Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 06/02/2026 overcome the prior nonstatutory double patenting rejection of record and the previous nonstatutory double patenting rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (US 20180205081 A1) in view of Paulsen et al. (US 20060071198 A1, provided in the previous office action), and XIAO et al., "Rational Design of a P2-Type Spherical Layered Oxide Cathode for High-Performance Sodium-lon Batteries", ACS CENTRAL SCIENCE, 2019, Vol. 5, No. 12, Pages 1937-1945 (9 pages total, provided by applicants IDS and present in the previous office action).
Yoshida teaches a Na-containing transition metal oxide particle with a P2 type structure for use in a positive electrode as the active material (Yoshida 0001, Table 1). An example given in table 1 of Yoshida shows the specific composition Na0.7Mn0.5Ni0.2Co0.3O2 in which the precursor was obtained by co-precipitation (Yoshida Table 1, fig. 2) and is spray coated or roll coated for the purposes of drying and/or coating (Yoshida 0048). Yoshida teaches that the particle is calcined between 770 and 1000oC for between 1 and 24 hours which overlaps with the claimed range and forms a prima facie case of obviousness in view of overlapping ranges and routine experimentation of a known range to get a desired crystal structure, See MPEP 2144.05 (Yoshida 0025). In this case calcination can be performed in air (Yoshida 0037) which is the same environment as described in the instant application making calcination as discussed in Yoshida read upon the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim term “firing” as the particle is subjected to the same amount of heat for the same amount of time in the same atmosphere meaning the resulting particle will be the same.
Yoshida is silent to the precursor particle being spherical as well as the spray dry method covering 40% or more of the surface area of the precursor particle with NA salt, prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art.
Paulsen teaches a similar method of making transition metal oxides for a cathode where a precursor particle is coated in a salt in the form of a partial or full coating and then heat treated (Paulsen 0037 0021-0022). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to take modified Yoshida as described above and have the spray coating or roll coating method used in Yoshida fully cover the surface of the particle with salt as discussed in Paulsen as doing so is using a known technique, spray coating, in order to improve a similar product, a transition metal oxide, in the same way, See MPEP 2143.I.C.
Yoshida in view of Paulsen is silent to the precursor particle being spherical, prompting one of ordinary skill to look at related art.
In a similar field of endeavor as applicant, Xiao teaches a preparation method for making a transition metal oxide for a cathode that includes a spherical precursor that is composed of a salt. Further, the method includes mixing precursor microspheres with a solution containing a sodium salt. The precursor particle is then dried and calcined to obtain transition metal oxide microspheres containing Na which has a P2-type structure (Xiao, page 7 of the given PDF, first paragraph of the experimental section). Spherical particles are described as good because the microsphere structure can provide plentiful paths for electron transfer, which is beneficial to enhance the electrochemical properties (Xiao page 6 left side bottom of paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to take modified Yoshida as described above and have the precursor and final particles be spherical as discussed in Xiao as doing so allows for enhanced electrochemical properties. Both Xiao and Yoshida relate to similar processes of coating a transition metal oxide precursor particle with a Na solution and heat treating to form a NA-containing transition metal oxide particle presenting a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, Modified Yoshida teaches claim 8 as described above and the example composition, Na0.7Mn0.5Ni0.2Co0.3O2, meets the claimed limitations.
Double Patenting
Claims 8 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 18/590,404, henceforth referred to as Yubuchi and the claims filed 06/29/2026 are used for the purposes of citation and rejection.
Regarding claim 8, Yubuchi claims 1-4, 6, and 9-10 teach a method of producing a NA containing oxide with a P2-type structure comprising obtaining a spherical precursor particle via coprecipitation comprising at least Mn, Ni, and Co and coating 40 area % or more of the surface of the precursor particle with Na salt by spray drying before firing it at 700-1100oC for between 30 minutes to 3 hours.
Regarding claim 9, Claim 4 of Yubuchi teaches a chemical composition of the NA-containing transition metal oxide which significantly overlaps with the composition claimed in the instant claim 9 forming a prima facie case of obviousness in view of overlapping ranges, See MPEP 2144.05. As an example, the composition Na0.7Mn0.5Ni0.2Co0.3O2 meets the criteria of both sets of claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments for the 103 rejections with respect to claim(s) 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN R. BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743