Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan et al. (US 20190152319A1 hereinafter "Wan"), in view of Tsay et al. (US 2020/0307377 A1 hereinafter “Tsay”) and further in view of HINCKLEY et al. (US 2022/0408142 A1, hereinafter “HINCKLEY”).
In regard to independent claim 1, Wan teaches a display control device for a vehicle, the device comprising: a memory; [A skilled artisan would understand that the driver interface system 100 would include a memory storing instructions performed by a processor in order to perform the outlined method below].
and at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein: the processor is configured to display, at a display portion provided at a front side of a driver's seat, a plurality of icons corresponding to a steering switch group provided with a touch sensor type first switch and a non-touch sensor-type second switch, the plurality of icons include a first icon corresponding to the first switch and a second icon corresponding to the second switch, and [A display is positioned on a dashboard ("front side of a driver's seat'') [See Wan, para-19]. Figs 3A-C show a display mode menu 328 and image 326A-H (second icon) [See Wan, para-25]. Menu 328 may be navigated by the touchpad 116 (first switch) and icons 326A-H are selectable by buttons 112a-h (second switch) [See Wan, para-15, 17, 19].
in a case in which a touch operation of the first switch is sensed, the processor displays both the first icon and the second icon, ... [The user may navigate the menu 328, selecting a display mode, which causes the icons 326A-D to be displayed [See Wan, para-26-27].
Wan teaches "wherein in response to sensing of a non-touch operation of the second switch, the processor is configured to not to display the currently display icons". Wan teaches the use of non-touch buttons and rotary dials [See Wan, para-15, 16, items 112a to 112f, 114a, 114b]. Wan also teaches that non-touch buttons, in particular button items 212e, 212f, 212g, are mapped to returning a menu to a previous screen, returning said menu to a home screen, and opening a setting screen, respectively, which teaches replacing (i.e. non-displaying) the icons of a screen with those of a previous, a home, or a settings screen [see Wan para 22 Table 1, para. 26 Table 2, para. 27 Table 3].
Although Wan’s images appearing on Fig. 3A items 326a-h are suggestive of icons, Wan does not explicitly state that its items are “icons”, however, Tsay teaches a method of application interaction within a vehicle, whereby a user can select various menu icons leading to various sub-systems, including an infotainment system [see Tsay Fig. 4, para. 28].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Wan’s menu navigation system to incorporate Tsay’s teaching of an icon menu. Motivation to do so would be to enable fast recognition and allow language agnostic navigation.
Although Wan discloses non-displayed state icons, Wan does not explicitly disclose not to display any icon at location where the previous icon had been displayed. However, HINCKLEY discloses not to disclose at icon at locations where the previous icon had been displayed [see HINCKLEY, para 138, Fig. 10, virtual keyboard is no longer displayed and not display anything else on that location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Wan’s menu navigation system to incorporate Tsay’s teaching of an icon menu along with HINCKLEY’s teaching of not displaying any content on the previous displayed item. Motivation to do so would be to reduce unnecessary visual stimuli and helps maintain driver focus on driving condition.
In regard to claim 2, Wan disclose(s) the display control device for a vehicle of claim 1, wherein, in a case in which a touch operation of the first switch is sensed, the processor displays the first icon corresponding to the first switch so as to be emphasized more than the second icon, and displays operation information relating to an onboard device that is assigned to the first switch. [Wan, As shown in Figs 3A-C, selection of a display mode from menu 328 causes it to be emphasized and displayed differently than icons 326A-H. Additionally, selection of a display mode causes icons 326A-H to be changed that relate to the selected mode [See Wan, para-22]. For example, selection of the entertainment mode displays button icons related to the entertainment system ("onboard device that is assigned to the first switch'') [See Wan, para-22]].
In regard to claim 4, Wan disclose(s) the display control device for a vehicle of claim 1, wherein: the first switch is structured such that an onboard device assigned to the first switch can be changed by switching of a layer displayed on the display portion, [Wan, The user may navigate the menu 328 which causes the icons 326A-D to be displayed [See Wan, para-26-27]. Selection of a display mode causes icons 326A-H to be changed that relate to the selected mode [See Wan, para-22]. Each display mode of menu 328 relates to a particular associated system (onboard device), e.g. entertainment system, navigation system, [See Wan, para-22, 26-27].
when an onboard device, which is related to an onboard device assigned to the second switch, is assigned to the first switch, in a case in which a touch operation of the first switch is sensed, the processor displays both the first icon and the second icon, and [Wan, When a display mode related to a particular system, e.g. entertainment system ("onboard device assigned to the second switch''), is selected from menu 328 while the related icons 326A-H are already displayed, then the same display mode (first icon) is displayed, and the same related icons 326A-H (second icon) are displayed] when an onboard device, which is not related to an onboard device assigned to the second switch, is assigned to the first switch, in a case in which a touch operation of the first switch is sensed, the processor displays the first icon and renders the second icon into a non- displayed state. [Wan, When a new display mode, e.g. navigation, unrelated to the previously selected system, e.g. entertainment system ("onboard device assigned to the second switch''), is selected from menu 328 while the related entertainment icons 326A-H are already displayed, then the new navigation display mode (first icon) is displayed, while the previous entertainment icons are replaced (non displayed state)].
In regard to independent claim 5, said claim is directed to a method analogous to the system with a processor performing the method of claim 1 respectively, and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
In regard to independent claim 6, said claim is directed to a computer readable medium analogous to the processor performing instructions stored in a memory of claim 1 respectively, and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan, in view of Tsay and KINCKLEY as presented in the rejection of claim 1 above, and further in view of Jenson (US 20160023604 A1 hereinafter “Jenson”).
In regard to claim 3, Wan does not disclose "wherein, in a case in which a touch operation, in which an operating finger of a vehicle occupant slides on a surf ace of the first switch in a direction in which the second switch is located, is sensed, the processor renders the first icon and the second icon into a non-displayed state, and displays operation information relating to an onboard device assigned to the second switch.".
On the other hand, Jenson discloses "wherein, in a case in which a touch operation, in which an operating finger of a vehicle occupant slides on a surf ace of the first switch in a direction in which the second switch is located, is sensed, the processor renders the first icon and the second icon into a non-displayed state, and displays operation information relating to an onboard device assigned to the second switch.".
Jenson discloses a system wherein a menu/submenu is navigated by a user [See Jenson, para-29]. A specific gesture causes the submenu to be exited and removed from display by displaying a new menu, e.g. application menu, display menu, sound menu [See Jenson, para-29-30, 36]. Accordingly, performing of a specific gesture, e.g. alpha gesture would terminate display of any menu icons and submenu (first icon and second icon). The gesture may be any predefined gesture, which may include a slide in an upward, left, or right direction. Accordingly the combination would teach a slide in a direction of the buttons taught by Wan.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wan's menu navigation system, icon menu to incorporate the teachings of Jenson's exit gesture. Motivation to do so would be to enable fast menu navigation without removing their driver eyes from the road, as taught by Jenson [See Jenson, para-24].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that Applicant recites a “non-touch sensor type” switch and a “non-touch” operation in at least claim 1. With few exceptions (i.e. air gestures, eye tracking, automated switching, proximity sensors, etc.), most pressable and rotary switches require at least an initial touch. For the purpose of rejection under art, the examiner interprets the above to mean a non-capacitance type switch. This appears supported in Applicant’s specification at least paragraphs [0047], and [0087] which describes an example of a thumbwheel as a non-touch switch.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2005/0046279-A1 (Dunn): dash indicator toggled via steering wheel switch.
US 2009/0167515-A1 (Scherzinger): telltale icon illumination (see at least para. 2).
US 2025/0033476-A1 (Pirkey): roller wheels to toggle icons (see Fig. 13, 13, para. 39).
US 2022/0139647-A1 (Mizuno): steering switch system.
Conclusion
/PHUONG H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174