DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 1/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS’ filed 2/1/2024, 9/4/2024, and 2/13/2026 have been considered by examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there are two different figures labeled Fig. 3C. Furthermore, paragraph [0052] of the filed specification refers to a Fig. 3D; however, there is no figure in the drawings labeled Fig. 3D.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 556 in Fig. 9A, 824 in Fig. 13A, 954 in Fig. 14B, and 972 in Fig. 14C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paik et al. (US 2010/0151301, hereinafter "Paik").
Regarding claim 1, Paik teaches a battery with a cooling hole extending through opposing sides of the battery (“hollow battery cell”) [Abstract, “The battery includes: a frame; an electrode assembly disposed around the frame; a main body to house the electrode assembly … A cooling hole extends through opposing sides of the main body”, Paik Figs. 1-2]. The battery comprises a main body (100) (“enclosure”) including two side walls (30) and a case (40) (“side walls”) [0044, Paik Fig. 2]. When the battery depicted in Paik’s Fig. 2 is rotated, the surfaces on which the side walls are disposed may constitute a top surface and a bottom surface.
1: Paik Fig. 2, rotated
The battery further includes a cooling hole (H1) (“hollow center tube”) including a frame (10) (“side wall”) passing through the top and bottom surfaces [Paik Fig. 2, 0040, “A cooling hole H1 extends through the main body 100 in a lateral direction (X-axis direction), through the center of the main body 100, 0044, “The frame 10 at least partially defines the cooling hole H1”]. The battery also includes an electrode assembly (20) (“roll”) including anode plates (3) and cathode plates (9) (“electrodes”) and separating layers (6) (“separators”) [0048, “the electrode assembly 20 includes anode plates 3, cathode plates 9, and separating layers 6 disposed therebetween. The anode plates 3, the separating layers 6, and the cathode plates 9 may be wound into a jellyroll-type shape”]. The electrode assembly is arranged between an outer surface of the frame defining the cooling hole and the case [Paik Figs. 2 and 5B, 0052, “the electrode assembly 20 is formed around the frame 10, by using the frame 10 as a roll core”].
Further regarding claim 2, Paik teaches that the main body may have a circular cross-section (“cylindrical shape”) [0057, “The main body 100 may also be formed so as to be ovoid or circular in cross-section”].
Further regarding claim 3, Paik teaches that the frame, which defines the cooling hole, may be cylindrical, i.e. have a circular cross-section [0042, “The frame 10 may be rectangular, cylindrical, or the like, in cross-section”].
Further regarding claim 4, Paik teaches that the cooling hole extends through the main body in a lateral direction [0040]. Furthermore, Paik teaches that each of the side walls, which may be disposed on the top and bottom, surfaces, may include a hole that at least partially defines the cooling hole, therefore the cooling hole may pass through the top surface and the bottom surface of the main body [Paik Fig. 2, 0044, “Each of the side walls 30 may include a hole that at least partially defines the cooling hole H1].
Further regarding claim 5, Paik teaches that the side walls (“cap”) disposed on the top and bottom surfaces of the main body are attached to the case and the frame [0044, “each of the side walls 30 may be welded to the case 40 and the frame 10”].
Further regarding claim 6, Paik teaches that the main body may have a prismatic shape [0040, “The main body 100 may be prismatic”].
Regarding claim 7, Paik teaches the battery of claim 6 as described in the rejection of instant claim 6. Paik also teaches that the frame, which defines the cooling hole, may be cylindrical, or circular, in cross section [0042, “The frame 10 may be rectangular, cylindrical, or the like, in cross-section”].
Regarding claim 8, Paik teaches the battery of claim 6 as described in the rejection of instant claim 6. Paik also teaches that the cooling hole extends through the main body in a lateral direction [0040]. Furthermore, Paik teaches that each of the side walls, which may be disposed on the top and bottom, surfaces, may include a hole that at least partially defines the cooling hole, therefore the cooling hole may pass through the top surface and the bottom surface of the main body [Paik Fig. 2, 0044, “Each of the side walls 30 may include a hole that at least partially defines the cooling hole H1].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 5-7 of copending Application No. 18/325,515 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of '515 recites all the limitations of instant claim 1 including a hollow battery cell comprising an enclosure including a top surface, a bottom surface, and a sidewall; a hollow center tube including a side wall, wherein the hollow center tube passes through at least one of the top surface and the bottom surface; and a roll including electrode and separator layers arranged between an outer surface of the hollow center tube and the enclosure.
Claim 2 of ‘515 recites all the limitations of instant claims 2 and 3 including the enclosure having a cylindrical shape and the hollow center tube having a circular cross section.
Claim 3 of ‘515 recites all the limitations of instant claim 4 including the hollow center tube passing through the top surface and bottom surface of the enclosure.
Claim 5 of ‘515 recites all the limitations of instant claim 5 including at least one of the top surface and the bottom surface comprising a cap attached to the side wall of the enclosure and the hollow center tube.
Claim 6 of ‘515 recites all the limitations of instant claims 6 and 7 including the enclosure having a prismatic shape, and the hollow center tube having a rounded rectangular cross section.
Claim 7 of ‘515 recites all the limitations of instant claim 8 including the hollow center tube passing through the top surface and bottom surface of the enclosure.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/M.F.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729