park: see comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a second mode…” is not selected in the claim 1 , and therefore is moot
Regarding claim 25, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the further mode of operation includes at least one of: Enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB); Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communications (URLLC) Narrowband Internet of Things (NB-IOT); or Ambient IoT.
Yerramilli in view of Park: claim 25 depends from claim 24, which depends from claim 1. See comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a second mode…” is not selected in the claim 1, and therefore is moot.
Regarding claim 26, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first network entity is configured to switch from one of the first mode, the second mode, or the third mode to the further mode of operation based on measurement of one or more of: energy availability at the first network entity, data traffic type, priority of data traffic, or quality of service requirements applicable to data traffic.
Yerramilli in view of Park: claim 26 depends from claim 24, which depends from claim 1. See comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a second mode…” is not selected in the claim 1, and therefore is moot.
Regarding claim 33, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the mode is the second mode, and the first network entity is configured store the first sampled information in a first memory space in the at least one memory and store the second sampled information in a second memory space in the at least one memory.
Yerramilli in view of Park: see comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a second mode…” is not selected in the claim 1 , and therefore is moot.
Regarding claim 34, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first memory space is a first buffer and the second memory space is a second buffer.
Yerramilli in view of Park: claim 34 depends from claim 33, which depends from claim 1. See comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a second mode…” is not selected in the claim 1, and therefore is moot.
Regarding claim 20, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the mode is the third mode, and wherein to sample the first instance of the information and the second instance of the information, the first network entity is configured to oversample an entirety of the bandwidth part based on a sampling rate of X multiplied by a bandwidth associated with the first sub-band and the second sub-band, wherein X is a number larger than one.
Yerramilli in view of Park: see comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a third mode…” is not selected in the claim 1 , and therefore is moot.
Regarding claim 21, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first network entity is configured to determine that a quantity of available resources is above a first threshold and that a reliability requirement for reception is above a second threshold, and wherein, to operate in the mode, the first network entity is configured to operate in the third mode based on the determination.
Yerramilli in view of Park: see comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a third mode…” is not selected in the claim 1 , and therefore is moot.
Regarding claim 22, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first threshold is with respect to timing, and wherein the second threshold is with respect to channel state information.
Yerramilli in view of Park: claim 22 depends from claim 21, which depends from claim 1. See comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a third mode…” is not selected in the claim 1, and therefore is moot.
Regarding claim 23, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the mode is the third mode, wherein the mode is the third mode, and wherein the first network entity is configured to store the third sampled information in a memory space of the at least one memory, and wherein to process the first portion, the first network entity is configured to read the first portion from the at least one memory.
Yerramilli in view of Park: see comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a third mode…” is not selected in the claim 1 , and therefore is moot.
Regarding claim 27, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first network entity is configured to receive instruction from the second network entity to operate in the fourth mode.
Yerramilli in view of Park: see comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a fourth mode…” is not selected in the claim 1 , and therefore is moot.
Regarding claim 28, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first network entity is configured to operate in the fourth mode based on at least one of: data reliability information, delay requirement information, or energy information.
Yerramilli in view of Park: see comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a fourth mode…” is not selected in the claim 1 , and therefore is moot.
Regarding claim 29, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the mode is the fourth mode, and wherein the first network entity is configured to: receive information indicative of a quantity of resources; and select, based on the information indicative of the quantity of resources, the quantity of resources from the first instance of the information and the second instance of the information for energy harvesting.
Yerramilli in view of Park: see comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a fourth mode…” is not selected in the claim 1 , and therefore is moot.
Regarding claim 30, Yerramalli and Park teaches its/their respective base claim(s).
Yerramilli and Park further teaches the apparatus-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the mode is the fourth mode, and wherein the first network entity is configured to: temporarily increase a maximum baseband bandwidth capability of the first network entity on a time period-to-time period basis for received data based on at least one of: a charging rate profile of the first network entity, a discharging rate profile of the first network entity, an energy state of the first network entity, a packet or application delay requirements, or a packet delay budget.
Yerramilli in view of Park: see comment on claim 1: the recited limitation “the mode is a fourth mode…” is not selected in the claim 1 , and therefore is moot.
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yerramalli et al. (US 2022/0030593), hereinafter “Yerramalli”, in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0050892), hereinafter “Park”, in further view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0109535), hereinafter “Kim”.
Regarding claim 3, Yerramalli and Park do not teach:
wherein the mode is the first mode, and wherein the first instance of the information and the second instance of the information have a same redundancy version.
However, Kim in a similar endeavor discloses Redundancy values (RV) for PDSCH downloads may or may not be the same, in DCI information downloads to each UE, in each subband, among other parameters included in DCI information to the UE for data communication, teaches:
wherein the mode is the first mode, and wherein the first instance of the information and the second instance of the information have a same redundancy version ( Fig. 23, step 2303 transceiving DCI. [0758 - 0764]: The UE may receive one TB in each CAP subband with a different or same RV.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the method of Yerramilli and Park in order to address CAP subband failure (resulting in puncturing) with combining data with the same RV value, so the UE may receive the data channel in a recoverable manner [0765] Kim).
Regarding claim 5, Yerramalli teaches:
wherein the first instance of the information is a transport block (TB) for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and the second instance of the information is the TB for the PDSCH ([0078-0083]: Transmission 405 (equates to first instance of information) via each of the sub bands may include a single transport block associated with frequency resources within the sub-band [0082]. A base station may transmit multiple 405 transmissions (first and second instances of information), such as a PDCCH and/or PDSCH, to the UE, using the set of sub-bands 415 [0078]. ),
Furthermore Kim teaches:
and wherein the first instance of the information and the second instance of information have a same redundancy version ( Fig. 23, step 2303 transceiving DCI. [0758 - 0764]: The UE may receive one TB in each CAP subband with a different or same RV.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the method of Yerramilli and Park in order to address CAP subband failure (resulting in puncturing) with combining data with the same RV value, so the UE may receive the data channel in a recoverable manner [0765] Kim).
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yerramalli et al. (US 2022/0030593), hereinafter “Yerramalli”, in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0050892), hereinafter “Park”, in further view of Manalakos et al. (US 2020/0235877), hereinafter “Manalakos”.
Regarding claim 11, Yerramalli and Park do not teach:
wherein the first network entity is configured to: receive, from the second network entity, a first downlink (DL)-positioning reference signal (PRS) on the first sub-band; receive, from the second network entity, a second DL-PRS on the first sub-band; and transmit report information to the second entity, wherein the report information is based on the first DL-PRS and the second DL-PRS.
However, Manalakos in a similar endeavor discloses the use of positioning reference signals, PRS, received and transmitted in different sub-bands, teaches:
wherein the first network entity is configured to: receive, from the second network entity, a first downlink (DL)-positioning reference signal (PRS) on the first sub-band; receive, from the second network entity, a second DL-PRS on the first sub-band ([0186-0188]: For UE performing a downlink PRS measurement, the base station may transmit the downlink PRS 215 [0186] See Figure 2. [0187-0188]: In some cases, multiple base stations 105 may transmit a downlink PRS to the UE 115, and the UE 115 may take measurements for each of the multiple downlink PRS, where the UE would receive parallel PRS signals through multiple allocated sub-bands. [0226-0231]: Fig. 9 illustrates the Active BWP1 915-a within the frequency resources of the component carrier 910-a and configured PRS bandwidth 905. Active BWP2 915-b is also similarly positioned. The UE may be configured to operate with the two sub-bands BWP 915-a and BWP 915-b. The UE may transmit and receive PRS signals when the PRS configured resources (905) span multiple 910 carriers. [0234-0237]: See Figure 11. Step 1105, base station (second entity) transmits the indication of the PRS configuration for the base station to the UE.); and transmit report information to the second entity, wherein the report information is based on the first DL-PRS and the second DL-PRS. [0186-0189, 0319-0324 (Fig. 22)]: UE may measure the reference signal and transmit a measurement report 230 to the base station. Measurement would be a RSTD reference signal difference measurement, by performing a RTT or a TDOA estimate [0188].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Manalakos into the method of Yerramilli and Park in order to apply utility to the FDM transmission of signals in separate sub-bands, for providing enhanced positioning techniques for tracking UEs and configuring resources for uplink and downlink PRS transmissions ([0005] Manalakos)
Regarding claim 12, Yerramalli and Park do not teach:
wherein the report information includes information indicative of the first DL-PRS and information indicative of the second DL-PRS.
However, Manalakos teaches:
wherein the report information includes information indicative of the first DL-PRS and information indicative of the second DL-PRS (. [0186-0189]: UE may measure the reference signal and transmit a measurement report 230 to the base station, where each PRS signal from each base station is measured. [0228]: the UE 115 is expected to measure PRS which are being transmitted by several gNBs, using the active BWPs 915-a and 915-b [0231] where the PRS signal is communicated. [0322]: Fig 22. At 2215, the UE measures the PRS signal, based on the frequency domain allocation, BWP1 and BWP2. At 2220, UE generates a measurement report.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Manalakos into the method of Yerramilli and Park in order to apply utility to the FDM transmission of signals in separate sub-bands, for providing enhanced positioning techniques for tracking UEs and configuring resources for uplink and downlink PRS transmissions ([0005] Manalakos)
Regarding claim 13, Yerramalli teaches:
wherein the information indicative of the first DL-PRS includes first position-related information associated with the first DL-PRS or a first reference signal received power (RSRP), and wherein the information indicative of the second DL-PRS includes second position-related information associated with the second DL-PRS or a second RSRP.
However, Manalakos teaches:
wherein the information indicative of the first DL-PRS includes first position-related information associated with the first DL-PRS ([0014, xxx]: The PRS measurement report indicates a first measurement and a location of the transmission reception point [0014]. or a first reference signal received power (RSRP) ([0146]: UE may report to the base station an indication of the signal it received with a highest signal quality, or an otherwise acceptable signal quality.) , and wherein the information indicative of the second DL-PRS includes second position-related information associated with the second DL-PRS ([0017]: For downlink PRS transmissions, the UE may receive a PRS from each of the base stations. This is reflected in the measurement report(s)) or a second RSRP.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Manalakos into the method of Yerramilli and Park in order to apply utility to the FDM transmission of signals in separate sub-bands, for providing enhanced positioning techniques for tracking UEs and configuring resources for uplink and downlink PRS transmissions ([0005] Manalakos)
Regarding claim 14, Yerramalli and Park do not teach:
wherein the first DL-PRS is a first channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS), and the second DL-PRS is a second CSI-RS.
However, Manalakos teaches:
wherein the first DL-PRS is a first channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS), and the second DL-PRS is a second CSI-RS. ([0189]: A downlink PRS may be a CSI-RS signal.)
Regarding claim 15, Yerramalli and Park do not teach:
wherein the first network entity is configured to generate the report information based on the first DL-PRS and the second DL-PRS
However, Manalakos teaches:
wherein the first network entity is configured to generate the report information based on the first DL-PRS and the second DL-PRS ([0323]: At 2220, the UE may generate a measurement of the positioning reference signal. [0324]: At 2225, UE may transmit the measurement.)
Regarding claim 16, Yerramalli and Park do not teach:
wherein the first network entity is configured to adjust first information based on the first DL-PRS and the second DL-PRS to generate adjusted first information .
However, Manalakos teaches:
wherein the first network entity is configured to adjust first information based on the first DL-PRS and the second DL-PRS to generate adjusted first information ([0319-0325]: Fig. 22. At Step 2220 [0323], the UE generates a measurement of the PRS, and Step 02225 [0324] transmits the measurement report that includes the measurement(s) of each of the PRS signals received. This report may be an initial report, or a subsequent report for a second positioning effort, may resulting in an adjusted, new report. )
Regarding claim 17, Yerramalli and Park do not teach
wherein the report information includes the adjusted first information.
However, Manalakos teaches
wherein the report information includes the adjusted first information ([0319-0325]: Fig. 22. At Step 2220 [0323], the UE generates a measurement of the PRS, and Step 02225 [0324] transmits the measurement report that includes the measurement(s) of each of the PRS signals received. This report may be an initial report, or a subsequent report for a second positioning effort, may resulting in an adjusted, new report. )
Regarding claim 18, Yerramalli and Park do not teach:
wherein the first information is position-related information
However, Manalakos teaches:
wherein the first information is position-related information ([0319-0325]: Fig. 22. At Step 2220 [0323], the UE generates a measurement of the PRS, and Step 02225 [0324] transmits the measurement report that includes the measurement(s) of each of the PRS signals received. [0062, 0196, 0260]: The measurement report includes a measurement and a location of the transmission reception point .)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning communications from the examiner should be directed to Michael Keller at (571)270-3863 or michael.keller@uspto.gov. If attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Moo Jeong can be reached at 571-272-9617.
/MICHAEL A KELLER/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418