DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-19 in the reply filed on April 27, 2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/533,367 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
The following claims are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the corresponding claims of copending Application No. 19/072,444 (reference application).
Application claim
Copending application claim
1
1
1
2
17
3
2
4
3
5
4
6
5
7
6
8
8
9
15
10
8
11
17
12
9
13
10
14
11
15
12
16
13
17
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application is for a volatile composition dispenser containing the fragrance composition as claimed by the present application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 9-19 depend on claim 8 and, therefore, are also rejected.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the weight ratio of the first fragrance material to the second fragrance material" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshimura et al (JP 2021112860).
With regards to claims 1-6, 9-13, and 16, Yoshimura teaches a cleaning composition (0007), reading on a consumer product, that contains the following compound:
(0010) wherein R is preferably an alkoxy group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms (0044) and n is preferably 1 (0045), with the preferred compound being the following:
(0049) reading on the claimed meta-(C1-C4 alkoxy)salicylaldehyde. Yoshimura teaches the addition of a lubricant that improves the dispersibility of each component (0058) reading on a dispersant and, thus the claimed treatment adjunct. Yoshimura teaches the amount of the above compound to be 0.05 to 10 parts by mass for the total of 100 parts by mass of the resin (0012).
With regards to claims 7 and 14, Yoshimura teaches the above component to be used in a composition to deliver a cleaning performance effect (0020).
With regards to claims 8 and 15, Yoshimura is silent on the addition of a second fragrance material that is either vanillin or ethylvanillin, however, the ratio of the first fragrance to the second fragrance includes 100:0, reading on the second fragrance material not being present.
With regards to claims 18 and 19, Yoshimura teaches the composition to be used as a cleaning product (0020).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura et al (JP 2021112860) in view of Le-Thiesse (US 2011/0230565).
The disclosure of Yoshimura is adequately set forth in paragraph 11 above and is herein incorporated by reference.
With regards to claim 17, Yoshimura teaches the addition of a solvent (0028) reading on a carrier.
Yoshimura does not teach the solvent to be one of the claimed carriers.
Le-Thiesse teaches a composition that contains vanillin and ethylvanillin (abstract) that is used in human and animal food (abstract) (reading on a consumer product) and that contains isopropyl myristate (0089) as an excipient (0083). It is well known to those skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention that the motivation for adding excipients to the composition it is a nonactive ingredient that plays a crucial role in ensuring the medication is effective, safe, and usable by the patient. Yoshimura and Le-Thiesse are analogous in the art of consumer products. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add the isopropyl myristate of Le-Thiesse to the composition of Yoshimura, thereby obtaining the present invention.
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763