DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 10, and dependent claims 2, 5, 11, and 14.
Regarding Elshaer et al (US 20180194236 A1), applicant argues “Examiner relies upon the Elshaer reference for disclosing the claimed MISO DC-DC charging module. This reliance is misplaced”. Applicant further asserts “There is no discussion in the Elshaer reference of separate EVSE being simultaneously connected to both the charge port 18 and to the primary/transmitter coil 44 as claimed”. Elshaer ¶0020 discloses “[FIG 1] EVSE 16 may have a charge connector for plugging into a charge port 18 of the vehicle 12… charge port 18 may be electrically connected to an on-board power conversion controller or charger 40”, establishing a wired connection between EVSE 16 and the on-board charger 40 of electric vehicle 12. Similarly Elshaer ¶0025 discloses “Energy emitted by the transmitter coil 44 may induce current in a secondary (hereinafter, receiver) coil 46 of the vehicle 12 when the receiver coil 46 is positioned within a predefined distance threshold of the transmitter coil 44. The receiver coil 46 may be electrically connected to and powered by the charger 40 of the vehicle 12”, establishing a wireless connection between transmitter coil 44 and on-board charger 40 of vehicle 12. Thereby the integrated power system as taught by Elshaer has the physical infrastructure to have multiple input power sources (EVSE 16 through charge port 18 and transmitter coil 44 through receiver coil 46) into on-board charger 40 which charges the traction battery 14.
Elshaer FIG 1 depict charge port 18 connected to EVSE 16 and FIG 2 depicts transmitter coil 44 connected to an EVSE 16, if the charge port 18 is connected to a first EVSE 16 and the transmitter coil 44 is connected to a second EVSE 16 then they are connected to two unique power sources which are able to supply power to on-board charger 40. Examiner acknowledges applicant argument that Elshaer does not independently teach being connected to two external power sources simultaneously and “merg[ing] the two DC inputs by synchronizing and overlaying the two DC inputs into a single DC output at a higher third duty cycle”.
In the Non-Final Rejection mailed 03/19/2026 Elshaer is modified with Kim et al (US 20180194236 A1), and Kim does teach the claimed limitation “merg[ing] the two DC inputs by synchronizing and overlaying the two DC inputs into a single DC output at a higher third duty cycle”. Kim FIG 2 depicts inlets 120 connected to HV junction box 130, and HV junction box 130 charges the High-Voltage battery unit 140. Kim FIG 4 is a flowchart which illustrates a method of charging HV battery 140 through HV junction box 130 using inlets 120, further described in ¶0085 wherein the “high-voltage battery unit 140 can be charged using power supplied through one inlet among the plurality of inlets 120 and power supplied through the remaining inlets 120 may be used as available power (S430)”. Applying Elshaer’s charge port 18 and receiver coil 46 as two of Kim’s inlets 120, and applying the method of charging the high-voltage battery depicted in Kim’s FIG 4 would result in the claimed invention.
Applicant asserts “that enabling/disabling inlets or sources of a plurality of multiple power inlets or sources is different than "merging the two DC inputs by synchronizing and overlaying the two DC inputs into a single DC output" as claimed”. DC inputs by definition are a constant input and do not inherently have a phase, thereby multiple DC inputs are always in phase with one another and consequently always synchronized with one another. Kim ¶0083 discloses “FIG. 4, an external charger 110 may charge the high-voltage battery unit 140 through two or more inlets (S410)”, necessitating that the DC input from two or more inlets 120 passes through HV junction box 130 and produces a single DC output to HV battery 140. ¶0055 details “junction box 130 may provide the charging voltage and current supplied through the plurality of inlets 120 to the high-voltage battery unit 140 based on the operation of a first switching unit 132”, resulting in the junction box combining and overlaying the inputs from inlets 120 to charge the HV battery 140.
Applicant makes no further arguments regarding the prior art of record.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 10, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshaer et al (US 20180194236 A1) modified by Kim et al (US 20200070675 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Elshaer teaches a charging control system for a high voltage battery system of an electrified vehicle, (¶0015 "FIG. 1 depicts a hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) 12 power system 10")
the charging control system comprising: a multi input, single output (MISO) direct current to direct current (DC-DC) charging module configured to [simultaneously] connect to first (¶0020 “[FIG 1] EVSE 16 may have a charge connector for plugging into a charge port 18 of the vehicle 12”)
and second DC power sources (¶0025 “[FIG 2] EVSE 16 may be electrically connected to and configured to power a primary (hereinafter, transmitter) coil 44… transmitter coil 44 may induce current in a secondary (hereinafter, receiver) coil 46 of the vehicle 12 when the receiver coil 46 is positioned within a predefined distance threshold of the transmitter coil 44”)
and to the high voltage battery system, (¶0020 “[FIG 1] charge port 18 may be electrically connected to an on-board power conversion controller or charger 40”, ¶0025 “[FIG 2] receiver coil 46 may be electrically connected to and powered by the charger 40 of the vehicle 12”)
wherein the first and second DC power sources are both external to the electrified vehicle; (FIGs 1 and 2 depict EVSE 16 as being external to electric vehicle 12)
and a controller configured to control the MISO DC-DC charging module (¶0022 "the charger 40 may be configured to transmit a signal to the battery controller 38 indicative of a request to charge the traction battery 14 in response to determining that the vehicle 12 has been connected to the EVSE 16"; charger 4 in communication with battery controller 38 control the power outputs from on-board charger 40 to traction battery 14)
[to: simultaneously receive, from the first and second DC power sources, first and second DC inputs at first and second duty cycles, respectively;
merge the two DC inputs by synchronizing and overlaying the two DC inputs into a single DC output at a higher third duty cycle;
and output the single DC output to charge the high voltage battery system, wherein the single DC output at the higher third duty cycle provides for faster charging of the high voltage battery system compared to one of the two DC inputs at the respective lower first or second duty cycles.]
Elshaer FIG 1 depict charge port 18 connected to EVSE 16 and FIG 2 depicts transmitter coil 44 connected to an EVSE 16, if the charge port 18 is connected to a first EVSE 16 and the transmitter coil 44 is connected to a second EVSE 16 then they are connected to two unique power sources which are able to supply power to on-board charger 40. Thereby the integrated power system as taught by Elshaer has the physical infrastructure to have multiple input power sources (EVSE 16 through charge port 18 and transmitter coil 44 through receiver coil 46) into on-board charger 40 which charges the traction battery 14.
Elshaer does not teach [a controller configured] to: simultaneously receive, from the first and second DC power sources, first and second DC inputs at first and second duty cycles, respectively; merge the two DC inputs by synchronizing and overlaying the two DC inputs into a single DC output at a higher third duty cycle; and output the single DC output to charge the high voltage battery system, wherein the single DC output at the higher third duty cycle provides for faster charging of the high voltage battery system compared to one of the two DC inputs at the respective lower first or second duty cycles.
Kim teaches [a controller configured] to: simultaneously receive, from the first and second DC power sources, first and second DC inputs at first and second duty cycles, respectively; (¶0083 discloses “FIG. 4, an external charger 110 may charge the high-voltage battery unit 140 through two or more inlets (S410)”)
merge the two DC inputs by synchronizing and overlaying the two DC inputs into a single DC output at a higher third duty cycle; (¶0083 discloses “FIG. 4, an external charger 110 may charge the high-voltage battery unit 140 through two or more inlets (S410)”, ¶0055 “junction box 130 may provide the charging voltage and current supplied through the plurality of inlets 120 to the high-voltage battery unit 140 based on the operation of a first switching unit 132”)
and output the single DC output to charge the high voltage battery system, wherein the single DC output at the higher third duty cycle provides (¶0085 “the high-voltage battery unit 140 can be charged using power supplied through one inlet among the plurality of inlets 120 and power supplied through the remaining inlets 120 may be used as available power (S430)”)
for faster charging of the high voltage battery system compared to one of the two DC inputs at the respective lower first or second duty cycles. (¶0065 “VCU 160 may switch two or more inlets 120 to one inlet based on charging characteristics such as charging current, a charging speed and a time required to complete charging according to the charge amount of the high-voltage battery unit 140”)
Kim ¶0083 discloses “FIG. 4, an external charger 110 may charge the high-voltage battery unit 140 through two or more inlets (S410)”, necessitating that the DC input from two or more inlets 120 passes through HV junction box 130 and produces a single DC output to HV battery 140. ¶0055 details “junction box 130 may provide the charging voltage and current supplied through the plurality of inlets 120 to the high-voltage battery unit 140 based on the operation of a first switching unit 132”, resulting in the junction box combining and overlaying the inputs from inlets 120 to charge the HV battery 140.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the charging control system as taught by Elshaer to: simultaneously receive, from the first and second DC power sources, first and second DC inputs at first and second duty cycles, respectively; merge the two DC inputs by synchronizing and overlaying the two DC inputs into a single DC output at a higher third duty cycle as taught by Kim. Elshaer discloses a charging control system which has two distinct ways to receive external power through inlet 18 and receiver coil 46, both of which are connected to on-board charger 40. Similarly Kim discloses charging the high-voltage battery of an electric vehicle using multiple inlets 120, it would be obvious to use Elshaer’s inlet 18 and receiver coil 46 as the multiple inlets 120 and combine multiple DC inputs into a single output to charge the HV battery of an electric vehicle. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to merge multiple DC inputs into a single DC output for the purpose of faster charging of an HV battery system. Fast-charging vehicles enables long-distance travel and reduces range anxiety for EV users.
Similarly for claim 10 as applied to a charging control method. (Elshaer ¶0020 "The charger 40 may be in communication with the battery controller 38 and may condition the power supplied from the EVSE 16 to provide the proper voltage and current levels to the traction battery 14 according to one or more signals from the battery controller 38", Kim FIG 4)
Regarding claim 7, Elshaer modified by Kim teaches the charging control system of claim 1. Elshaer modified by Kim further teaches wherein the electrified vehicle is an extended-range electrified pickup truck. (Elshaer ¶0015 "FIG. 1 depicts a hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) 12 power system 10. An HEV 12, hereinafter vehicle 12, may be of various types of passenger vehicles, such as crossover utility vehicle (CUV), sport utility vehicle (SUV), truck, recreational vehicle (RV), boat, plane or other mobile machine for transporting people or goods.", wherein the truck is an extended-range truck)
Similarly for claim 16 as applied to a charging method, Elshaer modified by Kim teaches the charging method of claim 10.
Regarding claim 8, Elshaer modified by Kim teaches the charging control system of claim 7. Elshaer modified by Kim wherein the extended- range electrified pickup truck is further configured for power off-loading of accessory loads including power tools. (Elshaer ¶0016 "[Fig 1, HEV 12] The electric machines 20 may be electrically connected to an inverter system controller (ISC) 30 providing bi-directional energy transfer between the electric machines 20 and at least one traction battery 14")
Similarly for claim 17 as applied to a charging method, Elshaer modified by Kim teaches the charging method of claim 16.
Claim(s) 2, 5-6, 11, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshaer modified by Kim and further in view of Kusch et al (US 20130106195 A1)
Regarding claim 2, Elshaer modified by Kim teaches the charging control system of claim 1. Elshaer modified by Kim further teaches wherein the controller merges the two DC inputs by synchronizing and overlaying is further configured to synchronize and overlay the two DC inputs into the single DC output (Kim ¶0085 “the high-voltage battery unit 140 can be charged using power supplied through one inlet among the plurality of inlets 120 and power supplied through the remaining inlets 120 may be used as available power (S430)”)
[by shifting at least one of the two DC inputs such that their duty cycles are the opposite or do not overlap.]
Elshaer as modified by Kim does not teach by shifting at least one of the two DC inputs such that their duty cycles are the opposite or do not overlap.
Kusch teaches by shifting at least one of the two DC inputs such that their duty cycles are the opposite or do not overlap. (¶0025 “FIG. 7 illustrates interleaved current flow in two buck-boost modules and a resulting current sum”, ¶0056 “A second current 336 is also illustrated that is similar in form to first current 334, but offset in time to interleave the two currents 334, 336 which, when recombined at port P2 120, form a charging current 338”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the charging control system as taught by Elshaer modified by Kim to shift at least one of the two DC inputs such that their duty cycles are the opposite or do not overlap as taught by Kusch. Similar to the charging control system as taught by Elshaer modified by Kim, Kusch discloses a multi-port system for fast-charging the high voltage battery of an electric vehicle. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce grid demand and minimize battery thermal stress thereby improving the lifespan and safe-operation of the charging system.
Similarly for claim 11 as applied to a charging method, Elshaer modified by Kim teaches the charging method of claim 10.
Regarding claim 5, Elshaer modified by Kim and Kusch teaches the charging control system of claim 2. Elshaer modified by Kim and Kusch wherein the first and second DC inputs and the single DC output are all approximately equal, and wherein the first and second duty cycles are each approximately 50 percent and the third duty cycle is approximately 100 percent.
Elshaer as modified by Kim and Kusch discloses the claimed invention except wherein the first and second DC inputs and the single DC output are all approximately equal, and wherein the first and second duty cycles are each approximately 50 percent and the third duty cycle is approximately 100 percent. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to set the phase shift between the first and second duty cycles to be half a period. A duty cycle is a measure of how much time the signal is on vs how much time the signal is off, if both DC inputs have a duty cycle of 50 percent then they are both on for about 50% of the time. Elshaer describes Inverter DC-AC 70 which combines the DC inputs from charge port 18 as well as receiver coil 46, ¶0077 "[FIG 7] charger 40 may be configured to command the plurality of high frequency switches 134a-d on and off, such that the switches 134a, 134c are switched at a predefined duty cycle and a predefined phase shift with respect to each other". In the case where the predefined phase shift between the DC inputs are out of phase by half a period, then the signals would be on and off at opposite times ensuring a 100% duty cycle output for faster charging. Applicant specification ¶0014 states the motivation "he high voltage battery system receives twice as much current over time, thereby speeding up the charging process when desired. This allows the consumer/driver to recharge the electrified vehicle's high voltage battery system faster (when desired), thereby improving their flexibility and their overall ownership experience", which does not significantly change the scope or implementation of claim 1.
Similarly for claim 14 as applied to a charging method, Elshaer modified by Kim and Kusch teaches the charging method of claim 11.
Regarding claim 6, Elshaer modified by Kim and Kusch teaches the charging control system of claim 5. Elshaer modified by Kim and Kusch wherein: the first and second DC inputs are each rated at a maximum of approximately 11 kilowatt hours (kWh) and the first and second duty cycles are each a maximum of 50 percent; and the single DC output is rated at a maximum of approximately 11 kWh and the third duty cycle is a maximum of 100 percent.
Elshaer modified by Kim and Kusch discloses the claimed invention except for each DC input is rated at 11 kilowatt hours and the DC output is rated at 11 kilowatt hours. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to impose a rating on the input and output, since applicant has not disclosed that a rating of 11 kilowatt hours solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a different power rating. An alternate rating is disclosed in applicant specification ¶0013 "One potential solution is to double the size/power rating of the charging station (i.e., up to 22 kWh), but this significantly increases consumer costs and vehicle costs (e.g., charging module cost and size/weight)". Please see claim 5 regarding the DC input duty cycles each a maximum of 50 percent and the DC output duty cycle a maximum of 100 percent.
Similarly for claim 15 as applied to a charging method, Elshaer modified by Kim and Kusch teaches the charging method of claim 14.
Claim(s) 3-4, 9, 12-13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshaer modified by Kim and further in view of Roberts et al (US 20160107530 A1)
Regarding claim 3, Elshaer modified by Kim teaches the charging control system of claim 1. Elshaer modified by Kim further teaches wherein the [first DC power source is a residential charging station] and the second DC power source is a wireless inductive charging pad. (Elshaer ¶0025 “FIG. 2 illustrates an example wireless charging system 41 for the traction battery 14 of the vehicle 12… Energy emitted by the transmitter coil 44 may induce current in a secondary (hereinafter, receiver) coil 46 of the vehicle 12”)
Elshaer modified by Kim does not teach wherein the first DC power source is a residential charging station.
Roberts teaches wherein the first DC power source is a residential charging station. (¶0037 "coupler 12 is electrically connected to the control module 20 by a charging cord 80 configured to house a plurality of wires 72, 74, 82, 84, 86, 88 connecting the coupler connectors 18 of the coupler 12 to the control module 20")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the charging control system as taught by Elshaer modified by Kim wherein the first DC power source is a residential charging station. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use a residential charging station for the purpose of increasing convenience allowing users to charge their vehicles while at home where charging rates tend to be lower than at public charging stations.
Similarly for claim 12 as applied to a charging method, Elshaer modified by Kim teaches the charging method of claim 10.
Regarding claim 4, Elshaer modified by Kim and Roberts teaches the charging control system of claim 3. Elshaer modified by Kim and Roberts further teaches wherein the wireless inductive charging pad is a self-aligning device that aligns itself relative to an inductive charging port on an underbody of the electrified vehicle. (Elshaer ¶0030 "The charger 40 of vehicle 12 may be configured to initiate an alignment procedure of the vehicle 12 with respect to the EVSE 16 in response to receiving a signal from the EVSE 16 indicating that wireless charging is available")
Similarly for claim 13 as applied to a charging method, Elshaer modified by Kim and Roberts teaches the charging method of claim 12.
Regarding claim 9, Elshaer modified by Kim teaches the charging control system of claim 1. Elshaer as modified by Kim does not teach wherein the first and second DC power sources are first and second residential charging stations and the electrified vehicle includes first and second plug-in charging ports.
Kim further teaches wherein [the first and second DC power sources are first and second residential charging stations] and the electrified vehicle includes first and second plug-in charging ports. (¶0051 "a first external charger 112 may be connected to a first inlet 122. Then, the first external charger 112 can provide a charging voltage and current to the junction box 130 through the first inlet 122", ¶0052 " A second external charger 114 may be connected to a second inlet 124. Then, the second external charger 114 can provide a charging voltage and current to the junction box 130 through the second inlet 124")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the charging control system as taught by Elshaer modified by Kim wherein the first and second DC inputs are plug-in charging ports as taught by Kim. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve charging flexibility by allowing for multiple inputs without having a wireless charging transceiver coil. This would further allow a user to fast-charge their vehicle while at home.
Elshaer as modified by Kim does not teach wherein the first and second DC power sources are first and second residential charging stations.
Roberts teaches wherein the first and second DC power sources are first and second residential charging stations (¶0037 "coupler 12 is electrically connected to the control module 20 by a charging cord 80 configured to house a plurality of wires 72, 74, 82, 84, 86, 88 connecting the coupler connectors 18 of the coupler 12 to the control module 20")
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the charging control system as taught by Elshaer modified by Kim wherein the first DC power sources are residential charging stations. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use a residential charging station for the purpose of increasing convenience allowing users to charge.
Similarly for claim 18 as applied to a charging method, Elshaer modified by Kim teaches the charging method of claim 10.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Kim et al (US 20140021922 A1) discloses a battery charging apparatus comprising a first charging unit and a second charging unit which provide a single DC output to charge a battery.
King et al (US 20180022222 A1) discloses an electric vehicle which can receive power from two input sources to charge the high-voltage battery.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859