DETAILED ACTION
The amendment to the claims filed after non-final office action on June 24, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7 and 14 were amended, claims 1-6, 8-13, 19-23 were canceled and claims 7, 14-18 are pending in the instant application. The restriction was deemed proper and made final previous office action.
Claims 15-18 are withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected species/invention. Claims 7 and 14 are examined on the merits of this office action.
Withdrawn Rejections/Objections
The objection of claims 7 is withdrawn in view of amendment of the claims filed June 24, 2026.
The rejection of claims 7-9 and 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn in view of amendment of the claims filed June 24, 2026.
Maintained/Revised Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 14 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20020151679 A1) in view of Schweizer (European Journal of Pharmacology 625 (2009) 190–194).
Kim teaches alloferon peptides having immunomodulatory activity, including peptides comprising His-gly-val-ser-gly-his-gly-gln-his-gly-val-his gly which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:1 and related variants (see claims 1 and 7). Kim further teaches that such peptides may include variants in amino acid residues and sequence length, thereby encompassing the alloferon peptide sequence recited in instant claim 7. Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches that the alloferon peptide is the active ingredient (see claims 7, 10-11).
Kim is silent to wherein the sequence is substituted with D-amino acids.
However, Schweizer teaches cationic amphiphilic peptides (CAPs), including alloferon peptides (table 1, page 192, right column, first paragraph) and teaches that modification of peptides by partial or complete substitution of L-amino acids with D-amino acids improves resistance to proteolytic degradation while retaining biological activity (see page 192, section 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the alloferon peptides of Kim by substituting one or more amino acids with corresponding D-amino acids, as taught by Schweizer, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the stability and pharmacokinetic properties of the peptide while maintaining its biological activity. Furthermore, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success, as Schweizer expressly teaches that such substitutions retain activity in similar peptides.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to substitute L-amino acids with their known more stable equivalents (D-amino acids) to obtain predictable results (enhanced proteolytic resistance) which constitutes simple substitution of one known element for another (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claims 7, The combination of Kim and Schweizer teach partial or complete substitution of L amino acids with D-amino acids and thus, full substitution would meet the limitations of claim 7. Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kim and Schweizer render obvious the alloferon peptide with all D-amino acids in a pharmaceutical formulation for use as an active agent in treating numerous conditions (see abstract).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that Schweizer is directed to membranolytic peptides, not receptor mediated peptides like alloferon. Therefore its teachings are inapplicable.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. Schweizer is no relied upon for the specific biological mechanism of the peptides disclosed therein. Rather, Schweizer is relied upon for the general teaching that partial or complete substitution of L-amino acids with corresponding D-amino acids improves resistance to proteolytic degradation while retaining biological activity. The teaching is not limited to any single peptide sequence. Kim provides the specific alloferon peptide. Schweizer provides the modification technique. The combination merely applies a known modification to a known peptide to obtain the predictable benefit of improved stability.
Applicant argues Alloferon is receptor mediated and thus, D-substitution would destroy the activity of receptor binding. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
This argument is attorney argument unsupported by objective evidence (see MPEP 716.01(c)). Although applicant asserts that receptor mediated peptides would lose activity following complete D-substitution, Applicant has not provided experimental evidence demonstrating that a person of ordinary skill would have expected failure in the claimed peptide. Schweizer expressly teaches that complete substitution with D-amino acids may retain biological activity while improving stability. Therefore, the reference provides a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant argues that scientists would instead design retro inverso-peptides rather than simple all D peptides. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. The existence of alternative peptide design strategies does not negate the obviousness of another expressly taught modification. Schweizer specifically teaches partial or complete substitution with D-amino acids. The fact that others may also employ retro inverso peptides does not discourage the skill artisan from using the modification expressly suggested by Schweizer. A reference need not teach the preferred modification, only one that would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant argues that Schweizer teaches away because alloferon acts through NK-cell stimulation. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. MPEP 2143.01 states “The court stated that "the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed…." Applicant has not identified any disclosure in Schweizer stating that complete D-substitution should not be applied to receptor mediated peptides or to alloferon specifically. Merely recognizing that alloferon acts through NK lymphocytes does not constitute a teaching away from D-amino acid substitution.
Applicant argues that the claimed peptide has unexpected therapeutic properties for neurodegenerative diseases. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. Claims 7 and 14 are directed to the peptide and compositions comprising the peptide. The claims do not require treatment of Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, enhancement of autophagy, or clearance of protein aggregates. Accordingly, the alleged unexpected therapeutic properties are not persuasive evidence of nonobviousness of the presently claimed subject matter. Furthermore, evidence of unexpected results must compare the claimed invention with the closest prior art. In the present case, the closest prior art is Kim’s L alloferon peptide. Applicant has not provided comparative evidence demonstrating that the claimed all D alloferon peptide exhibits unexpected properties relative to the corresponding L alloferon peptide. Accordingly, the alleged unexpected results are not commensurate with the closest prior art and are insufficient to overcome the prima facie case of obviousness.
Double Patenting
Claims 7 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of Copending Application No. 18/870226(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims “A modified alloferon peptide in which at least one amino acid of an alloferon peptide having an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 is substituted with a D-form amino acid” (see claim 7). The instant application claims wherein all amino acids are in D-form (claim 10) which also encompasses claims 8-9, 13; and compositions thereof (claims 14 and 24).
Copending Application No. 18/870226 claims a peptide comprising SEQ ID NO:1 which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:1 and that the amino acids can all be L-form or D-form (see claims 1-12 and also sequence listing for SEQ ID NO:1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues “the subsequent '226 application is directed to a separate "long-form" variant where only a specific, limited subset of amino acids is substituted with D-forms. Because the captioned application holds priority of filing, Applicants intend to resolve any potential overlap or patentable indistinctness "by amending the claims of the subsequent '226 application." Specifically, Applicants plan to introduce amendments in the '226 application to restrict its claims to the precise, specific amino acid sequences and distinct arrangement of D-substitutions unique to that later invention. By amending the subsequent application to clearly and patentably distinguish its scope from the foundational core sequence of the captioned application, any provisional double patenting concerns will be completely and properly obviated. Accordingly, given that the present claims are structurally distinct and belong to the senior application, Applicants respectfully request that this provisional rejection be withdrawn or be held in abeyance until the claims in the '226 application are amended.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on the claims presently pending in the instant application and the copending application. Applicant’s stated intent to amend the claims of the copending application at a future date is speculative and does not overcome the present rejection. Until such amendments are entered and the claims are patentably distinct, the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is properly maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERINNE R DABKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654