CTNF 18/325,886 CTNF 99359 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 30 May 2023 and 14 November 2024 has/have been considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Long et al (US 20200262579 A1) Regarding claim 1, Long teaches a portable container for being loaded into and unloaded from a compartment of an aircraft, (¶0023 “FIG. 1 presents a schematic diagram of a system 100 for providing electrical power to an aircraft 101. In the illustrated embodiment, the system 100 comprises one or more modular power units 103 and support systems 105”, ¶0037 “modular power units 103 may be added or removed from the aircraft 101 to scale the provision of electrical power to meet the specific demands of the aircraft 101 and aircraft mission”; ¶0024 “modular power units 103 , 303”) the portable container comprising: a power source comprising one or more rechargeable batteries and coupling circuitry configured to electrically couple one or more of the rechargeable batteries to an electrical connector; (¶0024 “[FIG 1] aircraft 101 may have a cargo hold 126 … The containers received in the cargo hold 126 may contain cargo, or, as described further below, modular power units 103, 303”) and a housing comprising the power source, wherein the power source is operable to discharge one or more of the rechargeable batteries and transmit a discharge current via the electrical connector, (FIG 1 container 11 comprising modular power unit 103, ¶0028 “In the system 100 of FIG. 1, the support systems 105 are located within the aircraft 101 but outside of the containers 111 of the modular power units 103”) and wherein the electrical connector comprises an interface portion operable to be physically connectable with a corresponding interface portion of another electrical connector to electrically couple the electrical connector to the another electrical connector. (¶0046 “ FIG. 4 provides a schematic diagram of an aircraft 101 having a system 400 for providing electrical power to the aircraft 101… System 400 comprises a plurality of modular power units 303-A, 303-B, and 303-C each coupled to the aircraft data bus 123 and aircraft power bus 121”) Regarding claim 2 , Long teaches the portable container according to claim 1. Long further teaches wherein the portable container is a cargo container for storing cargo, and wherein the housing comprises a first compartment for storing the cargo and a second compartment for storing one or more of the rechargeable batteries. (¶0024 “The aircraft 101 may have a cargo hold 126 , and the cargo hold 126 may be configured to receive one or more containers of a standardized unit load device (ULD). The containers received in the cargo hold 126 may contain cargo, or, as described further below, modular power units 103, 303”) Regarding claim 3, Long teaches the portable container according to claim 1. Long further teaches wherein the power source is operable to receive a current via the electrical connector and one or more of the rechargeable batteries are operable to store energy according to the received current. (¶0034 “reverse flow may be used in embodiments having a battery as the power generation unit 107 in order to charge the battery”) Regarding claim 4, Long teaches the portable container according to claim 1. Long further teaches comprising a plurality of electrical connectors each being electrically coupled to one or more of the rechargeable batteries via the coupling circuitry. (¶0046 “ FIG. 4 provides a schematic diagram of an aircraft 101 having a system 400 for providing electrical power to the aircraft 101… System 400 comprises a plurality of modular power units 303-A, 303-B, and 303-C each coupled to the aircraft data bus 123 and aircraft power bus 121”) Regarding claim 5, Long teaches the portable container according to claim 1. Long further teaches wherein at least one electrical connector is arranged on an external surface of the portable container. (¶0041 “[FIG 3] a power connection 129 facilitates electrically connecting the modular power unit 303 with the aircraft power bus 121”) Regarding claim 8, Long teaches the portable container according to claim 4. Long further teaches wherein a first electrical connector is arranged on a first wall defining the housing and a second electrical connector is arranged on a second wall defining the housing. (FIG 1 each of modular power units 103 are connected to aircraft data bus 123 through one electrical connector and to aircraft power bus through another electrical contact as depicted; similarly FIG 4 each modular power units 303 are connected to aircraft data bus 123 through one electrical connector and to aircraft power bus through another electrical contact as depicted ) Regarding claim 9, Long teaches the portable container according to claim 1. Long further teaches wherein the housing has a substantially cuboidal exterior shape. (¶0027 “The container 111 may be dimensioned according to a dimensional standard such as a standardized unit load device (ULD)”, a cuboidal exterior shape would be a standardized unit load device) Regarding claim 10, Long teaches the portable container according to claim 1. Long further teaches wherein one or more of the rechargeable batteries are integrally formed with the portable container. (FIG 1 container 11 comprising modular power unit 103, ¶0028 “In the system 100 of FIG. 1, the support systems 105 are located within the aircraft 101 but outside of the containers 111 of the modular power units 103”) Regarding claim 11, Long teaches the portable container according to claim 1. Long further teaches wherein one or more of the rechargeable batteries are releasably attached to an internal portion of the housing. (¶0022 “modular power units are removable from the aircraft and replaceable”) Regarding claim 12, Long teaches the portable container according to claim 1. Long further teaches an aircraft comprising: a fuselage defining a longitudinal axis between a forward end and an aft end, the fuselage comprising one or more compartments; (¶0046 “FIG. 4 provides a schematic diagram of an aircraft 101 having a system 400 for providing electrical power to the aircraft 101”, FIG 4 depicts aircraft 101 to have a fuselage) and an electrical system comprising one or more electronic devices and coupling circuitry to electrically couple one or more of the electronic devices to an electrical connector, (¶0046 “FIG. 4 provides a schematic diagram of an aircraft 101 having a system 400 for providing electrical power to the aircraft 101…System 400 comprises a plurality of modular power units 303-A, 303-B, and 303-C each coupled to the aircraft data bus 123 and aircraft power bus 121”) wherein at least one compartment of the fuselage comprises at least one portable container, (¶0046 “FIG. 4 presents an embodiment of system 400 as contemplated by the present disclosure. System 400 comprises a plurality of modular power units 303-A , 303-B, and 303-C each coupled to the aircraft data bus 123 and aircraft power bus 121”; ¶0052 “The modular power units 303 may each comprise a container 111 containing a power generation unit 107, a control system 113, a conditioning system 115, and an environmental control system 117”) wherein the electrical connector of the portable container is physically connected to the electrical connector of the electrical system, (¶0046 “FIG. 4 presents an embodiment of system 400 as contemplated by the present disclosure. System 400 comprises a plurality of modular power units 303-A , 303-B, and 303-C each coupled to the aircraft data bus 123 and aircraft power bus 121”) and wherein the portable container is configured to discharge one or more of the rechargeable batteries and transmit a discharge current to the electrical system of the aircraft via the physically connected electrical connectors. (¶0053 “Block 510, with at least one of the modular power unit 303 providing electrical power to the aircraft 101 via the power bus 121”) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long as modified by Villanueva et al (US 20220402622 A1) which has an effective filing date of 16 June 2021 . Regarding claim 6, Long teaches the portable container according to claim 5. Long does not teach wherein the electrical connector is arranged on a recessed portion of the external surface of the portable container. Villanueva teaches wherein the electrical connector is arranged on a recessed portion of the external surface of the portable container. (¶0082 “FIG. 7 a cavity 702 is provided in the inboard nacelle 202 into which a battery pack 704 can be inserted via an access hole 706, which is closed by cover 708 that completes the outer surface of the inboard nacelle 202”) Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the portable container as taught by Long to be arranged on a recessed portion of the external surface of the portable container as taught by Villanueva for ease of access to replace or change each battery pack. Both Long and Villanueva possess replaceable battery packs for powering a passenger aircraft, making them the same field of art. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to insert the battery pack into a recessed portion of the external surface of the portable container for the purpose of easily loading and unloading battery packs from an aircraft’s external compartment, such that a decision as to whether to load the portable container and/or a number of the portable containers to load can potentially be made for individual flights. Regarding claim 7, Long teaches the portable container according to claim 5. Long does not teach comprising a movable protective cover movable between a first position and a second position, wherein in the first position the movable protective cover is configured to cover the electrical connector and in the second position the electrical connector is not covered by the movable protective cover. Villanueva teaches comprising a movable protective cover movable between a first position and a second position, (¶0082 “FIG. 7 a cavity 702 is provided in the inboard nacelle 202 into which a battery pack 704 can be inserted via an access hole 706, which is closed by cover 708 that completes the outer surface of the inboard nacelle 202”) wherein in the first position the movable protective cover is configured to cover the electrical connector (FIG 7 battery pack 704 is inserted to cavity 702 with cover 708 secured and attached, ¶0082 “which is closed by cover 708 that completes the outer surface of the inboard nacelle 202”) and in the second position the electrical connector is not covered by the movable protective cover. (FIG 7 battery pack 704 is removed from cavity 702 with cover 708 removed, this is the configuration depicted by FIG 7) Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the portable container as taught by Long wherein the movable protective cover has a first position which covers the electrical connector and a second position which does not cover the electrical connection as taught by Villanueva. Disposing recessed cavity 702, as taught by Villanueva, external to the aircraft allows for accessibility for easier and quicker battery replacements. Cover 708 would secure the battery pack in place and be part of the external surface of the aircraft. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to have the movable protective cover have a first position and a second position for the purpose of easily accessing the battery packs for replacement and minimizing aerodynamic influence on the aircraft . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long as modified by Chang et al (US 20180273198 A1) Regarding claim 13, Long teaches the aircraft according to claim 12. Long does not teach wherein the one or more electronic devices comprise one or more from the list consisting of: one or more compressors and/or one or more actuators of an air conditioning system; one or more cockpit instruments; one or more entertainment devices; nd one or more power vital systems including one or more of: flight controls; flight-critical instrumentation, navigation devices and communication devices. Chang teaches wherein the one or more electronic devices comprise one or more from the list consisting of: one or more compressors and/or one or more actuators of an air conditioning system; (¶0034 “An environmental control subsystem (ECS) controller 6 includes a controller for controlling air conditioning to the aircraft cockpit and cabin 110 for precooling. ECS controller 6 may be used to control a vapor cycle cooling subsystem (VCCS), including a refrigerant compressor 601, a refrigerant condenser 602, at least one cabin evaporator 603, and a cockpit evaporator 604”) one or more cockpit instruments; (¶0033 “Preflight readiness activities powered via hybrid APU 2 and controlled remotely via mobile device 301 may include preforming preflight checks (e.g., checking engine oil level, tire pressure, fuel quantity, and electrical subsystem state-of-charge) and preconditioning the aircraft cockpit and cabin (e.g., preheating or precooling).”) one or more entertainment devices; (¶0032 “[FIG 4] hybrid APU 2 advantageously enables the flight crew to remotely monitor and start multiple aircraft subsystems for preflight readiness via a mobile device 301 while the aircraft is unattended on the ground. Mobile device 301 may be any remote user-interface device, without departing from the scope hereof, include a computer, laptop computer, tablet, smartphone , smart watch, etc.)”, wherein the underlined electronics function as both flight controls/instrumentation as well as entertainment devices) and one or more power vital systems including one or more of: flight controls; flight-critical instrumentation, navigation devices and communication devices. (¶0062 “[FIG 4, gateway device 401] Gateway device 401 may utilize API client 401 1 in order to establish a secure data communication path to control server 402. An aircraft command function 401 2 determines whether a command is a data query or a command to activate/deactivate a specific function of aircraft subsystems 10”) Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the aircraft as taught by Long to power onboard devices and instruments as taught by Chang. The aircraft as taught by Long has an onboard electrical power system, but does not explicitly state what that system powers. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have an electrical power system onboard an aircraft power onboard devices and instruments as taught by Chang. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to power onboard devices with the onboard electrical power system for the purpose of meeting the power requirements for the flight and efficiently manage energy usage. Regarding claim 14, Long teaches the aircraft according to claim 12. Long further teaches wherein the compartment comprises at least a first portable container and a second portable container, (¶0046 “[FIG 4] System 400 comprises a plurality of modular power units 303 -A, 303 -B, and 303 -C each coupled to the aircraft data bus 123 and aircraft power bus 121”) wherein the first portable container is directly connected to the electrical connector of the electrical system, (¶0046 “[FIG 4] System 400 comprises a plurality of modular power units 303 -A, 303 -B, and 303 -C each coupled to the aircraft data bus 123 and aircraft power bus 121 ”, power bus 121 connects the entire electrical system together on aircraft 101) Long does not teach and wherein the second portable container is directly connected to the first portable container and configured to transmit a discharge current to the electrical system via the first portable container. Chang teaches wherein the second portable container is directly connected to the first portable container and configured to transmit a discharge current to the electrical system via the first portable container. (¶0044 “[Hybrid APU 2] Through bus bars and relays in the electrical junction box 802, battery modules 110 may be configured either in series or parallel, depending on the aircraft utilization requirement”) Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the aircraft as taught by Long wherein the second portable container is directly connected to the first portable container as taught by Chang. This would functionally place the portable containers in series, which increases the total output voltage. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to benefit the aircraft during both high voltage situations (engine start) and nominal voltage situations (in-flight power requirements) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long as modified by Kumar et al (US 20200290742 A1) Regarding claim 15, Long teaches the portable container according to claim 1. Long further teaches a method of powering one or more electronic devices of an aircraft using the portable container, (¶0049 “FIG. 5 presents a flow chart of one such method 500 . Method 500 starts at Block 502”) the method comprising: charging the one or more rechargeable batteries of the portable container using power [from a mains power supply;] (¶0034 “reverse flow may be used in embodiments having a battery as the power generation unit 107 in order to charg e the battery”) loading the portable container into a compartment of a fuselage of the aircraft; (¶0052 “At Block 508 one or more modular power units 303 are loaded onto the aircraft 101 for the first leg”) connecting the electrical connector of the portable container with another electrical connector that is electrically coupled to one or more of the electronic devices of the aircraft; (FIG 1 portable containers 111 coupled to aircraft data bus 123 containing safety system 119, conditioning system 115, and control system 113) discharging one or more of the rechargeable batteries and transmitting a discharge current from the portable container to one or more of the electronic devices via the electrical connectors; (¶0053 “ The first leg of the multi-leg mission is completed at Block 510 , with at least one of the modular power unit 303 providing electrical power to the aircraft 101 via the power bus 121. The one or more modular power unit 303 may provide at least a portion of the electrical power of the aircraft 101. Discharging power from the modular power units 303 onto the power bus 121 may deplete one or more of the modular power units 303”) and performing, by one or more of the electronic devices, one or more operations using the discharge current received from the portable container. (¶0053 “ The first leg of the multi-leg mission is completed at Block 510 , with at least one of the modular power unit 303 providing electrical power to the aircraft 101 via the power bus 121. The one or more modular power unit 303 may provide at least a portion of the electrical power of the aircraft 101. Discharging power from the modular power units 303 onto the power bus 121 may deplete one or more of the modular power units 303”) Long ¶0037 states “[FIG 1] Depleted modular power units 103 may be quickly and efficiently replaced by fully charged or fully fueled modular power units 103 to refuel the aircraft electrical system without time-consuming re charging of the modular power units 103 while installed in the aircraft 101”, indicating that pre-charged modular power units 103 are loaded onto the aircraft while it is stationary at a ground terminal. These modular power units 103 would necessarily be charged using a mains power supply; however, Long does not explicitly teach [charging the one or more rechargeable batteries of the portable container using power] from a mains power supply. Kumar teaches [charging the one or more rechargeable batteries of the portable container using power] from a mains power supply. (¶0314 “The aircraft is “plug-in” hybrid-electric, designed to recharge stored electrical energy via ground-based charging stations via a plug-in point 528, or by swapping fully or partially discharged storage units for charged ones. Charging mechanisms that connect to the mains or fast charge stations are included onboard, enabling low or high-rate recharge in-situ”) Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method of powering one or more electric devices of an aircraft using one or more portable containers as taught by Long wherein the portable containers are charged using mains power supply as taught by Kumar. The method as taught by Long already exchanges fully charged battery packs into the aircraft for use, it would be obvious to charge those portable containers using mains power supply as taught by Kumar. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize aircraft refueling times and quickly charge the portable containers between uses . Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities: improper punctuation. Claim 13 includes the limitation “one or more of: flight controls; flight-critical instrumentation , navigation devices and communication devices” wherein the underline and bolded portion semicolon between flight controls and flight-critical instrumentation is the improper punctuation. The semicolon should be replaced with a comma . Appropriate correction is required. Specification The disclosure is objected to because of indefinite language used to define and differentiate “electrical connector” from “another electrical connector”. Applicant specification ¶0041 describes “the electrical connector 310 comprises an interface portion 312 operable to physically connect with a corresponding interface portion 412 of the another electrical connector 410 to electrically couple the electrical connector to the another electrical connector for enabling transfer of electrical power from the portable container to an external circuit and transfer of electrical power to the portable container from an external circuit”, the figure itself adds some clarification but the language is unclear. Examiner suggests using the terms “a first electrical connector” and “a second electrical connector” throughout the specification for clarity. Prior Art Not Relied Upon 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence . Becker et al (US 20210031934 A1) teaches a hybrid-electric aircraft with electric storage positioned within the fuselage. Van Bavel et al (US 20210221526 A1) teaches an electric aircraft which comprises electric storage positioned on the underside of the fuselage. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LISA M KOTOWSKI whose telephone number is (571)270-3771. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8a-5p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taelor Kim can be reached at (571) 270-7166. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 /TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/325,886 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/325,886 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/325,886 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/325,886 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/325,886 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/325,886 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/325,886 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/325,886 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/325,886 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/325,886 Page 11 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/325,886 Page 12 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/325,886 Page 13 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/325,886 Page 14 Art Unit: 2859