DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 7, it is unclear what a force in Cartesian orientation value is. For the purposes of examination forces represented in Cartesian direction and orientation will be interpreted as Cartesian forces and torques.
Dependent claims 8-13 are rejected under the same rationale by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Meissner (US 2018/0200880).
As per claim 1, Meissner discloses a robotic system comprising:
control circuitry communicatively coupled to a robotic manipulator and configured to cause actuation of one or more actuators of the robotic manipulator (see at least para. 54 for robot 2 controlled by robot controller 3), the control circuitry being configured to:
determine a manual force on the robotic manipulator (see at least para. 56 for determined manual force impressed by a user); and
control actuation of the one or more actuators of the robotic manipulator based at least in part on the manual force (see at least para. 15 and 56 for controlling robot based on an external force exerted on the robot).
As per claim 5, Meissner further discloses wherein:
the robotic manipulator comprises:
an end effector (tool 13);
first and second robotic arm links (links 5-12);
an articulatable joint connecting the first and second robotic arm links (pivot joints 4); and
one or more force sensors associated with the joint (see at least para. 9 and 56 for force or torque sensors in the joints); and
the control circuitry is configured to determine the manual force based on output from the one or more force sensors associated with the joint (see at least para. 56 for measuring external force F using force or torque sensors).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meissner in view of He (US 2017/0042730).
As per claim 2, Meissner is silent regarding, but He teaches wherein said controlling actuation of the one or more actuators involves causing the one or more actuators to move the robotic manipulator at a speed that is proportional to the manual force (see at least para. 10 for admittance velocity control wherein user input force control velocity of which the robot follows the user motion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Meissner with He because it allows for the user to control the velocity with the same hand used for controlling motion without need for a separate physical input which provides for ease of use.
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meissner in view of Heitmann (US 2016/0016314).
As per claim 3, Meissner is silent regarding, but Heitmann teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to stop motion of the one or more actuators when the manual force ceases (see at least para. 18 for maintaining new pose when guiding force ceases during a mode when the robot is moved by manually applying a guiding force to the robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Meissner with Heitmann because it provides for a safety function in that the robot will not move by itself when a user is no longer imparting a force on the robot which reduces risk of damage.
As per claim 6, Meissner is silent regarding, but Heitmann teaches wherein the manual force is determined at least in part by modifying the output from the one or more force sensors to implement at least one of: removing a gravity component; and applying a torque deadband (see at least para. 18 for gravity compensation control which is effectively removing a gravity component by applying a force/torque deadband since the robot will maintain pose, by counteracting the external force due to gravitational force, when the guiding force ceases and will move by application of a guiding force, which would be external forces exceeding the gravitational force).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Meissner with Heitmann because it provides for a safety function in that the robot will not move by itself, such as by due to gravitational forces, when a user is no longer imparting a force on the robot which reduces risk of damage.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meissner in view of Keller (WO 2016193217).
As per claim 4, Meissner is silent regarding, but Keller teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to limit the actuation of the one or more actuators to prevent movement of the robotic manipulator to a space within a virtual boundary (see at least pg. 2, para. 5, for preventing a virtual wall from being exceeded during manual guidance of a robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Meissner with Keller because it provides a safety function wherein the robot cannot travel into restricted areas which reduces the risk of damage.
Claim(s) 7, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meissner in view of Winkler (“Novel Joint Space Force Guidance Algorithm With Laboratory Robot System”).
As per claim 7, Meissner is silent regarding, but Winkler teaches wherein:
the control circuitry is further configured to convert output from the one or more force sensors associated with the joint of the robotic manipulator to Cartesian direction and orientation values representing an apparent reference point force associated with the end effector of the robotic manipulator (see at least section 2 for measuring forces and torques acting on the end effector and transforming voltages from the force/torque sensor into Cartesian force and torque values; see at least section 3 for transforming these Cartesian force and torque values into joint space); and
said controlling actuation of the one or more actuators is based on the apparent reference point force (see at least sections 3.4 and 4 for force guidance control of the robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Meissner with Winkler because it allows for conversion of the analog sensor data to digital data to use for processing in controlling the robot.
As per claim 9, Meissner is silent regarding, but Winkler teaches wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine an adjusted reference point force by applying a deadband to the apparent reference point force (see at least section 3.1 for gravity compensation for force and torque).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Meissner with Winkler because force and torque components of the gravity vector change as the orientation of the end effector changes and therefore must be removed from force/torque sensor readings to determine actual external force sans gravitation force.
As per claim 11, Winkler further teaches wherein: the control circuitry is further configured to determine one or more joint positioning commands based on the apparent reference point force; and said controlling actuation of the one or more actuators of the robotic manipulator is performed using the one or more joint positioning commands (see at least sections 3.4 and 4 for force guidance control of the robot).
Claim(s) 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller (WO 2016193217).
As per claim 14, Keller (WO 2016/193217) teaches system, comprising:
a robotic manipulator comprising at least one sensor configured to provide output indicative of force on the robotic manipulator (see at least pg. 2, para. 3, for force/torque sensors for measuring force/torques at the joints during manual guiding of a robot); and
control circuitry (robot controller 10) configured to:
detect a manual force on the robotic manipulator based on output from the at least one sensor (see at least pg. 2, para. 3, for force/torque sensors for measuring force/torques at the joints during manual guiding of a robot); and
in response to the manual force,
Keller is not explicit regarding accelerating the movement in response to the manual force.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that if the robot is not in motion when the manual force is applied then the robot will be accelerated into motion when manual force is applied.
As per claim 17, Keller further teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to determine a user intent based on the manual force (under broadest reasonable interpretation the system of Keller determines a user intent based on the manual force as the robot moves in the desired direction depending on the force strength and direction, the user intent being moving the robot in the desired direction).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller (WO 2016193217) in view of Nihei (US 2005/0222714).
As per claim 15, Keller is silent regarding, but Nihei teaches wherein said accelerating movement of the robotic manipulator is in response to engagement with a user input mechanism associated with the robotic manipulator (see at least para. 27 for deadman safety switch that needs to be depressed in order for the robot to move).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Keller with Nihei because it provides for a safety function in that the robot will not move unless the operator is attentive and holding the deadman switch to keep it activated.
As per claim 16, Nihei further teaches wherein the user input mechanism is a button on the robotic manipulator (see at least para. 27 for deadman safety switch or button that needs to be depressed in order for the robot to move).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,016,900. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader in scope than the patent claims.
As per claim 1, claim 1 of patent ‘900 teaches all the limitations.
As per claim 5, claim 2 of patent ‘900 teaches all the limitations.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,016,900 in view of He (US 2017/0042730).
As per claim 2, patent ‘900 is silent regarding, but He teaches wherein said controlling actuation of the one or more actuators involves causing the one or more actuators to move the robotic manipulator at a speed that is proportional to the manual force (see at least para. 10 for admittance velocity control wherein user input force control velocity of which the robot follows the user motion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify patent ‘900 with He because it allows for the user to control the velocity with the same hand used for controlling motion without need for a separate physical input which provides for ease of use.
Claim 3 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,016,900 in view of Heitmann (US 2016/0016314).
As per claim 3, patent ‘900 is silent regarding, but Heitmann teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to stop motion of the one or more actuators when the manual force ceases (see at least para. 18 for maintaining new pose when guiding force ceases during a mode when the robot is moved by manually applying a guiding force to the robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify patent ‘900 with Heitmann because it provides for a safety function in that the robot will not move by itself when a user is no longer imparting a force on the robot which reduces risk of damage.
As per claim 6, patent ‘900 is silent regarding, but Heitmann teaches wherein the manual force is determined at least in part by modifying the output from the one or more force sensors to implement at least one of: removing a gravity component; and applying a torque deadband (see at least para. 18 for gravity compensation control which is effectively removing a gravity component by applying a force/torque deadband since the robot will maintain pose, by counteracting the external force due to gravitational force, when the guiding force ceases and will move by application of a guiding force, which would be external forces exceeding the gravitational force).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify patent ‘900 with Heitmann because it provides for a safety function in that the robot will not move by itself, such as by due to gravitational forces, when a user is no longer imparting a force on the robot which reduces risk of damage.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,016,900 in view of Keller (WO 2016193217).
As per claim 4, patent ‘900 is silent regarding, but Keller teaches wherein the control circuitry is further configured to limit the actuation of the one or more actuators to prevent movement of the robotic manipulator to a space within a virtual boundary (see at least pg. 2, para. 5, for preventing a virtual wall from being exceeded during manual guidance of a robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify patent ‘900 with Keller because it provides a safety function wherein the robot cannot travel into restricted areas which reduces the risk of damage.
Claims 7, 9, and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,016,900 in view of Winkler (“Novel Joint Space Force Guidance Algorithm With Laboratory Robot System”).
As per claim 7, patent ‘900 is silent regarding, but Winkler teaches wherein:
the control circuitry is further configured to convert output from the one or more force sensors associated with the joint of the robotic manipulator to Cartesian direction and orientation values representing an apparent reference point force associated with the end effector of the robotic manipulator (see at least section 2 for measuring forces and torques acting on the end effector and transforming voltages from the force/torque sensor into Cartesian force and torque values; see at least section 3 for transforming these Cartesian force and torque values into joint space); and
said controlling actuation of the one or more actuators is based on the apparent reference point force (see at least sections 3.4 and 4 for force guidance control of the robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify patent ‘900 with Winkler because it allows for conversion of the analog sensor data to digital data to use for processing in controlling the robot.
As per claim 9, patent ‘900 is silent regarding, but Winkler teaches wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine an adjusted reference point force by applying a deadband to the apparent reference point force (see at least section 3.1 for gravity compensation for force and torque).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify patent ‘900 with Winkler because force and torque components of the gravity vector change as the orientation of the end effector changes and therefore must be removed from force/torque sensor readings to determine actual external force sans gravitation force.
As per claim 11, Winkler further teaches wherein: the control circuitry is further configured to determine one or more joint positioning commands based on the apparent reference point force; and said controlling actuation of the one or more actuators of the robotic manipulator is performed using the one or more joint positioning commands (see at least sections 3.4 and 4 for force guidance control of the robot).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art, neither alone or in combination, teach all the limitations of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/ROBERT T NGUYEN/ PRIMARY EXAMINER, Art Unit 3619