DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examination would not be an undue burden for the examiner since Group I and II have similar elements of a first portion, as second portion, and a retrieval mechanism. This is not found persuasive because the restriction is proper due to the inventions of Group I and II having a separate status in the art in view of their different classifications, recognized divergent subject matter, different fields of search required, different applicable prior art, and different non-prior art issues, as indicated in the office action filed 11/07/25.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/22/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “retrieval mechanism” in claims 1, 7, 8, 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the recess attaches to the needle when the needle is inserted into the recess”. It is unclear whether or not Claim 3 is positively reciting “the needle”, since independent Claim 1 (upon which Claim 3 depends) only functionally recites the needle (in line 4 of Claim 1 it reads “a second portion with a recess to receive a needle from an instrument”). For examination purposes, the limitation in Claim 3 will be read as –the recess is configured to attach to the needle when the needle is inserted into the recess-.
Claim 4 recites “a cavity inside of the device receives the needle when the needles is inserted into the recess”. It is unclear whether or not Claim 4 is positively reciting “the needle”, since independent Claim 1 (upon which Claim 4 depends) only functionally recites the needle (in line 4 of Claim 1 it reads “a second portion with a recess to receive a needle from an instrument”). For examination purposes, the limitation in Claim 4 will be interpreted as only functionally reciting the needle and read as --a cavity inside of the device is configured to receive the needle when the needle is inserted into the recess--.
Claim 5 recites “the second portion of the device is coupled to the instrument upon receiving the needle”. It is unclear whether or not Claim 5 is positively reciting “the instrument”, since independent Claim 1 (upon which Claim 5 depends) only functionally recites the instrument (in line 4 of Claim 1 it reads “a second portion with a recess to receive a needle from an instrument” and further “a retrieval mechanism to retrieve the device after removal of the device from the instrument, wherein the device is collapsible in the structure when removed from the instrument after insertion of the instrument and the device into the structure”). For examination purposes, the limitation in Claim 5 will be interpreted as only functionally reciting the instrument and read as --the second portion of the device is configured to couple to the instrument upon receiving the needle--.
Similar to Claim 5 above, it is unclear whether or not Claim 6 is positively reciting “the instrument”. For examination purposes, the limitation in Claim 6 will be interpreted as only functionally reciting the instrument and read as --the device is configured to couple to the instrument by retracting the needle into the instrument--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al., hereinafter “Chen” (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0191012).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a device (Figures 1-3) comprising:
a first portion (rounded distal end 15; Figure 2) with a rounded shape for introduction into an opening of a structure ([0082]; the rounded shape is introduced into a body of a patient);
a second portion (including central tube 21; Id.) with a recess (within 21) to receive a needle from an instrument (Figure 3, [0079]; central tube 21 receives a needle, or tip of trocar 9 of a stapler); and
a retrieval mechanism (“traction string” connected to traction hole 23; [0080], [0082]) to retrieve the device after removal of the device from the instrument (Id.; the traction string is pulled to remove the device from the stapler), wherein the device is collapsible in the structure when removed from the instrument after insertion of the instrument and the device into the structure (when the traction string is pulled, the device goes from a wound configuration [as in Figures 2-3] to a collapsed, unwound configuration; Id.).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the device introduces the instrument into the structure (the device is configured to introduce the stapler into the patient’s body, such as tubular tissue; [0006], [0007], [0082]), and dilates the structure as the instrument is guided through the structure by the device (depending on the diameter of the tubular tissue portion, the device is capable of expanding the structure as it is introduced with the stapler and advanced through the patient’s body).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the recess (within central tube 21) is configured to attach to the needle 9 when the needle is inserted into the recess ([0079]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses a cavity (within cylinder 27 and/or middle section 31; Figure 2) inside of the device is configured to receive the needle when the needle is inserted into the recess (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the second portion (including central tube 21) of the device is configured to couple to the instrument upon receiving the needle 9 ([0079]).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the device is configured to couple to the instrument by retracting the needle into the instrument (Figures 2-3, [0075], [0081]; trocar 9 is movably disposed in the stapler, and when retracted, may be capable of coupling the device to the stapler via outer peripheral surface 29 of cylinder 27 attaching to an inner side face 13 of the stapler).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses the device is removable from the instrument by retracting the needle into the instrument (Figure 3; if the trocar 9 and stapler are withdrawn relative to the device, the device is capable of being removed from the stapler).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses the instrument performs a stapling procedure while the device is collapsed on a side of the instrument (when device is unwound from the stapler, a stapling procedure may be performed; [0075]).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses the retrieval mechanism is configured to retrieve the device from the structure (“traction string” is capable of being pulled to retrieve the device from the body; [0082]).
Regarding claim 1 (and claims 7-10 below), another embodiment of Chen (Figures 19-20) discloses a device comprising:
a first portion (rounded distal end 15; Figure 19) with a rounded shape for introduction into an opening of a structure ([0109]; the rounded shape is introduced into a body of a patient);
a second portion 57 (Id.) with a recess (within 57) to receive a needle from an instrument (Id.; 57 is capable of receiving a needle, or tip of trocar 9 of a stapler as in Figure 3); and
a retrieval mechanism (“traction member 33”; [0108]-[0109]) to retrieve the device after removal of the device from the instrument (Id.; the traction member is pulled to remove the device from the stapler), wherein the device is collapsible in the structure when removed from the instrument after insertion of the instrument and the device into the structure (when the traction member is pulled, the device goes from a wound configuration [as in Figures 19-20] to a collapsed, unwound configuration; Id.).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the retrieval mechanism 33 is placed through the recess (within 57) to the first portion 15 (Figure 19).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses the device includes a channel (middle portion of device within conical wall 51; Id.) from the recess (within 57) to the first portion 15, and the retrieval mechanism is placed through the channel (Id.).
Regarding claims 9-10, Chen discloses the first portion 15 comprises a first material (first flexible strip 53; [0105]) at a tip of the device (tip of device can include both strips 53, 55), and the first portion comprises a second material (second flexible strip 55; Id.) on a side of the device, wherein the first material is harder than the second material (Id.; the first flexible strip 53 is made of relatively rigid material and the second flexible strip 55 is made of relatively soft material).
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Myers (U.S. Patent No. 7,182,239).
Regarding claim 1, Myers discloses a device (Figures 4-9) comprising:
a first portion 14a with a rounded shape (col. 1, lines 58-60; smooth, rounded exterior surface) for introduction into an opening of a structure (Figure 7);
a second portion 14b with a recess (within 14b) to receive a needle from an instrument (Figures 4-5; a needle, or center post C of a stapler is received within 14b); and
a retrieval mechanism (“retraction wire 34” and “grip 36”; col. 4, lines 50-55) to retrieve the device after removal of the device from the instrument (Id.), wherein the device is collapsible in the structure when removed from the instrument after insertion of the instrument and the device into the structure (col. 3, lines 52-58; Myers teaches that the device is formed of a resilient material that gives as a result of pressure, and therefore after removal of the device from the stapler within a body lumen structure, the device is capable of being collapsed with a certain degree of outside pressure applied to the resilient material).
Regarding claim 2, Myers discloses the device introduces the instrument into the structure (the device is configured to introduce the stapler into the patient’s body, such as in hole 38 of abdominal wall 40 in Figure 7) and dilates the structure as the instrument is guided through the structure by the device (depending on the diameter of a patient’s abdominal wall hole, the device is capable of expanding the wall hole as it is introduced with the stapler and advanced through the abdominal wall).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myers (U.S. Patent No. 7,182,239) in view of Kleinhaus (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0086095).
Regarding claims 11-12, Myers discloses the claimed invention, as discussed above, except for a set of leaflets, wherein the leaflets are collapsible, and wherein: a leaflet in the set of leaflets is coupled from a center stud to a side of the device, or a leaflet in the set of leaflets is coupled from the first portion to the second portion.
Kleinhaus teaches a device (Figures 1-7) including a first portion 104 with a rounded shape (rounded, conical exterior) for introduction into an opening of a structure ([0047]), a second portion with a recess (including lumen 105; Figure 2) capable of receiving a needle from an instrument, and the device further comprising a set of leaflets (ribs 112), and a leaflet in the set of leaflets is coupled from a center stud 118 to a side of the device, or a leaflet in the set of leaflets is coupled from the first portion to the second portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the device of Myers with leaflets as claimed, as taught by Kleinhaus, since the leaflets reduce the friction force of the device as it is moved through tissue in the body (Kleinhaus; [0047], [0055]).
Conclusion
/DIANE D YABUT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771