DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed February 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 10, 11, 12, and 13 have been amended.
Claim 3 is cancelled as previously indicated.
Claims 1, 2, and 4-13 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BANG et al. (hereinafter Bang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0362711 A1).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Bang teaches and discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program (140, figure 1), wherein the program causes a computer of a communication apparatus (responder/enrollee, figures 1, 5, and 9) that can wirelessly communicate with an information processing apparatus (initiator/configurator, figures 1, 5, and 9) and a communication apparatus (responder/enrollee, figures 1, 5, and 9) that can wirelessly communicate with an information processing apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (processor, figure 1); and
at least one memory (memory, figure 1) coupled to the at least one processor and having instructions stored therein, and when executed by the at least one processor, causing the at least one processor to perform operations including:
receiving a first signal querying supported scheme information relating to a network setup scheme (Wi-Fi Easy Connect) supported by the communication apparatus from the information processing apparatus ([0091]; [0109]; [0110]-[0114]; [0140]; teaches the enrollee/responder receives a signal related to supported schemes related to network setup, the initiator/configurator transmits the signal);
transmitting a response including the supported scheme information as a response to receiving the first signal, the supported scheme information indicating one or more setup schemes supported by the communication apparatus ([0091]; [0109]; [0110]-[0114]; [0140]; [0142]; teaches the enrollee/responder transmits a response indicating supported schemes, such as DPP scheme, related to network setup to the initiator/configurator); and
waiting for a specific signal for enabling network setup using a first scheme (Wi-Fi Easy Connect) for connecting the communication apparatus to an access point (access point, AP, figure 4B and 10) other than the communication apparatus when the response is transmitted, when the supported scheme information indicates that the communication apparatus supports the first setup scheme ([0097]; [0103]; [0109]; [0110]-[0114]; [0140]; teaches the responder/enrollee waits to receive a signaling enabling network setup using Wi-Fi Easy connect, when the communication apparatus supports the DPP scheme, for connecting the enrollee/responder to an access point).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BANG et al. (hereinafter Bang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0362711 A1) in view of ASAKURA (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0300932 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Bang teaches and discloses a control method of an information processing apparatus (initiator/configurator, figures 1, 5, and 9) that can wirelessly communicate with a communication apparatus (responder/enrollee, figures 1, 5, and 9) and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program (140, figure 1) for causing a computer of an information processing apparatus that can wirelessly communicate with a communication apparatus (responder/enrollee, figures 1, 5, and 9) to perform operations comprising:
obtaining supported scheme information indicating one or more setup schemes (Wi-Fi Easy Connect) supported by the communication apparatus ([0097]; [0103]; [0109]; teaches the initiator/configurator obtains information related to a setup scheme supported by the enrollee/responder);
determining whether the obtained supported scheme information indicates that the communication apparatus supports a first setup scheme ([0097]; [0103]; [0109]; [0110]-[0114]; [0140]; teaches determining the communication device supports a first scheme, such as Wi-Fi Easy connect); and
controlling the information processing apparatus in accordance with a result of the determination, wherein the controlling includes: in case where the supported scheme information indicates that the communication apparatus supports network setup using the first scheme, transmitting to the communication apparatus a specific signal for enabling network setup using the first scheme (Wi-Fi Easy Connect) for connecting the communication apparatus to an access point (access point, AP, figure 4B and 10) other than the communication apparatus ([0097]; [0103]; [0109]; [0110]-[0114]; [0140]; teaches the initiator/configurator transmitting a signaling enabling network setup using Wi-Fi Easy connect for connecting the enrollee/responder to an access point and when the enrollee/responder supports network setup using Wi-Fi Easy Connect, the initiator/configurator transmits the signal); and
in a case where the supported scheme information indicates that the communication apparatus does not support network setup using the first scheme, controlling the information processing apparatus to not transmit the specific signal to the communication apparatus ([0109]; [0110]-[0114]; [0115]; [0123]; [0140]; teaches when the enrollee/responder does not support network setup using Wi-Fi Easy Connect, such as using a QR code, the initiator/configurator does not transmit the signal and using a different scheme).
However, Bang may not explicitly disclose displaying a selection of whether or not to connect the communication apparatus to the access point via network setup using a second scheme different from the first scheme when the supported scheme information indicates that the communication apparatus supports network setup using the second scheme.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Asakura teaches and suggests displaying (display unit, figure 1) selection of whether or not to connect the communication apparatus to the access point (AP, figure 1) via network setup using a second scheme (second scheme, such as DPP, WFD, or Wi-Fi) different from the first scheme when the supported scheme information indicates that the communication apparatus supports network setup using the second scheme ([0030]; [0032]; “…display unit 114 is a display to display various kinds of information…the Wi-Fi I/F 116 supports the DPP, the WFD and the ordinary Wi-Fi scheme…”; column 16, lines 9-20; teaches displaying on a screen a selection of whether to connect using a second scheme, such as DDP scheme, for network setup if the communication device cannot setup using another, different scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate displaying on a screen a selection of whether to connect using a second scheme, such as DDP scheme, for network setup if the communication device cannot setup using another, different scheme as taught by Asakura with the method and apparatus for enabling network setup using Wi-Fi Easy connect for connecting the enrollee/responder to an access point and a display as disclosed by Bang for the purpose of establishing network connection between an AP and external device, as suggested by Asakura.
Regarding claim 2, Bang, as modified by Asakura, further teaches and discloses wherein the controlling the information processing apparatus includes transmitting the specific signal when the supported scheme information indicates that the communication apparatus supports network setup using a plurality of schemes including the first scheme ([0091]; [0109]; [0110]-[0114]; [0140]; teaches when the enrollee/responder supports network setup using Wi-Fi Easy Connect, the initiator/configurator transmits the signal).
Regarding claim 4, Bang teaches a signaling enabling network setup using Wi-Fi Easy connect for connecting the enrollee/responder to an access point and a display, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the displaying includes a screen for receiving selection of whether or not to perform network setup manually when to not perform network setup using the second scheme is selected from a displayed selection of whether or not to connect the communication apparatus to the access point via network setup using the second scheme, and controlling the information processing apparatus includes transmitting an instruction signal to cause the communication apparatus to display an input screen for manual setup when manual network setup is selected.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Asakura further teaches and suggests wherein the displaying includes a screen (screen, figure 1) for receiving selection of whether or not to perform network setup manually when to not perform network setup using the second scheme is selected from a displayed selection of whether or not to connect the communication apparatus to the access point via network setup using the second scheme, and controlling the information processing apparatus includes transmitting an instruction signal to cause the communication apparatus to display an input screen for manual setup when manual network setup is selected ([0030]; [0032]; “…display unit 114 is a display to display various kinds of information…the Wi-Fi I/F 116 supports the DPP, the WFD and the ordinary Wi-Fi scheme…”; column 16, lines 9-20; teaches displaying on a screen a selection of whether to connect using a second scheme, such as DDP scheme, for network setup if the communication device cannot setup using another, different scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate displaying on a screen a selection of whether to connect using a second scheme, such as DDP scheme, for network setup if the communication device cannot setup using another, different scheme as taught by Asakura with the method and apparatus for enabling network setup using Wi-Fi Easy connect for connecting the enrollee/responder to an access point and a display as disclosed by Bang for the purpose of establishing network connection between an AP and external device, as suggested by Asakura.
Regarding claim 5, Bang, as modified by Asakura, further teaches and discloses obtaining second supported scheme information relating to a setup scheme supported by the access point ([0097]; [0103]; [0109]; teaches the initiator/configurator obtains information related to a setup scheme supported by the enrollee/responder), and controlling the information processing apparatus includes transmitting specific signal when the supported scheme information indicates that the communication apparatus supports network setup using the first scheme and the second supported scheme information indicates that the access point supports network setup using the first scheme ([0097]; [0103]; [0109]; [0110]-[0114]; [0140]; teaches the initiator/configurator transmitting a signaling enabling network setup using Wi-Fi Easy connect or another scheme for connecting the enrollee/responder to an access point).
Regarding claim 6, Bang, as modified by Asakura, further teaches and discloses wherein the first scheme is Wi-Fi Easy Connect ([0109]; Wi-Fi Easy Connect).
Regarding claim 7, Bang, as modified by Asakura, further teaches and discloses obtaining specific information obtained using a public key output from the communication apparatus when the specific signal is transmitted ([0122]; teaches obtaining a public key); transmitting an authentication request used by the public key after the specific information ([0122]; [0124]; [0143]; teaches transmitting an authentication request used the by the public key); receiving, from the communication apparatus, an authentication response to the transmitted authentication request ([0144]; teaches receiving an authentication response); and transmitting, to the communication apparatus, connection information used to establish a wireless connection between the communication apparatus and the access point after receiving the authentication response ([0144]; [0146]; [0147]; [0158]; teaches establishing a wireless connection after the authentication response).
Regarding claim 8, Bang, as modified by Asakura, further teaches and discloses wherein the specific information is a code image (QR code) obtained by encoding the public key, and in the obtaining, the specific information is obtained from the code image captured by an imaging unit (180, figure 1) of the information processing apparatus ([0122]; [0142]; teaches a QR code obtained by public bootstrapping key captured by an image).
Regarding claim 9, Bang, as modified by Asakura, further teaches and discloses wherein the obtaining supported scheme information comprises obtaining the supported scheme information by a first signal querying the supported scheme information relating to a setup scheme supported by the communication apparatus being transmitted to the communication apparatus and a response including the supported scheme information relating to a setup scheme supported by the communication apparatus being received from the communication apparatus as a response to the first signal ([0097]; [0103]; [0109]; [0110]-[0114]; [0140]; teaches the initiator/configurator transmitting a signaling enabling network setup using Wi-Fi Easy connect for connecting the enrollee/responder to an access point).
Regarding claim 13, Bang teaches and discloses a communication system (figures 4 and 5) comprising: a communication apparatus (responder/enrollee, figures 1, 5, and 9); and an information processing apparatus (initiator/configurator, figures 1, 5, and 9) that can wirelessly communicate with the communication apparatus, wherein the information processing apparatus includes:
at least one processor (processor, figure 1); and
at least one memory (memory, figure 1) coupled to the at least one processor and having instructions stored therein, and when executed by the at least one processor, causing the at least one processor to perform operations including:
obtaining supported scheme information indicating one or more setup schemes (Wi-Fi Easy Connect) supported by the communication apparatus ([0097]; [0103]; [0109]; teaches the initiator/configurator obtains information related to a setup scheme supported by the enrollee/responder),
determining whether the obtained supported scheme information indicates that the communication apparatus supports a first setup scheme ([0097]; [0103]; [0109]; [0110]-[0114]; [0140]; teaches determining the communication device supports a first scheme, such as Wi-Fi Easy connect); and
controlling the information processing apparatus in accordance with a result of the determination, wherein the controlling includes: in case where the supported scheme information indicates that the communication apparatus supports network setup using the first scheme, transmitting to the communication apparatus a specific signal for enabling network setup using the first scheme (Wi-Fi Easy Connect) for connecting the communication apparatus to an access point (access point, AP, figure 4B and 10) other than the communication apparatus ([0097]; [0103]; [0109]; [0110]-[0114]; [0140]; teaches the initiator/configurator transmitting a signaling enabling network setup using Wi-Fi Easy connect for connecting the enrollee/responder to an access point and when the enrollee/responder supports network setup using Wi-Fi Easy Connect, the initiator/configurator transmits the signal); and
in a case where the supported scheme information indicates that the communication apparatus does not support network setup using the first scheme, controlling the information processing apparatus to not transmit the specific signal to the communication apparatus ([0109]; [0110]-[0114]; [0115]; [0123]; [0140]; teaches when the enrollee/responder does not support network setup using Wi-Fi Easy Connect, such as using a QR code, the initiator/configurator does not transmit the signal and using a different scheme), and
the communication apparatus (responder/enrollee, figures 1, 5, and 9) includes:
at least one processor (processor, figure 1); and
at least one memory (memory, figure 1) coupled to the at least one processor and having instructions stored therein, and when executed by the at least one processor, causing the at least one processor to perform operations including:
receiving a first signal querying supported scheme information relating to a network setup scheme supported by the communication apparatus from the information processing apparatus ([0091]; [0109]; [0110]-[0114]; [0140]; teaches the enrollee/responder receives a signal related to supported schemes related to network setup, the initiator/configurator transmits the signal);
transmitting a response including the supported scheme information as a response to the received first signal ([0091]; [0109]; [0110]-[0114]; [0140]; [0142]; teaches the enrollee/responder transmits a response indicating supported schemes related to network setup to the initiator/configurator); and
waiting for a specific signal for enabling network setup using a first scheme (Wi-Fi Easy Connect) for connecting the communication apparatus to an access point (access point, AP, figure 4B and 10) other than the communication apparatus when the response is transmitted ([0097]; [0103]; [0109]; [0110]-[0114]; [0140]; teaches the responder/enrollee waits to receive a signaling enabling network setup using Wi-Fi Easy connect for connecting the enrollee/responder to an access point).
However, Bang may not explicitly disclose displaying a selection of whether or not to connect the communication apparatus to the access point via network setup using a second scheme different from the first scheme when the supported scheme information indicates that the communication apparatus supports network setup using the second scheme.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Asakura teaches and suggests displaying (display unit, figure 1) selection of whether or not to connect the communication apparatus to the access point (AP, figure 1) via network setup using a second scheme (second scheme, such as DPP, WFD, or Wi-Fi) different from the first scheme when the supported scheme information indicates that the communication apparatus supports network setup using the second scheme ([0030]; [0032]; “…display unit 114 is a display to display various kinds of information…the Wi-Fi I/F 116 supports the DPP, the WFD and the ordinary Wi-Fi scheme…”; column 16, lines 9-20; teaches displaying on a screen a selection of whether to connect using a second scheme, such as DDP scheme, for network setup if the communication device cannot setup using another, different scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate displaying on a screen a selection of whether to connect using a second scheme, such as DDP scheme, for network setup if the communication device cannot setup using another, different scheme as taught by Asakura with the method and apparatus for enabling network setup using Wi-Fi Easy connect for connecting the enrollee/responder to an access point and a display as disclosed by Bang for the purpose of establishing network connection between an AP and external device, as suggested by Asakura.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, with respect to claims 1, 2, and 4-13, filed February 18, 2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
March 21, 2026