DETAILED ACTION
This communication responds to the application and claim set filed May 30, 2023, and the Response to Restriction Requirement filed July 20, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Non-elected claims 11-16 are WITHDRAWN.
Claims 1-10 and 17-20 are REJECTED for the reasons set forth below.
Election/Restrictions
In its July 20 Response to Restriction, Applicant identified Group II for examination, but also identified those claims as 1-10 and 17-20. The examiner believes that the Applicant intended to elect Group I, given that the specific claims were enumerated. Thus, Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 and 17-20, is acknowledged. Claims 1-10 and 17-20 are under examination.
Priority
This application claims priority to US 63/347,345, filed May 31, 2022.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informality:
Regarding claim 2, “G2” should be identified as a Grubbs second generation catalyst. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 7-10, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (US 2021/0147598).
Regarding claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10 and 19, Johnson teaches the following:
(para. [0643].) The amount of DHF added is 20 mol%, relative to the amount of DCPD. The working life of the composition prior to cure is two hours, which is within the claimed range.
Regarding claims 8 and 17 specifically, Johnson is silent as to tuning the working or pot life based on the amount of DHF. However, given that Johnson teaches ranges of DHF relative to DCPD (see, e.g., para. [0467]), such an effect is necessarily present.
Regarding claim 9, Johnson teaches that the composition may be contained in a syringe (see para. [0391]), implicitly disclosing extruding the composition upon application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 2021/0147598) as applied to claims 1, 17, and 19 above, and further in view of Moore et al. (US 2018/0327531).
Regarding claims 2, 18, and 20, Johnson teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 17, and 19. (See paragraph 12 above, which is incorporated by reference herein.)
The difference between Johnson and the present claims is that Johnson does not teach the presence of a rheological modifier. However, the presence of rheological modifiers in thermosets comprising DCPD is known in the art. For example, Moore teaches a thermoset composition comprising DCPD, a Grubbs catalyst, and a rheological modifier. (paras. [0062]-[0065].) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a rheological modifier to the thermoset composition of Johnson to produce the desired flow behavior or viscosity of the composition. (See Moore, para. [0057].)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 2021/0147598).
Regarding claim 7, Johnson teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. (See paragraph 12 above, which is incorporated by reference herein.)
The difference between the teachings of Johnson discussed above and claim 7 is that Johnson’s example includes DHF in the amount of 20 mol%, which is outside the claimed range. However, Johnson more generally teaches that the ratio of first monomer (DCPD) to second monomer (DHF) ranges from 5 to 35:1 (see para. [0467]), or 2.86 to 20 mol%, which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range taught by Johnson.
Conclusion
CATHERINE S. BRANCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763