DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 31 May 2023 has/have been considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 10-11, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshaer et al (US 20180194236 A1) modified by Kim et al (US 20200070675 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Elshaer teaches a charging control system for a high voltage battery system of an electrified vehicle, ( ¶0015 “ FIG. 1 depicts a hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) 12 power system 10” ) the charging control system comprising: a multi input , single output (MISO) ( FIG 1 EVSE 16 connected through charge port 18 to on-board charger 40, FIG 2 receiver coil 46 connected to on-board charger 40; FIG 1 on-board charger 40 connected to charge traction battery 14 ) direct current to direct current (DC-DC) charging module configured to connect to two distinct DC power sources and to the high voltage battery system; ( ¶0039 “FIG. 4, an example vehicle on-board charger 64 for charging the traction battery 14 using energy received via the charge port 18 is shown” and ¶0044 “FIG. 5A illustrates an example integrated wireless charging system 76 configured to transfer electric charge current for the traction battery 14 of the vehicle 12 using wireless energy transfer over an air gap” wherein FIG 51 depicts Vout 102 providing power to on-board charger; on-board charger 64 further comprises ¶0042 “rectifier 74 may be configured to receive AC output of the reactive compensation network 72 and to convert to DC for transferring to the traction battery 14”. Thereby outputting DC power from both charge port 18 and transmitter/receiver coils 44 and 46) and a controller configured to control the MISO DC-DC charging module to: ( ¶0022 “the charger 40 may be configured to transmit a signal to the battery controller 38 indicative of a request to charge the traction battery 14 in response to determining that the vehicle 12 has been connected to the EVSE 16”; charger 4 in communication with battery controller 38 control the power outputs from on-board charger 40 to traction battery 14 ) receive, from first and second DC power sources, first and second DC inputs at first and second duty cycles, respectively; (FIG 1 charge port 18 connected to on-board charger 40 and FIG 2 receiver coil 46 connected to on-board charger 40) merge the two DC inputs into a single DC output at a higher third duty cycle; (charge port 18 and receiver coil 46 input to on-board charger 40 which outputs to traction battery 14 , please see below for further detail ) [ and output the single DC output to charge the high voltage battery system, wherein the single DC output at the higher third duty cycle provides for faster charging of the high voltage battery system compared to one of the two DC inputs at the respective lower first or second duty cycles. ] Elshaer FIG 4 has input from charge port 18 as AC input and the receiver coil 46 as integrated wireless charger 150 both connected to Inverter DC-AC 70, which is described in ¶0077 “[FIG 7, Inverter DC-AC 70] charger 40 may be configured to command the plurality of high frequency switches 134 a - d on and off, such that the switches 134 a, 134 c are switched at a predefined duty cycle and a predefined phase shift with respect to each other and the switches 134 b, 134 d are also switched at predefined duty cycle and a predefined phase shift with respect to each other and with respect to the switches 134 a, 134 c ”. The purpose of Inverter DC-AC 70 is to put the two DC inputs into phase with one another so they can become one DC output. Further the charge port 18 input goes through PFC circuit 67 described in ¶0073 “PFC circuit 67 is a two-cell interleaved boost converter”, which boosts the input signal to be greater than the initial input . This would result in merging the two DC inputs into a single DC output at a higher third duty cycle. Elshaer does not teach and output the single DC output to charge the high voltage battery system, wherein the single DC output at the higher third duty cycle provides for faster charging of the high voltage battery system compared to one of the two DC inputs at the respective lower first or second duty cycles. Kim teaches and output the single DC output to charge the high voltage battery system, wherein the single DC output at the higher third duty cycle provides for faster charging of the high voltage battery system compared to one of the two DC inputs at the respective lower first or second duty cycles. (¶0065 “VCU 160 may switch two or more inlets 120 to one inlet based on charging characteristics such as charging current, a charging speed and a time required to complete charging according to the charge amount of the high-voltage battery unit 140 and a prestored lookup table”; Discussion of related art states ¶0003 “ quick charging and charging using two inlets are applied in order to reduce the charging time of a large-capacity high-voltage battery”) Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the charging control system as taught by Elshaer to incorporate the HV junction box as taught by Kim as the on-board charger 64. Both Elshaer and Kim teach an on-board electric vehicle charger with multiple power inputs and a single power output, wherein the output goes to the HV battery. Kim focuses more on the structure of the on-board charger (HV junction box) combining the inputs into a single output. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to merge multiple DC inputs into a single DC output for the purpose of faster charging of an HV battery system. Fast-charging vehicles enables long-distance travel and reduces range anxiety for EV users. Similarly for claim 10 as applied to a charging control method ( ¶0020 “The charger 40 may be in communication with the battery controller 38 and may condition the power supplied from the EVSE 16 to provide the proper voltage and current levels to the traction battery 14 according to one or more signals from the battery controller 38”, controller 38 carries instructions for a charging control method ). Regarding claim 2 , Elshaer as modified by Kim teaches t he charging control system of claim 1 . Elshaer as modified by Kim does not teach wherein the controller merges the two DC inputs by synchronizing and overlaying the two DC inputs into the single DC output. Kim further teaches wherein the controller merges the two DC inputs by synchronizing and overlaying the two DC inputs into the single DC output. (¶0054 “A plurality of inlets 120 may be provided. A charging voltage and current supplied through the plurality of charging inlets 120 may be transferred to the junction box 130”, ¶0055 “junction box 130 may provide the charging voltage and current supplied through the plurality of inlets 120 to the high-voltage battery unit 140 based on the operation of a first switching unit 132 ” ) Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the charging control system as taught by Elshaer modified by Kim wherein the on-board controller overlays the two DC inputs into a single DC output as taught by Kim. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to merge multiple DC inputs into a single DC output for the purpose of faster charging of an HV battery system. Fast-charging vehicles enables long-distance travel and reduces range anxiety for EV users. Similarly for claim 11 as applied to a charging control method, Elshaer as modified by Kim teaches the charging control method of claim 10. Regarding claim 5, Elshaer as modified by Kim teaches the charging control system of claim 1. Elshaer as modified by Kim discloses the claimed invention except wherein the first and second DC inputs and the single DC output are all approximately equal, and wherein the first and second duty cycles are each approximately 50 percent and the third duty cycle is approximately 100 percent. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to set the phase shift between the first and second duty cycles to be half a period. A duty cycle is a measure of how much time the signal is on vs how much time the signal is off, if both DC inputs have a duty cycle of 50 percent then they are both on for about 50% of the time. Elshaer describes Inverter DC-AC 70 which combines the DC inputs from charge port 18 as well as receiver coil 46, ¶0077 “[FIG 7] charger 40 may be configured to command the plurality of high frequency switches 134 a - d on and off, such that the s witches 134 a, 134 c are switched at a predefined duty cycle and a predefined phase shift with respect to each other ”. In the case where the predefined phase shift between the DC inputs are out of phase by half a period, then the signals would be on and off at opposite times ensuring a 100% duty cycle output for faster charging. Applicant specification ¶0014 states the motivation “he high voltage battery system receives twice as much current over time, thereby speeding up the charging process when desired. This allows the consumer/driver to recharge the electrified vehicle's high voltage battery system faster (when desired), thereby improving their flexibility and their overall ownership experience”, which does not significantly change the scope or implementation of claim 1. Similarly for claim 14 as applied to a charging control method, Elshaer as modified by Kim teaches the charging control method of claim 10. Regarding claim 6, Elshaer as modified by Kim teaches the charging control system of claim 5. Elshaer modified by Kim does not teach wherein: the first and second DC inputs are each rated at a maximum of approximately 11 kilowatt hours (kWh) and the first and second duty cycles are each a maximum of 50 percent; and the single DC output is rated at a maximum of approximately 11 kWh and the third duty cycle is a maximum of 100 percent. Elshaer modified by Kim discloses the claimed invention except for each DC input is rated at 11 kilowatt hours and the DC output is rated at 11 kilowatt hours. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to impose a rating on the input and output, since applicant has not disclosed that a rating of 11 kilowatt hours solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a different power rating. An alternate rating is disclosed in applicant specification ¶0013 “One potential solution is to double the size/power rating of the charging station (i.e., up to ˜22 kWh ), but this significantly increases consumer costs and vehicle costs (e.g., charging module cost and size/weight)”. Please see claim 5 regarding the DC input duty cycles each a maximum of 50 percent and the DC output duty cycle a maximum of 100 percent. Similarly for claim 15 as applied to a charging control method, Elshaer as modified by Kim teaches the charging control method of claim 14. Regarding claim 7, Elshaer as modified by Kim teaches the charging control system of claim 1. Elshaer as modified by Kim further teaches wherein the electrified vehicle is an extended-range electrified pickup truck. ( Elshaer ¶0015 “FIG. 1 depicts a hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) 12 power system 10. An HEV 12, hereinafter vehicle 12, may be of various types of passenger vehicles, such as crossover utility vehicle (CUV), sport utility vehicle (SUV), truck , recreational vehicle (RV), boat, plane or other mobile machine for transporting people or goods.”, wherein the truck is an extended-range truck) Similarly for claim 16 as applied to a charging control method, Elshaer as modified by Kim teaches the charging control method of claim 10. Regarding claim 8, Elshaer as modified by Kim teaches the charging control system of claim 7. Elshaer as modified by Kim further teaches wherein the extended-range electrified pickup truck ( Elshaer HEV 12) is further configured for power off-loading of accessory loads including power tools. ( Elshaer ¶0016 “[Fig 1, HEV 12] The electric machines 20 may be electrically connected to an inverter system controller (ISC) 30 providing bi-directional energy transfer between the electric machines 20 and at least one traction battery 14”) Similarly for claim 17 as applied to a charging control method, Elshaer as modified by Kim teaches the charging control method of claim 16. Claim(s) 3-4, 9, 12-13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshaer as modified by Kim and further in view of Roberts et al (US 20160107530 A1) Regarding claim 3 , Elshaer as modified by Kim teaches the charging control system of claim 1. Elshaer as modified by Kim further teaches wherein [ the first DC power source is a residential charging station ] and the second DC power source is a wireless inductive charging pad. (FIG 2 receiver 46) Elshaer as modified by Kim does not teach wherein the first DC power source is a residential charging station. Roberts teaches wherein the first DC power source is a residential charging station. (¶0037 “coupler 12 is electrically connected to the control module 20 by a charging cord 80 configured to house a plurality of wires 72, 74, 82, 84, 86, 88 connecting the coupler connectors 18 of the coupler 12 to the control module 20”) Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the charging control system as taught by Elshaer modified by Kim wherein the first DC power source is a residential charging station. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use a residential charging station for the purpose of increasing convenience allowing users to charge their vehicles while at home where charging rates tend to be lower than at public charging stations. Similarly for claim 12 as applied to a charging control method, Elshaer as modified by Kim teaches the charging control method of claim 10. Regarding claim 4 , Elshaer as modified by Kim and Roberts teaches t he charging control system of claim 3 . Elshaer as modified by Kim and Roberts further teaches wherein the wireless inductive charging pad is a self-aligning device that aligns itself relative to an inductive charging port on an underbody of the electrified vehicle. ( Elshaer ¶0030 “The charger 40 of vehicle 12 may be configured to initiate an align ment procedure of the vehicle 12 with respect to the EVSE 16 in response to receiving a signal from the EVSE 16 indicating that wireless charging is available”) Similarly for claim 13 as applied to a charging control method, Elshaer as modified by Kim and Roberts teaches the charging control method of claim 12. Regarding claim 9 , Elshaer as modified by Kim teaches the charging control system of claim 1. Elshaer as modified by Kim does not teach wherein the first and second DC power sources are first and second residential charging stations and the electrified vehicle includes first and second plug-in charging ports. Kim further teaches wherein [ the first and second DC power sources are first and second residential charging stations and ] the electrified vehicle includes first and second plug-in charging ports. (¶0051 “a first external charger 112 may be connected to a first inlet 122. Then, the first external charger 112 can provide a charging voltage and current to the junction box 130 through the first inlet 122”, ¶0052 “ A second external charger 114 may be connected to a second inlet 124. Then, the second external charger 114 can provide a charging voltage and current to the junction box 130 through the second inlet 124”) Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the charging control system as taught by Elshaer modified by Kim wherein the first and second DC inputs are plug-in charging ports as taught by Kim. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve charging flexibility by allowing for multiple inputs without having a wireless charging transceiver coil. This would further allow a user to fast-charge their vehicle while at home. Elshaer as modified by Kim does not teach wherein the first and second DC power sources are first and second residential charging stations. Roberts teaches wherein the first and second DC power sources are first and second residential charging stations (¶0037 “coupler 12 is electrically connected to the control module 20 by a charging cord 80 configured to house a plurality of wires 72, 74, 82, 84, 86, 88 connecting the coupler connectors 18 of the coupler 12 to the control module 20”) Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the charging control system as taught by Elshaer modified by Kim wherein the first DC power source s are residential charging station s . The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use a residential charging station for the purpose of increasing convenience allowing users to charge their vehicles while at home where charging rates tend to be lower than at public charging stations. Similarly for claim 18 as applied to a charging control method, Elshaer as modified by Kim teaches the charging control method of claim 10. Prior Art Not Relied Upon The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence. Pathipati et al (US 20230098846 A1) teaches a power converting EVSE with fast-charging capabilities with self-aligning wireless charging. Veselic et al (US 20060287007 A1) teaches a power management system which receives multiple input sources and one output to charge a battery. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT LISA M KOTOWSKI whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3771 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 8a-5p . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Taelor Kim can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-7166 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LISA KOTOWSKI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859 /TAELOR KIM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859