DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 4/08/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 1 cannot require anything that is not required by claim 10 and that Claim 10 having elements not present in claim 1 is characteristic of any dependent claim.
This is not found persuasive because claim 10 is an independent claim with dependents of claims 11-18 having distinct features not found in independent claim 1 and its dependents of claim 2-9. For example, first and second expansion valves and first and second condensers, with the second expansion valve configured to expand the refrigerant drawn through the first refrigerant connection line and flow the expanded refrigerant to the chiller, are present in the thermal management system of Claims 1-9 and these limitations are absent in the thermal management system of Claims 10-19. Also, the species are independent or distinct because a second valve operating in response to a low heating temperature and three heating modes are present in the thermal management system of Claims 10-19 and these limitations are absent in the thermal management system of Claims 1-9.
Further there is a search and/or examination burden because a thermal management system with three heating modes and a valve operating in response to a low heating temperature will require a different search than a system without the aforementioned valve and only one heating mode.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 35 USC 119(a)-(d) or (f).
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US-20210379960-A1 (hereinafter “Kim”) and Kim et al. US-20200398641-A1 (hereinafter “Kim ‘641”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a thermal management system for an electric vehicle (see abstract), the system comprising:
a stack cooling apparatus comprising a first line (supply line) 17 through which a first coolant circulates (see paragraphs [0068]-[0070]);
an electrical component cooling apparatus 10 comprising a second line (coolant line) 11 through which a second coolant circulates (see paragraphs [0061] and [0064]-[0070]);
an electrical component 15 on the second line 11 (see paragraphs [0058] and [0064]-[0070]);
a battery cooling apparatus 20 comprising a third line (battery coolant line) 21 through which a third coolant circulates, wherein the stack cooling apparatus and the battery cooling apparatus 20 are connected to the first line 17 in order to selectively heat-exchange the first coolant supplied from the stack cooling apparatus through the first line 17 with the third coolant circulating along the third line 21 and are thermally interlinked with each other through a heat-exchanger (coolant heater operated when the temperature of the coolant supplied to the battery module 24 is lower than the target temperature) 26 on the third line 21 (see paragraphs [0068], [0074]-[0083], [0119]-[0122], and [0135]-[0136]);
a battery 24 on the third line 21 (see paragraphs [0058] and [0072]-[0073]);
a chiller 30 on the third line 21, connected through a refrigerant line 51 and a first refrigerant connection line of an air conditioner unit 50, and configured to adjust a temperature of the third coolant by heat-exchanging the third coolant drawn through the third line with a refrigerant supplied from the air conditioner unit 50 through the first refrigerant connection line 51 (see paragraphs [0080]-[0085]);
a heating apparatus comprising a heating line 41 through which a fourth coolant circulates to heat a vehicle interior by using the fourth coolant (see paragraphs [0086]-[0088]); and
a heater core 40 on the heating line in Figs. 1-8 (see Fig. 4 below) (see paragraphs [0086]-[0088]).
Figure 1. Kim thermal management system (Fig. 4)
Kim is silent on the electric vehicle being a fuel cell electric vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor of thermal management systems (heat pump systems) for vehicles (see abstract), Kim ‘641 discloses an electric vehicle may include a battery and fuel cells as a power source and appropriate cooling is needed for the battery and fuel cell (see paragraphs [0003] and [0006]-[0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system of Kim wherein the electric vehicle is a fuel cell electric vehicle, as disclosed by Kim ‘641, as fuel cells are a known and appropriate power source for electric vehicles that require proper thermal management systems.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Kim discloses the system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Kim further discloses wherein the air conditioner unit 50 comprises:
a compressor 59 configured to compress the refrigerant (see paragraphs [0004]-[0005] and [0102]-[0107]);
a first condenser 53 connected to the compressor 59 through the refrigerant line 51 and configured to condense the refrigerant by heat-exchanging the refrigerant supplied from the compressor 59 with the second coolant supplied from the electrical component 15 (waste heat of the electrical component is recovered and ultimately cycled to the condenser) in Fig. 6 (see paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0102]-[0107], and [0222]-[0251]);
a first expansion valve 55 connected to the first condenser 53 through the refrigerant line 51 (see paragraphs [0004]-[0005] and [0102]-[0107]); and
an evaporator 56 connected to the first condenser 53 through the refrigerant line 51 and configured to evaporate the refrigerant by heat-exchanging the refrigerant supplied from the first condenser 53 with ambient air (outside air passing through the evaporator which is connected therewith through the refrigerant line 51) in Figs. 1-8 (see paragraphs [0004]-[0005] and [0102]-[0107]).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Kim discloses the system of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above). Kim further discloses wherein the electrical component cooling apparatus 10 comprises:
a radiator 12 on the second line 11 (see paragraphs [0061]-[0067]);
a first water pump 14 on the second line 11 between the radiator 12 and the electrical component 15 (see paragraphs [0061]-[0067]);
a cooling fan 13 at a rear of the radiator 12 (see paragraphs [0061]-[0067]); and
a connection line 31 comprising a first end connected to the second line 11 and a second end connected to the second line 11 between the electrical component 15 and the radiator 12, wherein the first condenser 53 is on the connection line (flow to the connection line is received from the first condenser) in Figs. 1-8 (see paragraphs [0061]-[0067]).
Kim is silent on the connection line being connected between the water pump and electrical component.
However, the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). A skilled artisan is capable of connecting line where it is appropriate and fits best with the thermal management system they are making.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system wherein the connection line is connected between the water pump and electrical component, as a rearrangement of parts to best fit with the thermal management system they are making.
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Kim ‘641, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Choi et al. US-20120240604-A1 (hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding Claims 4-5, modified Kim discloses the system of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above). Kim further discloses wherein the air conditioner unit 50 further comprises:
a second refrigerant connection line 61 (see paragraphs [0100]-[0113]);
a second condenser 54 on the first refrigerant connection line 51, connected to the heating line 41, and configured to condense the refrigerant by heat-exchanging the refrigerant supplied through the first refrigerant connection line 51 with the fourth coolant supplied from the heating line 41 (see paragraphs [0100]-[0113]); and
a second expansion valve 63 on the second refrigerant connection line 61 at an upstream side of the chiller 30 in Figs. 1-8 (see paragraphs [0100]-[0113] and [0246]).
Kim is silent on a second expansion valve being on the first refrigerant connection line at an upstream side of the chiller and a second condenser on the second refrigerant connection line.
However, the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). A skilled artisan would expect the expansion valve located on the upstream side of the chiller but on the first refrigerant connection line 51 and the second condenser being on the second refrigerant connection line to still appropriately result in the chiller receiving refrigerant that was supplied from the second condenser 54 and expanded through operation of the second expansion valve 63 to realize efficiently cooling the battery. A skilled artisan would be capable of making this rearrangement to better fit the thermal management system into the vehicle layout.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system wherein a second expansion valve is on the first refrigerant connection line at an upstream side of the chiller as a rearrangement of parts to fit the thermal management system into the vehicle.
Kim is silent on a refrigerant valve on the refrigerant line between the compressor and the first condenser and in a heating mode of the vehicle interior, the refrigerant valve is configured to open the second refrigerant connection line and close the refrigerant line connected to the first condenser.
However, in the same field of endeavor of thermal management systems (see abstract), Choi discloses a valve 169 that selectively supplies the refrigerant from the condenser 130 to the evaporator 157 or the accumulator 163 (which then flows to the condenser 161) to control the expansion amount of the refrigerant of the air conditioning means according to the mode of the vehicle in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraphs [0015], [0018]-[0029], [0061]-[0063], and [0066]). Choi additionally discloses this system can improve heating performance and efficiency and dehumidifying performance (see paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system of Kim wherein a refrigerant valve on the refrigerant line between the compressor and the first condenser and in a heating mode of the vehicle interior, the refrigerant valve is configured to open the second refrigerant connection line and close the refrigerant line connected to the first condenser, as disclosed by Choi, in order to improve heating performance and efficiency and dehumidifying performance.
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses the system of claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above). Kim further discloses wherein a second end of the second refrigerant connection line 61 is connected to the refrigerant line 51 between the first condenser 53 and the first expansion valve 55 in Figs. 1-8 (see annotated Fig. 4 below) (see paragraphs [0107] and [0139]-[0146]).
Figure 2. Refrigerant Line Connection
Regarding Claim 7, Kim discloses the system of claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above). Kim further discloses wherein, to cool the battery using the third coolant heat-exchanged with the refrigerant, the second expansion valve 63 is configured to expand the refrigerant drawn through the second refrigerant connection line 61 and flow the expanded refrigerant to the chiller 30 in Figs. 1-8 (see paragraphs [0025] and[0108]-[0111]).
Kim is silent on a second expansion valve being on the first refrigerant connection line at an upstream side of the chiller.
However, the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). A skilled artisan would expect the expansion valve located on the upstream side of the chiller but on the first refrigerant connection line 51 to still appropriately result in the chiller receiving refrigerant that was supplied from the sub-condenser 54 and expanded through operation of the second expansion valve 63 to realize efficiently cooling the battery. A skilled artisan would be capable of making this rearrangement to better fit the thermal management system into the vehicle layout.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system wherein a second expansion valve is on the first refrigerant connection line at an upstream side of the chiller as a rearrangement of parts to fit the thermal management system into the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 8, Kim discloses the system of claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above). Kim further discloses wherein the heating apparatus 40 comprises:
a third water pump 42 on the heating line 41 between the first condenser 53 and the heater core 52a;
a coolant heater on the heating line 41 between the third water pump 42 and the heater core 52a and configured to selectively heat the fourth coolant circulating along the heating line 41;
a third valve V2 on the heating line between the first condenser 53 and the third water pump 42; and
a third branch line (line of heating line 41 between third valve V2 and heater core 52a) comprising a first end connected to the third valve V2 and a second end connected to the heating line connecting the heater core 52a and the second condenser 54 in Figs. 1-8 (see paragraphs [0082]-[0087], [0100], and [0157]).
Kim is silent on the third water pump being between the second condenser and the heating core and a third valve on the heating line between the second condenser and the third water pump.
However, the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). A skilled artisan is capable of connecting condensers to the heater as is appropriate depending on the layout of the thermal management system as a connection between a heater core and condenser will still appropriately be realized.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system wherein a third water pump on the heating line between the second condenser and the heater core as a rearrangement of parts depending on the skilled artisan’s layout of the thermal management system with the predictable result of realizing a connection between a heater core and condenser.
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses the system of claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above). Kim further discloses wherein, to heat the vehicle interior using the coolant heater, the third valve V2 is configured to close a portion of the heating line 41 connected to the second condenser 54 and open the third branch line (when an interior of the vehicle is heated, the heating device 40 may connect the coolant line 11 and the heating line 41 connected to the electrical component 15 by the operation of the second valve V2 such that the high-temperature coolant that has passed through the electrical component 15 is supplied to the heating line 41) in Figs. 1-8 (see paragraphs [0082]-[0087] and [0157]).
Conclusion
/S.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729