DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 6/1/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the drawings have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 3/11/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 101728493, referring to examiner provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Cheng") in view of Viehbeck et al. (DE 102021121017, referring to examiner provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Viehbeck").
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a battery (“hollow battery cell”) including a housing (“enclosure”) including a hollow outer shell and an electrode/battery assembly and at least one hollow tube located within a central cavity of the electrode assembly (“hollow center tube”) [0009]. The outer shell (1) includes a casing body (13) (“side walls”) with an upper end face (“top surface”) and a lower end face (“bottom surface”) [Chen Figs. 1 and 3, 0041]. Fig. 2 of Chen shows that the hollow tube has side walls (3) passing through both the upper and lower end faces to form openings (14) [0040]. The battery further includes a positive electrode (4) (“positive terminal”) and a negative electrode (5) (“negative terminal”) electrically connected to a cell (“roll”) of the electrode assembly [0050]. Figs. 1-11 of Chen show that the both the positive and negative electrode being disposed on a surface of the outer shell through which the hollow tube passes. The cell is wound and located between an outer surface of the hollow tube and the outer shell [Chen Fig. 10, 0049, “the hollow tube 3 is located inside the central cavity of the electrode assembly”, 0050, “The central cavity of the battery assembly is the inner diameter A formed by winding the cell 2”]. Chen does not specifically teach that the cell includes one or more electrodes and separators.
Viehbeck teaches analogous art of a battery cell (100) comprising a cylindrical cell housing (130) (“enclosure”) with a hollow cylinder and a rod (120) (“hollow center tube”) extending along the longitudinal axis of the hollow cylinder [Viehbeck Fig. 1A, 0034]. Viehbeck teaches that the rod may be designed as a hollow cylinder [0046]. Viehbeck also teaches that the battery cell comprises an electrode winding (110) (“roll”) comprising at least one electrode of a first electrical polarity and at least one electrode of a second electrical polarity opposite to the first polarity, separated from each other by at least one separator [0035]. Viehbeck teaches that the electrode winding is arranged in the hollow cylinder of the cylindrical cell housing around the longitudinal axis of the rod, or between the outer surface of the rod and the cylindrical cell housing [Viehbeck Fig. 1A, 0035]. Viehbeck also teaches that the electrodes are connected to electrical contact elements (“terminals”) [0035].
Both Chen and Viehbeck teach batteries or battery cells which are intended to convert chemical energy into electrical energy [Chen 0004, Viehbeck 0012].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the known electrode winding comprising at least two electrodes and a separator of Viehbeck for the cell of Chen, and the results of this substitution, i.e. providing a battery that can convert chemical energy into electrical energy, would have been predictable [see MPEP 2143(I)(B)].
Further regarding claim 2, Chen teaches that the outer shell may be a hollow cylindrical tube [Chen Figs. 1-3, 0013].
Further regarding claim 3, Chen teaches that the hollow tube may have a cylindrical shape, meaning that it would have a circular cross-section [Chen Figs. 1-3, 0044].
Further regarding claim 4, Chen teaches that the hollow tube passes through the upper end face and the lower end face of the casing body [Chen Figs. 1-3, 0041].
Further regarding claim 5, Chen teaches that the outer shell further comprises an upper cover (11) and a lower cover (12) (“cap”) attached to the casing body and the openings of the hollow tube at the upper and lower end faces of the casing body [Chen Figs. 1-2, 0041].
Further regarding claim 6, Chen teaches that the outer shell may have a square (“prismatic”) shape [Chen Fig. 4, 0013].
Further regarding claim 7, Chen teaches that the hollow tube may have a cylindrical or a rounded square (“rectangular”) shape [Chen Figs. 1-3 and 8, 0014].
Further regarding claim 8, Chen teaches that the hollow tube has openings at both ends [0009], and that an upper cover and lower cover of the outer shell, disposed on the upper and lower end faces of the casing body, respectively, have through holes connected to the openings, therefore the hollow tube passes through the upper and lower end faces of the casing body [Chen Figs. 4-5, 0012].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729