Detailed Action
Claims 7-24 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected without traverse Group 2 (claims 7-14) drawn to a modified Alloferon and without traverse SEQ ID NO:1 with all D-amino acids in the response filed February 17, 2026. Please note that Applicant elected the peptide listed in claim 10 which is actually wherein all the amino acids are in their D-form. However, Applicants also stated in the response (except glycine) however, claim 10 claims all D-amino acids. Thus, the election of species will be interpreted as the peptide of claim 10 which requires all amino acids be in their D-form.
The restriction is deemed proper and is made FINAL in this office action. Claims 11-12, 15-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected
invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 7-10, 13-14 and 24 are examined on the merits of this office action.
Claim Objection
Claim 7 is objected to for the following informality: Based on Applicant’s specification, it is suggested that claim 7 be amended as follows: “A modified alloferon peptide in which at least one amino acid of an alloferon peptide having an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 is substituted with the corresponding D-form of the amino acid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Scope of the Claims
Claim 7 is directed to a modified alloferon peptide comprising SEQ ID NO: 1, wherein at least one amino acid is substituted with a D-form amino acid. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this language encompasses substitution of any amino acid residue at any position in the peptide with any D-amino acid, including D-amino acids having side chains different from the original residue (i.e., sequence variants). Dependent claims 11 and 12 further recite specific substitution patterns, including substitution of all amino acids except selected residues (e.g., histidines or specific positional residues). These claims encompass peptides having defined combinations of substituted and unsubstituted residues across the full length of the sequence. Accordingly, the claims encompass a broad genus of peptide variants given that SEQ ID NO:1 can be completely substituted with any d-amino acids.
Actual Reduction to Practice
The specification provides examples of modified alloferon peptides in which amino acid residues are substituted with the corresponding D-form of the same amino acid. The examples include partial substitutions (i.e., substitution at one or more positions with the corresponding D-amino acid), and full substitutions (i.e., substitution of all residues with their corresponding D-enantiomers). However, the specification does not describe or exemplify substitution of an amino acid residue with a different amino acid (i.e. variants of SEQ ID NO:1 with D-amino acids).
Sufficient Relevant Identifying Characteristics
To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed genus, including through disclosure of sufficient relevant identifying characteristics such as sequence, structure, or a representative number of species.
In the instant application, the specification discloses peptides in which amino acid residues are converted from L- to D-configuration while maintaining the same amino acid identity. However, the claims (particularly claim 7 under its broadest reasonable interpretation) encompass substitution with any D-amino acid (changing the sequence of SEQ ID NO:1). The specification lacks identification of amino acid positions amenable to substitution with different residues, description of structural features common to variants across the full scope of substitutions, and a representative number of species spanning substitutions involving different amino acid identities. Accordingly, the specification does not provide sufficient identifying characteristics to demonstrate possession of the full scope of the claimed genus.
Physical and/or Chemical Properties
The specification does not describe physical or chemical properties of peptides that would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize which amino acid substitutions (particularly substitutions involving different amino acid identities) would be operable across the full scope of the claims. While stereochemical inversion (L→D) may affect stability or protease resistance, the specification does not provide guidance regarding how substitution with different D-amino acids (i.e., different side chains) would impact peptide structure, folding, or interactions. Thus, the specification does not provide a unifying set of physical or chemical characteristics applicable across the full breadth of claimed substitutions.
Functional Characteristics Coupled with Known or Disclosed Correlation Between Structure and Function
The specification does not establish a correlation between structure and function that would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to predict which substitutions across the claimed scope would retain the desired biological activity. In particular, the specification does not demonstrate that substitution with different amino acid residues (i.e., variants) would maintain function. There is no structure-function relationship is provided linking specific residues or positions to functional tolerance for substitution, and the examples are limited to corresponding L to D substitutions, which do not reasonably represent the broader genus of variants encompassed by the claims.
Accordingly, the specification does not provide functional characteristics correlated with structure sufficient to support the full scope of the claims.
Method of Making
Although methods for synthesizing peptides and incorporating D-amino acids are generally known in the art, the ability to make peptides falling within the scope of the claims does not, by itself, demonstrate possession of the claimed subject matter. The specification does not provide guidance for selecting appropriate substitutions across the full scope of the claims, particularly substitutions involving different amino acid identities. Thus, the disclosure of methods of making does not cure the lack of written description support for the claimed genus.
Conclusion
In view of the above, the specification does not reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession of the full scope of the claimed invention at the time of filing. Specifically, the claims encompass substitution of amino acid residues with any D-amino acid, including those having different side chains, whereas the specification is limited to substitution with the corresponding D-form of the same amino acid and does not provide sufficient guidance, representative species, or structure-function correlation to support the broader scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10, 13-14 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20020151679 A1) in view of Schweizer (European Journal of Pharmacology 625 (2009) 190–194).
Kim teaches alloferon peptides having immunomodulatory activity, including peptides comprising His-gly-val-ser-gly-his-gly-gln-his-gly-val-his gly which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:1 and related variants (see claims 1 and 7). Kim further teaches that such peptides may include variants in amino acid residues and sequence length, thereby encompassing the alloferon peptide sequence recited in instant claim 7. Kim is silent to wherein the sequence is substituted with a D-form amino acid (or any D-amino acids within the sequence). Regarding claims 14 and 24, Kim teaches that the alloferon peptide is the active ingredient (see claims 7, 10-11).
However, Schweizer teaches cationic amphiphilic peptides (CAPs), including alloferon peptides (table 1, page 192, right column, first paragraph) and teaches that modification of peptides by partial or complete substitution of L-amino acids with D-amino acids improves resistance to proteolytic degradation while retaining biological activity (see page 192, section 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the alloferon peptides of Kim by substituting one or more amino acids with corresponding D-amino acids, as taught by Schweizer, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the stability and pharmacokinetic properties of the peptide while maintaining its biological activity. Furthermore, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success, as Schweizer expressly teaches that such substitutions retain activity in similar peptides.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to substitute L-amino acids with their known more stable equivalents (D-amino acids) to obtain predictable results (enhanced proteolytic resistance) which constitutes simple substitution of one known element for another (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claims 8-10, 13, the peptide of Kim has four histidine residues. The combination of Kim and Schweizer teach partial or complete substitution of L amino acids with D-amino acids and thus, full substitution would meet the limitations of claims 8-10 and 13. Regarding claims 14 and 24, the combination of Kim and Schweizer render obvious the alloferon peptide with all D-amino acids in a pharmaceutical formulation for use as an active agent in treating numerous conditions (see abstract).
Double Patenting
Claims 7-10, 13-14, 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of Copending Application No. 18/870226(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims “A modified alloferon peptide in which at least one amino acid of an alloferon peptide having an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 is substituted with a D-form amino acid” (see claim 7). The instant application claims wherein all amino acids are in D-form (claim 10) which also encompasses claims 8-9, 13; and compositions thereof (claims 14 and 24).
Copending Application No. 18/870226 claims a peptide comprising SEQ ID NO:1 which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:1 and that the amino acids can all be L-form or D-form (see claims 112 and also sequence listing for SEQ ID NO:1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ERINNE R DABKOWSKI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1654