DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 556 shown on Fig. 9A, 824 shown Fig. 13A, 972 shown on Fig. 14A and 954 shown on Fig. 14B. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Q. (CN 101728493 A, see NPL documents for citation) in view of Yu et al. (Recent developments of composite separators based on high-performance fibers for lithium batteries, see NPL documents for citation).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a battery comprising a hollow outer shell (1) (enclosure), an electrode assembly and at least one hollow tube (3) (hollow center tube) located inside the outer shell (1) (side wall). The electrode assembly has a central cavity, and the hollow tube (3) (hollow center tube) is located inside the central cavity of the electrode assembly. The hollow tube (3) (hollow center tube) and the outer shell (1) (side wall) form a closed space for accommodating the electrode assembly (2) (roll) [0049, Fig. 10 and 11]. The electrode assembly (2) (roll) includes a positive and a negative electrode (4 and 5) [0050]. The outer shell (1) (enclosure) includes an upper and lower cover (11 and 12) (surfaces inferred) and a casing body (13) (side wall) [0052, Fig. 10 and 11]. From Fig. 10 and 11, the feature “a hollow center tube including a side wall and a cavity enclosed by the side wall” and where the electrode assembly is “arranged between an outer surface of the hollow center tube and the enclosure” is met.
Chen teaches that multiple batteries can be arranged together (battery system) and a battery cooling (heat exchange) system can be formed by passing the connecting pipe (6) through the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes). The connecting pipe (6) is passed sequentially through the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) arranged together to form a loop, and a heat exchange device (not shown in the figure), such as a radiator, is set in the loop. [0061 and Fig. 13]. From this description the feature “wherein the hollow center tube passes through at least one of the top surface and the bottom surface of the enclosure” can be considered met, because both the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) and the connecting pipe (6) serve the same purpose. It is further taught that a locking structure (not shown in the figures) can also be added to the end of the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes), and a corresponding locking structure can be added to the connecting pipe (6) [0061]. From the descriptions above the connecting pipe (6) can be considered to be the “first fluid channel including N ports configured to at least one of supply fluid to and receive fluid from at least one end of the hollow center tube of the N hollow battery cells” if the connection portion between the connecting pipe (6) with ends of the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) are considered the “N ports”.
Chen does not teach the feature a roll including “separator layers”.
Yu teaches a review article about recent developments on separators as indispensable components in lithium batteries [Abstract]. Because lithium batteries can be within the broad teachings of Chen, Yu teachings can be considered to be on the same field of endeavor of Chen. Yu teaches that the separator separates the anode from the cathode to avoid the safety hazards caused by direct contact between two electrodes [p. 1; par. 2]. If the electrode assembly (2) (roll) taught by Chen is modified to include separator layers between the electrodes the claimed feature would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Chen to include the features a roll including “separator layers”, because Yu teaches that the separator layers help to avoid the safety hazards caused by direct contact between two electrodes.
Regarding claim 2, Chen and teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. From claim 1 discussion, the taught outer shell (1) (enclosure) has a cylindrical shape and from its geometry the taught hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) has a circular cross section.
Regarding claim 3, Chen and Yu teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 2. From claim 1 discussion (on which claim 2 depends), the feature “wherein the hollow center tube passes through the top surface and the bottom surface of the enclosure” can be considered met, because both the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) and the connecting pipe (6) (first fluid channel) serve the same purpose.
Regarding claim 5, Chen and Yu teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. From claim 1 discussion, the outer shell (1) (enclosure) includes an upper and lower cover (11 and 12) (surfaces inferred) [0052, Fig. 10 and 11].
Regarding claim 6, Chen and Yu teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Chen further teaches that its casing body (13) (side wall) which is part of its outer shell (1) (enclosure) may be a hollow square (may be a prismatic shape) and its hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) may be a hollow rounded square [claims 2 and 3].
Regarding claim 7, Chen and Yu teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 6. From claim 1 discussion (on which claim 6 depends), the feature “wherein the hollow center tube passes through the top surface and the bottom surface of the enclosure” can be considered met, because both the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) and the connecting pipe (6) (first fluid channel) serve the same purpose.
Regarding claims 11 and 16, Chen and Yu teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 2. Despite that Chen does not explicitly teach the feature “wherein the N ports include N walls extending transverse to the first fluid channel and including threads on an outer surface thereof; and an inner surface of the side wall of the hollow center tube of the N hollow battery cells includes threads” (claim 11) and “wherein the N ports include N walls extending transverse to the first fluid channel; and the N walls are press fit into an inner surface of the side wall of the hollow center tube of the N hollow battery cells” (claim 16), it teaches that a locking structure (not shown in the figures) can also be added to the end of the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes), and a corresponding locking structure can be added to the connecting tube (6) (first fluid channel). The connecting tube (6) (first fluid channel) can be quickly locked onto the tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) of the batteries through the locking structure [0061]. The aforementioned detachable locking structure facilitates installation, disassembly, and maintenance [0061]. From this teaching the claimed features of claim 11 and 16 can be met given that it can be considered a locking structure to produce a sealing effect between the N ports and the inner surface of the side wall of the hollow center tubes.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Q. (CN 101728493 A, see NPL documents for citation) in view of Yu et al. (Recent developments of composite separators based on high-performance fibers for lithium batteries, see NPL documents for citation) as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Gilbert et al. (US 20170324126 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Chen and Yu teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 3 except “wherein the battery heat exchange system includes a second fluid channel configured to at least one of supply fluid to and receive fluid from an opposite end of the hollow center tube of the N hollow battery cells”.
Gilbert teaches a battery pack (24) (battery system) including a plurality of battery assemblies (25), which includes a plurality of battery cells (56) [0044, 0047, Fig. 1 and 2]. Each battery cell (56) includes a void (60) (hollow center tube) located through the center of the inner wall (80) and defined by the inner wall (80) (side wall) [0055, Fig. 2A-B and 3]. An electrode assembly (78), sometimes referred to as a jellyroll, is wound around the inner wall (80) [0055]. From the description above the invention of Gilbert is on the same field of endeavor of Chen. Gilbert teaches the employment of a cooling device (58) fluidly connected to a coolant manifold (62) including an inlet and outlet (66 and 68), which is part of a closed-loop system, which may additionally include a coolant reservoir and a coolant pump, for communicating the coolant C through the battery assembly (25) passage (64) (hollow center tube analogous) [0053, 0054 and Fig. 2B]. The coolant manifold (62) unit is analogous to first fluid channel (inlet side) and has a second fluid channel (outlet side). From Fig. 4, a battery assembly (25A) having multiple cell stacks and a coolant manifold (62A) is shown. Combining the teachings above, on the case of a cell stack the employed coolant manifold (62A) would be expected to have inlets (66A) (N ports) configured to supply a coolant C from one end of the battery void (60) (hollow center tube) and outlets (68A) configured to receive the coolant C. If the battery cooling system of Chen is modified to substitute the connecting pipe (6) (first fluid channel) with the coolant manifold (62/62A) of Gilbert, the feature “wherein the battery heat exchange system includes a second fluid channel configured to at least one of supply fluid to and receive fluid from an opposite end of the hollow center tube of the N hollow battery cells” would be met. Gilbert teaches that by employing the referred cooling manifold (62) configuration, the heat generated by the battery cells (56) is convectively transferred from the battery cells (56) to coolant C that is passed through the cells [0053].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Chen and Yu to include the feature “wherein the battery heat exchange system includes a second fluid channel configured to at least one of supply fluid to and receive fluid from an opposite end of the hollow center tube of the N hollow battery cells”, because Gilbert teaches a cooling manifold configuration which meets the referred limitations and that with its implementation the heat generated by the battery cells is convectively transferred from the battery cells to coolant C that is passed through the cells.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Q. (CN 101728493 A, see NPL documents for citation) in view of Yu et al. (Recent developments of composite separators based on high-performance fibers for lithium batteries, see NPL documents for citation) as applied to claim 7 above, further in view of Gilbert et al. (US 20170324126 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Chen and Yu teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 7 except “wherein the battery heat exchange system includes a second fluid channel configured to at least one of supply fluid to and receive fluid from an opposite end of the hollow center tube of the N hollow battery cells”.
Gilbert teaches a battery pack (24) (battery system) including a plurality of battery assemblies (25), which includes a plurality of battery cells (56) [0044, 0047, Fig. 1 and 2]. Each battery cell (56) includes a void (60) (hollow center tube) located through the center of the inner wall (80) and defined by the inner wall (80) (side wall) [0055, Fig. 2A-B and 3]. An electrode assembly (78), sometimes referred to as a jellyroll, is wound around the inner wall (80) [0055]. From the description above the invention of Gilbert is on the same field of endeavor of Chen. Gilbert teaches the employment of a cooling device (58) fluidly connected to a coolant manifold (62) including an inlet and outlet (66 and 68), which is part of a closed-loop system, which may additionally include a coolant reservoir and a coolant pump, for communicating the coolant C through the battery assembly (25) passage (64) (hollow center tube analogous) [0053, 0054 and Fig. 2B]. The coolant manifold (62) unit is analogous to first fluid channel (inlet side) and has a second fluid channel (outlet side). From Fig. 4, a battery assembly (25A) having multiple cell stacks and a coolant manifold (62A) is shown. Combining the teachings above, on the case of a cell stack the employed coolant manifold (62A) would be expected to have inlets (66A) (N ports) configured to supply a coolant C from one end of the battery void (60) (hollow center tube) and outlets (68A) configured to receive the coolant C. If the battery cooling system of Chen is modified to substitute the connecting pipe (6) (first fluid channel) with the coolant manifold (62/62A) of Gilbert, the feature “wherein the battery heat exchange system includes a second fluid channel configured to at least one of supply fluid to and receive fluid from an opposite end of the hollow center tube of the N hollow battery cells” would be met. Gilbert teaches that by employing the referred cooling manifold (62) configuration, the heat generated by the battery cells (56) is convectively transferred from the battery cells (56) to coolant C that is passed through the cells [0053].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Chen and Yu to include the feature “wherein the battery heat exchange system includes a second fluid channel configured to at least one of supply fluid to and receive fluid from an opposite end of the hollow center tube of the N hollow battery cells”, because Gilbert teaches a cooling manifold configuration which meets the referred limitations and that with its implementation the heat generated by the battery cells is convectively transferred from the battery cells to coolant C that is passed through the cells.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Q. (CN 101728493 A, see NPL documents for citation) in view of Yu et al. (Recent developments of composite separators based on high-performance fibers for lithium batteries, see NPL documents for citation) as applied to claim 6 above, further in view of Li et al. (Thin metallic wave-like channel bipolar plates for proton exchange membrane fuel cells: Deformation behavior, formability analysis and process design, see NPL documents for citation).
Regarding claim 9, Chen and Yu teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 6 except “wherein the first fluid channel includes a plurality of partitions to create a serpentine vertical path in the hollow center tube”.
Li teaches about the design of bipolar plates employed on fuel cells to gain an uniform distribution of cooling water and discharge the generated water [p. 1; par. 3]. Among a variety of flow designs, serpentine channels have been proposed and it has the advantage of a higher flow rate and quicker discharge rate of generated water [p. 1; par. 4, p. 2; par. 1 and Fig. 1b]. Because of the cooling objective for energy related devices, the teachings of Li are on the same field of endeavor of Chen. From Fig. 1b a vertical serpentine pattern is shown. If the vertical serpentine channel of Li is applied to be on the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) and adapted to be connected with the connecting pipes (6), having an inlet on the lower part of the serpentine path and the outlet on the upper part, the claimed limitation would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Chen and Yu to include the feature “wherein the first fluid channel includes a plurality of partitions to create a serpentine vertical path in the hollow center tube”, because Li teaches that serpentine channels (vertical) has the advantage of a higher flow rate and quicker discharge rate of generated water.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Q. (CN 101728493 A, see NPL documents for citation) in view of Yu et al. (Recent developments of composite separators based on high-performance fibers for lithium batteries, see NPL documents for citation) as applied to claim 6 above, further in view of Gilbert et al. (US 20170324126 A1) evidenced by Monika, K. (Comparative assessment among several channel designs with constant volume for cooling of pouch-type battery module, see NPL documents for citation).
Regarding claim 10, Chen and Yu teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 6 except “wherein the first fluid channel includes a plurality of partitions to create a serpentine horizontal path in the hollow center tube”.
Gilbert teaches a battery assembly (25D) including a plurality of prismatic battery cells (56D) having a cooling device (58D) on its center [0062, Fig. 8A and 8B]. Each battery cell (56D) includes an electrode assembly (78B) which may be wound around the cooling device (58D) [0064]. The battery assembly (25D) taught by Gilbert is on the same field of endeavor of the battery system of Chen. The cooling device (58D) includes two mandrels (88D), connected to a manifold inlet and outlet, and a serpentine cooling path (96D) [0065, 0066 and Fig. 8A]. The serpentine cooling path (96D) “includes a plurality of partitions to create a serpentine horizontal path”. If this serpentine cooling path (96D) is employed on the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) instead of the cylindrical connecting tube (6), the claimed features would be met.
Monika studied the performance of six different battery module cold plates having mini channels with different configurations, included a horizontal serpentine pattern [p. 3; section 2.2 and Fig. 2]. It was found that the serpentine geometry could significantly improve temperature homogeneity [Abstract].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Chen and Yu to include the feature “wherein the first fluid channel includes a plurality of partitions to create a serpentine horizontal path in the hollow center tube”, because Gilbert teaches a serpentine cooling path meeting the referred limitations and Monika evidence that such serpentine pattern could significantly improve temperature homogeneity.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Q. (CN 101728493 A, see NPL documents for citation) in view of Yu et al. (Recent developments of composite separators based on high-performance fibers for lithium batteries, see NPL documents for citation) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Kim et al. (US 20170005382 A1).
Regarding claims 12-14, Chen and Yu teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1, except “wherein the first fluid channel includes N partitions in the N ports, respectively” (claim 12), “wherein each of the N hollow battery cells include a partition arranged in the hollow center tube” (claim 13) and “comprising a second fluid channel arranged adjacent and in contact with the first fluid channel, wherein fluid flows in a first direction through the first fluid channel and in a second direction through the second fluid channel” (claim 14).
Kim teaches a rechargeable battery module (201) including a plurality of unit batteries (101) [0040]. Each unit battery (101) includes an electrode assembly (100), a case (200), and first and second plates (300 and 400) [0041 and Fig. 3]. The rechargeable battery module (201) comprises a cooling plate (600) having an inflow layer (602b) and an outflow layer (602a) [0085 and Fig. 9]. A cooling part (500) can be joined perpendicular to the cooling plate (600) and comprise an inflow part (502b) and an outflow part (502a) [0082 and Fig. 9]. The inflow part/layer and the outflow part/layer may be configured to circulate a cooling fluid [0018]. From the description above the rechargeable battery module (201) is on the same field of endeavor of Chen.
If the cooling plate (600)/cooling part (500) arrangement is placed on the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) substituting the connecting pipe (6) of Chen, the inflow layer (602b) (first fluid channel analogous) would include a partition corresponding to an inflow part (502b) and given that this arrangement would be present on all the battery cells comprising the system, the feature “wherein the first fluid channel includes N partitions in the N ports, respectively” (claim 12) and “wherein each of the N hollow battery cells include a partition arranged in the hollow center tube” (claim 13) would be met. From Fig. 9 can be appreciated that the outflow layer (602a) (second fluid channel analogous is in contact with the inflow layer (602b) (first fluid channel analogous). Based on the arrows indicating the inflow and outflow direction, the feature “comprising a second fluid channel arranged adjacent and in contact with the first fluid channel, wherein fluid flows in a first direction through the first fluid channel and in a second direction through the second fluid channel” (claim 14) could be considered met. Kim teaches that by applying its cooling part (500) the space through which the coolant is introduced and discharged is easily secured and the cooling efficiency of the rechargeable battery module (201) may be additionally improved [0069].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Chen and Yu to include the features “wherein the first fluid channel includes N partitions in the N ports, respectively” (claim 12), “wherein each of the N hollow battery cells include a partition arranged in the hollow center tube” (claim 13) and “comprising a second fluid channel arranged adjacent and in contact with the first fluid channel, wherein fluid flows in a first direction through the first fluid channel and in a second direction through the second fluid channel” (claim 14), because Kim teaches that by applying its cooling part (having the referred features) the space through which the coolant is introduced and discharged is easily secured and the cooling efficiency of the rechargeable battery module may be additionally improved.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Q. (CN 101728493 A, see NPL documents for citation) in view of Yu et al. (Recent developments of composite separators based on high-performance fibers for lithium batteries, see NPL documents for citation) as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Li et al. (Thin metallic wave-like channel bipolar plates for proton exchange membrane fuel cells: Deformation behavior, formability analysis and process design, see NPL documents for citation).
Regarding claim 15, Chen and Yu teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 3 except “wherein the first fluid channel extends in a serpentine path upwardly and downwardly through the hollow center tubes of adjacent ones of the N hollow battery cells”.
Li teaches about the design of bipolar plates employed on fuel cells to gain an uniform distribution of cooling water and discharge the generated water [p. 1; par. 3]. Among a variety of flow designs, serpentine channels have been proposed and it has the advantage of a higher flow rate and quicker discharge rate of generated water [p. 1; par. 4, p. 2; par. 1 and Fig. 1b]. Because of the cooling objective for energy related devices, the teachings of Li are on the same field of endeavor of Chen. From Fig. 1b a vertical serpentine pattern is shown. If the vertical serpentine channel of Li is applied to be on the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) and adapted to be connected with the connecting pipes (6), having an inlet on the lower part of the serpentine path and the outlet on the upper part, the claimed limitation would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Chen and Yu to include the feature “wherein the first fluid channel extends in a serpentine path upwardly and downwardly through the hollow center tubes of adjacent ones of the N hollow battery cells”, because Li teaches that serpentine channels (vertical) has the advantage of a higher flow rate and quicker discharge rate of generated water.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Q. (CN 101728493 A, see NPL documents for citation) in view of Yu et al. (Recent developments of composite separators based on high-performance fibers for lithium batteries, see NPL documents for citation).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches a battery comprising a hollow outer shell (1) (enclosure), an electrode assembly and at least one hollow tube (3) (hollow center tube) located inside the outer shell (1) (side wall). The electrode assembly has a central cavity, and the hollow tube (3) (hollow center tube) is located inside the central cavity of the electrode assembly. The hollow tube (3) (hollow center tube) and the outer shell (1) (side wall) form a closed space for accommodating the electrode assembly (2) (roll) [0049, Fig. 10 and 11]. The electrode assembly (2) (roll) includes a positive and a negative electrode (4 and 5) [0050]. The outer shell (1) (enclosure) includes an upper and lower cover (11 and 12) (surfaces inferred) and a casing body (13) (side wall) [0052, Fig. 10 and 11]. From Fig. 10 and 11, the feature “a hollow center tube including a side wall and a cavity enclosed by the side wall” and where the electrode assembly is “arranged between an outer surface of the hollow center tube and the enclosure” is met.
Chen teaches that multiple batteries can be arranged together (battery system) and a battery cooling (heat exchange) system can be formed by passing the connecting pipe (6) through the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes). The connecting pipe (6) is passed sequentially through the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) arranged together to form a loop, and a heat exchange device (not shown in the figure), such as a radiator, is set in the loop. [0061 and Fig. 13]. From this description the feature “wherein the hollow center tube passes through at least one of the top surface and the bottom surface of the enclosure” can be considered met, because both the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) and the connecting pipe (6) serve the same purpose. It is further taught that a locking structure (not shown in the figures) can also be added to the end of the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes), and a corresponding locking structure can be added to the connecting pipe (6) [0061]. From the descriptions above the connecting pipe (6) can be considered to be the “first fluid channel including N ports configured to at least one of supply fluid to and receive fluid from at least one end of the hollow center tube of the N hollow battery cells” if the connection portions of the connecting pipe (6) with the ends of the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) are considered the “N ports”.
Despite that Chen does not explicitly teach the feature “wherein the N ports include N walls extending transverse to the first fluid channel, respectively; wherein one of: the N walls include threads on an outer surface thereof and an inner surface of the side wall of the hollow center tube of the N hollow cylindrical battery cells is threaded; and the N walls are press fit into an inner surface of the side wall of the hollow center tube of the N hollow cylindrical battery cells”, it teaches that a locking structure (not shown in the figures) can also be added to the end of the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes), and a corresponding locking structure can be added to the connecting tube (6) (first fluid channel). The connecting tube (6) (first fluid channel) can be quickly locked onto the tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) of the batteries through the locking structure [0061]. The aforementioned detachable locking structure facilitates installation, disassembly, and maintenance [0061]. From this teaching, the claimed features can be met given that it can be considered a locking structure to produce a sealing effect between the N ports and the inner surface of the side wall of the hollow center tubes.
Chen does not teach the feature a roll including “separator layers”.
Yu teaches a review article about recent developments on separators as indispensable components in lithium batteries [Abstract]. Because lithium batteries can be within the broad teachings of Chen, Yu teachings can be considered to be on the same field of endeavor of Chen. Yu teaches that the separator separates the anode from the cathode to avoid the safety hazards caused by direct contact between two electrodes [p. 1; par. 2]. If the electrode assembly (2) (roll) taught by Chen is modified to include separator layers between the electrodes the claimed feature would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Chen to include the features a roll including “separator layers”, because Yu teaches that the separator layers help to avoid the safety hazards caused by direct contact between two electrodes.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Q. (CN 101728493 A, see NPL documents for citation) in view of Yu et al. (Recent developments of composite separators based on high-performance fibers for lithium batteries, see NPL documents for citation) as applied to claim 17 above, further in view of Gilbert et al. (US 20170324126 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Chen and Yu teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 17. From claim 17 discussion, the feature “wherein the hollow center tube passes through the top surface and the bottom surface of the enclosure” can be considered met, because both the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) and the connecting pipe (6) (first fluid channel) serve the same purpose.
Chen and Yu does not teach the feature wherein “the battery heat exchange system includes a second fluid channel configured to at least one of supply fluid to and receive fluid from an opposite end of the hollow center tube of the N hollow cylindrical battery cells”.
Gilbert teaches a battery pack (24) (battery system) including a plurality of battery assemblies (25), which includes a plurality of battery cells (56) [0044, 0047, Fig. 1 and 2]. Each battery cell (56) includes a void (60) (hollow center tube) located through the center of the inner wall (80) and defined by the inner wall (80) (side wall) [0055, Fig. 2A-B and 3]. An electrode assembly (78), sometimes referred to as a jellyroll, is wound around the inner wall (80) [0055]. From the description above the invention of Gilbert is on the same field of endeavor of Chen. Gilbert teaches the employment of a cooling device (58) fluidly connected to a coolant manifold (62) including an inlet and outlet (66 and 68), which is part of a closed-loop system, which may additionally include a coolant reservoir and a coolant pump, for communicating the coolant C through the battery assembly (25) passage (64) (hollow center tube analogous) [0053, 0054 and Fig. 2B]. The coolant manifold (62) unit is analogous to first fluid channel (inlet side) and has a second fluid channel (outlet side). From Fig. 4, a battery assembly (25A) having multiple cell stacks and a coolant manifold (62A) is shown. Combining the teachings above, on the case of a cell stack the employed coolant manifold (62A) would be expected to have inlets (66A) (N ports) configured to supply a coolant C from one end of the battery void (60) (hollow center tube) and outlets (68A) configured to receive the coolant C. If the battery cooling system of Chen is modified to substitute the connecting pipe (6) (first fluid channel) with the coolant manifold (62/62A) of Gilbert, the feature “wherein the battery heat exchange system includes a second fluid channel configured to at least one of supply fluid to and receive fluid from an opposite end of the hollow center tube of the N hollow battery cells” would be met. Gilbert teaches that by employing the referred cooling manifold (62) configuration, the heat generated by the battery cells (56) is convectively transferred from the battery cells (56) to coolant C that is passed through the cells [0053].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Chen and Yu to include the feature wherein “the battery heat exchange system includes a second fluid channel configured to at least one of supply fluid to and receive fluid from an opposite end of the hollow center tube of the N hollow battery cells”, because Gilbert teaches a cooling manifold configuration which meets the referred limitations and that with its implementation the heat generated by the battery cells is convectively transferred from the battery cells to coolant C that is passed through the cells.
Claim 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Q. (CN 101728493 A, see NPL documents for citation) in view of Yu et al. (Recent developments of composite separators based on high-performance fibers for lithium batteries, see NPL documents for citation) as applied to claim 17 above, further in view of Kim et al. (US 20170005382 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Chen and Yu teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 17, except “wherein one of: the first fluid channel includes N partitions in the N ports, respectively, and each of the N hollow cylindrical battery cells include a partition arranged in the hollow center tube”.
Kim teaches a rechargeable battery module (201) including a plurality of unit batteries (101) [0040]. Each unit battery (101) includes an electrode assembly (100), a case (200), and first and second plates (300 and 400) [0041 and Fig. 3]. The rechargeable battery module (201) comprises a cooling plate (600) having an inflow layer (602b) and an outflow layer (602a) [0085 and Fig. 9]. A cooling part (500) can be joined perpendicular to the cooling plate (600) and comprise an inflow part (502b) and an outflow part (502a) [0082 and Fig. 9]. The inflow part/layer and the outflow part/layer may be configured to circulate a cooling fluid [0018]. From the description above the rechargeable battery module (201) is on the same field of endeavor of Chen.
If the cooling plate (600)/cooling part (500) arrangement is placed on the hollow tubes (3) (hollow center tubes) substituting the connecting pipe (6) of Chen, the inflow layer (602b) (first fluid channel analogous) would include a partition corresponding to an inflow part (502b) and given that this arrangement would be present on all the battery cells comprising the system, the feature “wherein the first fluid channel includes N partitions in the N ports, respectively” and “wherein each of the N hollow battery cells include a partition arranged in the hollow center tube” would be met. From Fig. 9 can be appreciated that the outflow layer (602a) (second fluid channel analogous is in contact with the inflow layer (602b) (first fluid channel analogous). Kim teaches that by applying its cooling part (500) the space through which the coolant is introduced and discharged is easily secured and the cooling efficiency of the rechargeable battery module (201) may be additionally improved [0069].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Chen and Yu to include the features “wherein one of: the first fluid channel includes N partitions in the N ports, respectively, and each of the N hollow cylindrical battery cells include a partition arranged in the hollow center tube”, because Kim teaches that by applying its cooling part (having the referred features) the space through which the coolant is introduced and discharged is easily secured and the cooling efficiency of the rechargeable battery module may be additionally improved.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Q. (CN 101728493 A, see NPL documents for citation) in view of Han et al. (EP 2874199 A1) and Yu et al. (Recent developments of composite separators based on high-performance fibers for lithium batteries, see NPL documents for citation).
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches a battery comprising a hollow outer shell (1) (enclosure), an electrode assembly and at least one hollow tube (3) (hollow center tube) located inside the outer shell (1) (side wall). The electrode assembly has a central cavity, and the hollow tube (3) (hollow center tube) is located inside the central cavity of the electrode assembly. The hollow tube (3) (hollow center tube) and the outer shell (1) (side wall) form a closed space for accommodating the electrode assembly (2) (roll) [0049, Fig. 10 and 11]. The electrode assembly (2) (roll), formed by winding it, includes a positive and a negative electrode (4 and 5) [0050]. The outer shell (1) (enclosure) includes an upper and lower cover (11 and 12) (surfaces inferred) and a casing body (13) (side wall) [0052, Fig. 10 and 11]. From Fig. 10 and 11, the feature “a hollow center tube extending from the bottom surface and including a side wall and a cavity arranged between the side wall” and where the electrode assembly is “arranged between an outer surface of the hollow center tube and the enclosure” is met. The upper cover and the lower cover are respectively fixed to the upper and lower end faces of the shell (1/13) body, or the lower cover (11) and the shell (1/13) body are integrally formed, or the lower cover (11), the shell (1/13) body, and the hollow tube (3) (hollow center tube) are integrally formed [0053 and 0054]. The shell (1) and/or the hollow tube (3) (hollow center tube) is a hollow square, a hollow cylindrical tube, or a hollow rounded square [0013].
Chen does not teach the feature where the enclosure is extruded and where the roll including “separator layers”.
Han teaches the extrusion of a pristine material to form a prismatic battery case (same field of endeavor of Chen) [Abstract, 0029, 0038 and Fig. 3]. Given that the employed extrusion is a hollow extrusion both the shell (1/13) body and the hollow tube (3) (hollow center tube) of Chen could be manufactured by this method. Han teaches that by its employed extrusion method the obtained main body has a desired thickness, and a crack is prevented from being formed therein, thereby decreasing a defect rate [0029].
Yu teaches a review article about recent developments on separators as indispensable components in lithium batteries [Abstract]. Because lithium batteries can be within the broad teachings of Chen, Yu teachings can be considered to be on the same field of endeavor of Chen. Yu teaches that the separator separates the anode from the cathode to avoid the safety hazards caused by direct contact between two electrodes [p. 1; par. 2]. If the electrode assembly (2) (roll) taught by Chen is modified to include separator layers between the electrodes the claimed feature would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery system of Chen to include the features where the enclosure is extruded and where the roll including “separator layers”, because Han teaches that by employing an extrusion method the obtained main body has a desired thickness, and a crack is prevented from being formed therein, thereby decreasing a defect rate. In addition, Yu teaches that the separator layers help to avoid the safety hazards caused by direct contact between two electrodes.
Conclusion
/G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 01/27/2026