DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communications filed on 12/8/2025.
Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9-10, 13, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2022/0077919: hereinafter “Li”).
With regards to claim 1, Li teaches a communication method (figs. 1-18: where the claimed ‘communication method’ is perform as steps/functions of the devices within the communication system of Li, see at least figures 2+3. More specifically, the later steps read upon the embodiments of Li in which the ‘communications manager’ (which handles communication of at least one IRS relay device) is implemented within the Base Station (BS) such as figure 11 in the context of figures 2+3. Additionally but not exclusively, the base station may also control scheduling of communication resources/schemes, see [0080] and [0188+0195] as well as figure 11), comprising:
determining, by a second device, a receiving time unit in a frame structure (figs. 1-18: where the claimed ‘second device’ is mapped to the base station of Li (e.g. see figure 11 in the context of figures 2+3) and the claimed ‘first device’ is mapped to IRS relay device of Li.
Additionally, see [0074-0076] which disclose that communication of Li communicates using Frames (and sub-frame, slots, et cetera) with defined structure and durations, also see the concept of TTI; all of which is stated to be ‘scheduled’. Furthermore, the base station (especially when/if the ‘communications manager’ 1110 (in addition to two other managers 1115+1145) is/are contained within the BS, like in figure 11) may perform the scheduling of the frames periods (and nested time resources) within the communication system, see [0080] and [0195] and [0100-0105].
Furthermore, the BS/scheduler/manager (in the context above) may control and schedule the time periods within the frames in which the BS transmits signals to the IRS (which are received and processed by the IRS without reflection), which is shown graphically in figure 3 see downlink transmissions 325 and/or 340 (BS to IRS); also see [0104]
Additionally, the BS/scheduler/manager (in the context above) may control and schedule the time periods within the frames in which the BS directly transmits signals to the IRS which are ‘reflection time periods’ of the IRS (i.e. the IRS operates as a downlink/uplink signal relay between the BS and the UE).
Where determining of the ‘receiving time unit’ within the frame structure may occur within Establish/Configure Communications step/function 320 of figure 3 between at least the BS and the IRS device), wherein the frame structure comprises the receiving time unit and a reflection time unit (previously addressed), the receiving time unit is a time unit in which the second device (previously addressed) sends a setting instruction (figs. 1-18: see fig. 3 downlink transmission 340 in which the BS sets/selects the ‘second set of parameters’ (i.e. reflection coefficients) of the IRS (which are received and implemented by IRS) for future reflection/relay time periods/units of the IRS, see [0109+0110] and [0120+0121]), the setting instruction (previously addressed) indicates a first state (where the first state is mapped to reflection/relay state (and reflection parameters/coefficients) of the IRS), and the reflection time unit is a time unit in which a first device reflects a signal based on the first state (where the claimed ‘first device’ is/was mapped to the IRS relay device; where the remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent); and
sending, by the second device, the setting instruction based on the receiving time unit (these limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 3, Li teaches the limitations of claim 1 above.
Li further teaches the method according to claim 1 (previously addressed), further comprising:
sending, by the second device, information about at least one time unit in the frame structure (figs. 1-18: see fig. 3 downlink transmission 340 in which the BS sets/selects the ‘second set of parameters’ (i.e. reflection coefficients) of the IRS (which are received and implemented by IRS) for future reflection/relay time periods/units of the IRS, see [0109+0110] and [0120+0121].
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 4, Li teaches the limitations of claim 3 above.
Li further teaches wherein the at least one time unit comprises the reflection time unit (figs. 1-18: see fig. 3 downlink transmission 340 in which the BS sets/selects the ‘second set of parameters’ (i.e. reflection coefficients) of the IRS (which are received and implemented by IRS) for future reflection/relay time periods/units of the IRS, see [0109+0110] and [0120+0121].
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent), and information about the reflection time unit is carried in the setting instruction (figs. 1-18: see fig. 3 downlink transmission 340 in which the BS sets/selects the ‘second set of parameters’ (i.e. reflection coefficients) of the IRS (which are received and implemented by IRS) for future reflection/relay time periods/units of the IRS, see [0109+0110] and [0120+0121].
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 7, Li teaches a communication device (figs. 1-18: where the claimed ‘communication device’ reads upon to the communication device embodiments containing the ‘communications manager’ within the communication system of Li including at least one IRS relay device, such as figs. 4, 7, 11, and/or 15 (within the context of at least figs. 2+3). Additionally but not exclusively, the base station may also control scheduling of communication resources/schemes, see [0080] and [0188+0195] as well as figure 11. Note that the claimed communication device is mapped to the embodiment(s) of Li in which the ‘communications manager’ is within the Base Station (BS), like figure 11), comprising:
at least one processor (figs. 1-18 and see at least [0192-0196] and [0277-0281] where addresses the that each device within the communication system includes at least one processor as well as at least one memory unit that stores software/program instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor controls the steps/functions of the communication device in order to implement the invention of Li); and
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program that is executable by the at least one processor (previously addressed and/or readily apparent), wherein execution of the program by the at least one processor causes the communication device (previously addressed and/or readily apparent) to (addressed below):
determine a receiving time unit in a frame structure (figs. 1-18: see [0074-0076] which in communication of Li communicates using Frames (and sub-frame, slots, et cetera) with defined structure and durations, also see the concept of TTI; all of which is stated to be ‘scheduled’. Furthermore, the base station (especially when/if the ‘communications manager’ 1110 (in addition to two other managers 1115+1145) is/are contained within the BS, like in figure 11) may perform the scheduling of the frames periods (and nested time resources) within the communication system, see [0080] and [0195] and [0100-0105].
Furthermore, the BS/scheduler/manager (in the context above) may control and schedule the time periods within the frames in which the BS transmits signals to the IRS (which are received and processed by the IRS without reflection), which is shown graphically in figure 3 see downlink transmissions 325 and/or 340 (BS to IRS); also see [0104]
Additionally, the BS/scheduler/manager (in the context above) may control and schedule the time periods within the frames in which the BS directly transmits signals to the IRS which are ‘reflection time periods’ of the IRS (i.e. the IRS operates as a downlink/uplink signal relay between the BS and the UE).
Where determining of the ‘receiving time unit’ within the frame structure may occur within Establish/Configure Communications step/function 320 of figure 3 between at least the BS and the IRS device) , wherein the frame structure comprises the receiving time unit and a reflection time unit (previously addressed), the receiving time unit is a time unit in which the communication device (previously addressed) sends a setting instruction (figs. 1-18: see fig. 3 downlink transmission 340 in which the BS sets/selects the ‘second set of parameters’ (i.e. reflection coefficients) of the IRS (which are received and implemented by IRS) for future reflection/relay time periods/units of the IRS, see [0109+0110] and [0120+0121]), the setting instruction (previously addressed) indicates a first state (where the first state is mapped to reflection/relay state (and reflection parameters/coefficients) of the IRS), and the reflection time unit is a time unit in which a first device reflects a signal based on the first state (where the claimed ‘first device’ is mapped to the IRS device; where the remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent); and
send the setting instruction based on the receiving time unit (previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 9, Li teaches the limitations of claim 7 above.
Li further teaches wherein execution of the program by the at least one processor causes the communication device (previously addressed) to (addressed below):
send information about at least one time unit in the frame structure (figs. 1-18: see fig. 3 downlink transmission 340 in which the BS sets/selects the ‘second set of parameters’ (i.e. reflection coefficients) of the IRS (which are received and implemented by IRS) for future reflection/relay time periods/units of the IRS, see [0109+0110] and [0120+0121].
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 10, Li teaches the limitations of claim 9 above.
Li further teaches wherein the at least one time unit comprises the reflection time unit (figs. 1-18: see fig. 3 downlink transmission 340 in which the BS sets/selects the ‘second set of parameters’ (i.e. reflection coefficients) of the IRS (which are received and implemented by IRS) for future reflection/relay time periods/units of the IRS, see [0109+0110] and [0120+0121].
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent), and information about the reflection time unit is carried in the setting instruction (figs. 1-18: see fig. 3 downlink transmission 340 in which the BS sets/selects the ‘second set of parameters’ (i.e. reflection coefficients) of the IRS (which are received and implemented by IRS) for future reflection/relay time periods/units of the IRS, see [0109+0110] and [0120+0121].
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 13, Li teaches a communication system (figs. 1-18: where the claimed ‘communication system’ is perform as steps/functions of the devices within the communication system of Li, see at least figures 2+3. More specifically, the later steps read upon the embodiments of Li in which the ‘communications manager’ (which handles communication of at least one IRS relay device) is implemented within the Base Station (BS) such as figure 11 in the context of figures 2+3. Additionally but not exclusively, the base station may also control scheduling of communication resources/schemes, see [0080] and [0188+0195] as well as figure 11), comprising:
a first device (figs. 1-18: the claimed ‘first device’ is mapped to the IRS relay device of Li (within the context of figs. 2+3)) and a second device (figs. 1-18, where the claimed ‘second device’ is mapped to base station (BS) of Li when the ‘communications manager’ is contained within the said BS, like figure 11 (within the context of figs. 2+3));
wherein the first device (previously mapped to the IRS device) is configured to (addressed below):
determine a frame structure (figs. 1-18: see [0074-0076] which in communication of Li communicates using Frames (and sub-frame, slots, et cetera) with defined structure and durations, also see the concept of TTI; all of which is stated to be ‘scheduled’. Furthermore, the base station (especially when/if the ‘communications manager’ 1110 (in addition to two other managers 1115+1145) is/are contained within the BS, like in figure 11) may perform the scheduling of the frames periods (and nested time resources) within the communication system, see [0080] and [0195] and [0100-0105].
Furthermore, the BS/scheduler/manager (in the context above) may control and schedule the time periods within the frames in which the BS transmits signals to the IRS (which are received and processed by the IRS without reflection), which is shown graphically in figure 3 see downlink transmissions 325 and/or 340 (BS to IRS); also see [0104]
Additionally, the BS/scheduler/manager (in the context above) may control and schedule the time periods within the frames in which the BS directly transmits signals to the IRS which are ‘reflection time periods’ of the IRS (i.e. the IRS operates as a downlink/uplink signal relay between the BS and the UE).
Where determining of the ‘frame structure’ within the communication system by the IRS device may occur within Establish/Configure Communications step/function 320 of figure 3 between at least the BS and the IRS device), wherein the frame structure comprises a receiving time unit and a reflection time unit (previously addressed), the receiving time unit is a time unit in which the first device receives (previously addressed) a setting instruction (figs. 1-18: see fig. 3 downlink transmission 340 in which the BS sets/selects the ‘second set of parameters’ (i.e. reflection coefficients) of the IRS (which are received and implemented by IRS) for future reflection/relay time periods/units of the IRS, see [0109+0110] and [0120+0121])), the setting instruction (previously addressed) indicates a first state (where the first state is mapped to reflection/relay state (and reflection parameters/coefficients) of the IRS), and the reflection time unit is a time unit in which the first device reflects a signal based on the first state (where the claimed ‘first device’ is/was mapped to the IRS device; where the remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent); and
perform communication based on the frame structure (previously addressed and/or readily apparent with respect to the functions of the IRS device operation as uplink/downlink relay during ‘reflection time’ periods of the frame structure; and receiving updated data parameters during ‘receiving time periods’ (all of which was previously addressed)); and
wherein the second device (previously mapped to the base station) is configured to (addressed below)
determine the receiving time unit in the frame structure (figs. 1-18, where determining of the ‘receiving time unit’ within the frame structure may occur within Establish/Configure Communications step/function 320 of figure 3 between at least the BS and the IRS device); and
send the setting instruction based on the receiving time unit (previously addressed and/or readily apparent).
With regards to claim 15, Li teaches the limitations of claim 13 above.
Li further teaches wherein the second device (previously addressed and mapped to the BS) is further configured to (addressed below):
send information about at least one time unit in the frame structure (figs. 1-18: see fig. 3 downlink transmission 340 in which the BS sets/selects the ‘second set of parameters’ (i.e. reflection coefficients) of the IRS (which are received and implemented by IRS) for future reflection/relay time periods/units of the IRS, see [0109+0110] and [0120+0121].
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 16, Li teaches the limitations of claim 15 above.
Li further teaches wherein the at least one time unit comprises the reflection time unit (figs. 1-18: see fig. 3 downlink transmission 340 in which the BS sets/selects the ‘second set of parameters’ (i.e. reflection coefficients) of the IRS (which are received and implemented by IRS) for future reflection/relay time periods/units of the IRS, see [0109+0110] and [0120+0121].
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent), and information about the reflection time unit is carried in the setting instruction (figs. 1-18: see fig. 3 downlink transmission 340 in which the BS sets/selects the ‘second set of parameters’ (i.e. reflection coefficients) of the IRS (which are received and implemented by IRS) for future reflection/relay time periods/units of the IRS, see [0109+0110] and [0120+0121].
The remaining limitations were previously addressed and/or are readily apparent).
With regards to claim 19, Li teaches the limitations of claim 13 above.
Li further teaches wherein the first device comprises a plurality of reflection units, and each reflection unit is configured to adjust a parameter of a signal (figs. 1-18: the first device was previously mapped to the IRS relay device, where the IRS device includes a plurality of reflection elements/units [0097] and each of the reflection units/elements adjusts at least the reflection angle of the reflected beam/signal between the BS and UE, also see [0097], [0109+0110], and [0120+0121]. Where the reflection units/elements of the IRS are updated/adjusted by the BS via the updated reflection coefficients of ‘second set of parameters’ (as previously addressed)); and
wherein the setting instruction comprise: adjustment information of at least one reflection unit of the plurality of reflection units for the parameter of the signal (figs. 1-18: the first device was previously mapped to the IRS relay device, where the IRS device includes a plurality of reflection elements/units [0097] and each of the reflection units/elements adjusts at least the reflection angle of the reflected beam/signal between the BS and UE, also see [0097], [0109+0110], and [0120+0121]. Where the reflection units/elements of the IRS are updated/adjusted by the BS via the updated reflection coefficients of ‘second set of parameters’ (as previously addressed)).
With regards to claim 20, Li teaches the limitations of claim 19 above.
Li further teaches wherein the parameter of the signal (previously addressed) comprises:
at least one of a phase, an amplitude, an angle of reflection (figs. 1-18: the first device was previously mapped to the IRS relay device, where the IRS device includes a plurality of reflection elements/units [0097] and each of the reflection units/elements adjusts at least the reflection angle of the reflected beam/signal between the BS and UE, also see [0097], [0109+0110], and [0120+0121]. Where the reflection units/elements of the IRS are updated/adjusted by the BS via the updated reflection coefficients of ‘second set of parameters’ (as previously addressed)), an angle of arrival, an angle of offset, a quantity of beams, or a beam angle (Note that the other alterative/options are NOT given patentable weight due to the phrase “at least one of” and/or the “OR” statement).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-6, 8, 11-12, 14, and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and are cited in the attached PTO-892 form.
/JAMES M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635 3/21/2026