DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
--
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/07/2023, 09/23/2024 and 12/09/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 11-14 and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 17 recite the limitation “the classification of the input image.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation appears to be referring to “an image classification of an input image,” thus inconsistent and indefinite. For examination purposes examiner has interpreted “an image classification of an input image” to be “the image classification of an input image.”
Claims 3 and 11 recite the limitation “the position within the input image of its respective image patch.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the position” in the claim. For examination purposes examiner has interpreted “the position” to be “a position.”
Claims 4, 12 and 18 recite the limitation “generate low-frequency tokens and high-frequency tokens by applying a dual-tree complex wavelet transform… mix the low-frequency tokens with a first set of trainable weights to generate a low-frequency representation, and to mix the high-frequency tokens with a second set of trainable weights to generate a high-frequency representation; an inverse scatter network layer configured to combine the low-frequency representation and the high-frequency representation” which comprises relative terms and therefore renders the claim indefinite. The terms “low-frequency tokens, high-frequency tokens, a low-frequency representation, a high-frequency representation” are not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification does not provide examples or teachings of usage within the context of “low-frequency tokens, high-frequency tokens, a low-frequency representation, a high-frequency representation.” See MPEP 2173.05(b).
Claims 5, 13 and 19 recite the limitation “mix the low frequency tokens with the first set of trainable weights by performing tensor mixing” which comprises relative terms and therefore renders the claim indefinite. The terms “the low frequency tokens” are not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification does not provide examples or teachings of usage within the context of “the low frequency tokens.” See MPEP 2173.05(b).
Claims 6, 14 and 20 recite the limitation “mix the high frequency tokens with the second set of trainable weights by performing Einstein mixing” which comprises relative terms and therefore renders the claim indefinite. The terms “the high frequency tokens” are not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification does not provide examples or teachings of usage within the context of “the high frequency tokens.” See MPEP 2173.05(b).
Claims 2 and 7-8 are also rejected due to their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-11 and 15-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding ("An enhanced vision transformer with wavelet position embedding for histopathological image classification" 20230314) in view of Yang (US 12198300 B2, filed on 20220225)
In regard to claims 1, 9 and 17, Ding teaches: A method for generating an image classification of an input image, the method comprising: (Ding, p. 3, 3 Methods "we employ two techniques to make it more suitable for histopathological image classification… Finally, the classification result is derived by the FC classifier.")
providing a plurality of image patch vectors corresponding to the input image (Ding, p. , 4.1.1. NCT-CRC-HE "NCT-CRC-HE [34] has two sub-datasets. 100,000 non-overlapping image patches, which are cropped from H&E-stained histopathological images..."; p. 3, 3.1. Overall architecture, "The proposed model first feeds the input into the tokenizer module to obtain the low dimensional representations [a plurality of image patch vectors] in the histopathological image. [the input image]"; the tokenizer receives image patches (cropped from an image) and generate [image patch vector] for each image patch, therefore will generate [image patch vectors] for an image; a set of image tokens are patch vectors (often called patch embeddings or patch-level representations)) to a sequence of neural network layers configured to generate the image classification, wherein the sequence of neural network layers comprises: (Ding, p. 3, 3.1. Overall architecture, "As shown in Fig. 2, the model is an end-to-end trainable architecture that includes tokenizer, wavelet position embedding, transformer encoder,
sequence pooling, and a full convolution(FC) classifier module. [a sequence of neural network layers]")
at least one... layer configured to receive the plurality of image patch vectors and to process the plurality of image patch vectors to generate a first scatter output; (Ding, p. 3, 3.1. Overall architecture, "Wavelet position embedding has two 1D convolutions and a wave transform function…"; Fig. 2, Wavelet position embedding layer receiving patch vectors from the tokenizer to generate an output)
at least one attention layer configured to receive the first scatter output and to process the first scatter output to generate an attention output; and (Ding, p. 3, 3.1. Overall architecture, "Then it uses the wavelet positional embedding of these feature maps as the input of vision transformer to extract long-distance information of patches... The transformer encoder block is mainly compose of an external multi-head attention module and a MLP block."; Fig. 2, Transformer Encoder layer receiving output from the Wavelet layer to generate an attention output)
a classifier head layer configured to receive the attention output and to process the first scatter output to generate the classification of the input image. (Ding, p. 3, 3.1. Overall architecture, "Finally, the classification result is derived by the FC classifier."; Fig. 2, FC layer receiving output from the Transformer encoder layer to generate the classification)
Ding does not teach, but Yang teaches: scatter layer (Yang, (56) "At operation 530, a complex wavelet transform (e.g., a dual-tree complex wavelet transform (DTCWT)) 530 is performed on each image of the z-stack 520... At operation 540, the image data for each of the images is separated into regions that contain details of various sizes to determine wavelet coefficients. A relatively large wavelet coefficient in a region may, for example, indicate more pronounced detail than a region with a smaller wavelet coefficient."; 'scatter' in the context of the Wavelet Transform means information spreading into multiple wavelet coefficients across different scales)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Ding to incorporate the teachings of Yang by replacing Ding's wavelet transform with complex wavelet transform. Doing so would be able to detect areas of the images where sharp features and details are present. (Yang, (56) "At operation 530, a complex wavelet transform (e.g., a dual-tree complex wavelet transform (DTCWT)) 530 is performed on each image of the z-stack 520 to be able to detect areas of the images where sharp features and details are present.")
Claims 9 and 17 recite substantially the same limitation as claim 1, therefore the rejection applied to claim 1 also apply to claims 9 and 17. In addition, Ding teaches: (claim 9) An image classification system implemented by one or more computers (claim 17) One or more non-transitory computer readable media encoded with a computer program comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more computers cause the one or more computers to perform operations for (Ding, p. 6, 4.2. Implementation details "We implement the method in PyTorch and run it on a high performance computer with CPU of 35.4816 TFLOPS and GPU of 18.8 TFLOPS.")
In regard to claims 2 and 10, Ding teaches: further comprising: generating a plurality of image patches from the input image, wherein each image patch vector of the plurality of image patch vectors corresponds to one of the plurality of image patches and (Ding, p. 6, 4.1.1. NCT-CRC-HE "NCT-CRC-HE [34] has two sub-datasets. 100,000 non-overlapping image patches, [a plurality of image patches] which are cropped from H&E-stained histopathological images..."; p. 3, 3.1. Overall architecture, "The proposed model first feeds the input into the tokenizer module to obtain the low dimensional representations [a plurality of image patch vectors] in the histopathological image. [the input image]"; the tokenizer receives image patches (cropped from an image) and generate [image patch vector] for each image patch, therefore will generate [image patch vectors] for an image) comprises a linearly projection of its corresponding image patch. (Ding, p. 3, 3.1. Overall architecture, "The tokenizer module contains three convolution blocks, each block includes a single convolutional layer, ['convolution' includes a weighted sum as its linear operation, a linearly projection, e.g. Σ W(filter) * I(input)] ReLU activation and maxpool operation.")
In regard to claims 3 and 11, Ding teaches: further comprising: augmenting each patch vector to include a positional embedding that corresponds to the position within the input image of its respective image patch. (Ding, p. 3, 3.1. Overall architecture, "Then it uses the wavelet positional embedding of these feature maps as the input of vision transformer to extract long-distance information of patches. [the position within the input image of its respective image patch]")
In regard to claims 7 and 15, Ding teaches: wherein the at least one attention layer comprises a multi-headed self-attention sublayer coupled to a multi-layer perceptron sublayer. (Ding, p. 5, 3.3. External attention "The differences between the original attention module and the employed attention module are displayed in Fig. 4... It can be inferred from Eq. (4) that the self-attention mechanism only considers the relationship between elements in one sample and neglects the potential relation between elements in different samples, which would limit the power of self-attention. From Eq. 5, we can note that is weight-sharing in the dataset and implicitly learns the characteristics of all training samples. [including itself]"; p. 5, Fig. 4 "Difference between two attention modules… Right is the proposed external attention module."; p. 6, Fig. 5 "Multi-head external attention."; see Fig. 2, Norm + EMSA [external memory self-attention, a multi-headed self-attention sublayer] coupled to Norm + MLP [a multi-layer perceptron sublayer])
In regard to claims 8 and 16, Ding teaches: wherein the multi-headed self-attention sublayer and the multi-layer perceptron sublayer each further include layer normalization sublayers. (Ding, p. 5, 3.3. External attention "It can be normalized in a similar way to self-attention."; see Fig. 2, Norm + EMSA, Norm + MLP, where Norm as a normalization sublayer)
Conclusion
Yang teaches (Yang, (56) "At operation 530, a complex wavelet transform (e.g., a dual-tree complex wavelet transform (DTCWT)) 530 is performed on each image of the z-stack 520 to be able to detect areas of the images where sharp features and details are present… At operation 550, the image data from the images is fused together based on the maximum values of the wavelet coefficients.... At operation 570, an inverse complex wavelet transform 570 is applied to generate a final fused image 580.")
Yang teaches DTCWT at 530, fusing images at 550, and IDTCWT at 580, but does not teach the limitation "mix the low-frequency tokens with a first set of trainable weights to generate a low-frequency representation, and to mix the high-frequency tokens with a second set of trainable weights to generate a high-frequency representation" in claim 4. Yang does not teach the two trainable weights used for mixing low or high frequency tokens.
/SU-TING CHUANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2146