DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/10/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, claims 1- 2, 4-5, 7 and 1 1-19 in the reply filed on 12/1 7 /2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the subject matter of Groups I-II (and the claims encompassing the same) is sufficiently related to allow for examination of these inventions together . Further, i t is not clear how such a single examination would create any serious burden on the Patent Office. This is not found persuasive because such allegations relied on the unsupported assumption that the search and the examination of both the invention would be coextensive. Further, while there may be some overlap in the searches of the two inventions, there is not reason to believe that the searches would be identical. Therefore, based on the additional work involved in searching and examining both distinct inventions together, restriction of the distinct inventions is clearly proper. Furthermore, Group I and Group II have separate status in the art and therefore requires a different field of search. In response to a pplicant’s argument that a single examination may even be more economical , this argument is not persuasive because no showing of an economical examination on part of the a pplicant and /or the Patent Office is required. Claims 20 -2 2 and 24-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/1 7 /2025. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Platenkamp et al. (hereinafter Platenkamp ) US 2017/0172847 in view of Estep US 4,432,750 both cited in the IDS filed 03/10/2026 . Regarding claim 1 , Platenkamp discloses a system for the prolonged storage of red blood cells comprising: a) a flexible container comprising walls defining an interior chamber ( The collection container (14) preferably is flexible [0226 and 0237] ) , said walls comprising a polymeric composition including a polymer and at least two hemolysis suppressing agents ( More particularly, the containers, system components and systems typically comprise or are made of a plastic material such as (but not limited to) PVC, and at least one extractable agent that is or includes a terephthalate ester, cyclohexane dicarboxylic acid ester, citrate ester, or polyol ester . [0063] ; A preferred composition comprises PVC and at least one extractable agent selected from the group consisting of a terephthalate ester, a cyclohexane dicarboxylic acid ester, a citrate ester, and a polyol ester in an amount effective to reduce the rigidity of the polymer. More specifically, a preferred composition incorporates one, two, three or more of the disclosed extractable agents in amounts sufficient to suppress hemolysis of red blood cells, allow for the storage of frozen plasma, and provide good gas permeability for the storage of platelets . [0119] ) . Platenkamp also discloses a storage medium comprising (i) an aqueous solution comprising at least nutrient for red blood cells, a buffer ( wherein the blood component product comprises an additive solution comprising a nutrient and a buffer . [0048]) Platenkamp does not explicitly disclose a fat emulsion comprising a mixture of two or more lipids entrained in said aqueous solution. Estep teaches additive solutions to be used for red blood cell storage comprising the lipids cholesterol and phosphatidylcholine wherein the cholesterol and phosphatidylcholine are added to an aqueous solution to form a mixture and sonicated to emulsify the lipids in the aqueous solution which is used to store red blood cell , see Example 1; and C ol. 6, lines 30- 50. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the storage medium of Platenkamp to include a fat emulsion comprising a mixture of two or more lipids entrained in said aqueous solution as taught by Estep in order to prevent hemolysis of the red blood cells, since Estep discloses that the lipids prevent hemolysis of red blood cells in addition to maintain ing the morphology of the red blood cells, see C ol. 3, line 53 - C ol. 4, line 18 . Alternatively, Platenkamp discloses containers for holding blood , a blood component and/or an additive solution [0024, 0046 and 0048-0051] . The contents (e.g., storage medium ) of the containers depend on the intended use of the apparatus, which in turn does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. See MPEP § 2114. Regarding claim 2 , Platenkamp discloses wherein said polymer comprises polyvinyl chloride and said hemolysis suppressing agents are plasticizers for said polyvinyl chloride [0025-0035 and 0063] . Regarding claim 4 , Platenkamp discloses wherein said at least two plasticizers are selected from the group consisting of acetyl tributyl citrate (ATBC), acetyl tri-hexyl citrate (ATHC), butyryl tri-hexyl citrate (BTHC), di- 2-ethylhexyl terephthalate (DEHT) and 1,2-Cyclohexanonedicarboxylic acid, diisononyl ester (DINCH) ( The container may be a container wherein the container walls comprise at least a first layer and a second layer, wherein the first layer consists of a composition comprising one or more polymeric materials and at least a first extractable agent selected from the group consisting of a terephthalate ester, a cyclohexane dicarboxylic acid ester, a citrate ester , and a polyol ester , wherein the second layer consists of a composition comprising one or more polymeric materials and at least a second extractable agent selected from the group consisting of a terephthalate ester, a cyclohexane dicarboxylic acid ester, a citrate ester , and a polyol ester , the container optionally comprising a third layer, the third layer consisting of a composition comprising one or more polymeric materials and at least a third extractable agent selected from the group consisting of a terephthalate ester, a cyclohexane dicarboxylic acid ester, a citrate ester, and a polyol ester , wherein the first, the second and optionally, the third extractable agent are the same, or are different from each other. [0026 -0028 ]). Also see [0101-0102]. Regarding claim 5 , Platenkamp discloses wherein one of said plasticizers is acetyl tributyl citrate (ATBC) [0029-0030 and 0101-0102]. Further, Platenkamp discloses a ccording to some embodiments, each of the extractable agents (plasticizers) accounts for at least about 5% (w/w) of the extractable agent [0121]. Therefore, Platenkamp implies a percentage of total plasticizer content, said ATBC does not exceed 20%. Regarding claim 7 , Platenkamp discloses that container may comprise three hemolysis suppressing agents, wherein the three hemolysis suppressing agents are selected from the groups consisting of ATBC, acetyl tri-hexyl citrate (ATHC) and butyryl tri-hexyl citrate (BTHC); ATBC, acetyl tri-hexyl citrate (ATHC) and di-2-ethylhexyl terephthalate (DEHT); ATBC, butyryl tri- hexyl citrate (BTHC) and di- 2-ethylhexyl terephthalate (DEHT); and ATBC, di-2-ehtylhexyl terephthalate (DEHT) and 1,2-Cyclohexanonedicarboxylic acid, diisononyl ester (DINCH) ( The container may be a container wherein the composition of the layers comprises a second extractable agent, preferably a second extractable agent selected from the group consisting of a terephthalate ester, a cyclohexane dicarboxylic acid ester, a citrate ester, and a polyol ester, and optionally, a third extractable agent, preferably a third extractable agent selected from the group consisting of a terephthalate ester, a cyclohexane dicarboxylic acid ester, a citrate ester, and a polyol ester . [0027]; The system component may be a system component wherein the terephthalate ester is di-2-ethyl hexyl terephthalate (DEHT), the cyclohexane dicarboxylic acid ester is 1,2-cyclohexane dicarboxylic acid diisononyl ester (DINCH) or 1,2-cyclohexyl dicarboxylic acid di-2-ethylhexyl ester (DEHCH), the citrate ester is selected from acetyl tributyl citrate (ATBC), acetyl trihexyl citrate (ATHC), and butiryl trihexyl citrate (BTHC) …[0039]) . While Platenkamp does not expressly disclose the claimed combination , it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide three homolysis suppressing agents from a group as recited in claim 7 , since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP §2144.07. Regarding claim 11 , Platenkamp discloses three hemolysis suppressing agents consisting of ATBC, di-2-ethylhexyl terephthalate (DEHT) and 1,2-Cyclohexanonedicarboxylic acid, diisononyl ester (DINCH) [0027-0030 and 0101-0102] . Regarding claims 12-19 , the rejection of claim 1 above is relied upon. Platenkamp in view of Estep discloses the material properties of the aq u eous solution and the fat emulsion . See [0048-0051] of Platenkamp and Example 1; and C ol. 6, lines 30- 50 of Estep . Alternatively, Platenkamp discloses containers for holding blood , a blood component and/or an additive solution [0024, 0046 and 0048 -0051 ] . The contents (e.g., storage medium ) of the containers depend on the intended use of the apparatus, which in turn does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. See MPEP § 2114. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT LYDIA EDWARDS whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3242 . The examiner can normally be reached on FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday- Wedne sday 08 : 0 0- 18 : 0 0 EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Curtis Mayes can be reached on FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571- 272- 1234 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LYDIA EDWARDS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796