DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 07/31/2023, 09/20/2023, 01/17/2023, 03/03/2025, 04/14/2025, 06/11/2025, 07/30/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In this case, claim 25 recites the limitation “the selection of one or more drink orders”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-17, 19-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Sharpley (US 20100268378 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Sharpley discloses, a method for preparing a beverage (see drink orders in Fig. 3), the method comprising:
receiving one or more drink orders (see step 300 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0043 “In the step 300, orders are collected from POS device(s), mobile POS device(s), self-checkout kiosk(s), web-site order(s), or other order collection devices”);
adding the one or more drink orders on a queue (see annotated in Fig. 3, wherein orders collected from POS device(s), mobile POS device(s), self-checkout kiosk(s), web-site order(s), or other order collection devices are added);
receiving a selection of the one or more drink orders on the queue (see step 302 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0043 “In the step 302, orders are prioritized by instant delivery or delayed delivery based upon order information and/or POS time stamp”);
building one or more recipes for the selected drink orders on the queue (see step 308 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0043 “In the step 308, the drink order recipe is electronically sent to the available machine”);
sending build steps from the one or more recipes to corresponding substations (see annotated Fig. 3);
for each of the build steps, instructing the corresponding substation to dispense an ingredient or execute an action (see step 312 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0044 “the machine is capable of displaying the drink type/order and drink modifiers, the drink options are displayed in the machine display, in the step 312”); and
determining each of the build steps have been completed by a user (see steps 320, 322, 324 and 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “then the operator reads the drink order to prepare off of the machine screen, the operator selects a proper drink cup size based off of the drink order displayed […] the operator adds manual pre-brew ingredients required for drink, in the step 320. In the step 322, the operator places a cup in/on the machine. In the step 324, the operator pushes a button (or touches a touch screen button, or any other action) to activate program drink recipe brewing sent to the machine by the interface program. In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink, and the drink is delivered to customer”).
Regarding claim 2, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 1, and further comprising determining each of the build steps require a predecessor (see operator in Fig. 3 and para 0045).
Regarding claim 4, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 1, Sharpley further discloses, wherein instructing the corresponding substation to dispense the ingredient comprises: determining a container is positioned in a first position at the corresponding substation by the user (see steps 320 and 322 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “then the operator reads the drink order to prepare off of the machine screen, the operator selects a proper drink cup size based off of the drink order displayed […] In the step 322, the operator places a cup in/on the machine); dispensing a predetermined amount of the ingredient into the container based on the corresponding build step (see steps 324 and 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 324, the operator pushes a button (or touches a touch screen button, or any other action) to activate program drink recipe brewing sent to the machine by the interface program. In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink […]”); and determining the predetermined amount of the ingredient has been dispensed from the container or the container has been removed from the corresponding substation by the user (see step 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink, and the drink is delivered to customer”).
Regarding claim 5, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 1, Sharpley further discloses, wherein instructing the corresponding substation to execute the action comprises: determining a container is positioned in a first position at the corresponding substation by the user (see steps 320 and 322 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “then the operator reads the drink order to prepare off of the machine screen, the operator selects a proper drink cup size based off of the drink order displayed […] In the step 322, the operator places a cup in/on the machine); activating an equipment to perform the action (see steps 324 and 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 324, the operator pushes a button (or touches a touch screen button, or any other action) to activate program drink recipe brewing sent to the machine by the interface program. In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink […]”); and determining the ingredient has been dispensed from the container or the container has been removed from the corresponding substation by the user (see step 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink, and the drink is delivered to customer”).
Regarding claim 6, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 1, Sharpley further discloses, wherein instructing the corresponding substation to dispense the ingredient comprises: determining a trigger (see button in step 324 in Fig. 3) at the corresponding substation has been initiated by the user (see steps 324 and 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 324, the operator pushes a button (or touches a touch screen button, or any other action) to activate program drink recipe brewing sent to the machine by the interface program. In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink […]”); dispensing an amount of the ingredient into a container (see drink cup step 322 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink) and determining the amount of the ingredient has been dispensed from the container or the container has been removed from the corresponding substation by the user (see step 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink, and the drink is delivered to customer”).
Regarding claim 7, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 6, Sharpley further discloses, wherein the amount of the ingredient dispensed into the container is based on a time the trigger has been activated (see steps 324 and 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 324, the operator pushes a button (or touches a touch screen button, or any other action) to activate program drink recipe brewing sent to the machine by the interface program. In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink […]”, wherein as disclosed in para 0028 “Software implemented in the method and system stages drink orders based on expected delivery times, queues the order into an available coffee drink preparation machine, and displays the order details on the coffee drink preparation machine's screen enabling the operator to add any unique or manual drink components”).
Regarding claim 8, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 6, Sharpley further discloses, wherein the amount of the ingredient dispensed into the container is a predetermined amount based on the corresponding build step (disclosed in para 0058 “, a base recipe for making coffee includes brewing the coffee for 20 seconds which is the desired amount of time at sea level, but a delta is also sent which increases the infusion time to 23 seconds for locations at higher elevation”).
Regarding claim 9, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 1, Sharpley further discloses, wherein instructing the corresponding substation to execute the action comprises sensing a manual action has been taken at the corresponding substation by the user (see steps 324 and 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 324, the operator pushes a button (or touches a touch screen button, or any other action) to activate program drink recipe brewing sent to the machine by the interface program. In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink […]”, wherein as disclosed in para 0028 “Software implemented in the method and system stages drink orders based on expected delivery times, queues the order into an available coffee drink preparation machine, and displays the order details on the coffee drink preparation machine's screen enabling the operator to add any unique or manual drink components”).
Regarding claim 10, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 1, Sharpley further discloses, wherein the selection of the one or more drink orders on the queue comprises at least two drink orders (see step 300 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 1, Sharpley further discloses, further comprising displaying the one or more drink orders on the queue on a main display (see step 310 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 1, Sharpley further discloses, further comprising displaying the build step sent to the corresponding substation on a display at the corresponding substation (see step 312 and disclosed in para 0044 “the machine is capable of displaying the drink type/order and drink modifiers, the drink options are displayed in the machine display, in the step 312”).
Regarding claim 13, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 1, Sharpley further discloses, further comprising estimating a build time for each of the one or more drink orders (disclosed in para 0058 “a base recipe for making coffee includes brewing the coffee for 20 seconds which is the desired amount of time at sea level, but a delta is also sent which increases the infusion time to 23 seconds for locations at higher elevation”).
Regarding claim 14, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 13, Sharpley further discloses, wherein estimating the build time for each of the one or more drink orders is based on a number of user steps (disclosed in para 0043 “In the step 302, orders are prioritized by instant delivery or delayed delivery based upon order information and/or POS time stamp”).
Regarding claim 15, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 14, Sharpley further discloses, wherein estimating the build time for each of the one or more drink orders is based on a comparison of an estimated time to complete each of the build steps and an actual time to complete each of the build steps (disclosed in para 0043 “In the step 302, orders are prioritized by instant delivery or delayed delivery based upon order information and/or POS time stamp. In the step 304, the delivery location is determined based upon order parameters, GPS Location, POS delivery location, and/or customer selected delivery location. In the step 306, the best available machine for delivery is determined. In the step 308, the drink order recipe is electronically sent to the available machine.”).
Regarding independent claim 16, Sharpley discloses, a method for preparing multiple beverages (see drink orders in Fig. 3), the method comprising:
receiving multiple drink orders (see step 300 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0043 “In the step 300, orders are collected from POS device(s), mobile POS device(s), self-checkout kiosk(s), web-site order(s), or other order collection devices”);
adding the multiple drink orders on a queue see annotated in Fig. 3, wherein orders collected from POS device(s), mobile POS device(s), self-checkout kiosk(s), web-site order(s), or other order collection devices are added);
receiving a selection of a plurality of drink orders of the multiple drink orders on the queue (see step 302 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0043 “In the step 302, orders are prioritized by instant delivery or delayed delivery based upon order information and/or POS time stamp”);
building recipes for each of the selection of the plurality of drink orders on the queue see step 308 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0043 “In the step 308, the drink order recipe is electronically sent to the available machine”);
sending build steps from the recipes for each of the selected plurality of drink orders to corresponding substations (see annotated Fig. 3);
for each of the build steps, instructing the corresponding substation to dispense an ingredient or execute an action (see step 312 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0044 “the machine is capable of displaying the drink type/order and drink modifiers, the drink options are displayed in the machine display, in the step 312”); and
determining each of the build steps have been completed by a user (see steps 320, 322, 324 and 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “then the operator reads the drink order to prepare off of the machine screen, the operator selects a proper drink cup size based off of the drink order displayed […] the operator adds manual pre-brew ingredients required for drink, in the step 320. In the step 322, the operator places a cup in/on the machine. In the step 324, the operator pushes a button (or touches a touch screen button, or any other action) to activate program drink recipe brewing sent to the machine by the interface program. In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink, and the drink is delivered to customer”).
Regarding claim 17, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 16, and Sharpley further discloses, comprising determining each of the build steps require a predecessor (see operator in Fig. 3 and para 0045).
Regarding claim 19, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 16, and Sharpley further discloses, wherein instructing the corresponding substation to dispense the ingredient comprises: determining a container is positioned in a first position at the corresponding substation by the user (see steps 320 and 322 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “then the operator reads the drink order to prepare off of the machine screen, the operator selects a proper drink cup size based off of the drink order displayed […] In the step 322, the operator places a cup in/on the machine); dispensing a predetermined amount of the ingredient into the container based on the corresponding build step (see steps 324 and 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 324, the operator pushes a button (or touches a touch screen button, or any other action) to activate program drink recipe brewing sent to the machine by the interface program. In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink […]”); and determining the predetermined amount of the ingredient has been dispensed from the container or the container has been removed from the corresponding substation by the user (see step 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink, and the drink is delivered to customer”).
Regarding claim 20, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 16, Sharpley further discloses, wherein instructing the corresponding substation to execute the action comprises: determining a container is positioned in a first position at the corresponding substation by the user (see steps 320 and 322 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “then the operator reads the drink order to prepare off of the machine screen, the operator selects a proper drink cup size based off of the drink order displayed […] In the step 322, the operator places a cup in/on the machine); activating an equipment to perform the action (see steps 324 and 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 324, the operator pushes a button (or touches a touch screen button, or any other action) to activate program drink recipe brewing sent to the machine by the interface program. In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink […]”); and determining the ingredient has been dispensed from the container or the container has been removed from the corresponding substation by the user (see step 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink, and the drink is delivered to customer”).
Regarding claim 21, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 16, Sharpley further discloses, wherein instructing the corresponding substation to dispense the ingredient comprises: determining a trigger (see button in step 324 in Fig. 3) at the corresponding substation has been initiated by the user (see steps 324 and 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 324, the operator pushes a button (or touches a touch screen button, or any other action) to activate program drink recipe brewing sent to the machine by the interface program. In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink […]”); dispensing an amount of the ingredient into a container (see drink cup step 322 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink) and determining the amount of the ingredient has been dispensed from the container or the container has been removed from the corresponding substation by the user (see step 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink, and the drink is delivered to customer”).
Regarding claim 22, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 21, Sharpley further discloses, wherein the amount of the ingredient dispensed into the container is based on a time the trigger has been activated (see steps 324 and 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 324, the operator pushes a button (or touches a touch screen button, or any other action) to activate program drink recipe brewing sent to the machine by the interface program. In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink […]”, wherein as disclosed in para 0028 “Software implemented in the method and system stages drink orders based on expected delivery times, queues the order into an available coffee drink preparation machine, and displays the order details on the coffee drink preparation machine's screen enabling the operator to add any unique or manual drink components”).
Regarding claim 23, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 21, Sharpley further discloses, wherein the amount of the ingredient dispensed into the container is a predetermined amount based on the corresponding build step (disclosed in para 0058 “, a base recipe for making coffee includes brewing the coffee for 20 seconds which is the desired amount of time at sea level, but a delta is also sent which increases the infusion time to 23 seconds for locations at higher elevation”).
Regarding claim 24, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 16, Sharpley further discloses, wherein instructing the corresponding substation to execute the action comprises sensing a manual action has been taken at the corresponding substation by the user (see steps 324 and 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “In the step 324, the operator pushes a button (or touches a touch screen button, or any other action) to activate program drink recipe brewing sent to the machine by the interface program. In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink […]”, wherein as disclosed in para 0028 “Software implemented in the method and system stages drink orders based on expected delivery times, queues the order into an available coffee drink preparation machine, and displays the order details on the coffee drink preparation machine's screen enabling the operator to add any unique or manual drink components”).
Regarding claim 25, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 16, Sharpley further discloses, wherein the selection of the one or more drink orders on the queue comprises at least two drink orders (see step 300 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 26, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 16, Sharpley further discloses, further comprising displaying the plurality of drink orders on the queue on a main display (see step 310 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 27, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 16, Sharpley further discloses, further comprising displaying the build step sent to the corresponding substation on a display at the corresponding substation (see step 312 and disclosed in para 0044 “the machine is capable of displaying the drink type/order and drink modifiers, the drink options are displayed in the machine display, in the step 312”).
Regarding claim 28, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 16, Sharpley further discloses, further comprising estimating a build time for each of the plurality of drink orders (disclosed in para 0058 “a base recipe for making coffee includes brewing the coffee for 20 seconds which is the desired amount of time at sea level, but a delta is also sent which increases the infusion time to 23 seconds for locations at higher elevation”).
Regarding claim 29, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 28, Sharpley further discloses, wherein estimating the build time for each of the plurality of drink orders is based on a number of user steps (disclosed in para 0043 “In the step 302, orders are prioritized by instant delivery or delayed delivery based upon order information and/or POS time stamp”).
Regarding claim 30, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 29, Sharpley further discloses, wherein estimating the build time for each of the plurality of drink orders is based on a comparison of an estimated time to complete each of the build steps and an actual time to complete each of the build steps (disclosed in para 0043 “In the step 302, orders are prioritized by instant delivery or delayed delivery based upon order information and/or POS time stamp. In the step 304, the delivery location is determined based upon order parameters, GPS Location, POS delivery location, and/or customer selected delivery location. In the step 306, the best available machine for delivery is determined. In the step 308, the drink order recipe is electronically sent to the available machine.”).
Regarding independent claim 31, Sharpley discloses, a beverage preparation system (see Fig.1, Fig. 3 and Fig. 16) comprising:
a plurality of substations (see Fig. 1 and disclosed in para 0036 “the data device 108 maintains an order machine queue and implements load balancing so that orders are sent to various machines to keep the load of the machines balanced”), each of the plurality of substations configured to dispense an ingredient or perform an action (see step 308 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0043 “In the step 308, the drink order recipe is electronically sent to the available machine”);
a main controller (see processor 1606 in Fig. 16), the main controller configured to:
receive one or more drink orders (see step 300 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0043 “In the step 300, orders are collected from POS device(s), mobile POS device(s), self-checkout kiosk(s), web-site order(s), or other order collection devices”);
add the one or more drink orders on a queue (see annotated in Fig. 3, wherein orders collected from POS device(s), mobile POS device(s), self-checkout kiosk(s), web-site order(s), or other order collection devices are added);
receive a selection of the one or more drink orders on the queue (see step 302 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0043 “In the step 302, orders are prioritized by instant delivery or delayed delivery based upon order information and/or POS time stamp”);
build one or more recipes for the selected drink orders on the queue (see step 308 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0043 “In the step 308, the drink order recipe is electronically sent to the available machine”);
send build steps from the one or more recipes to a corresponding substation (see annotated Fig. 3);
for each of the build steps, instruct the corresponding substation to dispense an ingredient or execute an action (see step 312 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0044 “the machine is capable of displaying the drink type/order and drink modifiers, the drink options are displayed in the machine display, in the step 312”); and
determine each of the build steps has been completed (see steps 320, 322, 324 and 326 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0045 “then the operator reads the drink order to prepare off of the machine screen, the operator selects a proper drink cup size based off of the drink order displayed […] the operator adds manual pre-brew ingredients required for drink, in the step 320. In the step 322, the operator places a cup in/on the machine. In the step 324, the operator pushes a button (or touches a touch screen button, or any other action) to activate program drink recipe brewing sent to the machine by the interface program. In the step 326, final drink options are added to the drink, and the drink is delivered to customer”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharpley in view of Xu (US 20230284818 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 1.
However, Sharpley does not explicitly disclose, wherein instructing the corresponding substation to dispense the ingredient comprises: dispensing a predetermined amount of the ingredient into a dosing vessel in a first position based on the corresponding build step; determining the predetermined amount of the ingredient has been dispensed from the dosing vessel by the user; and determine the dosing vessel has been returned to the first position by the user.
Nonetheless, Xu teaches, wherein instructing the corresponding substation to dispense the ingredient comprises: dispensing a predetermined amount of the ingredient (see receive coffee grounds or tea in para 0052) into a dosing vessel (see pod 102 in Fig. 1A-B) in a first position (see Fig. 1A, wherein the pod 102 is beneath the grinder 106 and disclosed in para 0052 “The capsule dock 108 may be configured to hold an empty pod 102 beneath the grinder 106 to receive coffee grounds or tea of a desired size into pod 102 prior to brewing a beverage”) based on the corresponding build step (disclosed in para 0051 “The grinder 106 may automatically reset and adjust to a desired grind size in response to receiving a command from a controller in the brewing system 100”); determining the predetermined amount of the ingredient has been dispensed from the dosing vessel by the user (disclosed in para 0092 “Upon detecting an incorrect amount of coffee deposition, the controller of the brewer may output a notification (e.g., alert) to a user to check the amount of coffee deposition”); and determine the dosing vessel has been returned to the first position by the user check (disclosed in para 0093 “The integrated force sensor 510 may enable the capsule dock to act as a button or switch by detecting a force applied directly by a user pressing on a front 514 of the capsule holder 506, thereby allowing the user to interact with the brewer. In an example, the linear positioning stage 110 driven by the stepper motor 500 may provide haptic feedback when the system registers a “click” action from the user pressing the capsule holder 506. One application of this user activated switch may be to activate the brewing process once the pod 102 is correctly installed in the capsule dock 108”).
Sine Sharpley discloses for each of the build steps, instructing the corresponding substation to dispense an ingredient or execute an action (see step 312 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0044 “the machine is capable of displaying the drink type/order and drink modifiers, the drink options are displayed in the machine display, in the step 312”), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the step of instructing the corresponding substation to dispense the ingredient of Sharpley wherein instructing the corresponding substation to dispense the ingredient comprises: dispensing a predetermined amount of the ingredient into a dosing vessel in a first position based on the corresponding build step; determining the predetermined amount of the ingredient has been dispensed from the dosing vessel by the user; and determine the dosing vessel has been returned to the first position by the user as taught/suggested by Xu in order to avoid under or over dosing that does not match the recipe because of burr wear or calibration drift of the automatic dispenser. Doing so would obtain consistent taste for the drinks to satisfy the users/customers.
Regarding claim 18, Sharpley discloses, the method of claim 16.
However, Sharpley does not explicitly disclose, wherein instructing the corresponding substation to dispense the ingredient comprises: dispensing a predetermined amount of the ingredient into a dosing vessel in a first position based on the corresponding build step; determining the predetermined amount of the ingredient has been dispensed from the dosing vessel by the user; and determine the dosing vessel has been returned to the first position by the user.
Nonetheless, Xu teaches, wherein instructing the corresponding substation to dispense the ingredient comprises: dispensing a predetermined amount of the ingredient (see receive coffee grounds or tea in para 0052) into a dosing vessel (see pod 102 in Fig. 1A-B) in a first position (see Fig. 1A, wherein the pod 102 is beneath the grinder 106 and disclosed in para 0052 “The capsule dock 108 may be configured to hold an empty pod 102 beneath the grinder 106 to receive coffee grounds or tea of a desired size into pod 102 prior to brewing a beverage”) based on the corresponding build step (disclosed in para 0051 “The grinder 106 may automatically reset and adjust to a desired grind size in response to receiving a command from a controller in the brewing system 100”); determining the predetermined amount of the ingredient has been dispensed from the dosing vessel by the user (disclosed in para 0092 “Upon detecting an incorrect amount of coffee deposition, the controller of the brewer may output a notification (e.g., alert) to a user to check the amount of coffee deposition”); and determine the dosing vessel has been returned to the first position by the user check (disclosed in para 0093 “The integrated force sensor 510 may enable the capsule dock to act as a button or switch by detecting a force applied directly by a user pressing on a front 514 of the capsule holder 506, thereby allowing the user to interact with the brewer. In an example, the linear positioning stage 110 driven by the stepper motor 500 may provide haptic feedback when the system registers a “click” action from the user pressing the capsule holder 506. One application of this user activated switch may be to activate the brewing process once the pod 102 is correctly installed in the capsule dock 108”).
Sine Sharpley discloses for each of the build steps, instructing the corresponding substation to dispense an ingredient or execute an action (see step 312 in Fig. 3 and disclosed in para 0044 “the machine is capable of displaying the drink type/order and drink modifiers, the drink options are displayed in the machine display, in the step 312”), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date (post AIA ) to modify the step of instructing the corresponding substation to dispense the ingredient of Sharpley wherein instructing the corresponding substation to dispense the ingredient comprises: dispensing a predetermined amount of the ingredient into a dosing vessel in a first position based on the corresponding build step; determining the predetermined amount of the ingredient has been dispensed from the dosing vessel by the user; and determine the dosing vessel has been returned to the first position by the user as taught/suggested by Xu in order to avoid under or over dosing that does not match the recipe because of burr wear or calibration drift of the automatic dispenser. Doing so would obtain consistent taste for the drinks to satisfy the users/customers.
Conclusion
/VY T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761