Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 13-16, filed 04/07/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 40 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The amendments to the claim have overcome the 112 rejections. The rejection of claim 40 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 16-27, filed 04/07/2026, regarding the rejection of claim 1 in particular under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 17 that the first Bonefas reference, Bonefas US 8649940 B2 (“Bonefas_1”), does not teach and does not render obvious the element “a cart and/or vehicle with one or more computers configured to: use the one or more communication interfaces [of the cart and/or vehicle] to receive two or more container identifications.” Applicant supports this argument on page 18 by stating that “[t]here is no rational underpinning provided to support the conclusory assertion that it would have been obvious to replicate the functionality of the transferring vehicle in the receiving vehicle of Bonefas_1. This is in spite of the reasoning described in page 6 of the previous office action, cited by the applicant, to include the potential advantage of allowing the filled grain cart to find and transfer the grain to a larger, possibly stationary container and allow the emptied cart to receive more grain from the combine harvester, along with the applicant’s admission on page 18 that it is always necessary in a harvesting operation to periodically unload a cart receiving material so that the cart can take on more material from the harvester, which confirms that it is not hindsight bias to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 in such a manner. While this admission alone would refute the applicant’s claim of hindsight bias, the examiner would also like to point out that the combination of elements in Bonefas_1 is also supported by the fact that duplicating the elements of the tractor in Bonefas_1 onto the receiving cart is mere duplication of parts, which, according to MPEP 2144.04 and the court in In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Applicant further argues that Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck do not teach the amended claim language regarding the first and second GPS locations of the vehicle and/or cart and container. However, Affleck teaches that each load record of each railcar can include a GPS location [paragraph 55], while Bonefas_2 teaches that the GPS location of the first vehicle is used to determine the location of the vehicle and for route navigation. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, see pages 24-27 one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant further argues on page 27 that Affleck does not teach the element “selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart considering a volume of the material in the hopper of the cart and the remaining capacities of the containers identified by the two or more container identifications” on the grounds that the weight of the grain in a railcar is obtained and updated after the railcar has been selected. However, as shown in FIG. 8, the weight measurement is obtained first at 302, then a railcar is selected at 306, which completely refutes this argument. Applicant then argues that there is no rational motivation presented to combine Bonefas_1 and Affleck to cover this element, even though a clear reason to combine is included in page 9 of the previous office action. Selecting from one or more container identifications would make sense if containers are meant to hold different materials, and selecting between different containers based on weight and capacity would also be obvious so as to avoid overflowing the railcars. Claims 17 and 31 are also rejected for the same reasons as claim 1, and the claims dependent from claims 1, 17, and 31, which have not been amended except to overcome the previous 112 rejections, are also rejected in light of the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, 14-17, 31, 37-39 and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonefas US 8649940 B2 (“Bonefas_1”) in view of Bonefas US 20140311113 A1 (“Bonefas_2”) and Affleck US 20150023767 A1 (“Affleck”).
Regarding Claim 1. Bonefas_1 teaches a system comprising:
a cart (FIG. 5, the cart shown and labeled at 85), wherein the cart includes a hopper (the container at 85) configured to receive material from a discharge end of an offloading conveyor of a combine harvester (the spout labeled at 89, the spout end at 87 [FIG. 5]); and
a vehicle configured to tow the cart (the vehicle at 75, FIG. 5), wherein the vehicle and/or the cart comprise;
one or more vehicle components, wherein the one or more vehicle components comprise a power source, a steering component, a braking component, an acceleration component, a prime mover, and/or an engine (FIG. 1, numbers 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, and 40. FIG. 3 shows a similar system, but FIG. 3’s steering system at 30, steering controller at 32, braking system at 34, braking controller at 36, propulsion system at 38, and propulsion controller at 40 are part of the receiving vehicle [Column 2, lines 5-7, FIG. 3]. These structures can be spread out across the propelled portion (the vehicle) or the storage portion (the cart), wherein either one can include the second location determining receiver at 142 and the second wireless communications device at 148 [Column 8, lines 52-67, Column 9, lines 1-3], along with a steering controller at 32, a steering system at 30, braking controller at 36 wherein the device at 148 is intended to communicate with the device at 48);
a vehicle controller (FIG. 3, number 32);
a location and/or navigation system (FIG. 3, location determining receiver at 142);
one or more communication interfaces (FIG. 3, number 148); and
one or more computers configured to:
use the one or more communication interfaces to receive two or more container identifications (Column 4, lines 55-67, wherein the receiving vehicle transmits the identifier), wherein the two or more container identifications identify two or more containers, respectively, each of the two or more containers is separate from the cart and separate from the combine harvester (FIG. 5. In this case, the vehicle transmitting grain is not the same vehicle that is receiving grain referred to as “the cart.” However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replicate the method of identifying containers included in the mobile farm implement at 91 of FIG. 5 with the receiving vehicle for distributing grain to another container, as this would allow the filled grain cart to find and transfer the grain to a larger, possibly stationary container and allow the emptied cart to receive more grain from the combine harvester. If the receiving vehicle can be arranged as a receiving cart and a propulsion portion, such as a tractor, than the transferring vehicle can just as easily be arranged as a propulsion vehicle and a storage cart. It is simply a matter of mounting the grain conveyor equipment and related components onto the receiving vehicle tractor/cart combination of FIG. 5, which also covers the element of “each of the one or more containers is separate from the cart and separate from the combine harvester”. Further, the receiving vehicles are transmitting information about container identification to the transferring vehicles, which indicates that the transferring vehicle is capable of receiving the container identification information. Additionally, In yet another embodiment, the receiving vehicle transmits its vehicle identifier to the transferring vehicle when the receiving vehicle approaches the transferring vehicle within a certain radial distance. In still another embodiment, only one known configuration of receiving vehicle is used with a corresponding transferring vehicle and the container reference data is stored or saved in the data storage device 10. In the latter embodiment, the transferring vehicle is programmed, at least temporarily, solely for receiving vehicles with identical containers, which are identical in dimensions, capacity, proportion and shape [Column 4, lines 63-67, Column 5, lines 1-6], which means two or more containers and identifications for two or more containers can be received), and each of the two or more container identifications includes a location (Column 4, lines 28-54) and a remaining capacity of the identified by the container identification (Column 7, lines 59-67, Column 8 lines 1-13);
wherein unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering a volume of the material in the hopper of the cart and the remaining capacities of the containers identified by the two or more container identifications (Column 7, lines 59-67, Column 8 lines 1-13);
use the location and/or navigation system to determine a location of the cart (Column 6, lines 57-67, Column 7, lines 1-6);
use the location and/or navigation system to determine a route from the location of the cart to a location of the selected container (Column 5, lines 30-54); and
cause the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart to the location of the selected container on the determined route (Column 6, lines 57-67, Column 7, lines 1-6).
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
use the location and/or navigation system to determine a first GPS location of the vehicle and/or the cart;
each of the two or more container identifications includes a global positioning system (GPS) location of a container of the two or more containers, and
the determine route is between the first GPS location and the second GPS location.
However, Bonefas_2 teaches:
use the location and/or navigation system to determine a first GPS location of the vehicle and/or the cart (In step S1101, a GPS receiver mounted on the tractor transmits GPS location coordinates on tractor CAN bus. A controller on the tractor CAN bus that is connected to a wireless communications transceiver reads the tractor motion dynamics (GPS location, GPS heading, and yaw (turn) rate) from the CAN bus and transmits the motion dynamics data using the wireless transmitter [paragraph 49]);
each of the two or more container identifications includes a global positioning system (GPS) location of a container of the two or more containers (A container identification module identifies a set of two-dimensional or three dimensional points (e.g., in Cartesian coordinates or Polar coordinates) in the real world that define at least a portion of the container perimeter (e.g., front edge or rear edge) of the storage portion (e.g., cart 4 in FIG. 1). The set of two-dimensional or three dimensional points correspond to pixel positions in images collected by the first imaging device 10, the second imaging device 12, or both. The container identification module 20 may use or retrieve container reference data [paragraph 26 of the PGPUB]. The container reference data comprises one or more of the following: reference dimensions, reference shape, drawings, models, layout, and configuration of the container 4, such as the container perimeter, the container edges; reference dimensions, reference shape, drawings, models, layout, and configuration of the entire storage portion 4 of receiving vehicle 6; storage portion wheelbase, storage portion turning radius, storage portion hitch configuration of the storage portion 4 of the receiving vehicle 6. The container reference data may be stored by, retrievable by, or indexed by a corresponding receiving vehicle identifier in the data storage device 19 of the harvesting vehicle system 11. For each receiving vehicle identifier, there can be a corresponding unique container reference data stored therewith in the data storage device 19 [paragraph 27 of the PGPUB]. In one embodiment, the harvesting vehicle 2 receives a data message from the receiving vehicle 6 in which a vehicle identifier of the receiving vehicle is regularly (e.g., periodically transmitted). In another embodiment, the harvesting vehicle 2 interrogates the receiving vehicle 6 for its vehicle identifier or establishes a communications channel between the harvesting vehicle 2 and the receiving vehicle 6 in preparation for unloading via the wireless communication devices (48, 148). In yet another embodiment, the receiving vehicle 6 transmits its vehicle identifier to the harvesting vehicle 2 when the receiving vehicle 6 approaches the harvesting vehicle 2 within a certain radial distance [paragraph 28 of the PGPUB]), and
the determine route is between the first GPS location and the second GPS location (in step S1104, the steering angle and ground speed suitable for the tractor to position itself releative to the combine such that the tractor and combine are suitably positioned for unloading is determined by the control algorithm [paragraph 52], after determining the position of the tractor by GPS [paragraph 49], and the machine sync system also tracks the location of the tractor and combine by exchanging GPS coordinates via wireless communications between the two vehicles [paragraph 89], shown in step S603 of FIG. 6 to calculate the proper offset between the two vehicles, meaning that the route is determined at least in part by both GPS locations [paragraph 126]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with use the location and/or navigation system to determine a first GPS location of the vehicle and/or the cart; each of the two or more container identifications includes a global positioning system (GPS) location of a container of the two or more containers, and the determine route is between the first GPS location and the second GPS location as taught by Bonefas_2, in part because the references are directly related, and because using a GPS to locate the containers is an application of a known method in the art to produce a predictable result. Bonefas_1 even mentions that GPS could be used to maintain proper spacing between two vehicles during the unloading or transferring of an agricultural material between the vehicles [Column 1, lines 22-31], so this method was known in the art at the time of invention.
Bonefas_1 also does not teach:
use the received two or more container identifications to select a container for loading material from the hopper of the cart, and wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart considering a volume of the material in the hopper of the cart and the remaining capacities of the containers identified by the two or more container identifications.
However, Affleck teaches:
use the received two or more container identifications to select a container for loading material from the hopper of the cart (FIGS. 8 and 9, paragraph 68), and wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart considering a volume of the material in the hopper of the cart and the remaining capacities of the containers identified by the two or more container identifications (FIG. 8 explicitly shows how the weight measurement of a crop stored in a storage container is used to determine which storage container the crop is to be unloaded into).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with use the received two or more container identifications to select a container for loading material from the hopper of the cart, and wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart considering a volume of the material in the hopper of the cart and the remaining capacities of the containers identified by the two or more container identifications as taught by Affleck so as to allow the transferring vehicle to select from a number of containers which container to deposit the crop material, especially if different containers are meant to hold different materials.
Additionally, and in the alternative, Affleck also teaches:
use the one or more communication interfaces to receive two or more container identifications, wherein the two or more container identifications identify two or more containers, respectively (FIGS. 8 and 9, paragraph 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with use the one or more communication interfaces to receive two or more container identifications, wherein the two or more container identifications identify two or more containers, respectively as taught by Affleck so as to allow the system to work with more than one receiving container for crop material.
Regarding Claim 12. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the system of claim 4.
Bonefas_1 also teaches:
wherein selecting the container for unloading material from the hopper of the cart comprises selecting one or more containers identified by the container identifications such that the remaining capacities of the selected one or more containers would be completely filled by the material in the hopper of the cart (Column 7, lines 59-67, Column 8 lines 1-13, Column 18, lines 6-39).
Regarding Claim 14. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the system of claim 1.
Bonefas_1 also teaches:
wherein the one or more computers are further configured to obtain one or more container indications for the selected container, wherein the container indications identify a container opening size, and/or container position (Column 4, lines 28-54).
Regarding Claim 15. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the system of claim 1.
Bonefas_1 also teaches:
wherein the one or more computers are further configured to use the one or more communication interfaces to communicate a weight of the material in the hopper of the cart (Column 7, lines 59-67, Column 8, lines 1-13).
Regarding Claim 16. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the system of claim 1.
Bonefas_1 also teaches:
further comprising one or more sensors, wherein the one or more computers are configured to:
use the location and/or navigation system (FIG. 1, location determining receiver at 42) and/or the one or more sensors (imaging device(s) can be stereo camera(s) [Column 2, lines 30-38]) to determine whether the cart is near the location of the selected container (FIG. 9, the alignment module at 24 of FIG. 1, Column 5, lines 30-54); and
if the cart is determined to be near the location of the selected container, cause the vehicle controller to control the one or more vehicle components to stop the cart (Column 5, lines 30-54).
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
the location of the selected container is the second GPS location.
However, Bonefas_2 teaches:
the location of the selected container is the second GPS location (A container identification module identifies a set of two-dimensional or three dimensional points (e.g., in Cartesian coordinates or Polar coordinates) in the real world that define at least a portion of the container perimeter (e.g., front edge or rear edge) of the storage portion (e.g., cart 4 in FIG. 1). The set of two-dimensional or three dimensional points correspond to pixel positions in images collected by the first imaging device 10, the second imaging device 12, or both. The container identification module 20 may use or retrieve container reference data [paragraph 26 of the PGPUB]. The container reference data comprises one or more of the following: reference dimensions, reference shape, drawings, models, layout, and configuration of the container 4, such as the container perimeter, the container edges; reference dimensions, reference shape, drawings, models, layout, and configuration of the entire storage portion 4 of receiving vehicle 6; storage portion wheelbase, storage portion turning radius, storage portion hitch configuration of the storage portion 4 of the receiving vehicle 6. The container reference data may be stored by, retrievable by, or indexed by a corresponding receiving vehicle identifier in the data storage device 19 of the harvesting vehicle system 11. For each receiving vehicle identifier, there can be a corresponding unique container reference data stored therewith in the data storage device 19 [paragraph 27 of the PGPUB]. In one embodiment, the harvesting vehicle 2 receives a data message from the receiving vehicle 6 in which a vehicle identifier of the receiving vehicle is regularly (e.g., periodically transmitted). In another embodiment, the harvesting vehicle 2 interrogates the receiving vehicle 6 for its vehicle identifier or establishes a communications channel between the harvesting vehicle 2 and the receiving vehicle 6 in preparation for unloading via the wireless communication devices (48, 148). In yet another embodiment, the receiving vehicle 6 transmits its vehicle identifier to the harvesting vehicle 2 when the receiving vehicle 6 approaches the harvesting vehicle 2 within a certain radial distance [paragraph 28 of the PGPUB]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with the location of the selected container is the second GPS location as taught by Bonefas_2, in part because the references are directly related, and because using a GPS to locate the containers is an application of a known method in the art to produce a predictable result. Bonefas_1 even mentions that GPS could be used to maintain proper spacing between two vehicles during the unloading or transferring of an agricultural material between the vehicles [Column 1, lines 22-31], so this method was known in the art at the time of invention.
Regarding Claim 17. Bonefas_1 teaches a method performed by a vehicle and/or a cart of a system (FIG. 5, the vehicle at 75 and the cart shown and labeled at 85), the method comprising:
using the vehicle to tow the cart (the vehicle at 75, FIG. 5),
using a hopper of the cart (the container at 85) to receive material from a discharge end of an offloading conveyor of a combine harvester (the container at 85, and the spout labeled at 89, the spout end at 87 [FIG. 5]);
using one or more communication interfaces of the vehicle and/or the cart to receive two or more container identifications (Column 4, lines 55-67), wherein the two or more container identifications identify two or more containers, respectively, each of the two or more containers is separate from the cart and separate from the combine harvester FIG. 5. In this case, the vehicle transmitting grain is not the same vehicle that is receiving grain referred to as “the cart.” However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replicate the method of identifying containers included in the mobile farm implement at 91 of FIG. 5 with the receiving vehicle for distributing grain to another container, as this would allow the filled grain cart to find and transfer the grain to a larger, possibly stationary container and allow the emptied cart to receive more grain from the combine harvester. If the receiving vehicle can be arranged as a receiving cart and a propulsion portion, such as a tractor, than the transferring vehicle can just as easily be arranged as a propulsion vehicle and a storage cart. It is simply a matter of mounting the grain conveyor equipment and related components onto the receiving vehicle tractor/cart combination of FIG. 5, which also covers the element of “each of the one or more containers is separate from the cart and separate from the combine harvester”. Further, the receiving vehicles are transmitting information about container identification to the transferring vehicles, which indicates that the transferring vehicle is capable of receiving the container identification information), and each of the two or more container identifications includes a location and a remaining capacity of the container identified by the container identification (Column 7, lines 59-67, Column 8 lines 1-13);
using a location and/or navigation system of the vehicle and/or the cart to determine a location of the vehicle and/or the cart (Column 6, lines 57-67, Column 7, lines 1-6);
using the location and/or navigation system to determine a route from the location of the vehicle and/or the cart to a location of the selected container (Column 5, lines 30-54); and
causing a vehicle controller of the vehicle and/or the cart to control one or more vehicle components of the system to move the cart on the determined route (Column 6, lines 57-67, Column 7, lines 1-6), wherein the two or more vehicle components comprise a power source, a steering component, a braking component, an acceleration component, a prime mover, and/or an engine (FIG. 1, numbers 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, and 40).
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
use the location and/or navigation system to determine a first GPS location of the vehicle and/or the cart;
each of the two or more container identifications includes a global positioning system (GPS) location of a container of the two or more containers, and
the determine route is between the first GPS location and the second GPS location.
However, Bonefas_2 teaches:
use the location and/or navigation system to determine a first GPS location of the vehicle and/or the cart (In step S1101, a GPS receiver mounted on the tractor transmits GPS location coordinates on tractor CAN bus. A controller on the tractor CAN bus that is connected to a wireless communications transceiver reads the tractor motion dynamics (GPS location, GPS heading, and yaw (turn) rate) from the CAN bus and transmits the motion dynamics data using the wireless transmitter [paragraph 49]);
each of the two or more container identifications includes a global positioning system (GPS) location of a container of the two or more containers (A container identification module identifies a set of two-dimensional or three dimensional points (e.g., in Cartesian coordinates or Polar coordinates) in the real world that define at least a portion of the container perimeter (e.g., front edge or rear edge) of the storage portion (e.g., cart 4 in FIG. 1). The set of two-dimensional or three dimensional points correspond to pixel positions in images collected by the first imaging device 10, the second imaging device 12, or both. The container identification module 20 may use or retrieve container reference data [paragraph 26 of the PGPUB]. The container reference data comprises one or more of the following: reference dimensions, reference shape, drawings, models, layout, and configuration of the container 4, such as the container perimeter, the container edges; reference dimensions, reference shape, drawings, models, layout, and configuration of the entire storage portion 4 of receiving vehicle 6; storage portion wheelbase, storage portion turning radius, storage portion hitch configuration of the storage portion 4 of the receiving vehicle 6. The container reference data may be stored by, retrievable by, or indexed by a corresponding receiving vehicle identifier in the data storage device 19 of the harvesting vehicle system 11. For each receiving vehicle identifier, there can be a corresponding unique container reference data stored therewith in the data storage device 19 [paragraph 27 of the PGPUB]. In one embodiment, the harvesting vehicle 2 receives a data message from the receiving vehicle 6 in which a vehicle identifier of the receiving vehicle is regularly (e.g., periodically transmitted). In another embodiment, the harvesting vehicle 2 interrogates the receiving vehicle 6 for its vehicle identifier or establishes a communications channel between the harvesting vehicle 2 and the receiving vehicle 6 in preparation for unloading via the wireless communication devices (48, 148). In yet another embodiment, the receiving vehicle 6 transmits its vehicle identifier to the harvesting vehicle 2 when the receiving vehicle 6 approaches the harvesting vehicle 2 within a certain radial distance [paragraph 28 of the PGPUB]), and
the determine route is between the first GPS location and the second GPS location (in step S1104, the steering angle and ground speed suitable for the tractor to position itself releative to the combine such that the tractor and combine are suitably positioned for unloading is determined by the control algorithm [paragraph 52], after determining the position of the tractor by GPS [paragraph 49], and the machine sync system also tracks the location of the tractor and combine by exchanging GPS coordinates via wireless communications between the two vehicles [paragraph 89], shown in step S603 of FIG. 6 to calculate the proper offset between the two vehicles, meaning that the route is determined at least in part by both GPS locations [paragraph 126]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with use the location and/or navigation system to determine a first GPS location of the vehicle and/or the cart; each of the two or more container identifications includes a global positioning system (GPS) location of a container of the two or more containers, and the determine route is between the first GPS location and the second GPS location as taught by Bonefas_2, in part because the references are directly related, and because using a GPS to locate the containers is an application of a known method in the art to produce a predictable result. Bonefas_1 even mentions that GPS could be used to maintain proper spacing between two vehicles during the unloading or transferring of an agricultural material between the vehicles [Column 1, lines 22-31], so this method was known in the art at the time of invention.
Bonefas_1 also does not teach:
using the received two or more container identifications to select a container for unloading material from a hopper of a cart of the system, and wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart considering a volume of the material in the hopper of the cart and the remaining capacities of the containers identified by the two or more container identifications.
However, Affleck teaches:
using the received two or more container identifications to select a container for unloading material from a hopper of a cart of the system (FIGS. 8 and 9, paragraph 68), and wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart considering a volume of the material in the hopper of the cart and the remaining capacities of the containers identified by the two or more container identifications (FIG. 8 explicitly shows how the weight measurement of a crop stored in a storage container is used to determine which storage container the crop is to be unloaded into).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with using the received two or more container identifications to select a container for unloading material from a hopper of a cart of the system, and wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart considering a volume of the material in the hopper of the cart and the remaining capacities of the containers identified by the two or more container identifications as taught by Affleck so as to allow the transferring vehicle to select from a number of containers which container to deposit the crop material, especially if different containers are meant to hold different materials.
Additionally, and in the alternative, Affleck also teaches:
use the one or more communication interfaces to receive two or more container identifications, wherein the two or more container identifications identify two or more containers, respectively (FIGS. 8 and 9, paragraph 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with use the one or more communication interfaces to receive two or more container identifications, wherein the two or more container identifications identify two or more containers, respectively as taught by Affleck so as to allow the system to work with more than one receiving container for crop material.
Regarding Claim 31. Bonefas_1 teaches a cart (FIG. 5, the cart shown and labeled at 85) comprising:
a hopper (the container at 85) configured to receive material from a discharge end of an offloading conveyor of a combine harvester (the spout labeled at 89, the spout end at 87 [FIG. 5]);
one or more vehicle components, wherein the one or more vehicle components comprise a power source, a steering component, a transmission component, a braking component, an acceleration component, a power takeoff, a prime mover, and/or an engine (FIG. 1, numbers 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, and 40. FIG. 3 shows a similar system, but FIG. 3’s steering system at 30, steering controller at 32, braking system at 34, braking controller at 36, propulsion system at 38, and propulsion controller at 40 are part of the receiving vehicle [Column 2, lines 5-7, FIG. 3]);
a vehicle controller (FIG. 1, number 46. Note that this vehicle controller is located on the transferring vehicle, not the receiving vehicle. However, as the claim is written, this component could be on either vehicle and still read on the claimed system);
a location and/or navigation system (FIG. 1, location determining receiver at 42);
one or more communication interfaces (FIG. 1, number 48); and
one or more computers configured to:
use the one or more communication interfaces to receive two or more container identifications (Column 4, lines 55-67, wherein the receiving vehicle transmits the identifier), wherein the two or more container identifications identify two or more containers, respectively, each of the two or more containers is separate from the cart and separate from the combine harvester (FIG. 5. In this case, the vehicle transmitting grain is not the same vehicle that is receiving grain referred to as “the cart.” However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replicate the method of identifying containers included in the mobile farm implement at 91 of FIG. 5 with the receiving vehicle for distributing grain to another container, as this would allow the filled grain cart to find and transfer the grain to a larger, possibly stationary container and allow the emptied cart to receive more grain from the combine harvester), and each of the two or more container identifications includes a location of a container of the one or more containers (Column 4, lines 28-54);
use the location and/or navigation system to determine a location of the cart (Column 6, lines 57-67, Column 7, lines 1-6);
use the location and/or navigation system to determine a route from the location of the cart to a location of the selected container (Column 5, lines 30-54), wherein the location of the container is the location included in the one of the two or more container identifications that identifies the selected container (Column 4, lines 28-54); and
cause the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route (Column 6, lines 57-67, Column 7, lines 1-6).
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
the cart is self-propelled (this is implied in FIG. 5, but not explicitly taught),
use the location and/or navigation system to determine a first GPS location of the vehicle and/or the cart;
each of the two or more container identifications includes a global positioning system (GPS) location, and wherein the GPS location of the selected container is the GPS location included in the one of the two or more container identifications that identifies the selected container, and
the determine route is between the first GPS location and the second GPS location.
However, Bonefas_2 teaches:
the cart is self-propelled (FIG. 2, the receiving vehicle at 6 is visibly a self-propelled vehicle),
use the location and/or navigation system to determine a first GPS location of the vehicle and/or the cart (In step S1101, a GPS receiver mounted on the tractor transmits GPS location coordinates on tractor CAN bus. A controller on the tractor CAN bus that is connected to a wireless communications transceiver reads the tractor motion dynamics (GPS location, GPS heading, and yaw (turn) rate) from the CAN bus and transmits the motion dynamics data using the wireless transmitter [paragraph 49]);
each of the two or more container identifications includes a global positioning system (GPS) location, and wherein the GPS location of the selected container is the GPS location included in the one of the two or more container identifications that identifies the selected container (A container identification module identifies a set of two-dimensional or three dimensional points (e.g., in Cartesian coordinates or Polar coordinates) in the real world that define at least a portion of the container perimeter (e.g., front edge or rear edge) of the storage portion (e.g., cart 4 in FIG. 1). The set of two-dimensional or three dimensional points correspond to pixel positions in images collected by the first imaging device 10, the second imaging device 12, or both. The container identification module 20 may use or retrieve container reference data [paragraph 26 of the PGPUB]. The container reference data comprises one or more of the following: reference dimensions, reference shape, drawings, models, layout, and configuration of the container 4, such as the container perimeter, the container edges; reference dimensions, reference shape, drawings, models, layout, and configuration of the entire storage portion 4 of receiving vehicle 6; storage portion wheelbase, storage portion turning radius, storage portion hitch configuration of the storage portion 4 of the receiving vehicle 6. The container reference data may be stored by, retrievable by, or indexed by a corresponding receiving vehicle identifier in the data storage device 19 of the harvesting vehicle system 11. For each receiving vehicle identifier, there can be a corresponding unique container reference data stored therewith in the data storage device 19 [paragraph 27 of the PGPUB]. In one embodiment, the harvesting vehicle 2 receives a data message from the receiving vehicle 6 in which a vehicle identifier of the receiving vehicle is regularly (e.g., periodically transmitted). In another embodiment, the harvesting vehicle 2 interrogates the receiving vehicle 6 for its vehicle identifier or establishes a communications channel between the harvesting vehicle 2 and the receiving vehicle 6 in preparation for unloading via the wireless communication devices (48, 148). In yet another embodiment, the receiving vehicle 6 transmits its vehicle identifier to the harvesting vehicle 2 when the receiving vehicle 6 approaches the harvesting vehicle 2 within a certain radial distance [paragraph 28 of the PGPUB]); and
the determine route is between the first GPS location and the second GPS location (in step S1104, the steering angle and ground speed suitable for the tractor to position itself releative to the combine such that the tractor and combine are suitably positioned for unloading is determined by the control algorithm [paragraph 52], after determining the position of the tractor by GPS [paragraph 49], and the machine sync system also tracks the location of the tractor and combine by exchanging GPS coordinates via wireless communications between the two vehicles [paragraph 89], shown in step S603 of FIG. 6 to calculate the proper offset between the two vehicles, meaning that the route is determined at least in part by both GPS locations [paragraph 126]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with the cart is self-propelled, use the location and/or navigation system to determine a first GPS location of the vehicle and/or the cart; each of the two or more container identifications includes a global positioning system (GPS) location, and wherein the GPS location of the selected container is the GPS location included in the one of the two or more container identifications that identifies the selected container, and the determine route is between the first GPS location and the second GPS location as taught by Bonefas_2, in part because the references are directly related, and because using a GPS to locate the containers is an application of a known method in the art to produce a predictable result. Bonefas_1 even mentions that GPS could be used to maintain proper spacing between two vehicles during the unloading or transferring of an agricultural material between the vehicles [Column 1, lines 22-31], so this method was known in the art at the time of invention. Additionally, the use of a self-propelled grain cart is a matter of design choice, as there are a limited number of ways a cart can move; the cart can either be self-propelled or pulled by another vehicle.
Bonefas_1 also does not teach:
use the received two or more container identifications to select a container for loading material from the hopper of the cart, and wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart considering a volume of the material in the hopper of the cart and the remaining capacities of the containers identified by the two or more container identifications.
However, Affleck teaches:
use the received two or more container identifications to select a container for loading material from the hopper of the cart (FIGS. 8 and 9, paragraph 68), and wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart considering a volume of the material in the hopper of the cart and the remaining capacities of the containers identified by the two or more container identifications (FIG. 8 explicitly shows how the weight measurement of a crop stored in a storage container is used to determine which storage container the crop is to be unloaded into).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with use the received two or more container identifications to select a container for loading material from the hopper of the cart, and wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart considering a volume of the material in the hopper of the cart and the remaining capacities of the containers identified by the two or more container identifications as taught by Affleck so as to allow the transferring vehicle to select from a number of containers which container to deposit the crop material, especially if different containers are meant to hold different materials.
Additionally, and in the alternative, Affleck also teaches:
use the one or more communication interfaces to receive two or more container identifications, wherein the two or more container identifications identify two or more containers, respectively (FIGS. 8 and 9, paragraph 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with use the one or more communication interfaces to receive two or more container identifications, wherein the two or more container identifications identify two or more containers, respectively as taught by Affleck so as to allow the system to work with more than one receiving container for crop material.
Regarding Claim 37. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the system of claim 1.
Bonefas_1 also teaches:
further comprising one or more sensors operatively associated with the hopper for determining an amount of the material within the hopper, wherein the one or more computers are further configured to use the one or more sensors to determine if the amount of the material within the hopper has reached a cart capacity threshold (If the image processing module 18 or another sensor determines that the container 85 or storage portion 93 has reached a target fill level (e.g., full or some percentage or fraction of capacity), the image processing module 18, vehicle controller 46, or auger rotation system 16 may automatically shut off the unloading auger 47 [Column 4, lines 5-10]. Additionally, if a container 85 of the receiving vehicle is full (or imminently approaching a full state) with agricultural material (e.g., from a transferring operation), as detected by one or more sensors (e.g., mass or optical sensors) on the receiving vehicle 79 for detecting a mass, weight or volume of agricultural material in the container 85; the imaging system 18 of the transferring vehicle 91 or the sensors of the receiving vehicle via the wireless communications devices (48, 148) may notify the operator (of the transferring vehicle 91) on the user interface 44 of the full state, fill state or full condition of the container 85 [Column 7, lines 59-67, Column 8, lines 1-2]), and the vehicle controller is caused to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route if the amount of the material within the hopper was determined to have reached the cart capacity threshold (For example, the system (11,111, 211, 311) executes a container filling strategy by changing the relative speed, velocity or acceleration of the transferring vehicle and receiving vehicle (e.g., through the ISO Class 3 interface) to promote even or uniform filling of the container 85. As an illustrative example, for a "front-to-back" fill strategy, the system (11, 111, 211, 311) has the receiving vehicle generally maintain a constant fore/aft distance relative to the transferring vehicle (e.g., combine) such that the agricultural material is filling the front volume of the cart and putting weight on the tongue of the connection between the propulsion portion 75 and the storage portion 93 of the receiving vehicle 79. When the front volume of the container 85 becomes full or attains a target volume or mass of agricultural material, the system (11, 111, 211, 311) can command the receiving vehicle to temporarily increase its speed or velocity, or accelerate, relative to the ground (or relative to the transferring vehicle) via the propulsion controller 40 so that the agricultural material flowing from spout 89 drops or moves further toward the rear of the container 85 or storage portion 93 (e.g., from the force of acceleration on the receiving vehicle) [Column 16, lines 21-34]).
Regarding Claim 38. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the system of claim 37.
Bonefas_1 also teaches:
wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more load sensors for determining a weight of material in the hopper, one or more hopper cameras for determining the height of material in the hopper, and/or one or more proximity sensors and/or one or more pressure sensors spaced at predetermined locations within the hopper to sense whether the material has reached a predetermined level within the hopper (the image processing module 18 or some other type of sensor determines the fullness of the hopper, which reads on hopper cameras at the very least. Additionally, other sensors can include weight, mass, or volume sensors on the receiving vehicle [Column 7, lines 59-67, Column 8, lines 1-2]).
Regarding Claim 39. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the system of claim 37.
Bonefas_1 also teaches:
wherein the cart capacity threshold is a cart full capacity threshold or an approaching cart capacity threshold (Column 7, lines 59-67).
Regarding Claim 41. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the method of claim 17.
Bonefas_1 also teaches:
further comprising:
using one or more sensors operatively associated with the hopper to determine if an amount of the material within the hopper has reached a cart capacity threshold (If the image processing module 18 or another sensor determines that the container 85 or storage portion 93 has reached a target fill level (e.g., full or some percentage or fraction of capacity), the image processing module 18, vehicle controller 46, or auger rotation system 16 may automatically shut off the unloading auger 47 [Column 4, lines 5-10]. Additionally, if a container 85 of the receiving vehicle is full (or imminently approaching a full state) with agricultural material (e.g., from a transferring operation), as detected by one or more sensors (e.g., mass or optical sensors) on the receiving vehicle 79 for detecting a mass, weight or volume of agricultural material in the container 85; the imaging system 18 of the transferring vehicle 91 or the sensors of the receiving vehicle via the wireless communications devices (48, 148) may notify the operator (of the transferring vehicle 91) on the user interface 44 of the full state, fill state or full condition of the container 85 [Column 7, lines 59-67, Column 8, lines 1-2]);
wherein the vehicle controller of the vehicle and/or the cart is used to control one or more vehicle components of the system to move the cart on the determined route if the amount of the material within the hopper was determined to have reached the cart capacity threshold (For example, the system (11,111, 211, 311) executes a container filling strategy by changing the relative speed, velocity or acceleration of the transferring vehicle and receiving vehicle (e.g., through the ISO Class 3 interface) to promote even or uniform filling of the container 85. As an illustrative example, for a "front-to-back" fill strategy, the system (11, 111, 211, 311) has the receiving vehicle generally maintain a constant fore/aft distance relative to the transferring vehicle (e.g., combine) such that the agricultural material is filling the front volume of the cart and putting weight on the tongue of the connection between the propulsion portion 75 and the storage portion 93 of the receiving vehicle 79. When the front volume of the container 85 becomes full or attains a target volume or mass of agricultural material, the system (11, 111, 211, 311) can command the receiving vehicle to temporarily increase its speed or velocity, or accelerate, relative to the ground (or relative to the transferring vehicle) via the propulsion controller 40 so that the agricultural material flowing from spout 89 drops or moves further toward the rear of the container 85 or storage portion 93 (e.g., from the force of acceleration on the receiving vehicle) [Column 16, lines 21-34]).
Regarding Claim 41. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the cart of claim 31.
Bonefas_1 also teaches:
further comprising one or more sensors operatively associated with the hopper for determining an amount of the material within the hopper, wherein one or more computers are further configured to use the one or more sensors to determine if the amount of the material within the hopper has reached a cart capacity threshold (If the image processing module 18 or another sensor determines that the container 85 or storage portion 93 has reached a target fill level (e.g., full or some percentage or fraction of capacity), the image processing module 18, vehicle controller 46, or auger rotation system 16 may automatically shut off the unloading auger 47 [Column 4, lines 5-10]. Additionally, if a container 85 of the receiving vehicle is full (or imminently approaching a full state) with agricultural material (e.g., from a transferring operation), as detected by one or more sensors (e.g., mass or optical sensors) on the receiving vehicle 79 for detecting a mass, weight or volume of agricultural material in the container 85; the imaging system 18 of the transferring vehicle 91 or the sensors of the receiving vehicle via the wireless communications devices (48, 148) may notify the operator (of the transferring vehicle 91) on the user interface 44 of the full state, fill state or full condition of the container 85 [Column 7, lines 59-67, Column 8, lines 1-2]), and the vehicle controller is caused to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route if the amount of the material within the hopper was determined to have reached the cart capacity threshold (For example, the system (11,111, 211, 311) executes a container filling strategy by changing the relative speed, velocity or acceleration of the transferring vehicle and receiving vehicle (e.g., through the ISO Class 3 interface) to promote even or uniform filling of the container 85. As an illustrative example, for a "front-to-back" fill strategy, the system (11, 111, 211, 311) has the receiving vehicle generally maintain a constant fore/aft distance relative to the transferring vehicle (e.g., combine) such that the agricultural material is filling the front volume of the cart and putting weight on the tongue of the connection between the propulsion portion 75 and the storage portion 93 of the receiving vehicle 79. When the front volume of the container 85 becomes full or attains a target volume or mass of agricultural material, the system (11, 111, 211, 311) can command the receiving vehicle to temporarily increase its speed or velocity, or accelerate, relative to the ground (or relative to the transferring vehicle) via the propulsion controller 40 so that the agricultural material flowing from spout 89 drops or moves further toward the rear of the container 85 or storage portion 93 (e.g., from the force of acceleration on the receiving vehicle) [Column 16, lines 21-34]).
Claim(s) 5-6, 10-11, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonefas US 8649940 B2 (“Bonefas_1”) in view of Bonefas US 20140311113 A1 (“Bonefas_2”) and Affleck US 20150023767 A1 (“Affleck”) as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Perry et al. US 20190325534 A1 (“Perry”).
Regarding Claim 5. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the system of claim 1.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering the route distances between the cart and the containers identified by the two or more container identifications.
However, Perry teaches:
wherein selecting the container (paragraph 65) for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering the route distances between the cart and the containers identified by the two or more container identifications (paragraph 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering the route distances between the cart and the containers identified by the two or more container identifications as taught by Perry so as to allow the system to select the closest container for depositing grain for best efficiency.
Regarding Claim 6. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the system of claim 1.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering estimated travel times to the containers identified by the two or more container identifications.
However, Perry teaches:
wherein selecting the container (paragraph 65) for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering estimated travel times to the containers identified by the two or more container identifications (paragraphs 10 and 14, wherein the time required for the vehicle to transport the material is part of the consideration for container identification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering estimated travel times to the containers identified by the two or more container identifications as taught by Perry so as to allow the system to select the container it can reach quickest to prevent spoiling of the crop product.
Regarding Claim 10. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the system of claim 1.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises:
determining which of the containers identified by the two or more container identifications have a remaining capacity sufficient to receive the material in the hopper of the cart; and
selecting a container of the containers determined to have a remaining capacity sufficient to receive the material in the hopper of the cart.
However, Affleck teaches: wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises:
determining which of the containers identified by the two or more container identifications have a remaining capacity sufficient to receive the material in the hopper of the cart (paragraph 66); and
selecting a container of the containers determined to have a remaining capacity sufficient to receive the material in the hopper of the cart (paragraph 68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises: determining which of the containers identified by the two or more container identifications have a remaining capacity sufficient to receive the material in the hopper of the cart; and selecting a container of the containers determined to have a remaining capacity sufficient to receive the material in the hopper of the cart as taught by Affleck so as to allow the system to select a receiving container that has capacity remaining for the crop material.
Bonefas_1 also does not teach:
the location is a GPS location of the vehicle and/or the cart.
However, Bonefas_2 teaches:
the location is a GPS location of the vehicle and/or the cart (A container identification module identifies a set of two-dimensional or three dimensional points (e.g., in Cartesian coordinates or Polar coordinates) in the real world that define at least a portion of the container perimeter (e.g., front edge or rear edge) of the storage portion (e.g., cart 4 in FIG. 1). The set of two-dimensional or three dimensional points correspond to pixel positions in images collected by the first imaging device 10, the second imaging device 12, or both. The container identification module 20 may use or retrieve container reference data [paragraph 26 of the PGPUB]. The container reference data comprises one or more of the following: reference dimensions, reference shape, drawings, models, layout, and configuration of the container 4, such as the container perimeter, the container edges; reference dimensions, reference shape, drawings, models, layout, and configuration of the entire storage portion 4 of receiving vehicle 6; storage portion wheelbase, storage portion turning radius, storage portion hitch configuration of the storage portion 4 of the receiving vehicle 6. The container reference data may be stored by, retrievable by, or indexed by a corresponding receiving vehicle identifier in the data storage device 19 of the harvesting vehicle system 11. For each receiving vehicle identifier, there can be a corresponding unique container reference data stored therewith in the data storage device 19 [paragraph 27 of the PGPUB]. In one embodiment, the harvesting vehicle 2 receives a data message from the receiving vehicle 6 in which a vehicle identifier of the receiving vehicle is regularly (e.g., periodically transmitted). In another embodiment, the harvesting vehicle 2 interrogates the receiving vehicle 6 for its vehicle identifier or establishes a communications channel between the harvesting vehicle 2 and the receiving vehicle 6 in preparation for unloading via the wireless communication devices (48, 148). In yet another embodiment, the receiving vehicle 6 transmits its vehicle identifier to the harvesting vehicle 2 when the receiving vehicle 6 approaches the harvesting vehicle 2 within a certain radial distance [paragraph 28 of the PGPUB]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with the location is a GPS location of the vehicle and/or the cart as taught by Bonefas_2, in part because the references are directly related, and because using a GPS to locate the containers is an application of a known method in the art to produce a predictable result. Bonefas_1 even mentions that GPS could be used to maintain proper spacing between two vehicles during the unloading or transferring of an agricultural material between the vehicles [Column 1, lines 22-31], so this method was known in the art at the time of invention.
Bonefas_1 also does not teach:
wherein the selected container is the container closest to the location of the cart.
However, Perry teaches:
wherein the selected container (paragraph 65) is the container closest to the location of the cart (paragraph 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein the selected container is the container closest to the location of the cart as taught by Perry so as to allow the system to select the closest container for depositing grain for best efficiency.
Regarding Claim 11. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the system of claim 1.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises selecting one or more containers identified by the two or more container identifications that would result in the fastest unloading of the cart.
However, Perry teaches:
wherein selecting the container (paragraph 65) for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises selecting one or more containers identified by the two or more container identifications that would result in the fastest unloading of the cart (paragraphs 10 and 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises selecting one or more containers identified by the two or more container identifications that would result in the fastest unloading of the cart as taught by Perry so as to allow the system to select the container it can reach quickest to prevent spoiling of the crop product.
Regarding Claim 13. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the system of claim 1.
Bonefas_1 also teaches:
wherein each of the two or more container identifications includes a unique identification number for the identified container (Column 8, lines 38-54), and the one or more computers are further configured to:
using the one or more communication interfaces (FIG. 1, numbers 48 and 148) and/or one or more cameras (imaging device(s) can be stereo camera(s) [Column 2, lines 30-38]) to obtain container information from the selected container, wherein the container information includes a container identification (FIG. 9, S104 and S106).
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
confirming that the unique identification number of the container identification identifying the selected container matches the container identification of the container information obtained from the selected container.
However, Perry teaches:
confirming that the unique identification number of the container identification identifying the selected container matches the container identification of the container information obtained from the selected container (paragraph 79 and 162).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with confirming that the unique identification number of the container identification identifying the selected container matches the container identification of the container information obtained from the selected container as taught by Perry so as to ensure that the crop material is deposited into the right container.
Regarding Claim 20. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the method of claim 17.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering route distances between the cart and the containers identified by the two or more container identifications.
However, Perry teaches:
wherein selecting the container (paragraph 65) for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering route distances between the cart and the containers identified by the two or more container identifications (paragraph 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering route distances between the cart and the containers identified by the two or more container identifications as taught by Perry so as to allow the system to select the closest container for depositing grain for best efficiency.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonefas US 8649940 B2 (“Bonefas_1”) in view of Bonefas US 20140311113 A1 (“Bonefas_2”) and Affleck US 20150023767 A1 (“Affleck”) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kim et al. US 10565555 B1 (“Kim”).
Regarding Claim 8. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the system of claim 1.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein each of the two or more container identifications includes an indication of whether the container identified by the container identification or a portion of a capacity of the container identified by the container identification is reserved by one or more other carts, and selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering the indications of whether the containers or portions thereof identified by the container identifications are reserved by one or more other carts.
However, Kim teaches:
wherein each of the two or more container identifications includes an indication of whether the container identified by the container identification or a portion of a capacity of the container identified by the container identification is reserved by one or more other carts, and selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering the indications of whether the containers or portions thereof identified by the container identifications are reserved by one or more other carts (Column 2, lines 37-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein each of the two or more container identifications includes an indication of whether the container identified by the container identification or a portion of a capacity of the container identified by the container identification is reserved by one or more other carts, and selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering the indications of whether the containers or portions thereof identified by the container identifications are reserved by one or more other carts as taught by Kim so as to allow the system to recognize when containers for depositing the crop product have been reserved for other items.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonefas US 8649940 B2 (“Bonefas_1”) in view of Bonefas US 20140311113 A1 (“Bonefas_2”) and Affleck US 20150023767 A1 (“Affleck”) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Thompson et al. US 20160261698 A1 (“Thompson”).
Regarding Claim 9. Bonefas_1 in combination with Affleck teaches the system of claim 1.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering whether the containers identified by the two or more container identifications are stationary or moving.
However, Thompson teaches:
wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering whether the containers identified by the two or more container identifications are stationary or moving (paragraph 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein selecting the container for unloading the material from the hopper of the cart comprises considering whether the containers identified by the two or more container identifications are stationary or moving as taught by Thompson so as to allow the system to only deposit material in stationary containers rather than deposit the material in a moving container where it might spill.
Claim(s) 21, 26, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonefas US 8649940 B2 (“Bonefas_1”) in view of Bonefas US 20140311113 A1 (“Bonefas_2”) and Affleck US 20150023767 A1 (“Affleck”) as applied to claims 1, 17, and 31 above, and further in view of Kinzenbaw US 20150203019 A1 (“Kinzenbaw”).
Regarding Claim 21. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the system of claim 1.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein the cart comprises an auger assembly, and causing the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route comprises:
moving the cart on the determined route with the auger assembly in a storage position to an auger assembly movement location; and
with the cart at the auger assembly movement location, moving the auger assembly from the storage position to an operating position.
However, Kinzenbaw teaches:
wherein the cart comprises an auger assembly, and causing the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route comprises:
moving the cart on the determined route with the auger assembly in a storage position to an auger assembly movement location; and
with the cart at the auger assembly movement location, moving the auger assembly from the storage position to an operating position (A grain wagon with a discharge auger that can be folded for transport to and from a field, the unloading auger is typically comprised of upper and lower sections, which are capable of folding for transport mode. In the case of a side discharge wagon, the upper section of its folding auger is not clearly visible to the vehicle operator who must be careful to avoid contact between the auger and the offloading truck. This generally requires the operator to unfold the auger well away from the truck and to then move the wagon in position relative to the truck for unloading [paragraph 5]. Additionally, any location at which the auger assembly is folded or unfolded is an auger assembly location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein the cart comprises an auger assembly, and causing the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route comprises: moving the cart on the determined route with the auger assembly in a storage position to an auger assembly movement location; and with the cart at the auger assembly movement location, moving the auger assembly from the storage position to an operating position as taught by Kinzenbaw so that the robot can fold the auger away when it is switching to transport mode, and do so a safe distance away from a container that the auger might collide with while folding.
Regarding Claim 26. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the method of claim 17.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein causing the vehicle controller of the vehicle and/or the cart to control one or more vehicle components of the system to move the cart on the determined route comprises:
moving the cart on the determined route with an auger assembly of the cart in a storage position to an auger assembly movement location; and
with the cart at the auger assembly movement location, moving the auger assembly from the storage position to an operating position.
However, Kinzenbaw teaches:
wherein causing the vehicle controller of the vehicle and/or the cart to control one or more vehicle components of the system to move the cart on the determined route comprises:
moving the cart on the determined route with an auger assembly of the cart in a storage position to an auger assembly movement location; and
with the cart at the auger assembly movement location, moving the auger assembly from the storage position to an operating position (A grain wagon with a discharge auger that can be folded for transport to and from a field, the unloading auger is typically comprised of upper and lower sections, which are capable of folding for transport mode. In the case of a side discharge wagon, the upper section of its folding auger is not clearly visible to the vehicle operator who must be careful to avoid contact between the auger and the offloading truck. This generally requires the operator to unfold the auger well away from the truck and to then move the wagon in position relative to the truck for unloading [paragraph 5]. Additionally, any location at which the auger assembly is folded or unfolded is an auger assembly location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein causing the vehicle controller of the vehicle and/or the cart to control one or more vehicle components of the system to move the cart on the determined route comprises: moving the cart on the determined route with an auger assembly of the cart in a storage position to an auger assembly movement location; and with the cart at the auger assembly movement location, moving the auger assembly from the storage position to an operating position as taught by Kinzenbaw so that the robot can fold the auger away when it is switching to transport mode, and do so a safe distance away from a container that the auger might collide with while folding.
Regarding Claim 32. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the cart of claim 31.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
further comprising an auger assembly, wherein causing the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route comprises:
moving the cart on the determined route with the auger assembly in a storage position to an auger assembly movement location; and
with the cart at the auger assembly movement location, moving the auger assembly from the storage position to an operating position.
However, Kinzenbaw teaches:
further comprising an auger assembly, wherein causing the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route comprises:
moving the cart on the determined route with the auger assembly in a storage position to an auger assembly movement location; and
with the cart at the auger assembly movement location, moving the auger assembly from the storage position to an operating position (A grain wagon with a discharge auger that can be folded for transport to and from a field, the unloading auger is typically comprised of upper and lower sections, which are capable of folding for transport mode. In the case of a side discharge wagon, the upper section of its folding auger is not clearly visible to the vehicle operator who must be careful to avoid contact between the auger and the offloading truck. This generally requires the operator to unfold the auger well away from the truck and to then move the wagon in position relative to the truck for unloading [paragraph 5]. Additionally, any location at which the auger assembly is folded or unfolded is an auger assembly location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with further comprising an auger assembly, wherein causing the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route comprises: moving the cart on the determined route with the auger assembly in a storage position to an auger assembly movement location; and with the cart at the auger assembly movement location, moving the auger assembly from the storage position to an operating position as taught by Kinzenbaw so that the robot can fold the auger away when it is switching to transport mode, and do so a safe distance away from a container that the auger might collide with while folding.
Claim(s) 22-23, 27-28, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonefas US 8649940 B2 (“Bonefas_1”) in view of Bonefas US 20140311113 A1 (“Bonefas_2”), Affleck US 20150023767 A1 (“Affleck”), and Kinzenbaw US 20150203019 A1 (“Kinzenbaw”) as applied to claims 21, 26, and 32 above, and further in view of Banthia et al. US 20190322461 A1 (“Banthia”).
Regarding Claim 22. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2, Affleck, and Kinzenbaw teaches the system of claim 21.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein causing the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route further comprises, with the auger assembly in the operating position, moving the cart to an initial unloading location at the selected container.
However, Banthia teaches:
wherein causing the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route further comprises (Paragraph 4 covers the vehicle components to move the cart), with the auger assembly in the operating position, moving the cart to an initial unloading location at the selected container (FIGS. 7-10 show the cart moving to a location to unload grain at an initial unloading location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein causing the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route further comprises, with the auger assembly in the operating position, moving the cart to an initial unloading location at the selected container as taught by Banthia so as to allow the cart to unload grain into a storage container, preferably a storage container with more space than the cart, thereby allowing the cart to be refilled by the combine harvester.
Regarding Claim 23. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2, Affleck, Kinzenbaw, and Banthia teaches the system of claim 22.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein the auger assembly comprises a spout, and the initial unloading location is a location at which the spout of the auger assembly is positioned over an opening of the selected container.
However, Banthia teaches:
wherein the auger assembly comprises a spout, and the initial unloading location is a location at which the spout of the auger assembly is positioned over an opening of the selected container (FIG. 4, the spout at 42, which deposits grain in the container at 14 [paragraphs 89 and 92]. The lift auger portion 40 extends upwardly and laterally outwardly at an incline from an inlet end in communication with the bottom auger portion to an outlet end coupled to a discharge spout 42 from which particulate material from the grain cart is discharged [paragraph 92]. FIG. 7 shows the cart with the auger positioned over the opening of the container).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein the auger assembly comprises a spout, and the initial unloading location is a location at which the spout of the auger assembly is positioned over an opening of the selected container as taught by Banthia so as to allow the auger to have a spout which controls the transferring of grain to the selected container.
Regarding Claim 27. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2, Affleck, and Kinzenbaw teaches the system of claim 26.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein causing the vehicle controller of the vehicle and/or the cart to control one or more vehicle components of the system to move the cart on the determined route further comprises, with the auger assembly in the operating position, moving the cart with the auger assembly in the operating position to an initial unloading location at the selected container.
However, Banthia teaches:
wherein causing the vehicle controller of the vehicle and/or the cart to control one or more vehicle components of the system to move the cart on the determined route further comprises (Paragraph 4 covers the vehicle components to move the cart), with the auger assembly in the operating position, moving the cart with the auger assembly in the operating position to an initial unloading location at the selected container (FIGS. 7-10 show the cart moving to a location to unload grain at an initial unloading location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein causing the vehicle controller of the vehicle and/or the cart to control one or more vehicle components of the system to move the cart on the determined route further comprises, with the auger assembly in the operating position, moving the cart with the auger assembly in the operating position to an initial unloading location at the selected container as taught by Banthia so as to allow the cart to unload grain into a storage container, preferably a storage container with more space than the cart, thereby allowing the cart to be refilled by the combine harvester.
Regarding Claim 28. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2, Affleck, Kinzenbaw, and Banthia teaches the system of claim 27.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein the initial unloading location is a location at which a spout of the auger assembly is positioned over an opening of the selected container.
However, Banthia teaches:
wherein the initial unloading location is a location at which a spout of the auger assembly is positioned over an opening of the selected container (FIG. 4, the spout at 42, which deposits grain in the container at 14 [paragraphs 89 and 92]. The lift auger portion 40 extends upwardly and laterally outwardly at an incline from an inlet end in communication with the bottom auger portion to an outlet end coupled to a discharge spout 42 from which particulate material from the grain cart is discharged [paragraph 92]. FIG. 7 shows the cart with the auger positioned over the opening of the container).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein the initial unloading location is a location at which a spout of the auger assembly is positioned over an opening of the selected container as taught by Banthia so as to allow the auger to have a spout which controls the transferring of grain to the selected container.
Regarding Claim 33. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2, Affleck, and Kinzenbaw teaches the cart of claim 32.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein causing the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route further comprises, with the auger assembly in the operating position, moving the cart to an initial unloading location at the selected container.
However, Banthia teaches:
wherein causing the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route further comprises, with the auger assembly in the operating position, moving the cart to an initial unloading location at the selected container (FIGS. 7-10 show the cart moving to a location to unload grain at an initial unloading location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein causing the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route further comprises, with the auger assembly in the operating position, moving the cart to an initial unloading location at the selected container as taught by Banthia so as to allow the cart to unload grain into a storage container, preferably a storage container with more space than the cart, thereby allowing the cart to be refilled by the combine harvester.
Regarding Claim 34. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2, Affleck, Kinzenbaw, and Banthia teaches the cart of claim 33.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein the initial unloading location is a location at which a spout of the auger assembly is positioned over an opening of the selected container.
However, Banthia teaches:
wherein the initial unloading location is a location at which a spout of the auger assembly is positioned over an opening of the selected container (FIG. 4, the spout at 42, which deposits grain in the container at 14 [paragraphs 89 and 92]. The lift auger portion 40 extends upwardly and laterally outwardly at an incline from an inlet end in communication with the bottom auger portion to an outlet end coupled to a discharge spout 42 from which particulate material from the grain cart is discharged [paragraph 92]. FIG. 7 shows the cart with the auger positioned over the opening of the container).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein the initial unloading location is a location at which a spout of the auger assembly is positioned over an opening of the selected container as taught by Banthia so as to allow the auger to have a spout which controls the transferring of grain to the selected container.
Claim(s) 25, 30, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonefas US 8649940 B2 (“Bonefas_1”) in view of Bonefas US 20140311113 A1 (“Bonefas_2”) and Affleck US 20150023767 A1 (“Affleck”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Banthia et al. US 20190322461 A1 (“Banthia”).
Regarding Claim 25. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the system of claim 1.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein causing the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route comprises moving the cart to an initial unloading location at the selected container.
However, Banthia teaches:
wherein causing the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route comprises moving the cart to an initial unloading location at the selected container (FIGS. 7-10 show the cart moving to a location to unload grain at an initial unloading location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein causing the vehicle controller to control one or more of the one or more vehicle components to move the cart on the determined route comprises moving the cart to an initial unloading location at the selected container as taught by Banthia so as to allow the cart to unload grain into a storage container, preferably a storage container with more space than the cart, thereby allowing the cart to be refilled by the combine harvester.
Regarding Claim 30. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2 and Affleck teaches the method of claim 17.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein causing the vehicle controller of the vehicle and/or the cart to control one or more vehicle components of the system to move the cart on the determined route comprises moving the cart to an initial unloading location at the selected container.
However, Banthia teaches:
wherein causing the vehicle controller of the vehicle and/or the cart to control one or more vehicle components of the system to move the cart on the determined route comprises moving the cart to an initial unloading location at the selected container (FIGS. 7-10 show the cart moving to a location to unload grain at an initial unloading location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein causing the vehicle controller of the vehicle and/or the cart to control one or more vehicle components of the system to move the cart on the determined route comprises moving the cart to an initial unloading location at the selected container as taught by Banthia so as to allow the cart to unload grain into a storage container, preferably a storage container with more space than the cart, thereby allowing the cart to be refilled by the combine harvester.
Regarding Claim 36. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2, and Affleck teaches the cart of claim 31.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein the initial unloading location is a location at which a spout of the auger assembly is positioned over an opening of the selected container.
However, Banthia teaches:
wherein the initial unloading location is a location at which a spout of the auger assembly is positioned over an opening of the selected container (FIG. 4, the spout at 42, which deposits grain in the container at 14 [paragraphs 89 and 92]. The lift auger portion 40 extends upwardly and laterally outwardly at an incline from an inlet end in communication with the bottom auger portion to an outlet end coupled to a discharge spout 42 from which particulate material from the grain cart is discharged [paragraph 92]. FIG. 7 shows the cart with the auger positioned over the opening of the container).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein the initial unloading location is a location at which a spout of the auger assembly is positioned over an opening of the selected container as taught by Banthia so as to allow the auger to have a spout which controls the transferring of grain to the selected container.
Claim(s) 24, 29, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonefas US 8649940 B2 (“Bonefas_1”) in view of Bonefas US 20140311113 A1 (“Bonefas_2”), Affleck US 20150023767 A1 (“Affleck”), and Kinzenbaw US 20150203019 A1 (“Kinzenbaw”) as applied to claima 21, 26, and 32 above, and further in view of Tobey US 8414246 B2 (“Tobey”).
Regarding Claim 24. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2, Affleck, and Kinzenbaw teaches the system of claim 21.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein the arm assembly movement location is a location that allows proper clearance for the arm assembly to be moved and at which there are no obstacles that might interfere with movement.
However, Tobey teaches:
wherein the arm assembly movement location is a location that allows proper clearance for the arm assembly to be moved and at which there are no obstacles that might interfere with movement (A hybrid robot arm system that can perform work by cooperating with a main computer and other subsystems, including a sensor ring [Column 15, lines 26-35]. Such cooperation can also avoid collisions, as well as collision avoidance of objects, such as when the arm navigates a convoluted path around obstacles. This means that the sensors working with the arm can determine whether an obstacle that would interfere with the movement of the arm, and if no obstacle would interfere, cause the arm to perform the operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein the arm assembly movement location is a location that allows proper clearance for the arm assembly to be moved and at which there are no obstacles that might interfere with movement as taught by Tobey so as to avoid collisions with the cart and the auger.
Bonefas_1 also does not teach:
the arm is an auger assembly, and the movement of the auger assembly is from the storage position to the operating position of the auger assembly from the storage position to the operating position.
However, Kinzenbaw teaches:
the arm is an auger assembly, and the movement of the auger assembly is from the storage position to the operating position of the auger assembly from the storage position to the operating position (A grain wagon with a discharge auger that can be folded for transport to and from a field, the unloading auger is typically comprised of upper and lower sections, which are capable of folding for transport mode. In the case of a side discharge wagon, the upper section of its folding auger is not clearly visible to the vehicle operator who must be careful to avoid contact between the auger and the offloading truck. This generally requires the operator to unfold the auger well away from the truck and to then move the wagon in position relative to the truck for unloading [paragraph 5]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with the arm is an auger assembly, and the movement of the auger assembly is from the storage position to the operating position of the auger assembly from the storage position to the operating position as taught by Kinzenbaw so as to allow the auger assembly to fold when not in use to avoid collisions while the cart is moving.
Regarding Claim 29. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2, Affleck, and Kinzenbaw teaches the system of claim 26.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein the auger assembly movement location is a location that allows proper clearance for the auger assembly to be moved from the storage position to the operating position and at which there are no obstacles that might interfere with movement of the auger assembly from the storage position to the operating position.
However, Kinzenbaw teaches:
wherein the arm assembly movement location is a location that allows proper clearance for the arm assembly to be moved and at which there are no obstacles that might interfere with movement.
However, Tobey teaches:
wherein the arm assembly movement location is a location that allows proper clearance for the arm assembly to be moved and at which there are no obstacles that might interfere with movement (A hybrid robot arm system that can perform work by cooperating with a main computer and other subsystems, including a sensor ring [Column 15, lines 26-35]. Such cooperation can also avoid collisions, as well as collision avoidance of objects, such as when the arm navigates a convoluted path around obstacles. This means that the sensors working with the arm can determine whether an obstacle that would interfere with the movement of the arm, and if no obstacle would interfere, cause the arm to perform the operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein the arm assembly movement location is a location that allows proper clearance for the arm assembly to be moved and at which there are no obstacles that might interfere with movement as taught by Tobey so as to avoid collisions with the cart and the auger.
Bonefas_1 also does not teach:
the arm is an auger assembly, and the movement of the auger assembly is from the storage position to the operating position of the auger assembly from the storage position to the operating position.
However, Kinzenbaw teaches:
the arm is an auger assembly, and the movement of the auger assembly is from the storage position to the operating position of the auger assembly from the storage position to the operating position (A grain wagon with a discharge auger that can be folded for transport to and from a field, the unloading auger is typically comprised of upper and lower sections, which are capable of folding for transport mode. In the case of a side discharge wagon, the upper section of its folding auger is not clearly visible to the vehicle operator who must be careful to avoid contact between the auger and the offloading truck. This generally requires the operator to unfold the auger well away from the truck and to then move the wagon in position relative to the truck for unloading [paragraph 5]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with the arm is an auger assembly, and the movement of the auger assembly is from the storage position to the operating position of the auger assembly from the storage position to the operating position as taught by Kinzenbaw so as to allow the auger assembly to fold when not in use to avoid collisions while the cart is moving.
Regarding Claim 35. Bonefas_1 in combination with Bonefas_2, Affleck, and Kinzenbaw teaches the cart of claim 32.
Bonefas_1 does not teach:
wherein the auger assembly movement location is a location that allows proper clearance for the auger assembly to be moved from the storage position to the operating position and at which there are no obstacles that might interfere with movement of the auger assembly from the storage position to the operating position.
However, Tobey teaches:
wherein the arm assembly movement location is a location that allows proper clearance for the arm assembly to be moved and at which there are no obstacles that might interfere with movement (A hybrid robot arm system that can perform work by cooperating with a main computer and other subsystems, including a sensor ring [Column 15, lines 26-35]. Such cooperation can also avoid collisions, as well as collision avoidance of objects, such as when the arm navigates a convoluted path around obstacles. This means that the sensors working with the arm can determine whether an obstacle that would interfere with the movement of the arm, and if no obstacle would interfere, cause the arm to perform the operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with wherein the arm assembly movement location is a location that allows proper clearance for the arm assembly to be moved and at which there are no obstacles that might interfere with movement as taught by Tobey so as to avoid collisions with the cart and the auger.
Bonefas_1 also does not teach:
the arm is an auger assembly, and the movement of the auger assembly is from the storage position to the operating position of the auger assembly from the storage position to the operating position.
However, Kinzenbaw teaches:
the arm is an auger assembly, and the movement of the auger assembly is from the storage position to the operating position of the auger assembly from the storage position to the operating position (A grain wagon with a discharge auger that can be folded for transport to and from a field, the unloading auger is typically comprised of upper and lower sections, which are capable of folding for transport mode. In the case of a side discharge wagon, the upper section of its folding auger is not clearly visible to the vehicle operator who must be careful to avoid contact between the auger and the offloading truck. This generally requires the operator to unfold the auger well away from the truck and to then move the wagon in position relative to the truck for unloading [paragraph 5]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Bonefas_1 with the arm is an auger assembly, and the movement of the auger assembly is from the storage position to the operating position of the auger assembly from the storage position to the operating position as taught by Kinzenbaw so as to allow the auger assembly to fold when not in use to avoid collisions while the cart is moving.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON G CAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656