DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 02/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/09/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/10/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 17/835,626 (claim set of 12/31/2025) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Application 18/326,027
Application 17/835,626- claim set of 12/31/2025
Claim 1
Claim 5/1
A sperm sorting device adapted to collaborate with a temperature controlling component, comprising:
[claim 1] An apparatus for processing sperm, comprising:
an upper portion formed with an upper chamber; a lower portion formed with a lower chamber, wherein the upper chamber and the lower chamber are disposed vertically,
[claim 1]an upper chamber and a bottom chamber arranged vertically;
and the temperature controlling component is adapted to be disposed outside the upper portion or the lower portion to make the temperature of the upper chamber higher than the lower chamber;
The temperature controlling component is not positively recited. [claim 1] ‘626 teach does teach, “a temperature control unit for maintaining the temperature of the upper chamber higher than that of the bottom chamber to establish a temperature gradient..”
and a porous layer disposed between the upper chamber and the lower chamber, adapted to allow sperms to pass through from the lower chamber to the upper chamber and adapted to form a temperature difference between the upper chamber and the lower chamber.
[claim 1] a porous layer that placed at an interface between the upper and bottom chamber to allow communication of particles between them and delay thermal equilibrium therebetween;
[claim 5] wherein the pore diameter of the porous layer is between 8 to 20 mm.
Interpreted as a functional limitation. The reference application teaches a porous layer that is structurally capable of allowing sperms to pass through (sperms can pass through pores of diameter between 8 to 20 mm) and providing a physical barrier between the upper and bottom chambers that delay heat transfer and consequently forms a temperature difference between the chambers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 9 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 17/835,626 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Application 18326027
Application 17/835,626- claim set of 12/31/2025
Claim 9
Claim 5/1
The sperm sorting device according to claim 1, wherein the porous layer is formed with a plurality of holes, and pore sizes of the plurality of holes are 8-20 mm.
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pore diameter of the porous layer is between 8 to 20 mm.Note: "mm" in the instant is interpreted as "mm" , see Claim Interpretation below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 4 recites the limitation “…the lower surface [of the top plate] is an incline” in lines 1-2. Fig. 3 shows the lower surface of top plate 116 comprise an incline and a planar portion, but not the entire the lower surface is an incline, and thus “is an incline” is interpreted have an overall inclining contour.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “…pore sizes of the plurality of holes are 8 – 20 mm” in line 2 which corresponds to para. 0018 and 0041 of the Specification. However, in light of the size of sperms (what is being filtered/ sorted) which is significantly smaller than the millimeter (mm) scale, the scale should be micrometer (micron or µm). Furthermore, the parent application (app. 17/835,626) indicates the pore sizes to be in the range of 8-20 µm (claim 5 and para. 0034) and thus suggests that the scale should be in the micron range. For this reason, the limitation is examined based on the micron scale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vollmer (US 20180282676 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vollmer teaches a sperm sorting device (Figs. 2A-2C) adapted to collaborate with a temperature controlling component, comprising:
an upper portion (30 and 40) formed with an upper chamber (42);
a lower portion (10) formed with a lower chamber (12), wherein the upper chamber and the lower chamber are disposed vertically (Figs. 2A and 2C), and the temperature controlling component is adapted to be disposed outside the upper portion or the lower portion to make the temperature of the upper chamber higher than the lower chamber (the temperature controlling component is not positive. Since this limitation is directed to the temperature controlling component, it does not further structurally limit the invention)(See also para. 0065, temperature gradient); and
a porous layer (20) disposed between the upper chamber and the lower chamber (Fig. 1A), adapted to allow sperms to pass through from the lower chamber to the upper chamber (para. 0101, spermatozoa migrates from 12 to 42 through the separation layer 20) and adapted to form a temperature difference between the upper chamber and the lower chamber (interpreted as a functional limitation. Para. 0030 teaches the porous layer is a cellulose-, paper-, or polymer based membrane, which provides a thermal insulating physical barrier between reservoirs 12 and 42 and thus slows down heat transfer and consequently forms a temperature difference between the reservoirs).
Regarding claim 2, Vollmer teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1. Vollmer further teaches wherein the upper portion comprises a top plate (40) disposed at a top side of the upper chamber (Fig. 2C).
With regards to the limitation “the temperature controlling component is adapted to transfer heat uniformly through the top plate to the upper chamber,” the temperature controlling component is not positive. Since this limitation is directed to the temperature controlling component, it does not further structurally limit the invention.
Regarding claim 3, Vollmer teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 2. Vollmer further teaches wherein the top plate (40) has a lower surface (the lower surface of layer 40 from the peak of the roof to the edge of the right side of the device as shown in Fig. 2C)(see annotated Fig. A) and is formed with a through-hole (port 4A) disposed at a higher end of the lower surface (the roof part of the lower surface)(see annotated Fig. A), and varied height difference is formed between the lower surface and a bottom of the upper chamber (Fig. 2C).
Figure A. Annotated Fig. 2C of Vollmer.
Regarding claim 4, Vollmer teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 3. Vollmer further teaches wherein the lower surface is an incline (annotated Fig. A, the lower surface has an overall inclining contour. See also the Claim Interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 6, Vollmer teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1. Vollmer further teaches wherein the upper portion (30 and 40) is further formed with a collecting port (A4) communicating with the upper chamber (42)(Fig. 2C and para. 0098).
Regarding claim 7, Vollmer teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1. Vollmer further teaches wherein the upper portion is further formed with an injecting port (A3) communicating with the lower chamber 12 (Fig. 2C, 2D and paras. 0098 and 0100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vollmer (US 20180282676 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Vollmer teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 3.
Vollmer does not explicitly teach wherein a cross-sectional area of the through-hole (port A4) is less than 10% of an area of the lower surface.
However, Vollmer teaches the diameter of port A4 is a result-effective variable. Specifically, Vollmer teaches inlet and outlet ports (A1-A4) are to be modified to minimize convection, fluid resistance and turbulent (para. 0039), and the diameter of the ports is one of the variables that determine the fluid resistance and flow pattern/regime (turbulent vs. laminar). Since this particular parameter (diameter of port A4) is recognized as a result-effective variable (i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result), the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable can be characterized as routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diameter of the A4 such that cross-sectional area of the through-hole (port A4) is less than 10% of an area of the lower surface because it would have been within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 9, Vollmer teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1. Vollmer further teachers wherein the porous layer is formed with a plurality of holes (para. 0032).
Vollmer does not teach the pore sizes of the plurality of holes are 8-20 mm (interpret as 8-20 mm, see the “Claim Interpretation” section above).
However, Vollmer further teaches the pore sizes of the plurality of holes are 20-500 mm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the pore sizes of the plurality of holes to be 20 mm, the portion of the teachings of Vollmer that corresponds to the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05(I)) because it would have been within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at due to overlapped range.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vollmer (US 20180282676 A1) in view of Demirci et al. (US 20160290913 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Vollmer teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1.
Vollmer further teaches the wherein a material of the porous layer is a polymer membrane, but does not explicitly teach what type of polymer the membrane is, and thus fails to teach wherein a material of the porous layer selected from the group consisting of polycarbonate, polyvinyl alcohol, polypropylene, polytetrafluoroethylene, polystyrene, polyethylene terephthalate, polyvinylidene fluoride, polyamide, non-woven fabric and polyurethane.
However, Demirci teaches a sperm sorting device comprising a upper chamber and a lower chamber, and a porous layer disposed between the upper chamber and the lower chamber (Fig. 1B and para. 0036). Demirci further teaches the porous layer is polycarbonate filter (para. 0036).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material of polymer membrane taught by Vollmer with polycarbonate as taught by Demirci because one of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly have recognized the polycarbonate would result in the predictable result of providing a material for the polymer membrane suitable for sperm sorting (Demirci, para. 0036) (MPEP 2143)(I)(B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Eisenbach et al. (US 20080299537 A1) teaches a sperm sorting device comprising two compartments of different temperatures, but the compartment are not in a vertically stacked orientation. Rakhymzhanov et al. (WO 2021124111 A) teaches a sperm sorting device comprising two compartments that are stacked vertically (Fig. 1), and separated by a porous layer with pores (micro tunnels) of a diameter of 20 mm (para. 0027), but thermotaxis is not used as part of the sorting mechanism.
/M.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758