Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, “a grow space” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the grow space of claim 14 is the same as that claimed in the preamble of claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grichnik (US20070118338A1).
Regarding claim 1, a system comprising:
a reference sensor (¶33 – sensor for input parameters 302);
a query sensor (¶33 – sensor for output parameters 306);
a processor (¶32 – processor 202); and
memory (Figure 2: 204/206/212), the memory storing instructions to cause a processor to execute a method, the method comprising:
training a machine learning model (¶44), the training comprising:
obtaining a first set of measurements from the reference sensor (¶33);
obtaining a second set of measurements from the query sensor (¶33);
processing the first and second set of measurements to train a machine learning model (¶44); and
training the machine learning model to build a map from the reference sensor to the query sensor (¶44);
obtaining a third set of measurements from the reference sensor (¶47);
inputting the third set of measurements into the trained machine learning model (¶47); and
outputting one or more predicted query sensor values (¶47).
Regarding claim 2, Grichnik teaches the system of claim 1, wherein
the second set of measurements from the query sensor is remotely acquired by a mechanical or robotic apparatus in an environment or grow space (¶33, a NOx sensor can be considered a remotely acquired measurement by a mechanical apparatus in an environment).
Regarding claim 3, Grichnik teaches the system of claim 1, wherein
the predicted query sensor values are used to provide robustness and redundancy in the case of unreliable sensor measurements (¶2).
Regarding claim 4, Grichnik teaches the system of claim 1, wherein
the predicted query sensor values are used to notify changes or disruptions in grow spaces and/or environmental control systems (¶47, the predicted values can be considered notifications of changes in an environmental control system because the system controls some environment and the sensor tracks changes for control responses).
Regarding claim 5, Grichnik teaches the system of claim 1, wherein
predicted query sensor values are used to control environmental control systems (¶68).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Grichnik accord to claim 1 teaches all of the limitations of the body of claims 8 and 15. Regarding “a grow space” and “grow space sensor query values” in claims 8 and 15, respectively, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. This is the case for claims 8 and 15 and thus Grichnik teaches all of the limitations of claims 8 and 15.
Regarding claims 9-12 and 16-19, Grichnik according to claims 2-5 teaches all of the limitations of claims 9-12 and 16-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grichnik (US20070118338A1) in view of Coen (WO2020230126A1).
Regarding claim 6, Grichnik teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, but does not teach the application to plant phenotypes, i.e. wherein predicted query sensor values are used to explain variation in plant phenotypes.
Coen teaches wherein predicted query sensor values are used to explain variation in plant phenotypes (“detecting or predicting a phenotype, the nature of the phenotype, the type and species of the plant or plurality of plants and the like”) in order to provide precision farm management and/or high quality control of plant growth (“The constant increase in the world population and the demand for high quality food without negatively affecting the environment, creates the needs to develop technological means for use in agriculture and Eco culture. Tools for precision farm management with the goal of optimizing returns on investment while preserving resources are required”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the methodology of Grichnik to plant phenotyping in order to provide cost-effective plant growth/farm management, i.e. wherein predicted query sensor values are used to explain variation in plant phenotypes.
Regarding claim 7, Grichnik teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, but does not teach the application to a grow space or wherein the query sensor is a moving sensor configured to sense conditions around a grow space.
Coen teaches wherein the query sensor is a moving sensor configured to sense conditions around a grow space (“The system of the present invention can be stationary, mounted on a manually held platform, or installed on a moving vehicle…The complex interaction between a plant genotype and its environment controls the biophysical properties of the plant, manifested in observable traits, i.e., the plant phenotype or phenome. The system of the present invention can be used to determine and/or predict a plant phenotype of agricultural or ecological importance as long as the phenotype is associated with imagery data that may be obtained from the plant.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the methodology of Grichnik to a grow space wherein the query sensor is a moving sensor configured to sense conditions around a grow space in order to provide cost-effective plant growth/farm management.
Regarding claims 13-14 and 20, Grichnik according to claims 6-7 teaches all of the limitations of claims 13-14 and 20.
Regarding claims 8-20, Grichnik according to claim 6 and/or claim 7 teaches all of the limitations of claims 8-20 because claims 6 and 7 cover the application of Grichnik to a grow space and/or the prediction of a grow space sensor query sensor value.
Conclusion
/SCHYLER S SANKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2129