DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-8, 14, 21-22, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trapp ("Individualization of mobile subscriber identification modules", DE 102006040086 A, pub. date 2008-03-20).
Regarding claim 6, Trapp teaches a method of updating Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) data in a user equipment (UE) associated with a wireless communication service provider (pg. 11, par. 5, “3 shows a further application for updating or provisioning of correspondingly individualized SIM cards (SIM)”), the method comprising:
receiving, by an entitlement server executing on a network server of the wireless communication service provider, a UE SIM update inquiry from a UE associated with the wireless communication service provider (pg. 11, pars. 5-8, the SIM card with the identifier "2-5", has been inserted into the mobile terminal (mobile) Within the scope of execution of the application program (applet) on the SIM Card (procedural step 301 ) is read out from the memory location of the SIM card identifier "2-5" and in the with 302 marked method step via a message service of the mobile network, in this case by means of SMS, from the mobile terminal (Mobile) to the Update or Provisioning Service (OTA) transmitted. The identifier "2-5" is then transmitted by the updating or Provisionierungsdienst a dedicated computing device (server) (~entitlement server), in this case an OTA server, as in 3 on the basis of with 303 marked process step shown. The computing device (server) (~entitlement server) asks using the identifier "2-5" in the 304 marked method step in the database (DB) (~SIM configuration repository) the update status or an update requirement of the SIM card with the identifier "2-5" from.
As part of the query, as in 3 through the with 305 symbolically represented, checks whether the SIM card of the identifier "2-5" must be updated, so whether there is a need for updating the SIM card "2-5" or not. In the present case, a need for updating the SIM card (SIM) having the identifier "2-5" is required”),
the UE SIM update inquiry comprising UE identifying information identifying the UE and information identifying UE SIM configuration data stored in the UE (pg. 11, par. 7, “The computing device (server) (~entitlement server) asks using the identifier "2-5" in the 304 marked method step in the database (DB) (~SIM configuration repository) the update status or an update requirement of the SIM card with the identifier "2-5 (~information identifying the UE SIM configuration data)" from”; pg. 12, par. 3, “As part of an update sometimes knowledge of each with the SIM card (SIM) used mobile terminal (Mobile) are required, as part of the transmission of the identifier of the SIM card (SIM) from the mobile device (Mobile) to the Update or provisioning service (OTA) (see procedural and procedural steps 202 and or 302 ) advantageously a device-specific identifier of the mobile terminal (Mobile) with. Advantageously, the device-specific identifier of the mobile terminal (mobile), preferably the so-called IMEI (~UE identifying information), is detected and transmitted by the application program (applet) with the detection of the identifier, preferably by appending to the message”);
sending, by the entitlement server, a SIM update inquiry to a SIM configuration repository of the wireless communication service provider, the SIM update inquiry comprising the UE identifying information and the information identifying the UE SIM configuration data (pg. 11, par. 7, “The computing device (server) (~entitlement server) asks using the identifier "2-5" in the 304 marked method step in the database (DB) (~SIM configuration repository) the update status or an update requirement of the SIM card with the identifier "2-5 (~information identifying the UE SIM configuration data)" from”; pg. 12, par. 3, “As part of an update sometimes knowledge of each with the SIM card (SIM) used mobile terminal (Mobile) are required, as part of the transmission of the identifier of the SIM card (SIM) from the mobile device (Mobile) to the Update or provisioning service (OTA) (see procedural and procedural steps 202 and or 302 ) advantageously a device-specific identifier of the mobile terminal (Mobile) with. Advantageously, the device-specific identifier of the mobile terminal (mobile), preferably the so-called IMEI (~UE identifying information), is detected and transmitted by the application program (applet) with the detection of the identifier, preferably by appending to the message”);
receiving, by the entitlement server, a SIM status message from the SIM configuration repository, the SIM status message indicating whether repository SIM configuration data stored in the SIM configuration repository is more recent than the UE SIM configuration data (pg. 11, pars. 6-8, “The identifier "2-5" is then transmitted by the updating or Provisionierungsdienst a dedicated computing device (server), in this case an OTA server, as in 3 on the basis of with 303 marked process step shown. The computing device (server) (~entitlement server) asks using the identifier "2-5" in the 304 marked method step in the database (DB) (~SIM configuration repository) the update status or an update requirement of the SIM card with the identifier "2-5" from. As part of the query, as in 3 through the with 305 symbolically represented, checks whether the SIM card of the identifier "2-5" must be updated, so whether there is a need for updating the SIM card "2-5" or not (~whether repository SIM configuration data stored in the SIM configuration repository is more recent than the UE SIM configuration data – if the SIM card needs to be update, the SIM configuration data stored in the SIM configuration repository is not more recent than the UE SIM configuration and vice versa). In the present case, a need for updating the SIM card (SIM) having the identifier "2-5" is required”); and
sending, by the entitlement server, a UE SIM update response to the UE, the UE SIM update response comprising the SIM status message (pg. 12, par. 1, “In the with 307 The computer (server) (~entitlement server) sends to the updating or provisioning service (OTA) the corresponding information required or necessary for updating, in this case updating information for the SIM card "2-5" 308 characterized method step via a message service of the mobile network transferred to the mobile device (Mobile) (~UE) and in the with 309 marked method step detected by the SIM card by storing”).
Regarding claim 7, Trapp teaches the method of claim 6,
wherein: the SIM status message further comprises SIM update data comprising repository SIM configuration data that is associated with the UE identifying information that is more recent than the UE SIM configuration data; and the UE SIM update response further comprises the SIM update data (pg. 12, par. 1, “In the with 307 The computer (server) sends to the updating or provisioning service (OTA) the corresponding information required or necessary for updating, in this case updating information for the SIM card "2-5" 308 characterized method step via a message service of the mobile network transferred to the mobile device (Mobile) and in the with 309 marked method step detected by the SIM card by storing”).
Regarding claim 8, Trapp teaches the method of claim 7,
wherein: the SIM status message further comprises backup delivery information indicating that the SIM update data is being sent to the UE by the SIM configuration repository via a short message service center (SMSC) (pg. 11, par. 5, “for updating or provisioning of correspondingly individualized SIM cards (SIM) ... with 302 marked method step via a message service of the mobile network, in this case by means of SMS”, wherein the SIM status message comprises information indicating that the SIM update data is being sent via SMS and a short message service center (SMSC) is required for SMS messaging); and
the UE SIM update response further comprises the backup delivery information and is configured to indicate to the UE that the SIM update data will be received via SMS (pg. 11, par. 5, “for updating or provisioning of correspondingly individualized SIM cards (SIM) ... with 302 marked method step via a message service of the mobile network, in this case by means of SMS”, wherein the SIM update data is via SMS and indicates that the SIM update data is received via SMS).
Regarding claim 14, Trapp teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the UE identifying information includes information identifying one or more of an individual UE (pg. 12, par. 3, “As part of an update sometimes knowledge of each with the SIM card (SIM) used mobile terminal (Mobile) are required, as part of the transmission of the identifier of the SIM card (SIM) from the mobile device (Mobile) to the Update or provisioning service (OTA) (see procedural and procedural steps 202 and or 302 ) advantageously a device-specific identifier of the mobile terminal (Mobile) with. Advantageously, the device-specific identifier of the mobile terminal (mobile), preferably the so-called IMEI (~UE identifying information), is detected and transmitted by the application program (applet) with the detection of the identifier, preferably by appending to the message”), a manufacturer of the UE, a model of the UE, a service provider or MVNO associated with the UE, and a provider plan associated with the UE.
Regarding claim 21, Trapp teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the UE SIM update response further comprises SIM update data comprising repository SIM configuration data associated with the UE identifying information that is more recent than the UE SIM configuration data (pg. 12, pars. 1-2, “corresponding update of the SIM card "2-5" is the computing device (server) with the with 306 indicated method step and initiated by this further. On the part of the database (DB), it is noted for the identifier "2-5" that an update has been initiated. In the with 307 The computer (server) sends to the updating or provisioning service (OTA) the corresponding information required or necessary for updating, in this case updating information for the SIM card "2-5" 308 characterized method step via a message service of the mobile network transferred to the mobile device (Mobile) and in the with 309 marked method step detected by the SIM card by storing”).
Regarding claim 22, Trapp teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the UE SIM update response further comprises backup delivery information indicating that SIM update data is being sent to the UE via a short message service center (SMSC) (pg. 11, par. 5, “for updating or provisioning of correspondingly individualized SIM cards (SIM) ... with 302 marked method step via a message service of the mobile network, in this case by means of SMS”, wherein the SIM status message comprises information indicating that the SIM update data is being sent via a short message service center (SMSC) - using SMS and a short message service center (SMSC) is required for SMS messaging).
Regarding claim 30, Trapp teaches the method of 6,
wherein the SIM status message indicates that there is not more recent repository SIM configuration data in the SIM configuration repository than the UE SIM configuration data in the UE (pg. 11, par. 4, “corresponding SIM card with the identifier "1-5" is already updated in the case of use shown in the figure 206 marked method step determined by the computing device (server). A corresponding update of the SIM card "1-5" is accordingly no longer required, as determined by means of the mobile network-side query using the individual identifier "1-5" of the SIM card”, wherein the SIM status message will indicate that there is not more recent repository SIM configuration data in the SIM configuration repository than the UE SIM configuration data in the UE since the SIM card is already updated).
Regarding claim 31, Trapp teaches the method of claim 6,
wherein if the repository SIM configuration data in the SIM configuration repository is more recent than the UE SIM configuration data in the UE, the SIM status message comprises SIM update data (if the repository SIM configuration data in the SIM configuration repository (~SIM card data) is more recent than the UE SIM configuration data (~SIM card data) in the UE, the SIM status message comprises SIM update data (~updating information for the SIM card); pg. 11, par. 7-pg. 12, par. 2, “computing device (server) asks using the identifier "2-5" in the 304 marked method step in the database (DB) the update status or an update requirement of the SIM card with the identifier "2-5" from. As part of the query, as in 3 through the with 305 symbolically represented, checks whether the SIM card of the identifier "2-5" must be updated, so whether there is a need for updating the SIM card "2-5" or not. In the present case, a need for updating the SIM card (SIM) having the identifier "2-5" is required. The corresponding update of the SIM card "2-5" is the computing device (server) with the with 306 indicated method step and initiated by this further. On the part of the database (DB), it is noted for the identifier "2-5" that an update has been initiated. In the with 307 The computer (server) sends to the updating or provisioning service (OTA) the corresponding information required or necessary for updating, in this case updating information for the SIM card "2-5" 308 characterized method step via a message service of the mobile network transferred to the mobile device (Mobile) and in the with 309 marked method step detected by the SIM card by storing”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-13 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trapp in view of Zeng (US 2012/0231763 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Trapp teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving, by the entitlement server, a SIM update status message from the SIM configuration repository (pg. 12, par. 1, “The corresponding update of the SIM card "2-5" is the computing device (server) with the with 306 indicated method step and initiated by this further. On the part of the database (DB), it is noted for the identifier "2-5" that an update has been initiated”; Fig. 3, DB to Server),
the SIM update status message comprising (i) update UE identifying information identifying one or more update UEs (pg. 11, pars. 6-8, “The identifier "2-5" is then transmitted by the updating or Provisionierungsdienst a dedicated computing device (server), in this case an OTA server, as in 3 on the basis of with 303 marked process step shown. The computing device (server) asks using the identifier "2-5" in the 304 marked method step in the database (DB) the update status or an update requirement of the SIM card with the identifier "2-5" from. As part of the query, as in 3 through the with 305 symbolically represented, checks whether the SIM card of the identifier "2-5" must be updated, so whether there is a need for updating the SIM card "2-5" or not. In the present case, a need for updating the SIM card (SIM) having the identifier "2-5" is required”) and
(ii) repository SIM configuration data that is associated with the update UEs (pg. 12, par. 1-2, “corresponding update of the SIM card "2-5" is the computing device (server) with the with 306 indicated method step and initiated by this further. On the part of the database (DB), it is noted for the identifier "2-5" that an update has been initiated. In the with 307 The computer (server) sends to the updating or provisioning service (OTA) the corresponding information required or necessary for updating”);
storing by the entitlement server the repository SIM configuration data (pg. 12, par. 1-2, “corresponding update of the SIM card "2-5" is the computing device (server) with the with 306 indicated method step and initiated by this further. On the part of the database (DB), it is noted for the identifier "2-5" that an update has been initiated. In the with 307 The computer (server) sends to the updating or provisioning service (OTA) the corresponding information required or necessary for updating”, wherein the computer (server) (~entitlement server) stores the updating information (~repository configuration data) received from DB (~SIM configuration repository));
associating the repository SIM configuration data with the update UE identifying information (pg. 12, par. 1-2, “corresponding update of the SIM card "2-5" is the computing device (server) with the with 306 indicated method step and initiated by this further. On the part of the database (DB), it is noted for the identifier "2-5" that an update has been initiated. In the with 307 The computer (server) sends to the updating or provisioning service (OTA) the corresponding information required or necessary for updating, in this case updating information for the SIM card "2-5" 308 characterized method step via a message service of the mobile network transferred to the mobile device (Mobile) and in the with 309 marked method step detected by the SIM card by storing”, wherein the update information (~repository SIM configuration data) is associated with the mobile device (Mobile) (~UE)).
Trapp does not explicitly teach sending, by the entitlement server, a UE SIM update prompt to one or more of the update UEs, the UE SIM update prompt comprising prompt information configured to cause the update UEs to send the UE SIM update inquiry to the entitlement server.
However, Zeng teaches sending, by an entitlement server, a UE SIM update prompt to one or more of the update UEs, the UE SIM update prompt comprising prompt information configured to cause the update UEs to send the UE SIM update inquiry to the entitlement server ([0044], “telecommunication operator informs user of the mobile device of update on antivirus engine or virus database on the SIM card in form of data broadcast via OTA technology, and prompts the user of downloading the update data package”, wherein telecommunication operator comprise/utilize entitlement server to provision SIM services and sending the prompt for update is equivalent to sending an update inquiry prompt).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zeng with the teaching of Trapp in order to is to efficiently initiate a proactive update of eSIM profiles, service configurations, or network policies on specific target devices, triggering the UE to request necessary updates, ensuring synchronized, up-to-date service provisioning.
Regarding claim 10, Trapp in view of Zeng teaches the method of claim 9.
Trapp does not explicitly teach wherein the prompt information includes inquiry timing information, specifying one or more times for the one or more update UEs to send the UE SIM update inquiry.
However, Zeng further teaches wherein prompt information includes inquiry timing information, specifying one or more times for the one or more update UEs to send the UE SIM update inquiry ([0044], “telecommunication operator informs user of the mobile device of update on antivirus engine or virus database on the SIM card in form of data broadcast via OTA technology, and prompts the user of downloading the update data package”, wherein the prompt information specifies one time for the update inquiry).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zeng with the teaching of Trapp as modified by Zeng in order to manage network load, ensure efficient resource utilization, and facilitate scheduled SIM profile or application updates.
Regarding claim 11, Trapp in view of Zeng teaches the method of claim 9,
further comprising: determining, by the entitlement server, in response to receiving the UE SIM update inquiry, whether repository SIM configuration data that is associated with the UE identifying information is stored in the entitlement server and, if so, sending, by the entitlement server, such repository SIM configuration data to the UE (Trapp after receiving the update inquiry, server (~entitlement server) receives updating information from DB (~repository) and sends the update information to the UE if the information from the DB (~repository) is already received and stored in the server (~entitlement server); see pg. 11, par. 5 - pg. 12, par. 2); pg. 12, pars. 1-2, ”corresponding update of the SIM card "2-5" is the computing device (server) with the with 306 indicated method step and initiated by this further. On the part of the database (DB), it is noted for the identifier "2-5" that an update has been initiated. In the with 307 The computer (server) sends to the updating or provisioning service (OTA) the corresponding information required or necessary for updating, in this case updating information for the SIM card "2-5" 308 characterized method step via a message service of the mobile network transferred to the mobile device (Mobile) and in the with 309 marked method step detected by the SIM card by storing”).
Regarding claim 12, Trapp in view of Zeng teaches the method of claim 9,
further comprising: receiving, by the entitlement server, from the UE a message, the message comprising UE identifying information that identifies the UE (Trapp pg. 11, par. 5-6, “with 302 marked method step via a message service of the mobile network, in this case by means of SMS, from the mobile terminal (Mobile) to the Update or Provisioning Service (OTA) transmitted. The identifier "2-5" is then transmitted by the updating or Provisionierungsdienst a dedicated computing device (server), in this case an OTA server, as in 3 on the basis of with 303 marked process step shown”; pg. 12, par. 3, “As part of an update sometimes knowledge of each with the SIM card (SIM) used mobile terminal (Mobile) are required, as part of the transmission of the identifier of the SIM card (SIM) from the mobile device (Mobile) to the Update or provisioning service (OTA) (see procedural and procedural steps 202 and or 302 ) advantageously a device-specific identifier of the mobile terminal (Mobile) with. Advantageously, the device-specific identifier of the mobile terminal (mobile), preferably the so-called IMEI, is detected and transmitted by the application program (applet) with the detection of the identifier, preferably by appending to the message”); and
determining, by the entitlement server, in response to receiving the message, whether repository SIM configuration data that is associated with the UE identifying information is stored in the entitlement server and, if so, sending, by the entitlement server, a UE SIM update to the UE (Trapp after receiving the update inquiry, server (~entitlement server) receives updating information from DB (~repository) and sends the update information to the UE if the information from the DB (~repository) is already received and stored in the server (~entitlement server); see pg. 11, par. 5 - pg. 12, par. 2); pg. 12, pars. 1-2, ”corresponding update of the SIM card "2-5" is the computing device (server) with the with 306 indicated method step and initiated by this further. On the part of the database (DB), it is noted for the identifier "2-5" that an update has been initiated. In the with 307 The computer (server) sends to the updating or provisioning service (OTA) the corresponding information required or necessary for updating, in this case updating information for the SIM card "2-5" 308 characterized method step via a message service of the mobile network transferred to the mobile device (Mobile) and in the with 309 marked method step detected by the SIM card by storing”).
Trapp does not explicitly teach that the message is a message other than the UE SIM update inquiry and the UE SIM update to the UE is a UE SIM update prompt comprising prompt information configured to cause the UE to send a UE SIM update inquiry to the entitlement server.
However, Zeng further teaches a message other than a UE SIM update inquiry ([0041], “version information of antivirus engine and virus database on the current SIM card is sent to the telecommunication operator by the over-the-air technology in form of upstream communication”; [0040], “communication between the SIM card and the telecommunication service provider applies OTA (over-the-air) technology, and is complied with SMS_PP transfer mode”) and
a UE SIM update prompt comprising prompt information configured to cause a UE to send a UE SIM update inquiry to an entitlement server ([0044], “telecommunication operator informs user of the mobile device of update on antivirus engine or virus database on the SIM card in form of data broadcast via OTA technology, and prompts the user of downloading the update data package”, wherein telecommunication operator comprise/utilize entitlement server to provision SIM services and sending the prompts for update is equivalent to sending an update inquiry prompt)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zeng with the teaching of Trapp as modified by Zeng in order to ensure security and active connectivity without user intervention; and to automatically update eSIM profiles, network parameters, or service entitlements Over-the-Air (OTA), ensuring that the SIM remains compatible with network changes, such as mobility updates or service policy updates.
Regarding claim 13, Trapp in view of Zeng teaches the method of claim 12.
Trapp does not explicitly teach wherein the prompt information includes inquiry timing information, specifying one or more times for the one or more update UEs to send the UE SIM update inquiry.
However, Zeng further teaches wherein prompt information includes inquiry timing information, specifying one or more times for one or more update UEs to send the UE SIM update inquiry ([0044], “telecommunication operator informs user of the mobile device of update on antivirus engine or virus database on the SIM card in form of data broadcast via OTA technology, and prompts the user of downloading the update data package”, wherein the prompt information specifies one time for the update inquiry).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zeng with the teaching of Trapp as modified by Zeng in order to manage network load, ensure efficient resource utilization, and facilitate scheduled SIM profile or application updates.
Regarding claim 23, Trapp teaches the method of claim 6.
Trapp does not explicitly teach further comprising sending, by the entitlement server, a UE SIM update prompt to the UE, the UE SIM update prompt comprising prompt information configured to cause the UE to send the UE SIM update inquiry to the entitlement server.
However, Zeng teaches further comprising sending, by an entitlement server, a UE SIM update prompt to a UE, the UE SIM update prompt comprising prompt information configured to cause the UE to send the UE SIM update inquiry to the entitlement server ([0044], “telecommunication operator informs user of the mobile device of update on antivirus engine or virus database on the SIM card in form of data broadcast via OTA technology, and prompts the user of downloading the update data package”, wherein telecommunication operator comprise/utilize entitlement server to provision SIM services and sending the prompt for update is equivalent to sending an update inquiry prompt).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zeng with the teaching of Trapp in order to is to efficiently initiate a proactive update of eSIM profiles, service configurations, or network policies on specific target devices, triggering the UE to request necessary updates, ensuring synchronized, up-to-date service provisioning.
Regarding claim 24, Trapp in view of Zeng teaches the method of claim 23.
Trapp does not explicitly teach wherein the prompt information includes inquiry timing information, specifying one or more times for the UE to send the UE SIM update inquiry.
However, Zeng further teaches wherein prompt information includes inquiry timing information, specifying one or more times for a UE to send a UE SIM update inquiry ([0044], “telecommunication operator informs user of the mobile device of update on antivirus engine or virus database on the SIM card in form of data broadcast via OTA technology, and prompts the user of downloading the update data package”, wherein the prompt information specifies one time for the update inquiry).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zeng with the teaching of Trapp as modified by Zeng in order to manage network load, ensure efficient resource utilization, and facilitate scheduled SIM profile or application updates.
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trapp in view of Chauhan (US 2021/0084486 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Trapp teaches the method of 6.
Trapp does not explicitly teach wherein the UE SIM update response is sent via Internet protocol (IP) Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP).
However, Chauhan teaches wherein a UE SIM update response is sent via Internet protocol (IP) Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) ([0170-0171], “transmitting, from the network entity [404] to the user equipment [402], the updated information ... the updated SIM information is transmitted via the SIM OTA server unit to the SIM card configured at the user equipment [402] based on one of an HTTP Push, an HTTP Pull and SIM Over-The-Air (OTA) SMS upgrade mechanism”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Chauhan with the teaching of Trapp in order to provide a standardized, secure, and reliable mechanism for a server to acknowledge, confirm, or deny a configuration change request from the device.
Regarding claim 26, Trapp in view of Chauhan teaches the method of 25, wherein the UE SIM update response further comprises backup delivery information indicating that SIM update data is being sent to the UE via a short message service center (SMSC) (Trapp pg. 11, par. 5, “for updating or provisioning of correspondingly individualized SIM cards (SIM) ... with 302 marked method step via a message service of the mobile network, in this case by means of SMS”, wherein the SIM status message comprises information indicating that the SIM update data is being sent via a short message service center (SMSC) - using SMS, a short message service center (SMSC) is required for SMS messaging).
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trapp in view of Zeng, and further in view of Butler (US 2018/0352417 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Trapp teaches the method of 6, further comprising:
receiving, by the entitlement server, from the UE a message, the message comprising UE identifying information that identifies the UE (pg. 11, par. 5-6, “with 302 marked method step via a message service of the mobile network, in this case by means of SMS, from the mobile terminal (Mobile) to the Update or Provisioning Service (OTA) transmitted. The identifier "2-5" is then transmitted by the updating or Provisionierungsdienst a dedicated computing device (server), in this case an OTA server, as in 3 on the basis of with 303 marked process step shown”; pg. 12, par. 3, “As part of an update sometimes knowledge of each with the SIM card (SIM) used mobile terminal (Mobile) are required, as part of the transmission of the identifier of the SIM card (SIM) from the mobile device (Mobile) to the Update or provisioning service (OTA) (see procedural and procedural steps 202 and or 302 ) advantageously a device-specific identifier of the mobile terminal (Mobile) with. Advantageously, the device-specific identifier of the mobile terminal (mobile), preferably the so-called IMEI, is detected and transmitted by the application program (applet) with the detection of the identifier, preferably by appending to the message”); and
in response to receiving the message, sending, by the entitlement server, a UE SIM Update to the UE (after receiving the update inquiry, server (~entitlement server) receives updating information from DB (~repository) and sends the update information to the UE if the information from the DB (~repository) is already received and stored in the server (~entitlement server); see pg. 11, par. 5 - pg. 12, par. 2); pg. 12, pars. 1-2, ”corresponding update of the SIM card "2-5" is the computing device (server) with the with 306 indicated method step and initiated by this further. On the part of the database (DB), it is noted for the identifier "2-5" that an update has been initiated. In the with 307 The computer (server) sends to the updating or provisioning service (OTA) the corresponding information required or necessary for updating, in this case updating information for the SIM card "2-5" 308 characterized method step via a message service of the mobile network transferred to the mobile device (Mobile) and in the with 309 marked method step detected by the SIM card by storing”).
Trapp does not explicitly teach that the UE SIM update to the UE is a UE SIM update prompt comprising prompt information configured to cause the UE to send a UE SIM update inquiry to the entitlement server.
However, Zeng teaches a UE SIM update prompt comprising prompt information configured to cause a UE to send a UE SIM update inquiry to an entitlement server ([0044], “telecommunication operator informs user of the mobile device of update on antivirus engine or virus database on the SIM card in form of data broadcast via OTA technology, and prompts the user of downloading the update data package”, wherein telecommunication operator comprise/utilize entitlement server to provision SIM services and sending the prompts for update is equivalent to sending an update inquiry prompt)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zeng with the teaching of Trapp in order to ensure security and active connectivity without user intervention; and to automatically update eSIM profiles, network parameters, or service entitlements Over-the-Air (OTA), ensuring that the SIM remains compatible with network changes, such as mobility updates or service policy updates.
The combination does not explicitly teach that the message is a message other than the UE SIM update inquiry.
However, Butler teaches a message other than a UE SIM update inquiry ([0121], “entitlement server 806 may transmit and receive IP messages to and from the UE 106”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Butler with the teaching of Trapp as modified by Zeng in order to automatically verify, authorize, and configure specialized carrier services on a mobile device in real-time, ensuring that the device's settings are synchronized with the operator's backend systems (BSS/OSS) to enable advanced, non-essential, or subscription-based features without manual intervention.
Regarding claim 28, Trapp in view of Zeng, and further in view of Butler teaches the method of claim 27.
The combination of Trapp and Butler does not explicitly teach wherein the prompt information includes inquiry timing information, specifying one or more times for the UE to send the UE SIM update inquiry.
However, Zeng further teaches wherein prompt information includes inquiry timing information, specifying one or more times for a UE to send UE SIM update inquiry ([0044], “telecommunication operator informs user of the mobile device of update on antivirus engine or virus database on the SIM card in form of data broadcast via OTA technology, and prompts the user of downloading the update data package”, wherein the prompt information specifies one time for the update inquiry).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zeng with the teaching of Trapp as modified by Zeng and Butler in order to manage network load, ensure efficient resource utilization, and facilitate scheduled SIM profile or application updates.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trapp in view of Li (US 2013/0303122 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Trapp teaches the method of 7, wherein the repository SIM configuration data comprises a change to one or more of access point names (APNs), frequency bands, a Carrier Identification Code (CIC), a SIM information (updating information (~repository SIM configuration data) comprises a change to SIM card information; pg. 11, pars. 7-8, “The computing device (server) asks using the identifier "2-5" in the 304 marked method step in the database (DB) the update status or an update requirement of the SIM card with the identifier "2-5" from. As part of the query, as in 3 through the with 305 symbolically represented, checks whether the SIM card of the identifier "2-5" must be updated, so whether there is a need for updating the SIM card "2-5" or not. In the present case, a need for updating the SIM card (SIM) having the identifier "2-5" is required”; pg. 12, par. 2, “In the with 307 The computer (server) sends to the updating or provisioning service (OTA) the corresponding information required or necessary for updating, in this case updating information for the SIM card "2-5" 308 characterized method step via a message service of the mobile network transferred to the mobile device (Mobile) and in the with 309 marked method step detected by the SIM card by storing”), a home cell site, roaming lists, UE priority of cell site selection, or information relating to whether the UE is able to make WiFi calls.
Trapp does not explicitly teach that the SIM information is an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) number.
However, Li teaches that an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) number is SIM information ([0095], “personalized SIM information may include an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) number”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li with the teaching of Trapp in order to authenticate user identity, authorize network access, manage billing, and facilitate roaming by specifying the user's home country and network operator.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER J YI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643